User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 707 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 707

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 26, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While watching The Wolverine, I was reminded of another Marvel movie, Spider-Man 2. The two films showed how the powers given to our heroes effect them. But in Spider-Man 2 unlike The Wolverine, this story is well explored and done. In Spider-Man 2 there's an actual struggle. Peter wants to be with Mary Jane and not disappoint her all the time. However, at the same time the city needs him. He thinks back to what Uncle Ben told him about "With great power, comes great responsibility." In The Wolverine, the story is done horribly. We're showed why Logan doesn't want to be immortal anymore which links back to X-Men: The Last Stand. Even with that it feels vague and forced because we are constantly reminded. Going back to there being no struggle, at a certain point in the movie Logan decides it's time to get his powers back. I mean it's makes sense, since Mariko was kidnapped. But it all felt half-baked. Now I know it's unfair to compare it to Spider-Man 2. Now I'll just go ahead and look at the movie for what it's trying to accomplish. The movie started out promising. The scene where Logan saves Yashida and the beginning showing him as a drifter laid interesting groundwork. The scene where everyone is attending Yashida's funeral is where things really started to slide. From there we fallow Logan's and Mariko's relationship which is incredibly forced. After a few scenes of them just interacting, they arrive at a home of Mariko's. Then they fall in love like that. The movie concludes with Mariko being kidnapped and Logan has to get his powers back to save. The final act of this movie is one big mess. A lot of the time you're going, really? Especially with the final plot twist. Some of this has to do with the villains. They are generic and uninteresting. This brings me back to my next point, the acting. Hugh Jackman is good as always. In this particular film he really gets to bring the animal out in his character. Rila Fukushima as Yariko didn't do it for me at first. She felt really bland. But as the movie went on I started to like her more and more. The rest of the cast is stale. With the exception of the train scene, the action was just there. It didn't do anything for me. I didn't care about anything going on with the plot. It just wasn't interesting. So in the end. The Wolverine suffers from mostly bad acting, generic villains, almost non existent character development, dull plot, and bad story. Expand
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    Horrible.... The first Wolverine was fun, this one was incredibly boring. It felt like it was watered down for kids, when he'd stab someone it'd not show any blood... just a close up of either Logan or bad guys face reacting to it. The characters were weak, Viper was a crap actor and they voiced over her lines because I felt like I was watching an old Kung Fu movie. Logan's love interest was just stupid. Maybe I'm just had higher expectations after watching Superman. The first Wolverine was great, and I've seen it many times. This movie just lacked any fun qualities and the characters were boring. Expand
  3. Jul 26, 2013
    2
    Is there not a director out there that can get a grip on the wolverine? Hugh jackman keeps this from being a total loss, but the story and tone are all over the place. A good moment is lost to numerous dull and botched scenes. I know the studio wanted to avoid a R rating, but the lack of blood from all of wolverine's slashing is laughable. An improvement over the origins film, but rent this if you really have to see it. Expand
  4. Jul 29, 2013
    0
    This movie is so bad that it is a disgrace to contemporary cinema art in all its forms whether it's acting, plot, cinematography or editing. The plot of the film is so lame and disgusting that I want to just ask yourself, "What is worth all this?". All the characters are so stupid, and their actions are so incomprehensible to me that you just want to get away and not watch all this nonsense that is happening on the screen. Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    1
    I thought Die Hard 5 was the worst movie I'd see this year. But I was wrong. The Wolverine was worse. It's like Kill Bill without the fun. Or the revenge. It's like that episode of Lost where Jack goes to Thailand to get a tattoo. It's boring. It's poorly written. It's pointless.
  6. Jul 27, 2013
    3
    I was so hoping for a good one finally...alas, no. The first 30 minutes or so are fine. But, once we start arcing to the middle of the movie plus the lack of an effective protagonist along with one of the most lame mutant villains ever (the doc whose powers (if you can call them that) don't contribute to the story line at all) causes the alarms to begin ringing. The movie is so formulaic as was Iron Man 3 as was Avengers as was...The plot truly makes no sense but you do have to look beneath the surface. Just scratch it a little and you will see the lack of plot integrity. Finally, the big finale was so ridiculous and I have seen this exact story line in so many of these movies. It is pretty nearly identical to Guy Pearce's part in Prometheus for instance. Expand
  7. Jul 27, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One very good action scene on top of the train but that was about it. Hugh Hackman gave it his all as ever but the movie just dragged on way too much. The rest of the action scenes were not well filmed at all. The iron ninja at the end is just stupid and unnecessary. I think a lack of star power also killed this movie though. Apart from Jackman there is no one recognizable in the movie. Not always a bad thing but this movie was crying out for a charismatic well fleshed out villain. The big reveal at the end is seen coming from a mile away. The character deserves a better director and story but I think this may well put the final death nail on the coffin for stand alone Wolverine movies. Expand
  8. Jul 30, 2013
    0
    i was expecting more from that film. the first one has more action scenes. this one is so boring. i regret to have waste my money on that film... do not waste your time on this film..go see pacific rim its way much better. also the only thing he cut in this movie is paper walls and wood....very disappointing..
  9. Jul 27, 2013
    1
    bad movie, its not like other xmen series, this one is just like normal action movie with sword, gun, etc
    no original xmen fight with supernatural power, just fighting with sowrd, gun ,etc
    omg its just not like xmen
  10. Jul 26, 2013
    3
    Overall plot of this movie is not bad. That's why I give a "3", not "1". Wolverine: origins was 8/10 for me. But this new film is 85% some of the stupidiest dialogs I ever heard, and 15% of cheap action. And worst of all Wolverine is not immortal badass in this movie. Just some romantic guy picking up japanese chicks.
  11. Jul 29, 2013
    3
    When will Hollywood understand that most people don't go to see a wolverine or superman or even batman movie to see them get a piece of ass, the whole half hour to forty five minutes of character development leading up to a simple sex act is boring.
    Also please stop with the I'm losing my powers through 90 minutes of the movie and now I got them back for the last 10 minutes of the
    movie, been there done that. Expand
  12. Jul 28, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spoilers ahead

