Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 21, 2012
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 201 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
93
Mixed:
64
Negative:
44
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
watchman666Jan 21, 2013
This movie is so bad it hurt my eyes to watch,Leslie Mann is less than a one trick pony and if she wasnt married to apatow she would be dredging a living on reality shows....maybe.
Paul Rudd looks a sif he wants to scream.."where did it all
This movie is so bad it hurt my eyes to watch,Leslie Mann is less than a one trick pony and if she wasnt married to apatow she would be dredging a living on reality shows....maybe.
Paul Rudd looks a sif he wants to scream.."where did it all go wrong"!
The only possible saving Grace is Mellisa Mcarthy who is always a joy.
dont watch this, you will never get the time back!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ScornholioFeb 13, 2013
Funny as heck!! Paul Rudd is the best! There are so many great moments that you can barely find time to stop laughing before something else happens. Anyone with pre-teen aged kids can relate to most of this story. My only real issue withFunny as heck!! Paul Rudd is the best! There are so many great moments that you can barely find time to stop laughing before something else happens. Anyone with pre-teen aged kids can relate to most of this story. My only real issue with the movie is that it is entirely too long for a movie of its type. Its a comedy about life at 40, not a Lord of the Rings trilogy!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
HeliumApr 12, 2013
This movie is CRAP! I recall it being a comedy but it is just actors reading a script in front a camera. The only person who added life to this movie is Megan Fox...just saying.I normally like to watch movies that show real life events butThis movie is CRAP! I recall it being a comedy but it is just actors reading a script in front a camera. The only person who added life to this movie is Megan Fox...just saying.I normally like to watch movies that show real life events but those kids are just TV BRATS that would influence REAL LIFE BRATS. My opinion is this movie is Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MovieMan12Jun 13, 2013
So funny!!!!!! I laughed my butt off. I love all of Judd Appatow's movies. There is always a great combination of hilarious and meaningful sentiment towards them. Rudd and Mann make a great combo.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
tropicAcesJan 1, 2013
I really think Apatow is trying to win an Oscar. This film is so more serious and relatable than his previous ones, and I'm not sure how I like it. It's a pretty good movie and it definitely makes you question your realationships but the 2I really think Apatow is trying to win an Oscar. This film is so more serious and relatable than his previous ones, and I'm not sure how I like it. It's a pretty good movie and it definitely makes you question your realationships but the 2 and a half hour run time are felt, and at times it is more awkward than enjoyable. Still a pretty good movie even if it is nothing like the other ones. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
MatteoDec 24, 2012
This movie offers truth, big laughs, and theories on what makes relationships so difficult to maintain in the modern world. The old saying "familiarity breeds contempt" could not be more true in most marriages and in these character's lives.This movie offers truth, big laughs, and theories on what makes relationships so difficult to maintain in the modern world. The old saying "familiarity breeds contempt" could not be more true in most marriages and in these character's lives. I laughed almost every scene and so did the other four people with me. We all came out very surprised by how good it was. I would see it again. Although I would say Silver Linings Playbook is the funniest movie of the year, this is a close second. I would actually go see this again before I saw Silver Linings again. Because I understand these characters, I know these characters, most of us are these characters. Go see it, sit back and relax, and laugh. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
kristen58Dec 26, 2012
Very funny, entertaining movie...but I think it's probably not as good as Knocked Up. The most negative thing I can say is that it's super weird and awkward that Katherine Heigl's character from Knocked Up, Alison, is not even mentioned. IVery funny, entertaining movie...but I think it's probably not as good as Knocked Up. The most negative thing I can say is that it's super weird and awkward that Katherine Heigl's character from Knocked Up, Alison, is not even mentioned. I mean in Knocked Up, they're so close that Alison lives with her sister Debbie (Leslie Mann) and brother-in-law Pete (Paul Rudd), but in This is 40, she's gone and not even mentioned? I mean maybe she moved away, but would they really pretend she doesn't exist? In the movie, we meet Debbie's father, and learn about her childhood, still no mention of her sister, Alison. Kind of weird. But, despite this, it's a funny movie. It is slightly long, but never slow or boring. Has a good amount of R-rated-ness for those that like their comedies a little less squeaky clean and a bit more adult. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Forrestgump1Jun 4, 2013
