User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 187 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 187
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    Utterly Missable. 2 hrs I'll never get back. Steer clear unless you enjoy watching a spineless husband and a psychotic wife repeatedly arguing and whining, with a halfhearted peace-making occasionally thrown in to break the monotony which it actually becomes part of. The cheap one-liners are too weak and too rare to offer any conciliation. If not for Apatow's previous successes thisUtterly Missable. 2 hrs I'll never get back. Steer clear unless you enjoy watching a spineless husband and a psychotic wife repeatedly arguing and whining, with a halfhearted peace-making occasionally thrown in to break the monotony which it actually becomes part of. The cheap one-liners are too weak and too rare to offer any conciliation. If not for Apatow's previous successes this film would never have been made. 4 THUMBS DOWN. Expand
  2. Jan 26, 2013
    2
    How did this movie even get over a 6 from the users? C'mon people. This movie is unbearable. Its 2 hours and 20 minutes of people yelling at each other. The characters are insufferable. I hated them all. This is 40 is not a funny movie. Nor is it a good movie. Skip it.
  3. Jan 3, 2013
    0
    Probably the worst movie I have seen. What a waste of time and money!! Extremely fragmented, excessive, unnecessary vulgarity, no chemistry between the characters and not funny.. nobody laughed in the audience. All I heard were gasps related to the unnecessary vulgarity even from the children. I guess after reading all the reviews and seeing who was in the movie I expected to laugh aProbably the worst movie I have seen. What a waste of time and money!! Extremely fragmented, excessive, unnecessary vulgarity, no chemistry between the characters and not funny.. nobody laughed in the audience. All I heard were gasps related to the unnecessary vulgarity even from the children. I guess after reading all the reviews and seeing who was in the movie I expected to laugh a little... didn't happen. Not sure if the people that gave the positive reviews were paid off because there is no way anyone could say this movie was good. Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2013
    3
    Its not terrible but Paul Rudd keeps playing the same kind of guy. Honestly I saw it a couple weeks ago and I had to watch the trailer again on here in order to remember it. I do like John Lithgow and he was one of the more interesting characters but his role was very small. Also I'm not sure when Hollywood is going to learn that most men generally are uncomfortable with jokes aboutIts not terrible but Paul Rudd keeps playing the same kind of guy. Honestly I saw it a couple weeks ago and I had to watch the trailer again on here in order to remember it. I do like John Lithgow and he was one of the more interesting characters but his role was very small. Also I'm not sure when Hollywood is going to learn that most men generally are uncomfortable with jokes about masturbation.
    It was just okay but very forgettable. If you watch a trailer for it, you've seen all you really need to see.
    Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2013
    2
    The opposite of a date movie... this is more like a "never date" movie. The couple at the center of the story get into an argument 30 seconds into the film and the squabbling never lets up. Eighty minutes in, one of their kids says, "I'm sick of everybody fighting." I couldn't have agreed more. Although it's true that a story needs to have some conflict to be interesting, the mistakeThe opposite of a date movie... this is more like a "never date" movie. The couple at the center of the story get into an argument 30 seconds into the film and the squabbling never lets up. Eighty minutes in, one of their kids says, "I'm sick of everybody fighting." I couldn't have agreed more. Although it's true that a story needs to have some conflict to be interesting, the mistake Apatow makes here is thinking that more conflict means more interesting. Sitting through over two hours of miserable people blaming each other for their miserable lives is far closer to torture than entertainment. Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2013
    4
    Hmmm. This was a movie that seemed to have come out of Apatow's clinic of typic movies. This movie had his typical earmarks such as being a major platform for informing the public about his love of music to say the least. It was also infused with Paul Rudd's befuddled rants and Mann's classic freakouts. Combine with McCarthy's run-of-the-mill psychotic episodes, it was just too much of theHmmm. This was a movie that seemed to have come out of Apatow's clinic of typic movies. This movie had his typical earmarks such as being a major platform for informing the public about his love of music to say the least. It was also infused with Paul Rudd's befuddled rants and Mann's classic freakouts. Combine with McCarthy's run-of-the-mill psychotic episodes, it was just too much of the same thing as these actors typically do in the other Apatow movies. Too much of the kids arguing, too much jokes that didn't land, and let's face it, if you're not married/have kids/and or 40, alot of what might be subtle humor just will fly over your head, but at the fault of not directing the humor in a way that us minority might understand it. The addition of Megan Fox was just insult to injury on that front. Overall, I didn't absolutely hate it, but after the credits rolled, it left me thinking "wow, that wasn't very funny." Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    3