    This is stupid. Why can't a move follow some of the established character from the comics? The Comic book company has spent a lot of money perfecting the character, why not use something more closely resembling their story arc and actually using the established history?

    Silver Samurai's suit made of adamantium? seriously? Even a heated adamantium sword (or tachyon energised sword like the comic's Silver Samurai) couldn't cut off Wolverines claws. And when Logan was fighting the father wielding a katana, the katana would have been cut to pieces.

    The comic book wolverine would have mopped up those silly back- flipping keystone cop ninjas.

    The relationship that was "forged" (as in counterfeit) between Mariko and Logan was laugable. I won't be watching this when it pops up on the tube, and certainly won't buy the dvd or even rent it on Redbox. I wouldn't even watch it on netflix.
    Expand
  13. Jul 28, 2013
    3
    Awful. Just plain awful. Making a tortured-soul-identity-crisis-movie with Wolverine? Who would ever think that would work?
    God, that plot reminded me of Max Payne 3, it's roughly the same useless story, where the protagonist, according o his background and personality, shouldn't be giving a damn about all the people who just come out of nowhere, grab him, put him somewhere far away from
    home, and try to communicate with him, pretending that something very big and meaningful is happening. The truth is, nothing is really happening, at least, nothing that couldn't be explained in a ten-minute sequence rather than a two-hour parade of boredom.
    Action scenes are dull and unsophisticated, with CGI so badly made that my eyes were starting to hurt. I've never thought that an action scene with someone like Logan could make me fall asleep, but this movie made me change my mind. Great job.
    All of this was worth seeing only because of the little two-minute sequence after the credits. Now I'm just keeping my fingers crossed for "The Days Of The Future Past".
    Expand
  14. Jul 29, 2013
    3
    I'm quite disappointed with this movie. I was comparing it with the comic and animation's story (the wolverine chapter in Japan). I believe those ones are much better than the movie. they have deeper and well written plot. The director obviously could not get wolverine at all. Logan seems clueless but in the same time the story does not bring out the character. it was good enough in the beginning, well at least the first 30 minutes. But the rest...is just lame. Such a waste of Jackman and Hiroyuki Sanada's good acting. I can't feel the Japan/Ninja/ or Samurai's vibe at all in here. Waiting for a climax factor which never been found until the end. At least Xmen origin: Wolverine was quite okay and entertaining. This one is boring. And the last fight? Well.. that including the main villain and the mutant girl are just so wrong. So I believe this movie is much less than I'd expected. It just needs a much better director Expand
  15. Jul 30, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers. Hard to believe a film could make Wolverine:Origins seem like a decent film. I have no clue how a character such as Wolverine, who's foundation was cemented in the Frank Miller mini series cannon, can be botched this badly. The work (story, mood, sub-plots, characters, etc) had already been done.....how could you screw this up?

