Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Jun 24, 2014
    90
    They Came Together is one joke repeated until you're broken down by the giggles. It shouldn't work as well as it does, and wouldn't if it weren't perfectly cast with America's Comedy Sweethearts.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 26, 2014
    75
    Occasionally very funny, and moderately funny the rest of the time. In mathematical terms that adds up to pretty funny or "funny enough."
  3. Reviewed by: Stephan Lee
    Jun 27, 2014
    75
    Most of the jokes land bluntly – ”This is a cliché!” – but tight pacing and a killer cast, which also includes Ed Helms and Christopher Meloni, make up for the inconsistent gags.
  4. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jun 26, 2014
    63
    Larky, witty and sometimes even wise, this spoof on every rom-com ever made is less a fully realized film than an extended skit, a series of set pieces that poke gentle and sometimes transgressively crude fun at the tropes of girl-meets-boy that have enchanted and addled audiences for generations.
  5. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Jun 26, 2014
    60
    This rough-edged parody feels both distinctive and handmade, and for those reasons alone it’s a hard movie to hate, even when it temporarily loses its comic footing. Anyway, as romantic comedies down the ages have taught us, hatred is just a latent form of love.
  6. Reviewed by: Courtney Shea
    Jun 27, 2014
    50
    Poehler’s Parks and Rec co-star Adam Scott is there, playing a sound engineer and so is John Stamos from "Full House," because, you know, that’s funny. Until it’s tiresome.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Jun 25, 2014
    0
    A ponderous spoof of movie rom-coms that plummets stupidity to a new low even by Hollywood standards.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 5 out of 8
  1. Jul 1, 2014
    10
    Fans of: Anchorman, Naked Gun, Dumb and Dumber, Mystery Team, Billy
    Madison, Wet Hot American Summer

    You have your next (cult) classic
    comedy. I haven't laughed this hard
    maybe ever. Will the film hold up on repeat viewings? I'm not sure. But
    this is just ingenious comedy writing. It's the wackiest film I've ever
    seen in my life.

    Every single scene is a satire of something in an actual romantic
    comedy. Yet, that would get old quick if the scenes didn't have INSANE
    jokes too. Luckily, the scenes do.

    This movie isn't going to be for everyone as I can see the rating is at
    like a 6.2/10. But if you like wacky humor and you liked the movies I
    listed above, I would give this movie a chance. Seek it out in theaters
    when it comes more widely available. It certainly is way better than
    the previews suggested and most of the other big budget summer films
    coming out this year.
    Collapse
  2. Sep 14, 2014
    8
    If you're sick of how the Scary Movie trend ended up ruining parody films forever and wished for a throwback to the days of Airplane, then this is the movie for you - rather than just throwing out endless pop culture references like the ____ Movie parodies do, this has a focus on one (You've Got Mail) while paying attention to genre as a whole as well. And like Airplane it's not afraid to throw out other bizarre non-sequiturs jokes as well. Just when you think it's settled down, it throws another punch out of the blue. This movie deserves to be a cult classic, but I wish it was better received so other movies would learn from it... instead we'll no doubt end up with another ______ Movie in the next six months instead. Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2014
    6
    Such a bizarre movie, I'm really not sure how to rate it. Before watching this movie, you absolutely need to know that this is a parody of romantic comedies. If you're expecting a standard romantic comedy, you're going to be really confused. The movie extremely outwardly and blatantly makes fun of itself throughout. It's very bizarre, but if you know what to expect, it is very funny. I laughed out loud many times...and also yelled things like "what the hell?!?" at the TV several times because weird things kept happening that wouldn't in real life with real people. Characters break the fourth wall making it hard to believe that the characters are real people, so empathy is difficult, so this movie is mainly just for the laughs. It has a fantastic cast with more familiar faces than I could name. Throughout the whole thing, I kept thinking "This really reminds me a lot of Wet Hot American Summer." Afterwards, I looked it up, and yep, I was right, same writer and director....partially the same cast (with lots of other people we all know from assorted sitcoms showing up.) So, if you're a fan of Wet Hot American Summer, like quirky comedies, and like to laugh at the conventions of typical romantic comedies, then the movie is worth watching. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2014
    2
    The two leads are very likeable. Having said that this is a bizarre bland ridiculous comedy which is a total rip off of the very old Meg Ryan comedy YOU GOT MAIL. The trailer is the whole movie. Everything else is just filler. Just a few mild chuckles nothing more. Very disappointing. Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2014
    2
    I went into this movie not realizing it was a satire rom com. I love the old leslie nielson movies but just couldn't get into this movie. Great cast from a lot of shows I really like but this was rough to watch. For me it was like a bad SNL skit made into a feature length film. barley made it through 10 min skipped a scene to see if the movie got better but its the same stuff throughout. Possibly the worst movie ive seen. Expand
  6. Sep 7, 2014
    0
    Really bad; and we pretty much like everything to some degree. Toilet humor; literally. Adolescents may be slightly amused. Comedy has reached an all-time low. Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2014
    0
    Wow!!! How do I reclaim the 20 minutes of my life in just threw away??
    How did this POS ever get made?? Clearly everyone was cashing a
    paycheck.
    After I hurl myself into traffic, I will be putting a gun in my mouth and one in my anus and pulling the trigger!!
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Trailers