    Not a movie so much as extended takes edited together (by no less than 3 credited editors) of improvised scenes from previous characters in another Judd Apatow movie. Like Funny People, this sacrifices story (and humor) for honesty, but the 2 hours of mean-spirited jaunt isn't worth the 9-minute payoff thrown together, nor the 2 minutes of outtakes at the end watching Melissa McCarthyNot a movie so much as extended takes edited together (by no less than 3 credited editors) of improvised scenes from previous characters in another Judd Apatow movie. Like Funny People, this sacrifices story (and humor) for honesty, but the 2 hours of mean-spirited jaunt isn't worth the 9-minute payoff thrown together, nor the 2 minutes of outtakes at the end watching Melissa McCarthy improvise. Fast forward to her 2 scenes and turn the rest off. Waste of time. Expand
  8. Aug 15, 2013
    2
    Cliche, predicable, boring, annoying add up to waste of time. It's just a sequence of celebrity and brand name dropping with adults acting out as irresponsible adolescents and adolescents acting out as mouthy brats. I watched half before calling time-of-death.
  9. Dec 26, 2012
    5
    This movie is funny but ultimately bland and pointless. At least 45 minutes of the film (which never really goes anywhere, or has any sort of plot) could be cut out and the same message will still be gleaned. Fans of Knocked Up may enjoy this, but otherwise it is a mediocre romantic comedy.
  10. Dec 27, 2012
    6
    Paul Rudd on a toilet AGAIN !!! Come on find another skit for the guy. He did it 3 times in this movie alone. Hard to put a number on this one. Some jokes worked great others not so. Both fathers characters were overdone. The girls screamed and fought a bit too much. Other scenes like the one with the kid that looked like Tom Petty worked great. Although clever observations about life arePaul Rudd on a toilet AGAIN !!! Come on find another skit for the guy. He did it 3 times in this movie alone. Hard to put a number on this one. Some jokes worked great others not so. Both fathers characters were overdone. The girls screamed and fought a bit too much. Other scenes like the one with the kid that looked like Tom Petty worked great. Although clever observations about life are presented in this movie, development is scarce. Nice to see if there is nothing else on at the theater. Expand
  11. Mar 20, 2013
    4
    Bland, annoying and badly executed, Judd Apatow disappoints once again. If you liked Knocked Up, give this one a miss.

    These movies with family members playing major roles don't ever work, learn your lesson Apatow.
  12. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    Maybe it is about 20 minutes to long and concludes the main plot point twice, but "This Is 40" is full of comedic moments and overall relatable content that is definitely worth a watch.
  13. Jan 21, 2013
    6
    This is good piece of film making and story telling. I know on the
    poster it tells us 'It's sort of a sequel' but it's not. OK, if we had
    Seth Rogen and Katherine Heigl then it might pass for a sequel but we don't. What we do have is a good comedy/drama (dramedy?) where we glimpse into the lives of Pete and Debbie from Knocked Up. All their trials and tribulations, dentist and
    This is good piece of film making and story telling. I know on the
    poster it tells us 'It's sort of a sequel' but it's not. OK, if we had
    Seth Rogen and Katherine Heigl then it might pass for a sequel but we
    don't. What we do have is a good comedy/drama (dramedy?) where we
    glimpse into the lives of Pete and Debbie from Knocked Up. All their
    trials and tribulations, dentist and gynaecologist visits which are
    very funny and so true. Judd Apatow enlists the help of the family
    again and they are all great, especially Iris Apatow as the annoying
    baby sister. This is as funny as Knocked Up but I felt it was 30
    minutes too long. Even so it works well. Couples who have been together
    a few years will especially find it hilarious.

    Good fun.

    Score 6.5/10
    Expand
  14. Apr 29, 2013
    2
    This film was completely garbage, it shows that Judd Apatow can out anything and it will be picked up by some mainstream studio. This film is nothing like Knocked Up so if you are hoping for some similar laughs you are lookin in the wrong place. This movie consists of a married couple and moaning about life not living up to their expectation. Completely and utter crap.