    The movie rambles pointlessly after Logan gets to Japan and never completes until it ruins Logan's experience in Japan, the Silver Samurai character, and needlessly introduces the Viper character (what was the point of her molting and taking off her outfit......only to put it back on and be in the same form?). This movie makes my head hurt
    Collapse
  16. Aug 19, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was an incredible disappointment. Corny, campy, unrealistic (yes, even for a sci-fi movie) in terms of both plot, character, action sequences, etc. The costume for the female antagonist was terrible. Like a costume out of the 80's. Oh, and Ninjas.. Lots of corn-ball, 1980's ninjas running around and doing unnecessary flips. There are too many stupid little things to mention. A stupid little movie. The acting was OK, and Hugh Jackman was fantastic as always.. but terrible plot really. This movie is actually a 3, but there are a lot of BS reviews of this movie, I think by some paid company and they need to be offset. This movie should NOT be green. It should be Mixed/Orange. Expand
  17. Aug 16, 2013
    0
    The movie is worst movie i ever watched.Half of people in cinema were sleeping,only
    the dump looked people were enjoying and i felt that they need therapy session.
    The Archer changing sides than baby dippers don't know what the hell is he doing.
    Hugh Jackman is always perfect and he did his best but this movie is horrible as dark knight
    rises where batman doing fist fight.First thing
    is how Japanese captured Wolverine.Who can ran away from Atom bomb while its falling.
    May be flash can do but certainly no human.Movie also so predictable and first glance i knew Yashida
    is the Silver Samurai.Why they delayed till last to extract Wolverine's powers they could have easily done
    it in first place.My advice is don't watch this in 3D because hardly any 3D in it and 3D wise similar
    to iron man 3,rent in a rent box if you have nothing to do with your money.To writers only one message stick
    with comic books unless you are good as JJ Abrams or Dennis Lehane.
    Expand
  18. Aug 20, 2013
    3
    Yet another money grabbing film from the X-Men universe. The Wolverine is a terrible film, I'm even tempted to say that it was worse than X-Men Last Stand. The Wolverine which is essentially a two hour waste of time to see a post credit scene that lasts around 30 seconds to set up "Days of Future Past".

    The Wolverine is another attempt to give Wolverine a decent stand alone film. Both
    times, frankly, have failed miserably. Wolverine is given a pointless and c***py assistant, who's part in the film is just a waste of time. Despite all of the rubbish that happens, the plot which is just stupid.

    I did enjoy seeing the darker, angrier Wolverine from the comics coming alive, in this film. But that is the only good thing about this film, and it is only really seen for about 20 minutes, if that.
    Expand
  19. Aug 25, 2013
    0
    Horrible !
    Silver Samurai armor
    sword
    Viper
    Ninja
    story
    action
    The Wolverine
    omg
    everything
    all horrible

    too many Marvel Comics
    I don't like superheroes
  20. Dec 2, 2013
    0
    This movie was horrible! It was worse than X-Men Origins: The Wolverine! I can't imagine how people liked it! It was slow, boring & didn't even make sense. All the characters besides Wolverine were not memorable in the slightest. I was laughing out loud about how cheesy it was & my wife fell asleep. All these good reviews must be BS as this movie has no redeeming qualities outside of the X-Men: Days of Future Past preview during the credits. Expand
  21. Dec 7, 2013
    0
    This was an obvious stroke film for guys that like Asian women. And at what point did the Wolverine become an absolute weak that doesn't crush his opponents either through decapitation or through extreme bloody violence. This movie was an insult to the comic book series, and the studios need to stop now.
  22. Aug 3, 2013
    3
    I kid you not the absolute best part of this movie is after the credits has rolled and Marvel gives its fans a glimpse of the next X-men. THANK YOU FOR THE HOPE!!! I had to clap for that after credits clip.

