Gramercy Pictures (I) | Release Date: August 16, 1995
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 468 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
432
Mixed:
23
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
"The Usual Suspects" has a misleading storyline with limited settings applied throughout the movie. However, it is Brian Singer's clever direction associated with a two-face performance by Kevin Spacey that made the Climax of the movie possible.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
KivaAug 21, 2013
I really don't know where to start from. It's obviously one of the best films ever made and one of my favorites and it has like the very best twist I have seen in my life and I have seen a lot of films with great twists. The twist is evenI really don't know where to start from. It's obviously one of the best films ever made and one of my favorites and it has like the very best twist I have seen in my life and I have seen a lot of films with great twists. The twist is even better than Prestige's one. At the beginning the film is a little overcomplicated but when you start realizing what is happening you will not want to pause that film for any reason. It has action and suspense. It has everything that a film like that should have. It has great actors and an excellent storyline. The whole movie is interesting. I don't know what else to say just watch that movie and you will understand my words... It's a perfect masterpiece! Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonMay 24, 2013
As the movie opens five well known criminals are rounded up and questioned as to their involvement in the hijacking of a truck full of guns. No one cracks and as the men sit together in jail they hatch a plan for an elaborate diamond heist.As the movie opens five well known criminals are rounded up and questioned as to their involvement in the hijacking of a truck full of guns. No one cracks and as the men sit together in jail they hatch a plan for an elaborate diamond heist.

The story is told in the past tense by one of the five men, Verbal Kint, as he sits across from a detective trying to uncover what happened during the attempted heist. This provides a unique twist in that not everything Kint describes is necessarily accurate or true and keeps the viewer constantly guessing as to the true nature of his involvement.

Featuring a fantastic cast The Usual Suspects features a plethora of interesting and entertaining characters, none more so than Kint himself and by the time the movie reaches its fantastically clever finale most viewers will realise they have just watched a cinematic masterpiece.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MarkyBAug 10, 2013
This film is just great. Great crime/gangster film but also so much more. Thrills, suspense, good acting, great script and very clever. I do believe that everyone should try and see this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusJan 3, 2013
I'm not that much into cops and robbers and gangster movies, but this one was really good so even I like this one. It is a very well told story with an ending you will not see coming. You definitely should see this movie at least once.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SwatiOct 31, 2013
Does not waste any time at all. Every minute is utilized to set up suspense and action. And when we reach the climax, everything suddenly becomes ambiguous. You are not sure about what really happened, just about the things that matter theDoes not waste any time at all. Every minute is utilized to set up suspense and action. And when we reach the climax, everything suddenly becomes ambiguous. You are not sure about what really happened, just about the things that matter the most. Kevin Spacey acts splendidly. The first time I watched it the plot twist at the end made me a fan of the movie. But not so much on the second viewing after a gap of eight years. Frankly, apart from the awesome ending, it wasn't a very great script_ just a nicely plotted crime thriller but not very special. But I truly believe that everyone should watch it at least once, and don't talk about it before doing that because some smart-ass may spoil it for you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SummersausageJan 7, 2013
The Usual suspects is a smart well scripted. directed and, acted picture that is a classic for a reason. It has a twist ending that completes the movie precisely and the editing leaves nothing to be desired, it explains the storyline in full.The Usual suspects is a smart well scripted. directed and, acted picture that is a classic for a reason. It has a twist ending that completes the movie precisely and the editing leaves nothing to be desired, it explains the storyline in full. Fantastic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
shpreaJun 25, 2014
Admittedly this movie starts off very slowly. The first 45 min are not very interesting and at times I found myself checking my emails instead of watching the film. However about half way through the movie it starts to get really interesting.Admittedly this movie starts off very slowly. The first 45 min are not very interesting and at times I found myself checking my emails instead of watching the film. However about half way through the movie it starts to get really interesting. Furthermore, the ending is one of the best I've ever seen.
Just watch it. It's great.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticAug 24, 2013
One of the most original and surprising films. Kevin Spacey nails his oscar as this enigma Verbal Kint. The ending is one of the biggest shocks in cinema. It takes more than two and two to get the ending. If you don't believe me, then GIVE MEOne of the most original and surprising films. Kevin Spacey nails his oscar as this enigma Verbal Kint. The ending is one of the biggest shocks in cinema. It takes more than two and two to get the ending. If you don't believe me, then GIVE ME THE F***ING KEYS YOU F***ING C*****KER, MOTHER****A!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysFeb 15, 2014
"The Usual Suspects" runs second to "The Sixth Sense" for one of those movies you will enjoy watching more the second time. I won't give anything away, but there is not one but two twists you won't see coming. And for that sole purpose is a"The Usual Suspects" runs second to "The Sixth Sense" for one of those movies you will enjoy watching more the second time. I won't give anything away, but there is not one but two twists you won't see coming. And for that sole purpose is a reason to watch this movie. Also, Kevin Spacey might be another reason. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
chwSep 14, 2014
DAMN! This movie was incredibly extraordinarily awesome! Just because of the ending, everyone who hasn't seen this HAS GOT TO see this movie. Everyone'll love it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Jun 4, 2015
The grandaddy of mysteries, the movie at first seems just like all ordinary detective thrillers, only this time its more shocking in entertaining suspense as it involves..... The Usual Suspects

