Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1074 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 28, 2013
    100
    This telling of the tale possesses enormous cinematic energy and a killer supporting cast full of hilarious delights.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob James
    Dec 17, 2013
    100
    A touch too long, yet never slack, at three hours, TWOWS benefits from independent funding, Scorsese’s brass balls and an A-grade cast’s turbulent improvisations to emerge as an epic, boldly broad screwball comedy about the state of America, then and now.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Dec 24, 2013
    100
    A very fast three hours, Wolf is a fascinating, revolting, outlandish, uproarious, exhilarating and exhausting master work on immorality.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Dec 17, 2013
    80
    A big, unruly bacchanal of a movie that huffs and puffs and nearly blows its own house down, but holds together by sheer virtue of its furious filmmaking energy and a Leonardo DiCaprio star turn so electric it could wake the dead.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 23, 2013
    80
    A delirious, manic, push-the-limits comedy of gaudy amorality that tests the audience’s taste. But it’s a gamble that works, since you leave this adrenaline trip wasted, but invigorated.
  6. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Dec 24, 2013
    63
    Been there, done that. As thrilling a filmmaker as Martin Scorsese continues to be, and as wild a performance as Leonardo DiCaprio dishes up as its morally bankrupt master of the universe, The Wolf of Wall Street seems almost entirely unnecessary.
  7. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Dec 24, 2013
    25
    Here’s something I never expected to say, something I doubt I’d have believed if someone else had said it to me: Martin Scorsese can make a three-hour movie without one fresh perspective or compelling character from end to end. The proof, for three agonizing hours, can be found in The Wolf of Wall Street.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 267
  1. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    enjoyable time… I read some of the reviews below about exploiting our country..blah blah blah. Good funny movie. Lots of drugs, sex, hookers, etc.
    Just a heads up..
    Been a while since I've seen that much nudity too!
    but who cares!
    Expand
  2. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    An epic film; amazing acting, directing, and overall entertainment. While it is raunchy, don't be turned away by this, this is truly a well made and great film Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    In the end, The Wolf of Wall Street is an outrageous and repugnant reflection of something very real and very rotten at the core of our society. Some people will inevitably be so put off by the harsh composition of the message that they fail to heed the importance of that message; but in presenting so much of the bad and the ugly behind Wall Street so unflinchingly, Scorsese has crafted an insightful and important deconstruction of post-millennial America’s moral erosion. These are the barbarians at our gates. Collapse
  4. May 25, 2014
    8
    For a movie that I didn't know was going to be 3 hours it was quite a thrill ride it didn't even feel like it was that long. Martin Scorsese brings us the true story of Jordan Belfort a young talented stockbroker that wants what everyone wants TONS AND TONS of money and he is going to take Wall Street by storm. Scorsese and DiCaprio have done quite a few movies together The Departed being my favorite this is second for sure. The cast and dialog were near perfection I liked how sometimes in the movie DiCaprio would talk to the camera and it wasnt just one word but it felt like he was having a conversation with you. Now im not a fan of Wall street movies it's just not what I like to watch the only two good movies I have seen about wall street were American Psycho and Trading Places.

    Leonardo DiCaprio was perfect again like always im waiting for the guy to have one bad role but i don't think that is happening anytime soon. Matthew McConaughey was great even though his role was small. Seriously though Jonah Hill was my favorite part of the movie just on the comedy aspect along he was so funny he had be laughing a lot best movie i have seen him in for sure. Also it seems that Kyle Chandler always plays a cop in all his movies at least the ones that I can think of Super 8, Zero Dark Thirty, Argo, The Day The Earth Stood Still I guess he just does a good cop. Didn't even know Jon Favreau was gong to be in the movie but it was great seeing him in it. The movie seems more like a big party then a wall street movie i mean it has A lot of drugs and naked women and i wasn't expecting it maybe thats why its being loved so much at least i know i loved the movie.

    Overall I give it a 8.5 The movie is that great I would recommend it to people but I know most can't watch a 3 hour movie for me though its a piece of cake. I have had plenty of extented LOTR movie days so can handle a long movie. Also this is a for sure Blu Ray buy
    Expand
  5. Jan 16, 2014
    7
    Martin Scorsese is really good at making you like terrible people (Goodfellas). By far the best scenes in The Wolf of Wall Street are when Leonardo DiCaprio makes his speeches, I’m growing to like him more. Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2013
    5
    Ignore reviews that have very low ratings. They know nothing about this industry and assume that their opinion makes some difference. There is much drug and sex action in this film so if that is not with you, don't see it. If you want to see what it was really like and can deal with drugs, sex, and alcohol and the truth about the times in this business, see it.

    I did this very type of thing for about 30 years starting in 1984 for The then largest Merrill and moved up to the Swiss banks like UBS eventually. i did get licensed and knew many people that only wanted to make for themselves and they did. The pressure to "smile and dial" was right on in the film and we all made money and spent it like mad. I went through the crash of '87 and many others. We drank a lot, had sex a lot, many used drugs a lot, and went very nuts. The penny stock trash was something that actually did happen and still does. You could know nothing about finances, and investment planning, but if you could sell, that is all that mattered. Another great film that is right on about this is Boiler Room with many stars and shows how nasty brokers can get.

    Don't bring children or people totally against the reality of drugs, booze, n boobs. It is long and could be shorter but is worth seeing. Just stay through the whole thing.
    Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2014
    0
    An excess of excessively excessive excess. Yes, that's what watching this movie feels like. Unnecessary redundancy. An over-the-top, repetitive, sleaze fest with no heart, no point, no redeeming qualities whatsoever. I kept hoping 1/2 way through and 3/4 way through that something intelligent was going to develop. Just more snorting coke out of more butt holes. A really unfortunate way to spend 3, yes, every bit of 3 hours. I understand it's a true story. If that's the excuse for this, next time, Mr Scorsese, please tell a true story about someone we can care about. Expand

See all 267 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis

    2014 Oscar Nominations: Full List and Analysis Image
    Published: January 16, 2014
    The Oscar nominations are in. What were this year's biggest surprises and snubs? Find a complete list and analysis of nominees for the 86th Annual Academy Awards.
  2. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  3. 2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard

    2013 Film Awards and Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 3, 2013
    Find a complete list of 2013's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.