    So, let me dive straight into this review and sum this movie up in a way that HOPEFULLY everyone can relate to. Ok, you know how Fast and Furious's first two movies were excellent
    and you couldn't wait to see the next installment? Then you went to the theaters to see part 3 and you left the theatre with a question mark over your head thinking "what the hell did I just watch? What point was this movie trying to make? What the hell did this movie do to add to the Fast and Furious story? And why the hell are we in Tokyo!!??"

    These are the same exact questions you will wonder after finishing The Wolverine.... And yes, just like Tokyo drift Marvel sends us to Japan to brush up on Japanese traditions and learn how not to insult residents.

    To sum up, this movie is just pointless... Pointless plot, pointless villains and pointless protagonist. All equaling a pointless movie. Yesssss I understand the point was to show how Wolverine gets over Jean. But did we really need to see this whole movie in order to arrive to that point?
    Expand
  23. Aug 10, 2013
    3
    Oh boy, where do I begin? Let's start by saying that The Wolverine is comprised of 75% boring filler; the entire movie could have been done in 30 minutes and would have probably turned out better too. Honestly, I couldn't wait for it to be over! It didn't look or feel like an X-Men movie at all. There was only 2.5 mutants in the entire movie. Two and a half because one of them just had completely lame powers. At first I thought it might be neat to have a Japanese setting. I was ultimately wrong, as the movie quickly turned into crouch-rockets and samurai swords. The dialogue was boring, and the Japanese accents eventually made Hugh Jackman look completely out of place. The action parts were good, but it's nothing you haven't already seen. The plot seems like it was chosen out of a hat. The story starts off good, but it gradually gets worse the entire movie. The movie just felt very tired. Overall, I give The Wolverine 3/10. It just didn't deliver and felt like a pointless part of the series. How anyone could give this movie a positive review is beyond me. Expand
  24. Nov 22, 2013
    0
    Don't usually give things zeros since it is extreme but this is hands down one of the worst "big budget" movies I have ever seen. Horrible acting, writing, everything. The reason this film was made is because they have to make XMen movies every "X" amount of years to maintain the rights. I literally laughed out lout a few times the movie is THAT bad. I have a hard time believing any of the positive reviews aren't a joke. Expand
  25. Aug 10, 2013
    3
    This movie is bad, plain and simple. Better than "Wolverine:Origins", but that's not saying much. The story is completely irrelevant and flat. The villains are generic and uninspired. The romance plot is forced and unbelievable. The stakes and character development are non-existent. The action is dry, shaky, bloodless and cartoonish. I feel bad for Hugh Jackman for once again not getting the script that he deserves. Expand
  26. Jul 28, 2013
    4
    Don't know what movie the other reviewers saw, but this movie does not stay true to the comics. If you're a fan-boy, you may find yourself irritated by the absence of crucial aspects of Wolverine's character. Other aspects are just simply inaccurate. Hugh Jackman does indeed do an admirable job given the limited back-story he has to work with, and hey, no one looks better as Logan! I found myself disinterested with the story pretty early in and that feeling lasted throughout the remainder of the movie (I found it to be a very cut and paste approach to evolving the Wolverine character) I began simply looking forward to the next action scene, which didn't disappoint. Really not sure why this is an R rated movie... Expand
  27. Aug 10, 2013
    1
    I was expecting a lot from The wolverine. This movie is totally disappointing. The story was not up to the mark. Moreover, there were lots of other villains that can be chosen. Overall it was boring too.
  28. Sep 21, 2013
    4
    No fun! Few actions scenes, almost boring.
    The begining is fine but the rest of the movie is practically horrible and ridiculous. A big waste of money!!!
  29. Nov 24, 2013
    4
    The movie was very flat, I love the films of mutants, but this only came in three, adding that the villain, Viber, was complete crap, devoid of personality second thought the movie was very regular, shooting bad.
  30. Aug 27, 2013
    4
    I always feel that movies set in Japan are automatically at an advantage because of the inherent beauty and tradition that comes with the country which is why The Wolverine is such a colossal disappointment. When Logan (Hugh Jackman) saves a Japanese man's life in Hiroshima in 1945 he sets off chain reaction that brings about death and destruction in the present when Wolverine is summoned by the man so that he can say his goodbyes. While Jackman is a talented performer, The Wolverine is beyond saving as it is derivative, predictable and most of all, its boring. Working off a horrendous script by writers Mark Bomback and Scott Frank, director James Mangold shows a talent behind the camera for the action in the film with a high speed chase on a bullet train being a breathtaking piece of cinema but he fails to display emotion or evoke character out of his wooden performers. It's not entirely his fault, the acting is dire with both female leads dragging the film down. The constant references to X-Men: The Last Stand and the presence of Famke Janssen's Jean Grey reminds viewers of the nonsensical mess of a film that was, which should make The Wolverine look stellar by comparison but it only really makes you long for the days of Bryan Singers X films. While the film does try to fix the character of Logan, ridding him of some of his grief and shame, it just feels like a stop gap before Jackman is set to appear in the following X film, Days of Future Past. Ultimately its a feature that doesn't live up to its potential and makes light of its own story of redemption by having Logan murder countless numbers of people as if for sport making the whole movie a waste of anyone's precious time. Expand
  31. Sep 25, 2013
    1
    Embarrassingly awful. I cringed throughout the whole thing. I so wanted it to be good. Bad acting and stale plot. The whole just felt incredibly done before.
  32. Jul 31, 2013
    3
    It takes a special kind of talent to make the X-Men's most popular character boring. Poor editing, terrible characterization (James aka Logan doesn't speak Japanese and didn't train/study in Japan? ARE YOU KIDDING ME??) flat action sequences, and awful direction from James Mangold made this movie exactly what I thought it would be. When Darren Aronofsky was on board to direct it seemed like I was gonna get the Wolverine film I'd always wanted with substance and a less-is-more style, rather than lots of yelling and poorly choreographed action scenes. Even when Aronofsky left the project, (handing of it off to James Mangold, the man behind such classics as Knight & Day, 3:10 to Yuma and Girl Interrupted), I still held out hope that some of Aronofsky’s original vision could carry over to this new version of the story, but it seems I was wrong. I'd have rather spent two and half hours watching the old Saturday morning X-Men cartoons. F this movie. Expand
  33. Aug 5, 2013
    3
    I love the wolverine comics and this movie, sad but true, it is far too bad to share the same name of the franchise. Bad direction, bad script, a lot of no senses.... This movie made Die Hard 5 looks good
  34. Dec 18, 2013
    4
    I really enjoyed all of the X-Men based movies, great fun, great stories and great action everything required for a few hours of popcorn escapism.
    Well The Wolverine takes all that, scrunchies it into a ball and chucks it in the bin.
    Nonsense from start to finish, more lazy incoherent writing from the mass-producing Hollywood clowns.
    It's all about the bucks and nothing to do with the
    audience, I mean do the producers and writers actually watch the tripe before they dish it out to the public?? On this evidence, I think not. Expand
  35. Aug 3, 2013
    4
    Was a decent movie until the horrible final scene that steal all sense to the plot....a lot of things at the end doesn't have a logic; also the action sequences were so bad made (I can't believe that awful battle on the roof of a train...) exept one; Wolverine vs Silver Samurai was one of the better superhero duel ever seen in my opinion (even still so far respect on Superman vs Zod or Hulk vs Abomination).
    At least better than "X-men origins: Wolverine", but Jackman should be used in a better movie...
    Expand
  36. Aug 26, 2013
    4
    If you like martial arts you might want to check out the new WOLVERINE movie. I don’t know why they call the movie “WOLVERINE” cuz Hugh Jackman has nothing to do with any of the plot of characters until the last 10 minutes of the movie if you exclude the brief yet passionless encounter between Jackman and a young woman. But the Wolverine does make an interesting ally for the movie’s warring gang factions. I suppose the producer also needed a ‘superstar’ to pander his Kung Fu movie since Hugh Jackman is the only white guy along with some toxic blond who struts around in Jimmy Chu’s and spends most of the movie deep throating her venomous forked tongue into unsuspecting male admirers. Again, why this character is in the movie, makes no sense other than erotic and to push the envelope of the R rating. This having been said, the movie was only okay because the ‘flow’ (I use the term loosely) is constantly interrupted by the need for another martial arts battle. It got boring for me after like the 10th battle and each battle goes on for a while.The giant metal samurai battle at the end was laughable, sorry. Its probably me and I don’t mean to sound jaded (no pun intended) but after having seen Crouching Tiger nothing really impresses me in this arena. If you’re going to do a 2 hr. martial arts movie you had better have awesome dialogue and impressive plot/characters.With the exception of Wolverine this had neither. So going full circle, this is why the movie is called WOLVERINE. But don’t be disheartened X-Men fans. There was an interesting ‘teaser’ at the end with Magneto and Xavier which shows promise for the NEXT X-Men Wolverine release. On the upside PIXAR and DISNEY have a slew of new releases coming out in genuine ADHD guaranteed to keep the little tikes bouncing off the wall way past their bedtime. Expand
  37. Nov 7, 2013
    2
    Well the movie reminded me of a 80's cheesy film. Jackman did a good job with his acting, but everything else was cheesy, predictable, and some what boring. I mean Ninjas on motorbikes on top of the roofs and on a snowy ice cover roof at that, then flying around, I mean it was stupid really.
    The bad guy (girl) was a typical Hollywood garbage we seen a million times, ya know talks slow and
    sarcastic and the producer tries to wedge in sexiness into the way they act and talk, yawn, yeah we seen this before and it is pathetic and getting tiresome.
    Not to mention the anti-hunter thing in the beginning of the movie, typical left wing BS portraying hunters as all a bunch of idiots and of course the animals life is more important that a persons life. Pathetic and sick.
    Hollywood pumps out more propaganda and garbage any more, and this is just another one of those kind of movies.
    Expand
  38. Jan 5, 2014
    0
    This was just a bad movie on so many levels, plot, characters, etc. Hugh Jackman was good and the only reason one would even want to torture themselves to see this garbage. I love the X-Men original movies, the comics, and the cartoon, but this movie ruined the franchise. The actors were really bad and such a silly ending, this movie needed better fight scenes, actors, and plot...fire the director! Expand
  39. May 2, 2014
    3
    This is how you ruin an amazing character who was part of an amazing franchise. The Wolverine is overly boring, with a ridiculous screenplay, laughable action sequences and awful nonsense villains.
  40. Oct 9, 2014
    4
    Give me a break the guys a great actor but the Wolverine I read about in the comics will tear him apart. The guy is to tall, to weak, and not vicious enough when he fights. Wolverine is a beast a on the thin line of humanity and animal carnage. If he lost a foot in height then grew more body hair then you would be doing something. Not to mention his trade mark yellow and hair. When is Sabertooth coming back can't let wolverine keep going without his arch enemy popping up from time to time. To rip and beat him up a little. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Jul 28, 2013
    63
    An intermittently exciting action film anchored by a strong performance by Jackman, who embodies Wolverine like no one else could.
  2. 50
    Slapped with the generic title The Wolverine, the fifth feature-length appearance of Hugh Jackman’s X-Man John Logan is basically "The Bad News Wolverine Goes to Japan" and is not especially world-shaking.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jul 28, 2013
    75
    The post-conversion 3D is more distracting than anything else, but the rest of this surprisingly fun entertainment is as sharp as the hero’s claws.