Featuring an ensemble of supportive
The grandaddy of mysteries, the movie at first seems just like all ordinary detective thrillers, only this time its more shocking in entertaining suspense as it involves..... The Usual Suspects

Featuring an ensemble of supportive performances, particularly Spacey as crippled con-man Verbal Kint, the film is a disturbing and a tour de force modern noir that will keep you grasped for rewatches to see how clearly things soon go out of place, to unravel the mystery of the mythical gangster responsible for a mass shooting spree at a drug deal resulting in the death of Kints' fellow "Rat Pack.

The film is very climatic twisted and gory filled with a mixture of violence and the satanic underworld of crime, this film will be one of the most talked about thrillers of the 20th century.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobJul 9, 2014
I have to agree with ryancarroll88. The twist ending is certainly a shocker but it pretty much flaws the entire film and makes you question if any of it was real. Still a solid movie though and certainly, at least some-what, lives up to theI have to agree with ryancarroll88. The twist ending is certainly a shocker but it pretty much flaws the entire film and makes you question if any of it was real. Still a solid movie though and certainly, at least some-what, lives up to the hype around it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 15, 2012
It's fantastic from start to finish, and the twist at the end will blow your mind. An American crime classic.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
KeyzerSozeMar 3, 2011
This is definitely the best movie I have seen so far with a great ending and that's why I 'm using the name of a character of the film!!! (Keyzer Soze)
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BrendanCogs99Mar 13, 2013
The Usual Suspects is a classic crime film that will bring you in and not let you go until the final twisted and unexpected climax. With the combination of Brian Singer's directing and Kevin Spacey's acting this is truly a great film. HangThe Usual Suspects is a classic crime film that will bring you in and not let you go until the final twisted and unexpected climax. With the combination of Brian Singer's directing and Kevin Spacey's acting this is truly a great film. Hang on, The Usual Suspects is one hell of a ride. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JackC.Jan 2, 2007
One of my favorite movies of all time. Kevin Spacey gives an absolutely brilliant performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RDalviMar 7, 2006
Intelligent film. Excellent performances by Kevin Spacey, Chazz Palminteri. Stephen Baldwin surpises with a cool performance. Because of it Is aw many crime thrillers like Man On Fire, Se7en and Fight Club. Only the script has a couple of Intelligent film. Excellent performances by Kevin Spacey, Chazz Palminteri. Stephen Baldwin surpises with a cool performance. Because of it Is aw many crime thrillers like Man On Fire, Se7en and Fight Club. Only the script has a couple of loose ends. Also leaves some questions unanswered. Even then an intelligent and gritty thriller with a superb ending. McQuarrie is a brilliant writer and Singer a brilliant director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jun 1, 2006
Brilliant. The music is hauntingly beautiful, the acting supurb and the storyline one that will never be surpassed. A movie you have to see twice and probably will quite never figure out. One of the greatest joys in life is sitting in the Brilliant. The music is hauntingly beautiful, the acting supurb and the storyline one that will never be surpassed. A movie you have to see twice and probably will quite never figure out. One of the greatest joys in life is sitting in the same room where someone is watching it for the first time. I could see this flick over and over again, and never tire of it even though I must have seen it fifteen times. Perhaps not the greatest film ever made, but it stands as my number one favorite in the mature audience viewing category. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NinjaMafiaOct 13, 2003
