Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jiro—inspired by the famous Italian aeronautical designer Caproni—dreams of flying and designing beautiful airplanes. Nearsighted from a young age and thus unable to become a pilot, Jiro joins the aircraft division of a major Japanese engineering company in 1927. His genius is soon recognized, and he grows to become one of the world’s most accomplished airplane designers. The film chronicles much of his life, and depicts key historical events that deeply affected the course of Jiro’s life, including the Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923, the Great Depression, the tuberculosis epidemic and Japan’s plunge into war. He meets and falls in love with Nahoko, and grows and cherishes his friendship with his colleague Honjo. A tremendous innovator, Jiro leads the aviation world into the future. Miyazaki pays tribute to engineer Jiro Horikoshi and author Tatsuo Hori in his creation of the fictional character Jiro—the center of the epic tale of love, perseverance, and the challenges of living and making choices in a turbulent world. Expand
  • Director: Hayao Miyazaki
  • Genre(s): Biography, Drama, History, Romance, War, Animation
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 126 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Feb 27, 2014
    100
    The film is visually sumptuous, morally ambiguous, dramatic and dreamlike, with a narrative as engrossing as any live-action movie of 2013. It’s easy to follow yet hard to shake.
  2. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Sep 12, 2013
    100
    Miyazaki is at the peak of his visual craftsmanship here, alternating lush, boldly colored rural vistas with epic, crowded urban canvases, soaring aerial perspectives and test flights both majestic and ill-fated.
  3. Reviewed by: Deborah Young
    Sep 12, 2013
    90
    A very honest film from a great Japanese artist.
  4. Reviewed by: Nicolas Rapold
    Nov 7, 2013
    80
    Mr. Miyazaki renders Jiro’s life and dreams with lyrical elegance and aching poignancy.
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    May 5, 2014
    80
    While Miyazaki’s two-hour-long, historical-melodrama swansong is destined to be his most divisive film yet, it is also his most adult and interesting, and never less than visually breathtaking throughout.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Feb 20, 2014
    75
    Of Miyazaki’s many gifts as a filmmaker, perhaps the most subtle is the way he honors time and silence and stillness, values that are in lamentably short supply in most modern-day productions.
  7. Reviewed by: Xan Brooks
    Sep 12, 2013
    60
    A gorgeous yet ultimately frustrating tribute to the Japanese airplane designer Jiro Horikoshi.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    I recently watched this film when I was in Japan (which I believe released in June). This is unlike most Miyazaki movies, as it is far deeper and more "adult" than most of his other films. It still has a light hearted, and stunning art style. It also has themes and messages, regarding World War 2, and lays out these messages very subtly. This movie wont be for everyone, since it is not traditional Miyazaki fare. However, this movie should not go unseen. Miyazaki's final film is something you will ponder for a long while. Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2014
    10
    Le vent se lève est assurément l'un des film les plus marquants qu'il m'ait été donné de voir.
    Si il y avait une 6e étoile pour meilleur film
    de l'histoire de l'animation japonaise je la décernerais immédiatement à ce film tellement il est maitrisé de bout en bout.

    Tout d'abord techniquement et artistiquement, le film est une pure merveille, le soin accordé à chaque décors et tel que chacun de ceux-ci devraient être encadrés et accrochés dans un musée : les intérieurs et les décors urbains sont criant d'authenticité et la nature et dans ce film plus belle encore que dans les autres films de ce génie (et pourtant c'est difficile de faire mieux que princesse mononoké, le Chateau Ambulant, Porco Rosso ou même Ponyo ).

    L'animation est vraiment impressionnante : les scènes de foule sont bluffantes ( pendant le tremblement de terre notamment ) et le vent est représenté d'une manière assez incroyable : toujours annonciateur d'événements clés du scénario ( les multiples rencontres de Naoko et Jiro, les essais en vol ... ) il pourrait même faire mesure de personnage à part entière tant il est important dans le film. L'animation des personnages et des machines quelles qu'elles soient sont comme toujours avec Miyazaki excellentes.

    Mais comme la technique et esthétique ne font pas tout d'un film il me faut aussi parler du contenu. Le vent se lève et sans conteste le film de Miyazaki le plus symbolique et par conséquent la plus personnelle de ses œuvres. La ressemblance entre le personnage principal Jiro Horikoshi et Hayao Miyasaki est frappante : il est comme lui obsédé par son travail et rêve, il ne vit quasiment que pour lui et seul son amour pour Naoko parvient à l'en détourner quelque peu.