"While it comes with many flaws. This is 40 is a calmly funny, up-beat comedy that takes us through the mid-life crisis. While its not always laugh out loud funny. Thanks to comedic timing by Rudd & Mann, this movie saved itself from being a"While it comes with many flaws. This is 40 is a calmly funny, up-beat comedy that takes us through the mid-life crisis. While its not always laugh out loud funny. Thanks to comedic timing by Rudd & Mann, this movie saved itself from being a much worse" C Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
AudiowombatDec 22, 2012
Overall this is an enjoyable and funny movie. It hit the comedic mark in many moments and was not a rehash of other films of this genre. But it was uneven and slow at times.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryJan 5, 2013
Leslie Mann and Paul Rudd (reprising the characters they created in "Knocked Up") turn 40 and deal with complications in their marriage, family and careers. There's not much of a plot line, just situations where they interact with each otherLeslie Mann and Paul Rudd (reprising the characters they created in "Knocked Up") turn 40 and deal with complications in their marriage, family and careers. There's not much of a plot line, just situations where they interact with each other and friends. In typical Judd Apatow style, the dialogue often feels improvised, but that doesn't stop it from being very funny. The supporting cast is loaded with strong comic turns, esp. Albert Brooks & Melissa McCarthy. This movie is full insights into life and relationships that elicit chuckles of recognition and lots of laughs. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
VidsRuleJan 4, 2013
Fight-make up-fight-make up-fight=make up. There is never a big moment in this movie. Right when you think that their gonna have the fight to end all fights and the movie is gonna take some sort of a turn, the fight is over and we go back toFight-make up-fight-make up-fight=make up. There is never a big moment in this movie. Right when you think that their gonna have the fight to end all fights and the movie is gonna take some sort of a turn, the fight is over and we go back to square one. No real story arc. The acting is good and there's a few funny parts. Not a bad movie but definitely not Apatow's best by a long shot. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
fryzeeMar 9, 2013
Absolutely loved it. Favorite comedy of the year! Thought it was fantastic from start to finish. Was my life! Cannot wait to see what Rudd does next! 10/10
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
JbrizzyDec 29, 2012
This movie was surprisingly good ! From now on I'm going to ignore the critic reviews when going into movies, because this one was way more enjoyable then they lead on. Rudd and Mann have the perfect chemistry as displayed in Knocked up. IThis movie was surprisingly good ! From now on I'm going to ignore the critic reviews when going into movies, because this one was way more enjoyable then they lead on. Rudd and Mann have the perfect chemistry as displayed in Knocked up. I love how their daughters grew up, and the actors are very believable as a family. And many of the actors from bridesmaids add more comedy to the all ready funny plot. The only complaints I have is that the movie is overly long. Its not poorly paced at all, but it was a good two hours and ten minutes long, so be prepared for that. And my last complaint is that like fellow review "kristen58" pointed out is that Alison ( Katherine Heigel) and Ben (Seth Rogan) are absent and not even mentioned in this entire movie. They were the Main characters from Knocked Up and even though I see this film as a spin-off rather than a sequel from knocked up, It would have been a nice touch if they even referenced them. Mann's character constantly talks about her family and her father, but there is never even a mention of her sister. But overall I would definitely recommend this movie. Money well spent. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
csw12Nov 26, 2015
This is 40 is a tale of 2 movies. The first hour and half seems forced, unnecessary and has mindless conversations. The last 40 minutes, Apatow brings back his old ways of comedy and has some of the funniest scenes since The 40 year old Virgin.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
SmitDec 28, 2012
This movie was hilarious. I wasn't expecting much because of the so-so reviews, but I was really surprised. The lines were great and the the cast carried them off beautifully. Loved Leslie Mann, but I thought that Albert Brooks stole theThis movie was hilarious. I wasn't expecting much because of the so-so reviews, but I was really surprised. The lines were great and the the cast carried them off beautifully. Loved Leslie Mann, but I thought that Albert Brooks stole the movie. Would've loved even more of him. Judd Apatow knew exactly what he was doing, maybe because it is his life, but even if not, he was spot on. Funniest movie of the year! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
lahaine2012Dec 28, 2012
Just saw
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
SeriosityJan 1, 2013
A little long, a little inconsistent, and a little full of unnecessary supporting characters. In the end its success hinges on the likability of its cast, and it that regard it mostly works.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
OroiaelDec 24, 2012