  15. Feb 2, 2014
    0
    There are so many wrong things about this un-funny comedy that I am not sure where to start. The very loose plot revolves around a rich married couple, with two daughters. All the members of this family spend most of their "quality" time shouting at each other.

    Despite this, hubby (Paul) and wife (Debbie) carry on their dysfunctional marriage for reasons impossible to understand. They
    There are so many wrong things about this un-funny comedy that I am not sure where to start. The very loose plot revolves around a rich married couple, with two daughters. All the members of this family spend most of their "quality" time shouting at each other.

    Despite this, hubby (Paul) and wife (Debbie) carry on their dysfunctional marriage for reasons impossible to understand. They both are immature, self-absorbed and kept together only by sex.
    Several scenes involve trivial language and cringe-inducing situations.

    To mention but a few: Debbie insults a kid, after having read his comments on her daughter's facebook page (how utterly pathetic to see an adult woman losing it with a kid for such a trivial reason...); Debbie going to the disco with her employee and behaving like a teenager; Paul spending a lot of time in the toilet (we have the pleasure of seeing him taking a dump not once but twice), etc.....

    The only saving grace for me was that this was supposed to be my in-flight entertainment, so at least I had the pleasure of not paying for a ticket.
    Expand
  16. Aug 6, 2013
    1
    The first word that comes to mind with this movie is "miserable". There was no central plot and the parts that actually were there are put out there and then ignored and practically unused. It was just plain terrible with very few parts even attempting comedy.
  17. Dec 8, 2013
    2
    Epically awful......................................................................................................................................................
  18. Mar 31, 2013
    3
    It's hard to feel sorry for people who live in a $900.000 house, drive a 5 series BMW and a Lexus SUV, own a large heated swimming pool, use iPhones/iPads/iMacs, have a Spine surgeon as a father and who organise large garden BBQ parties. These 'poor' characters are bogged down by simple superficial problems that could be easlily solved and are plagued by their Mid-life crisis, coz theirIt's hard to feel sorry for people who live in a $900.000 house, drive a 5 series BMW and a Lexus SUV, own a large heated swimming pool, use iPhones/iPads/iMacs, have a Spine surgeon as a father and who organise large garden BBQ parties. These 'poor' characters are bogged down by simple superficial problems that could be easlily solved and are plagued by their Mid-life crisis, coz their relationship doesn't feel as fresh anymore. Mediocre acting by Mann & Rudd makes you care even less about the outcome of this 137 min long self indulgent nagfest. It seems Apatow only had one good movie in him, so maybe he should consider another job... Expand
  19. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    Overall, not bad. Many criticisms the critics brought up are valid. It's long, tonally uneven, some of the comic bits fall flat, etc. I feel like it had great potential to either be a hilarious comedy or a touching drama, but instead, it feels like two different movies awkwardly sewn together, instead of a seamless, singular whole; the comedic elements undermine the dramatic scenes, andOverall, not bad. Many criticisms the critics brought up are valid. It's long, tonally uneven, some of the comic bits fall flat, etc. I feel like it had great potential to either be a hilarious comedy or a touching drama, but instead, it feels like two different movies awkwardly sewn together, instead of a seamless, singular whole; the comedic elements undermine the dramatic scenes, and vice versa. If you walk in the theater from a critical standpoint, you'll probably be left feeling disappointed, but if you approach it from a more casual standpoint, you'll find lots to enjoy. While the movie intermittently made me laugh and feel, it could have easily been a much better film if it committed to either comedy or drama. Also, they spoil the ending of Lost, so I'm subtracting an additional point off of my score. Yes, some of us still haven't finished watching that show. Expand
  20. Dec 28, 2012
    4
    sentimental, sometimes funny, typical Aptow navel gazing about emotional discovery and maturity. Wish he would get over the mid-life crisis and make something funny again. It is comparable to Louis the television series in that it makes fun of real life, steals some of his jokes, and is a realistic humor on getting older, only not nearly as funny. It is well balanced in that Megan foxsentimental, sometimes funny, typical Aptow navel gazing about emotional discovery and maturity. Wish he would get over the mid-life crisis and make something funny again. It is comparable to Louis the television series in that it makes fun of real life, steals some of his jokes, and is a realistic humor on getting older, only not nearly as funny. It is well balanced in that Megan fox has few lines and is mostly camera fodder to make the viewer forget that he is watching a **** polished version of a boring married couple. Would have been much more interesting if Rudd and Mann actually tried to kill each other and not just joke about it. don't pay money to see it. online free version is watchable. not worth the price of admission. Expand
  21. Dec 31, 2012
    1
    The movie "This is 40'' is such an aweful movie, such a piece of crap who are these people acting in