    Le scénario quand à lui adopte en rythme calme et posé à l'opposé des autres œuvres du Sensei. Il est néanmoins ponctué de scènes de rêve toutes plus géniales les unes que les autres et on sent que c'est dans c'est passages là que miyasaki à pu exprimer son talent pour le fantastique.
    Jiro parle assez peu car c'est selon Miyazaki ainsi que parlaient les gens brillants à cette époque. Quand à Naoko, elle est très attachante et ses apparitions à l'écran sont magiques. L'histoire d'amour entre ces deux personnages est aussi touchante que tragique tout cela sans jamais tomber dans le tire-larme. Quand aux personnages secondaires ils sont également très réussis. Mention spéciale à Caproni, L'allemand Castorp et au chef de Jiro qui sont tous trois les personnages hauts en couleur récurrent au œuvres de Miyazaki.

    Pour ce qui est des défauts, je n'en honnêtement pas trouvé ou du moins aucun de ceux énoncé par les déçus ne m'ont dérangé. Je n'ai pas trouvé le film trop long, loin de là, ni ennuyeux. Je pense que le principal défaut que les gens lui reproche est d'être un Miyazaki et par dessus tout le dernier de ses films. Il ne vise pas le bon public et je plaint sincèrement les enfants ainsi que ceux qui n'apprécient pas les films au rythme lent et quasiment sans action et je peux comprendre qu'ils aient pu s'ennuyer pendant ces deux heures. Quant aux polémiques sur les cigarettes et sur la soi-disant apologie de guerre du film, elles sont totalement ridicules car ses deux éléments sont cohérents avec le film. Les jeunes japonais étaient très fumeurs dans les années 20-30 et le film prend le point de vue d'un personnage profondément fermé dans sa bulle et naïf, Jiro, et c'est pour cela que la guerre ne se ressent quasiment pas dans le film

    Toujours est t-il que le vent se lève est pour moi le meilleur des films de Miyazaki ( et ce n'est pas rien ) qu'il m'a été donné de voir et je conseille à tous de voir ce véritable chef-d'œuvre qui mérite entièrement le titre d'"ultime chef d-oeuvre du maître de l'animation japonaise". Adieu Miyazaki et un immense merci à tout ce que vous et vos équipes avez apporté à l'animation et au cinéma en général, vous êtes un artiste fabuleux.
    Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    To say this film is beautiful is an understatement. Miyazaki weaves a story with a lot of awesome characters and some of the best animation I've seen in a long while.

    To cut to the most controversial point, the film does NOT attempt to make Japan's actions or the actions of the Axis Powers seem just, even going as far as some of the characters saying "if Japan does this, we will burn." The movie does not attempt to separate right and wrong in WWII, but focuses on a much more personal tale of a man's ambitions to build beautiful planes.

    On a lighter note, the film is brilliantly animated and directed. The dreams of the protagonist flow smoothly into the narrative, and the overall story and meaning is quite a bit deeper than what I expected. The English dub is also quite good, having much more voice talent than I was expecting. Overall, this movie is amazingly done, and I would even say that it should have won the Oscar over Frozen
    Expand
  4. Sep 22, 2014
    9
    A masterpiece. Probably the last of the Miyazaki's work. Worth seeing again and again.
    Its a shame it was over looked at Academy Award to
    some disney stuff.
    This is without doubt the best animation of 2013
    Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    Though not entirely on par with Grave of the Fireflies and Spirited Away, it is a well written and gorgeously animated film that shows the pursuit of ones dreams and the perversions that they can be subjected to, as well a fitting send off to one of the greatest animated film directors of any era. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2014
    7
    I've seen all of Miyazaki's films. This certainly looked like a Miyazaki film, but it didn't feel like one. Usually his films are full of fantasy and imagination. This is a slow moving, straight-forward love story set during a war about a man who is passionate about designing and building airplanes and falls in love with a woman with TB. All of his other films were aimed at children, but young kids will get fidgety at this one, especially since it is 2 hours in length. You will also have to explain to your child why the leading man is a chain smoker and why he wants to design planes that drop bombs on other countries. In other words, this is a film for adults. All that said, the artwork in this film is gorgeous. I don't know how he draws buildings that look so real, and he is the absolute best at getting lighting correct. The film will hold your attention on its look alone. It's sad that this is the last film he will direct but I'm sure he will remain involved in Studio Ghibli and they will continue to release great movies. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    I love Miyazaki hayao and his films. And most people loves him too. He is the most famous animation director in the Japan. I watched his film in movie theater when I was child and it gave me a lot of imagination. But I hate 'only' this film. Because, first of all this film is distorting history. Japan was definitely starting World War II. It was not a victim. But in this film, it said 'Japan was a victim in WW2'. Second, the voice actor. Jiro's voice actor was awful. Anno hideaki, the voice actor of Jiro, was acting like textbook reader. So I couldn't concentrate in movie. For these reasons make me upset about this film. I'm so sad because this film is the last of Miyazaki hayao's film. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.