Metascore
11

Overwhelming dislike - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 5 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 23, 2012
    0
    This is the kind of junky, hard-to-watch thriller that apologists claim is part of a long line of tough, grindhouse-style thrillers, but which is actually just amateurish gristle.
  2. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Aug 23, 2012
    25
    Biehn has appeared in dozens of B-movies and evidently had no greater ambition than to come up with a grindhouse movie full of sex, gore and cheap thrills, but there is far too little of any of these to maintain interest in a straight-on story that reserves its only surprise for the final 30 seconds.
  3. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Aug 20, 2012
    0
    Not much happens in The Victim, but the events that do manage to transpire consistently support a reading of the film as an older man's fantasy of virility.
  4. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Aug 23, 2012
    20
    Told with multiple flashbacks and minimal taste, this exuberantly scuzzy thriller - shot in less than two weeks with a budget as micro as the women's skirts - pits sleazy cops against fun-loving disrobers in the middle of scraggly foliage.
  5. Reviewed by: Nick Pinkerton
    Aug 21, 2012
    30
    It is dreary to envisage the viewer who could become emotionally involved in The Victim, but it does have the kind of slack watchability - lugubrious driving scenes and girl-talk flashbacks pad the movie toward feature length - that make for good late-night TV.
User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Jan 31, 2013
    5
    Annie lands on Kyle's front porch deep within the woods after being chased by two murderous cops, but as each of their stories begin to change, it will be left up to Kyle to determine the real victim... Genre favorite Michael Biehn stars as our crowbar-wielding hero in THE VICTIM, his second outing as both writer and director. Unfortunately, the audience is the one true victim in all of this. THE VICTIM is a mess from the very beginning. The poorly scripted characters and dialog are far from believable, faults that become that much more apparent throughout the grossly overacted performances. When the awkward sex scenes and confusing flashbacks are also taken in to account, it becomes increasingly difficult to remain involved in the plot. The end credits only seem to confirm the cast and crew's half-serious tone, but this isn't clear at any other point in the film. While Biehn and Blanc show a definite appreciation for the genre, this creative team will require much more outside experience to shore up many of the flaws in production. Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2013
    1
    one of the worst movies i have seen in a while. What redeeming qualities does this movie have? naked chicks, that is all and you can get naked chicks with a quick click of the mouse so what is the point of this movie? the plot is terrible, there is not enough killing, there is just sex and flashbacks and terrible acting. man this movie was terrible and im even more mad that i paid money for it! i read reviews from people calling it a throwback to grindhouse....where? where is this throwback? i do not see it and you poeople mislead me! im sorry but this movie bothered me...i bought wrong turn 5, it sucked but i got what i paid for. I bought beyond the black rainbow, it sucked but it was only $10 brand new and i new i was taking a risk. I bought this movie, it sucked and i feel ripped off. Do not watch this movie, i rarely hate on a movie like this and dont tell people to go elsewhere but i found nothing good about this movie. That is all. Full Review »
  3. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This movie is so much fun. Great performances .awesome thriller.go see this film. michael biehn is great as another Kyle. i can't wait to get my dvd too Full Review »