    the movie? D list stars! First off, it was all about filthy sex, and there wasn't anything interesting in this movie, nothing left to the imagination, just pure filth. And to put kids in this movie is beyond me. This is pure rubbish and I was very, very, disappointed with this garbage
    The movie "This is 40'' is such an aweful movie, such a piece of crap who are these people acting in
    the movie? D list stars! First off, it was all about filthy sex, and there wasn't anything interesting in this movie, nothing left to the imagination, just pure filth. And to put kids in this movie is beyond me. This is pure rubbish and I was very, very, disappointed with this garbage movie. This was by far one of the worst, boring movies I have seen in a long, long, time. There, I got that off my chest.
    Expand
  22. Jan 3, 2013
    3
    Not even the stunning Megan Fox can save this film.
  23. Dec 29, 2012
    7
    I agree with much of bl_nk's review, but I'll add that it's very long, but I never felt that it was too long or that I wanted it to end. It almost felt like a full season of Parenthood (though much funnier) crammed into 5 episodes. Most of the black humor resonated with me in particular - I noticed that I was often the only one laughing (hard) among the 20 or so people seeing the late,I agree with much of bl_nk's review, but I'll add that it's very long, but I never felt that it was too long or that I wanted it to end. It almost felt like a full season of Parenthood (though much funnier) crammed into 5 episodes. Most of the black humor resonated with me in particular - I noticed that I was often the only one laughing (hard) among the 20 or so people seeing the late, late show with me. My primary criticism is that it might have bitten off a BIT more than it could chew in terms of subplots and storylines. But Rudd and Mann are just flat-out funny. And I appreciate the basic honesty of the story. Apatow's kids are also excellent in their roles. Albert Brooks may have been a bit too strong for the film - he stole his scenes to the extent that he pulled focus away from the rest of the movie. So yes, the film employed a bit of a buckshot approach and was a touch unfocused, but I enjoyed it thoroughly. Expand
  24. Mar 28, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What a disappointing movie, This is 40 turned out to be. Paul Rudd is hilarious and he was the best character from Knocked Up. Then factor in the premise of this film and you would think the movie would be fantastic. However, that couldn't be further from the truth. Yes, Paul Rudd is still great but other than him, this movie is horrible. First of all, the most obvious flaw is their daughters' complete and total lack of anything resembling acting ability. Honestly, is was just sad. I'm starting to side with a friend of mine who thinks kids should just be banned from acting in general because they're that bad. While I don't always agree with that assessment, he could use this film as Exhibit A when making his case. Secondly, the film's plot is pieced together like crap. I'm sorry but there's just no eloquent way to put it. This film made me question whether or not Judd Apatow even knows how to make a movie. Scenes jump from one to another without any rhyme or reason and a good portion of the scenes could be completely left out of the movie being that that add absolutely nothing to the character or plot development nor are they funny. Actually, that segues perfectly into my next point. This movie was WAY TOO LONG and you feel every minute of it, especially for the first half of the film, because of the terrible scene transitions. My last problem, the ending was a joke. Did Apatow forget about Rudd being hit by a car door? How does the result of that not get touched on before the conclusion of the film? Bottom line, Rudd is hilarious and Megan Fox is absolutely smoking but everything else about this movie is a big disappointment. Don't waste your time. Expand
  25. Apr 15, 2013
    7
    I actually rather enjoyed it. A lot more then I did Knocked Up or the most torturous film of all time aka Funny People. It does follow the basic Apatow formula Struggling/Childish adults becoming more mature and emotionally stable. However, what saves this film isn't the comedy but that it's real life. The situations happening through out the film actually happen. We all have to deal withI actually rather enjoyed it. A lot more then I did Knocked Up or the most torturous film of all time aka Funny People. It does follow the basic Apatow formula Struggling/Childish adults becoming more mature and emotionally stable. However, what saves this film isn't the comedy but that it's real life. The situations happening through out the film actually happen. We all have to deal with money problems, supporting elderly parents or parents who were never around much when we were growing up, As well as martial problems. I like that and thought that aspect of the film was well done. The humor did make me chuckle a few times but nothing serious but then again I saw it more as a drama film then a comedy after seeing the trailers so I wasn't disappointed with it. The run time is a bit too much and the film would have been better or at least more bare-able for some viewers if it were shorter but I didn't mind it. I didn't really mind all the sub-plots either because it all tied in with the film's main plot well enough to not be a bother. Acting is good, Rudd and Mann are at their best imo. Easily the best work Apatow has put out in years. Expand
  26. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    This is classic Apatow-very funny and very naughty.Rudd and Mann make a good couple and the daughters are adorable.But Apatow needs to learn that sometimes less is more as this movie would have been better at 105 minutes than it is at 130 minutes.As funny as it is it seems very long for a comedy.