If you aren't laughing throughout this movie, then you are either not being honest with yourself about what it means to be 40ish, or take yourself W-A-Y too seriously. This movie was like staring into the mirror. And yes, if you are 40ish,If you aren't laughing throughout this movie, then you are either not being honest with yourself about what it means to be 40ish, or take yourself W-A-Y too seriously. This movie was like staring into the mirror. And yes, if you are 40ish, married, living in the 'burbs, with kids you have definitely had one or more of the conversations / situations depicted in the film. Judd Apatow has a knack for portraying comic honesty in real life. Judd Apatow's filmmaking seems to capture the basic flaw in Gen X, many of us lack some basic maturity. His films show us the reality of our stunted lives and make us laugh heartily. Congratulations to an accomplished filmmaker. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
4
SeanebuckleyJan 1, 2013
This is 40 is self indulgent, silly and only occasionally funny. The main problem is its just too long, scenes dither and meander which ultimately detracts from any possible cinematic weight or substance. I have no doubt that there is aThis is 40 is self indulgent, silly and only occasionally funny. The main problem is its just too long, scenes dither and meander which ultimately detracts from any possible cinematic weight or substance. I have no doubt that there is a perfectly funny, astute 90min movie itching to get out of this fatty 134 min sludge of a film. A crying shame. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
MoosedaMar 14, 2013
I found myself smirking lightly a few times during this one. It was pretty boring to be honest. I found just disappointed after every scene with the children.. how does a father say to his young daughters that I wish they had a dick? Or theI found myself smirking lightly a few times during this one. It was pretty boring to be honest. I found just disappointed after every scene with the children.. how does a father say to his young daughters that I wish they had a dick? Or the fact they yell out "I'M GONNA KILL YOU"! The usual manufactured Hollywood movie. This movie was filled with so much Satanic symbolism, aside from the main theme of the movie. Along with the cruel context between the people in the movie, it just shows how repetitive this absurd formula is. Of course they have the children act as little brats, parents glorifying them, speaking to them with utmost disrespect. This movie also endorses sex, power, and drugs, aside being “happy” all the time. These are all the same variables that are in most Hollywood movies that are used to inflict emotion to audiences. These emotions disarrays people from the reality that these practices are so disgusting. But hey to most of you I’m sure this is just another “conspiracy” lol, Educate yourself. Peace. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
sammieteeMar 25, 2013
I was disappointed by this movie. I had high hopes that it would be funny and a good time to watch. It had it's funny moments but it wasn't anything special. I know the movie was going for a genuine relationship, but I just felt like wereI was disappointed by this movie. I had high hopes that it would be funny and a good time to watch. It had it's funny moments but it wasn't anything special. I know the movie was going for a genuine relationship, but I just felt like were fighting the entire time. If I wanted to see a couple fight, I could have stayed home. The movie was also too long, the ending dragged on a lot and I feel like they could have deleted a few more scenes. Megan Fox was awesome to look and Paul Rudd is always adorable. In all, I just wasn't impressed. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
smijatovJan 16, 2013
I give Apatow kudos for trying something decent with this. It has elements of a serious comedy, "Lost in Translation" style, but also silliness to try and equal it out. Often it works, but just as often it fails. The film has had greatI give Apatow kudos for trying something decent with this. It has elements of a serious comedy, "Lost in Translation" style, but also silliness to try and equal it out. Often it works, but just as often it fails. The film has had great potential, and it is rather decent end-product overall, with good performances by the cast, especially Leslie Mann. There seems to be some disjointments in the story, but it is rather entertaining, though a tad too long. Not bad at all, but not a great film either. It's within the 'good' category, for sure. 6/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BKMJul 18, 2013
The movie has its fair share of laughs, although none of them are of the gut busting variety, and Mann and Rudd do a commendable job of carrying the film on their combined shoulders. But This Is 40 ultimately fails due to a maddening lack ofThe movie has its fair share of laughs, although none of them are of the gut busting variety, and Mann and Rudd do a commendable job of carrying the film on their combined shoulders. But This Is 40 ultimately fails due to a maddening lack of focus. It feels like it's trying to go in ten different directions at the same time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerFeb 13, 2014
It's sometimes sweet and often funny, the entire film is a brutally honest look at life around the mid-life crisis time. As far as comedy goes this movie can provide tons of laugh-out-loud moments that make excellent use of the film'sIt's sometimes sweet and often funny, the entire film is a brutally honest look at life around the mid-life crisis time. As far as comedy goes this movie can provide tons of laugh-out-loud moments that make excellent use of the film's vulgarity. It's not always providing hilarious moments, there are plenty of times when the film is relying on more dramatic and emotional moments, but the movie is at it's best when it is.

