Paramount Home Video | Release Date: April 21, 2000
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 96 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
75
Mixed:
15
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
emalloveDec 4, 2016
Tragedy wins the day in this haunting melodrama. A coming of age story where nobody comes of age. Great soundtrack for yacht rock nostalgia. The Lisbon girls are cute, popular, and self-annihilating - a subtle glamorization of teenage suicide.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
wagaJan 7, 2015
I thought that the portrayal of the actions of the boys was honest because I could relate to it, and because if I was in their shoes, I would have in the same way wanted to help the girls, in the same way would have been unable to do so, andI thought that the portrayal of the actions of the boys was honest because I could relate to it, and because if I was in their shoes, I would have in the same way wanted to help the girls, in the same way would have been unable to do so, and in the same way would have done what I could. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleDec 21, 2014
A very interesting teenage/pseudo coming of age drama, The Virgin Suicides has its strengths and weaknesses. First off, the acting is great from all the kids and adults, though I do not know if I am buying Kirsten Dunst as a 14 year old here.A very interesting teenage/pseudo coming of age drama, The Virgin Suicides has its strengths and weaknesses. First off, the acting is great from all the kids and adults, though I do not know if I am buying Kirsten Dunst as a 14 year old here. Just saying. Great acting and fit the beauty required for the role, but having been 14, I can confirm no 14 year old looked like that when I was 14. Anyways, the film is gently directed by Sofia Coppola and she handles the sensitive subject matter very well. The story is very interesting and very well told. I like the handling of the narration, as well. Narration can sometimes feel unnatural, but it felt like that was the only way to tell this story and it never really messed with the flow of the film. In fact, it really helped the flow of it. Ultimately, the film has a very distant and melancholy feel to it, which really helps drive home the story and really makes it hit you. However, that same distance can prevent you from getting into the film. You feel as if you are arm's length away from the film and prevented from getting any closer. In the context of the film, this can be effective, but in terms of pure enjoyment, this film would benefit from a feeling of intimacy that would really pull the viewer in. Regardless, The Virgin Suicides is a good film that tells this depressing story and makes it feel almost dreamlike and beautiful in a really twisted way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HaithamBNov 21, 2014
"The Virgin Suicides" is a coming of age but grim tale of strict parents dealing with their daughters, and a bunch of boys fall obsessed with them. The movie is twisted, but forgettable.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
Distinctly Sofia Coppolian, The Virgin Suicides is bleak and tragic. Occasionally funny--the film is one that will stick with its viewers. You'll understand why.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
RobinsNestMar 12, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A tale of lost innocence-for the boys. I didn't find out enough about the girls to really understand how difficult it can be growing up. I did get insight about Lux and a little about Cecelia? the youngest. But the rest of the girls and mother remain a mystery. I saw a little about the goofy dad. It works as a metaphor but not as a story. No one was concerned about the girls, no officials; why weren't the police out searching for Lux after she did not return home, all night? Those parents would not have gone to bed until all their little girls were in; mom was an insomniac. So some flaws that I overlooked because this film is not about the plot or story itself, but in the telling. As usual I'm sure the book is better. Still I was drawn to it. It could've been an "A" film but I give it a B, maybe a B+; almost there, but a few too many flaws. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GreatbealloJan 27, 2012
In Sophia Coppola's directorial debut we are witness to a series of tragic events that take place in a quiet suburban neighborhood in the 1970s. Based on the spectacular book by Jeffrey Eugenides, and featuring the music of Air, this movie isIn Sophia Coppola's directorial debut we are witness to a series of tragic events that take place in a quiet suburban neighborhood in the 1970s. Based on the spectacular book by Jeffrey Eugenides, and featuring the music of Air, this movie is perfection. It is a hauntingly beautiful depiction of young love and the pains of shattered expectations. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
burntoemergeJul 4, 2011
.
the movie is supposed to make you feel unsatisfied and empty.
viewers end up feeling exactly like the neighbourhood boys, and like the girls
its genius and haunting..
.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
KingmushMar 13, 2011
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/virgin-suicides.html

Not sure what I expected going into this movie. The nexflix description made it seem like a group of guys obsessing over these girls who then committed suicide. Pretty
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/03/virgin-suicides.html

Not sure what I expected going into this movie. The nexflix description made it seem like a group of guys obsessing over these girls who then committed suicide. Pretty straightforward right? Wrong..well sort of. This movie tells the story of five sisters who ultimately commit suicide. But the movie never really comes out and says why and the boys obsessing part, while it is a big part, isn't as direct in their suicides as was implied. Don't get me wrong, the story was great as was this movie. The art direction they took with it was pretty spectacular and unique. It is told from the group of guys but in their adult years looking back on the events as if they were at a High School reunion but also there are scenes where it looks like the girls are really happy and all is well and then something terrible comes along. It all ties in together with the atmosphere of the movie and is very compelling.

So if you want sort of an indie weird flick, I'd go with this one. It's classified as romance I think on netflix but it is far from it in my opinion and instead focuses on the teenage drama of five girls as they cope with whatever unknown problems they have.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
JenVSep 9, 2008
This movie reeked. it felt like an NYU film student's final exam. The complimentary reviews are baffling to the point that I am suspicious of their origin. She did much better with Lost in Translation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RL.Jul 4, 2007
I heard about this movie on and off since it came out, and was aware of "Acclaim" associated with the movie; yet it had a very hollow feeling and was probably supposed to have that vibe. I didn't enjoy it this movie and found it left me I heard about this movie on and off since it came out, and was aware of "Acclaim" associated with the movie; yet it had a very hollow feeling and was probably supposed to have that vibe. I didn't enjoy it this movie and found it left me feeling empty, only moderate compassion for these girls and their situation, and wanted more. Something was missing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
andrewgDec 26, 2005
A movie with no story and no real characters is rather pointless, isn't it? It's more of a pet project for Miss Coppola than anything (the special features on the DVD are filled with infuriating self-praise and ego stroking).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AmyNov 2, 2005
Too slow moving. No obvious main characters to follow, and we didn't really discover anything about anyone, no real character development. The ending was obvious, but didn't tell us anything about their reasons for doing what they Too slow moving. No obvious main characters to follow, and we didn't really discover anything about anyone, no real character development. The ending was obvious, but didn't tell us anything about their reasons for doing what they did, that's what the film was supposed to be about wasn't it? Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful