There Will Be Blood

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1271 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 3, 2016
    9
    This movie was amazing and i loved it.It has an incredible perfomance by Daniel-Day Lewis and incredible directing too.This movie shows us the madness and the sadness of a normal businessman and his relastionship with his son with an excellent way.I like this movie but it is a little boring.Great movie I recomend it!!!
  2. Jun 28, 2016
    8
    There Will Be Blood's crescendo lies with this character, Daniel Plainview, and the rotting of his soul. At first, I was looking to his success or failure or that of the oil industry to deliver a climax/resolution. Not so. The cinematography, wonderful acting, and dead-on feel of the period allow the perfect breeding ground for all these characters to writhe in their awful ways.There Will Be Blood's crescendo lies with this character, Daniel Plainview, and the rotting of his soul. At first, I was looking to his success or failure or that of the oil industry to deliver a climax/resolution. Not so. The cinematography, wonderful acting, and dead-on feel of the period allow the perfect breeding ground for all these characters to writhe in their awful ways. Entertaining as hell to watch if you can stand the fact that Forrest and Jenny don't get back together and have a lovely son. Expand
  3. May 24, 2016
    10
    A veritable opus. If an still argued against the possibility of cinema as art, I would show them this movie. There isn't much of a spire to the plot (save for the end which you SHOUDN'T SPOIL) but that's because the film tells the story way it wants to. Daniel Plainview is a man that starts out as an indifferent silver prospector and ends as a self serving sociopath. In the the end, forA veritable opus. If an still argued against the possibility of cinema as art, I would show them this movie. There isn't much of a spire to the plot (save for the end which you SHOUDN'T SPOIL) but that's because the film tells the story way it wants to. Daniel Plainview is a man that starts out as an indifferent silver prospector and ends as a self serving sociopath. In the the end, for this movie at least, it doesn't really matter if the story took us around d the world and on a detour because it's not about the spectacle, it's about daniel. His progression as a character essentially IS the plot, and second only to a Clockwork Orange is probably the greatest progression, if not film entirely, in history. Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2016
    10
    Truly Paul Thomas Anderson's masterpiece. Everything about this movie is perfect: its scoring, its acting, and its thematic implications that shake up the mainstream view of America's favorite pastime: capitalism. The dichotomy between this unfettered capitalism against the established order is brilliantly portrayed through Daniel Day-Lewis's terrifying, dehumanizing Daniel Plainview andTruly Paul Thomas Anderson's masterpiece. Everything about this movie is perfect: its scoring, its acting, and its thematic implications that shake up the mainstream view of America's favorite pastime: capitalism. The dichotomy between this unfettered capitalism against the established order is brilliantly portrayed through Daniel Day-Lewis's terrifying, dehumanizing Daniel Plainview and Paul Dano's scrawny, opportunistic preacher Eli. The landscapes are beautiful in their desolation, and the landscape reflects the mood and theme wonderfully. Truly nothing bad I could say about this film. Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2016
    9
    "Oh yes, there will be blood."

    And so, there is only one true movie that will have blood and that's There Will Be Blood. Sorry, Saw II, but that tagline belongs in this movie.
  6. Jan 10, 2016
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tenía muchas expectativas por la puntuación, pero salí defraudado completamente. Cuando había transcurrido una hra y 15 minutos, decidi apagar el televisor. En una sola palabra ABURRIDO. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2015
    10
    It is challenging and pretty slow-paced, requiring a lot of thinking during and after. I would not recommend it to just anyone, because it is a complicated film and the main character is not at all likable. Regardless, it is a very beautiful film, with incredible scenery, an amazing score, and fantastic performances. The plot is simple, but it feels very original, dealing with themes ofIt is challenging and pretty slow-paced, requiring a lot of thinking during and after. I would not recommend it to just anyone, because it is a complicated film and the main character is not at all likable. Regardless, it is a very beautiful film, with incredible scenery, an amazing score, and fantastic performances. The plot is simple, but it feels very original, dealing with themes of greed, family, hatred, and faith. I would certainly call it a masterpiece. Expand
  8. Nov 27, 2015
    5
    **********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************Great screenplay. Awkward, inconsistent cinematography.
  9. Oct 8, 2015
    0
    i hated this movie. and years after watching it, i still hate it. i suppose i am not being critical on the level of the acting or whatever. i just hated the movie. DDL's character is an irredeemable **shole, and he is never redeemed. Why watch 3 hours of someone who is mean and horrible all the way to their very death? there is no moral, the movie didn't really have a point, so far asi hated this movie. and years after watching it, i still hate it. i suppose i am not being critical on the level of the acting or whatever. i just hated the movie. DDL's character is an irredeemable **shole, and he is never redeemed. Why watch 3 hours of someone who is mean and horrible all the way to their very death? there is no moral, the movie didn't really have a point, so far as i could tell, and i don't understand how anyone likes it. i feel complete disdain and hate for this movie. Expand
  10. Sep 26, 2015
    9
    Eerie, unsettling, mad and beautiful. Daniel Day Lewis performs as a delightful and scary man losing everything, including his sanity, in his path toward success.
  11. Sep 18, 2015
    10
    A compelling and fascinating character study and a powerful look into a man's descent into madness and greed. Paul Thomas Anderson is a brilliant filmmaker, and I cannot wait to see what films he has in store for the future!
  12. Jun 20, 2015
    10
    Simply the best film of the 21th century. From it's incredible cinematography to extraordinary performances, it's great on every level.A modern masterpiece.
  13. May 13, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Daniel Day Lewis launches into a highscore grade A+ performance as an ambitious oil man whose life crumbles with insanity and madness by his inner obsession with greed, as he tries to snag a reservoir of oil from a religious zealot family and their sanctimonious pastor of a son,

    a film with a chilling performance by the powerful critically acclaimed actor who knows how to keep his acting list clean and a well done philosophical tale from Paul Thomas Anderson, a unforgettable oscar-winning classic
    Expand
  14. May 2, 2015
    10
    This film is the Citizen Kane of the 2000s. An epic story of a man consumed by greed and desire for power, There Will Be Blood is artistic and magnificent in every aspect of its storytelling and presentation.
  15. Apr 12, 2015
    8
    This sprawling Western epic showed the compelling trajectory of a man who experienced incredibly professional success, but whose personal life was difficult. It was interesting to watch his character adapt to all his successes, but remain completely unable to compromise in the face of difficulties and conflicts. It was also a visually stunning movie, as the landscape of the oil fieldsThis sprawling Western epic showed the compelling trajectory of a man who experienced incredibly professional success, but whose personal life was difficult. It was interesting to watch his character adapt to all his successes, but remain completely unable to compromise in the face of difficulties and conflicts. It was also a visually stunning movie, as the landscape of the oil fields provided a dramatic backdrop for the entire film. Expand
  16. Jan 23, 2015
    9
    Not heavy on special effects, but rather focuses on strong acting, atmosphere and stylish cinematography. Daniel Day-Lewis's performance is absolutely amazing, and the movie delivers scene after scene.
  17. Jan 21, 2015
    7
    As an epic, there will be blood is dripping with innovative ideas about the clash between religion and capitalism and the fine line that separates idealism from greed.
    But as a character study, it's flawed. In fact there will be blood just doesn't work as a character study. We learn so much about who Daniel Plainview is but virtually nothing about why. From his initial hatred of humanity
    As an epic, there will be blood is dripping with innovative ideas about the clash between religion and capitalism and the fine line that separates idealism from greed.
    But as a character study, it's flawed. In fact there will be blood just doesn't work as a character study. We learn so much about who Daniel Plainview is but virtually nothing about why. From his initial hatred of humanity to his final descent into loner hell, we’re never given an understanding as to what’s behind it all. Early in the film, he seems like a rapacious capitalist. Then we begin to see him as more malicious and cruel. Then we come to see him as a raving lunatic. He works hard for reasons that are never explained- seemingly uninterested in pleasing God through his diligence or even himself for that matter. And the more I think about it, the more I begin to realise how severe this problem is. It doesn't just limit the character's impact, it greatly undermines Plainview's relationship with his son. He seems to love the boy, at times, a bit. Yet he also exploits the boy for his own purposes. He seems to feel guilty when being a rotten father, but is uncomfortable with the consequences of affectionate feelings. It just doesn't add up. I guess what I'm saying is we never get to see the humanity in Daniel Plainview or lack of humanity in him.
    But I give it 7/10 because when the film works it really works.
    Expand
  18. Dec 3, 2014
    9
    A superb film. Day-Lewis commands the screen with superb facial expressions and well versed dialogue. Greenwood's soundtrack; particularly 'The Prospectors' is majestic. Thomas Andersen does a superb job exploiting the gorgeous scenery as well as the zoom in shot of the well, way beyond his years of experience. If I had to be hypercritical, I would suggest to things:
    -Despite the original
    A superb film. Day-Lewis commands the screen with superb facial expressions and well versed dialogue. Greenwood's soundtrack; particularly 'The Prospectors' is majestic. Thomas Andersen does a superb job exploiting the gorgeous scenery as well as the zoom in shot of the well, way beyond his years of experience. If I had to be hypercritical, I would suggest to things:
    -Despite the original beginning with no dialogue, the movie was a little slow
    -The lack of a strong female character (more to do with the story maybe?)
    Overall, an excellent movie, a classic if not quite a masterpiece.
    Expand
  19. Nov 9, 2014
    7
    After all the hoopla, I found the movie disappointing. It's about ambition, manipulation, power, greed, and the different forms they take in capitalism and religion. One character is a man so full of self loathing he tries to stamp out any feeling of humanity he has ever had. The other is just as bad, but with hypocrisy added to the mix. Both very unpleasant, but sadly we've seen themAfter all the hoopla, I found the movie disappointing. It's about ambition, manipulation, power, greed, and the different forms they take in capitalism and religion. One character is a man so full of self loathing he tries to stamp out any feeling of humanity he has ever had. The other is just as bad, but with hypocrisy added to the mix. Both very unpleasant, but sadly we've seen them too many times before. Thank goodness we were spared a redemptive ending. Expand
  20. Sep 20, 2014
    9
    Do not watch this movie for the plot. Watch it for Daniel Day Lewis and his character. The character's interaction with the world is the plot, and it is amazing. True masterpiece.
  21. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    Yes ...absolutely one of the best films of that year. Superb acting, taut script and all round class. Job well done! DDL and PTA have crafted an epic tale of greed and ambition
  22. Sep 10, 2014
    9
    I can see how many people find this movie boring but I found it really great, yes it does drag on at a lot of parts but it is just a fantastic movie. Daniel Day Lewis is amazing in this movie and deserved the best actor award at the Oscars. The visuals are also very good as the scenery in this movie is cool. Also some great cinematography kept me into this film the whole time. GoodI can see how many people find this movie boring but I found it really great, yes it does drag on at a lot of parts but it is just a fantastic movie. Daniel Day Lewis is amazing in this movie and deserved the best actor award at the Oscars. The visuals are also very good as the scenery in this movie is cool. Also some great cinematography kept me into this film the whole time. Good supporting acting and a very good all around movie. Expand
  23. Jul 25, 2014
    0
    I will resume this movie in three words: **** ING ****
    Daniel Day Lewis is not better actor than Adam Sandler or Paul Dano, and the oscar goes for him?
    This society is simply awful.
  24. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Paul Thomas Anderson created a masterpiece when he wrote and directed "There Will Be Blood" but, unfortunately for him, another masterpiece (ever-so-slightly closer to perfection) edged the Academy Award for Best Picture in 2007. However, in terms of character study this film is up there with Taxi Driver and Citizen Kane and, when this is combined with the indomitable performance of DanielPaul Thomas Anderson created a masterpiece when he wrote and directed "There Will Be Blood" but, unfortunately for him, another masterpiece (ever-so-slightly closer to perfection) edged the Academy Award for Best Picture in 2007. However, in terms of character study this film is up there with Taxi Driver and Citizen Kane and, when this is combined with the indomitable performance of Daniel Day-Lewis, "There Will Be Blood" is in a league of its own. Some may find this film long, slow, or even boring but there is no doubt that the fascinating message that PT Anderson conveys so successfully will still stay with you - memorable, horrifying and enlightening. Expand
  25. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    Many critics called it "a masterpiece" and "One of the best film of decade", then I really agree about that. You can't easily find many film like "There Will Be Blood", very rare, an epic drama film. With a story about family, oil, religion and greed, this film easily become one of the richest film ever made. Daniel Day-Lewis' performance is outstanding.
  26. May 1, 2014
    10
    Now to my mind, it's an abomination to consider that any man, woman or child in this magnificent country of ours should have to look upon (this particular) loaf of bread as (anything but) a luxury

    I have drank this milkshake and I approve.
  27. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    The best part about There Will Be Blood is the fact that Day-Lewis can give his character depth in the first ten minutes without saying a word. This shows what an actor he is. The rest of the movie falls in place from there, and is one hell of an experience.
  28. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    A great piece of art about dehumanising effects of power and money. When greed possesses people, this sin is even worse when completed with hate. A drama of a man that is full of evil purposes, he cannot love or empathise with anybody, He is feeling surrounded only by enemies, only by competitors. Anderson proves once more that this world we are living in is a jungle, where the main goalA great piece of art about dehumanising effects of power and money. When greed possesses people, this sin is even worse when completed with hate. A drama of a man that is full of evil purposes, he cannot love or empathise with anybody, He is feeling surrounded only by enemies, only by competitors. Anderson proves once more that this world we are living in is a jungle, where the main goal is to succeed no matter what are the consequences. The last scene summarizes the grotesque, making Daniel Plainview one of the best icons of the fallen man. Expand
  29. Feb 10, 2014
    6
    some scenes are boring. but I I need to talk about all of body, yes good film. Daniel Day Lewis carries this film on some scenes, but at the beginning of film you will see the perfect scenes.
  30. Jan 25, 2014
    9
    Just fantastic. This was my first film that I've seen directed by Paul Thomas Anderson and it did not disappoint in the least. The film is slow, but the acting from Daniel Day-Lewis, Paul Dano and cast, is just so engrossing that you cannot look away. The sets were brilliant and looked extremely realistic and fit in perfectly with the times they were depicting. Those who claim there is noJust fantastic. This was my first film that I've seen directed by Paul Thomas Anderson and it did not disappoint in the least. The film is slow, but the acting from Daniel Day-Lewis, Paul Dano and cast, is just so engrossing that you cannot look away. The sets were brilliant and looked extremely realistic and fit in perfectly with the times they were depicting. Those who claim there is no story are missing the bigger picture. Sure, there is no direct story, but what we are seeing is so much bigger than that. The interaction of every character and the constant "peeling back of the onion" that is Daniel Plainview and how evil he truly is make up for any story people may be searching for. In fact, I dare say that is the story; the revealing of how far a man will go to make money and how cutthroat you had to be to make it in the the time period depicted. Fantastic film. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    There Will Be Blood is ferocious, and it will be championed and attacked with an equal ferocity. When the dust settles, we may look back on it as some kind of obsessed classic.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    100
    There Will Be Blood is, in fact, not a historical saga; rather, it's an absurdist, blackly comic horror film with a very idiosyncratic satanic figure at its core.
  3. Daniel Day-Lewis stuns in Paul Thomas Anderson's saga of a soul-dead oil man.