Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Four everyday suburban guys come together as an excuse to escape their humdrum lives one night a week. But when they accidentally discover that their town has become overrun with aliens posing as ordinary suburbanites, they have no choice but to save their neighborhood -- and the world --Four everyday suburban guys come together as an excuse to escape their humdrum lives one night a week. But when they accidentally discover that their town has become overrun with aliens posing as ordinary suburbanites, they have no choice but to save their neighborhood -- and the world -- from total extermination. (20th Century Fox) Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 35
  2. Negative: 10 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Ellen E. Jones
    Aug 25, 2012
    60
    If you can ignore the disturbing parallels with recent events, this middle-aged, Middle-American "Attack The Block" raises a laugh.
  2. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Jul 26, 2012
    50
    The end result is mediocre, slightly sloppy and a mild waste of a great cast.
  3. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Jul 28, 2012
    50
    Yes, it all gets kind of old, and yes, it's all over the place, but you'll probably find yourself laughing at least some of the time. Dick jokes, after all, can be pretty funny.
  4. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jul 26, 2012
    42
    If this amateur justice league spent as much time analyzing clues as they did analyzing their junk, in every slang variation available in the Urban Dictionary, the murder mystery in The Watch could have been solved on the first night of surveillance.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jul 26, 2012
    40
    The movie builds to a human-versus-alien showdown so sloppily staged that it makes little visual sense. The bargain-basement pyrotechnics suggest that much of The Watch was filmed on autopilot on a strict budget.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jul 27, 2012
    38
    Then there's the movie itself, which should be crazy, stupid fun but settles for just stupid.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jul 26, 2012
    0
    Every summer needs a super-turkey. So barring anything in the next 30 days that's the second coming of "Howard the Duck," the witless, completely terrible "comedy" now called The Watch should win hands-down.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 57
  2. Negative: 18 out of 57
  1. Sep 5, 2012
    10
    If you didn't toke up before seeing The Watch, you are not qualified to review it. Believe me, if you are a member of this film's targetIf you didn't toke up before seeing The Watch, you are not qualified to review it. Believe me, if you are a member of this film's target audience (which DOES NOT include old, pretentious film critics) you will laugh your ass off, guaranteed. Smoke a j, grab a mountain dew, and enjoy Stiller, Vaughn, Hill, and co. doing what they do best. Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    I don't know why people dislike this movie because it was hilarious and full of action. In my opinion it was one of the best comedies of 2012.I don't know why people dislike this movie because it was hilarious and full of action. In my opinion it was one of the best comedies of 2012. Sometimes it was a little over the top but still a masterpiece of comedy. Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    Brilliant. It may be "immature" but it's also a great film. I don't get the dislike for the film and whilst it isn't a laugh-a-minute, neitherBrilliant. It may be "immature" but it's also a great film. I don't get the dislike for the film and whilst it isn't a laugh-a-minute, neither are other great action-comedies such as Big Trouble In Little China or Ghostbusters (although it does have more laughs and is more comedy orientated than both). There are also some genuinely clever laugh out loud moments too, and the film as a whole flows really well. Light-hearted, silly fun that - judging by the reviews - isn't for the more serious people out there, but IS for those who like a carefree, laddish laugh. Great stuff. Expand
  4. May 25, 2014
    6
    Better then what others have said about it i actually liked this film sure it's not a great movie but for what it's plot is about couldn'tBetter then what others have said about it i actually liked this film sure it's not a great movie but for what it's plot is about couldn't expect that much from it and maybe it's the actors that help the movie. The movie follows a group of guys that start a neighbor hood watch after Even's (Ben Stiller) friend get's killed at his work. they come to find out that it was aliens that killed him and are killing other people in the town and taking over their bodies and taking shelter in the local Costco.

    They start to expect that everyone is a alien and don't trust them anymore. Evan thinks that his new neighbor Billy Crudup is a alien and he invites them over for a party with they end up thinking it's a meeting for the aliens but ends up only being a neighborhood orgy. This is part where we see a band "The Lonely Island" jerking each other off i thought that was just too funny and couldn't stop laughing for like five minutes. In the end they end up killing all the aliens by blowing up the Costco

    Overall i give it a 6.0 definitely a better watch then what i thought it was going to be maybe ill give it another watch in a couple months
    Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    5
    Just an average film or even below average at certain points. I expected more because of Ben Stiller and Jonah Hill but this movie didn't doJust an average film or even below average at certain points. I expected more because of Ben Stiller and Jonah Hill but this movie didn't do the magic for me. There are a couple of funny moments which really make you laugh but they're not enough for a film to be considered good especially when you are expecting much more because of the people attached to the movie. The plot had so much potential but the screenplay wasn't that powerful or inspiring. Collapse
  6. Mar 15, 2013
    3
    So much comedic talent wasted on such an unfunny boring alien invasion movie. Besides a few chuckles here or there this film is just a waste of time.
  7. Nov 7, 2012
    0
    This movie is offensively unfunny. I want to sue someone for the 30 minutes I wasted on it. It's as though someone wrote a vague story lineThis movie is offensively unfunny. I want to sue someone for the 30 minutes I wasted on it. It's as though someone wrote a vague story line while out of their tree on alcohol or other stimulants, then these mega-egos got together and thought they could make it hilarious by ad-libbing the entire way through it. They couldn't. They are painfully, horribly unfunny. Maybe they will get a few **** out of a few undiscerning 14-year old boys.

    Atrocious.
    Expand

See all 57 User Reviews

Trailers