  27. Dec 29, 2012
    7
    While this movie isnt perfect by any means, I feel its been getting a bum rap. As a 42 year old myself, I could relate to a lot of the humor and I really enjoyed the chemistry between Leslie Mann and Paul Rudd. My main problem is it seems there were too many underdeveloped plot issues where the meat and potatoes were left on the cutting room floor or just went left unsaid (the last 10While this movie isnt perfect by any means, I feel its been getting a bum rap. As a 42 year old myself, I could relate to a lot of the humor and I really enjoyed the chemistry between Leslie Mann and Paul Rudd. My main problem is it seems there were too many underdeveloped plot issues where the meat and potatoes were left on the cutting room floor or just went left unsaid (the last 10 minutes of the movie doesnt really tie anything up).
    Bottom line is if you are married and have kids and are nearing 40, then I definitely recommend this movie to you. If you are young and single....maybe not so much.
    Expand
  28. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    Funny. With a dose of pathos and melodrama. If an up-and-coming director made this it would be receiving the plaudits it deserves as a very very solid comedy/drama. I went to see it at 6pm on a wet Thursday in Scotland and the half empty theatre loved it. Judd's becoming a victim of his own success. Another great comedy. Genuinely funny people making a genuine, and genuinely funny, film.
  29. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This movie was hilarious! It had its serious moments that didn't get too dramatic and romantic moments that didn't get too cheesy. The humor was clever and probably too modern and advanced for the movie critics to comprehend. I really enjoyed the film and felt like a lot of the characters and situations between parents and children really hit close to home. Thanks for another great filmThis movie was hilarious! It had its serious moments that didn't get too dramatic and romantic moments that didn't get too cheesy. The humor was clever and probably too modern and advanced for the movie critics to comprehend. I really enjoyed the film and felt like a lot of the characters and situations between parents and children really hit close to home. Thanks for another great film Judd Apatow! Expand
  30. Jan 21, 2013
    0
    This movie is so bad it hurt my eyes to watch,Leslie Mann is less than a one trick pony and if she wasnt married to apatow she would be dredging a living on reality shows....maybe.
    Paul Rudd looks a sif he wants to scream.."where did it all go wrong"!
    The only possible saving Grace is Mellisa Mcarthy who is always a joy.
    dont watch this, you will never get the time back!
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 39
  2. Negative: 7 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Hughes
    Feb 11, 2013
    80
    With his fourth film as writer-director, Judd Apatow has arguably made his most personal film yet, without forgetting to make us laugh.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Mueller
    Jan 11, 2013
    80
    Apatow's return creates a pleasantly sprawling, perceptive study of mid-life angst that never lacks for laughs. Promoting Rudd and Mann from Knocked Up's margins to centre stage proves to be a shrewd move.
  3. Reviewed by: Henry Barnes
    Dec 21, 2012
    40
    It's not bad, exactly – but it is boring and very rarely funny. This is laboured. This is aimless. This Is 40. It's really quite a grind.