My friend once told me about a movie, it was called the Usual Suspects. I said I would probally watch it but it probally wouldn't be that great. I was very wrong. The Usual Suspects is about a group of criminals, each specified in a My friend once told me about a movie, it was called the Usual Suspects. I said I would probally watch it but it probally wouldn't be that great. I was very wrong. The Usual Suspects is about a group of criminals, each specified in a certain field, brought together by a legendary criminal to do some dirty work. This legend is named Keyser Soze. The only problem is, Keyser Soze might not be real. A lawyer named Kobayashi tells the five criminals about this job by Soze and they unwillingly accept. The whole movie is about one man that survived from that mission, Verbal(Kevin Spacey). Verbal is a crippled man who was the only survivor of the deadly mission. One cop wants a story from him about one of his partners that the cops suspects is more than an ordinary criminal, maybe even relations with Soze. This movie started off kind of slow which turned me off at first. The film then gradually started to pick up and gave me the best ending of a movie I have ever seen. Actually, the ending pumped my score up to 10. The acting in this movie is really good... there was a lot of suspense in this movie, especially toward the very end of it. This movie is on my top five favorite movies of all time. Rewatching it really makes you respect it more. My only big problem with this movie is they didn't develop a few characters very well. Overall, this movie is highly recommendable but a lot of people will be turned off by the movies somewhat slow start. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
S.GoldDec 5, 2005
Quite possibly the best film of all time, need more be said?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JanC.Dec 7, 2007
Maybe best film ever. Mayber Disneys Snowwhite is better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NDMay 27, 2007
Breathtakingingly superb! One to be watched again and again. As good as anything I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
allanrDec 27, 2008
One of the best endings ever. A true classic !
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArmandoA.Feb 19, 2006
The only thing that keeps me from giving this a 10 is the fact that the impression that this movie gives you the first time you see is never the same (once you know the ending). I will never forget that first experience though. One of the The only thing that keeps me from giving this a 10 is the fact that the impression that this movie gives you the first time you see is never the same (once you know the ending). I will never forget that first experience though. One of the best movies out there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NateM.Nov 11, 2007
I'm not sure why this movie would get lower than a 10? If you are one of those people who think the ending was less than an awesome perhaps you are also one of those people whom can't watch movies without ruining them for everyone I'm not sure why this movie would get lower than a 10? If you are one of those people who think the ending was less than an awesome perhaps you are also one of those people whom can't watch movies without ruining them for everyone else? And as far as what really happened in Verbal Kint's tale to the cops... does it really matter? Kaiser Soze was real. That's all you need to know. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
nvnickSep 30, 2010
One of (or the best) mystery/crime movies I have ever seen. The twists are much crazier than seven, such a satisfying movie. I freaking love this movie. Just don't read any spoilers/etc. Just watch it, it's good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
796712Sep 24, 2010
this film was fantastic i loved the neonoir affect would highly reccomend watching this film my only negative feedback is the ending the twist in the film was over rated the film was famous because of its ending but the ending wasnt really for me
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jon-RyoOct 14, 2011
Quite simply one of the best movies ever made. Kevin Spacey puts in a sensational performance and the supporting cast also do a great job of making it believable. One of my all time favourite films, and one of the best films ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Codyk4545Jul 11, 2011
A true classic, with one of the most brilliant climaxes in the history of film, The Usual Suspects will not fail to make your head spin. You have everything in this movie. Solid cast. Wonderful script. Great camera work. A true gem.

With
A true classic, with one of the most brilliant climaxes in the history of film, The Usual Suspects will not fail to make your head spin. You have everything in this movie. Solid cast. Wonderful script. Great camera work. A true gem.

With Kevin Spacey leading the pack in his Academy Award winning performance, the acting in this film is very believable, and powerful. Your eyes will be glued to the film from the moment it begins, to the moment when your jaw hits the floor, in the end.

I would highly recommend this film to anyone and everyone who considers themselves a fan of movies. This is simply a must-see.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews