Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Vadim Rizov
    Jan 22, 2011
    50
    For all the interviewees who tearfully speak of her work, the film does anything but.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jan 21, 2011
    60
    What emerges is a portrait of the "psychic risk," as her father says, of living a creative life - and the intense feeling that entails.
  3. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    Jan 21, 2011
    75
    Directed by C. Scott Willis, this beautifully shot documentary blends Francesca's work -- photos, videos and passages from her diary -- with interviews.
  4. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Nov 17, 2011
    75
    It's impossible to listen to Francesca's parents, deadly serious about art as a higher calling, without feeling both saddened and disturbed.
  5. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Jan 20, 2011
    75
    Intentionally or unintentionally, there's a degree of accusation to The Woodmans that's discomfiting, almost as if Willis is indicting Francesca's parents for being so self-involved-even though they're just answering his questions as honestly as they can.
  6. Reviewed by: Sheri Linden
    Jan 21, 2011
    80
    As frank, discerning and eloquent as its subjects, The Woodmans is one of the most affecting art-themed documentaries.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jan 18, 2011
    90
    Family dynamics examined through the prism of art: The Woodmans, C. Scott Willis's compelling documentary study of an artistic clan whose comfortable life was shattered by the suicide of its youngest member, asks profound questions to which there really are no answers.
  8. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jan 18, 2011
    60
    If The Woodmans has something profound to say-and it does, unwittingly-it's that art can't raise a child solo.
  9. Reviewed by: J. Hoberman
    Jan 18, 2011
    90
    Ultimately, The Woodmans is a haunting study in family dynamics.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jan 14, 2012
    9
    when i think of it, there really isnt anything wrong with the film. Kevin Bacon is phenomenal in the movie, he adds a human aspect to a role that we don't want to be human. you hate him for what he did, but at the same time you understand that he really does ant to change and struggles with his "needs" that he knows are wrong. everyone else in the movie is great, but there not the focus of the film, its really about Bacon. the only thing was that the ending (spoiler ahead) [[was a bit ambiguous for me, we never really know if he has defeated his inner demon.]] other that that it is a really great movie. highly recommend it, 95%. Full Review »
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Sorry, English translation mechanics.

    Intra Moenia Sorry, English translation mechanics. What happened inside the building body of Francesca?
    Why has come to an act so extreme and I understand reasoned? What he wanted to communicate to permanently excluding a priori the black and white using only the bright red of his blood? It 'hard to answer, and the documentary certainly does not help us. Not helpful, since the testimony of a mother and a father, but humanly large artistically limited, do not hold pace with the speed of his thought and his action. At first glance, the photos of Francesca evoke sadness and melancholy. Not so in hindsight. His nudes are nude researcher and not a spectator. I like to think of a girl who appears naked in the study, I, understand and then giving. There is definitely someone in the life of Francesca, who did not want to accept this gift. There is definitely someone who has not been able to lend a hand. And 'negligence? Certainly not. It is not easy to keep up with minds that are able to cross the boundaries of the present, with the same moment. It is not easy for anyone. Her, we are left with images, so many. And it is there, chances are that you must try to understand a soul who has donated so much of love. Good Click! ITALIAN VERSION Intra moenia. Cosa è avvenuto all'interno dell'edificio corporeo di Francesca? Perché è giunta ad un atto così estremo e mi par di capire ragionato? Cosa ha voluto comunicarci in modo definitivo, escludendo a priori il bianco ed il nero utilizzando solo il rosso vivo del suo sangue? E' difficile dare una risposta, ed il documentario certo non ci aiuta. Non ci aiuta perché anche le testimonianze di una mamma e di un papà, artisticamente grandi ma umanamente limitati, non reggono il passo con la velocità del suo pensiero e del suo agire. A prima vista le foto di Francesca evocano tristezza, melanconia. Non è così a ben vedere. I suoi nudi, sono nudi da ricercatrice e non da spettatrice. Mi piace pensare ad un ragazza che nel nudo sembra studiarsi, cercarsi, capirsi per poi donarsi. C'è sicuramente qualcuno, nella vita di Francesca, che questo dono non ha voluto accettarlo. C'è sicuramente qualcuno che non ha saputo tenderle una mano. E' colpa grave? Certamente, no. Non è facile star dietro a menti che riescono a valicare i confini dell'attimo presente, con lo stesso attimo. Non è facile per nessuno. Di lei, ci restano le immagini, tante. Ed è lì, probabilmente che bisogna cercare, per capire un'anima che di Amore ne ha donato tanto. Good Click! Full Review »
  3. Jan 20, 2011
    9
    I respect this Movie. I respect this Movie. I respect this Movie. I respect this Movie. I respect this Movie. I respect this Movie. I respect this Movie. I respect this Movie. I respect this Movie. I respect this Movie. I respect this Movie. I respect this Movie. Full Review »