The film is, for the most part, excellently cast. Most of the minor characters provide just as many hilarious moments as the main cast, but there are a few odd choices. For instance it's clear that they want Megan Fox's character to be more than just a minor inclusion, but they fail to make her character funny in any way shape or form, resulting in her being nothing more than eye candy. Also some of the funnier minor characters like Melissa McCarthy ended leaving me wishing they had more screen time.

"This Is 40" is a very funny movie that will please audiences 40 and older the most. Not everything is going to stick with you, but what does stick will have you chuckling at the very thought of it. It's not going to appeal to everyone, I might have been too young to understand the more dramatic bits, but those who have been though this part in their life are sure to find a real treat with this movie. As long as you aren't expecting a masterpiece you shouldn't be disappointed.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuJun 23, 2014
This Is 4o is an excellent movie from Judd Apatow. The nail is pretty much nailed on the head regarding marriage and children. There were just so many familiar sights on offer here! Plus it was really funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
adverbMar 13, 2015
I was stunned at how little there was to like about this movie. There is no payoff for the unpleasantness you are forced to sit through. Completely unredeeming and depressing. Consider this: Megan Fox is actually one of the few good thingsI was stunned at how little there was to like about this movie. There is no payoff for the unpleasantness you are forced to sit through. Completely unredeeming and depressing. Consider this: Megan Fox is actually one of the few good things about the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
duncan1964Mar 23, 2015
The story of one couples trials and tribulations as they approach 40 isn't the complete disaster some critics claim but it does become pretty wearing by the time the (excessive) 150 minute running time has elapsed. Rudd and Mann are likeableThe story of one couples trials and tribulations as they approach 40 isn't the complete disaster some critics claim but it does become pretty wearing by the time the (excessive) 150 minute running time has elapsed. Rudd and Mann are likeable enough as the squabbling couple, but their problems are hard to sympathise with when they live in (what must amount to) a mansion, and despite the constant moaning about lack of money and cost cutting seem to live like millionaires. Ostensibly a film about "first world problems" it will make you chuckle, but you won't have a shred of sympathy for anyone by the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
hoops2448Mar 3, 2013
A family drama that doesn't end with a marriage collapsing or strengthening. A film that maintains the status quo while being utterly foul and equally as heartfelt. This is 40 follows Pete and Debbie from Knocked Up as they enter what theyA family drama that doesn't end with a marriage collapsing or strengthening. A film that maintains the status quo while being utterly foul and equally as heartfelt. This is 40 follows Pete and Debbie from Knocked Up as they enter what they perceive to be middle age and decide to change their lives for the better although in reality it might just be for the worst, the absolute worst. It's a film designed for the modern family, or that's what all the posters and adverts seem to suggest but to be honest the idea that this film is something for the modern family is completely absurd. In fact the family portrayed in this film feels nothing like the modern family (does anyone really know what a modern family is?), it feels dated even for 2013, I mean even the Lost references (there are plenty) are 3 years old. It's a film that does have a lot to say about family and does display a interesting family unit and a unique view of what a family should look like as compared to the idealised one we have in our head. This family unit is a strong one and each character interacts well with each other. However that's not to say the film is just about family and portrays family perfectly, its a very flawed film too. It's middle suffers due to some boring plot developments and lackluster jokes that befit a much different film. Ultimately its a film that seems it was written in parts with the beginning and the end meshing with each other well but the middle feeling wholly out of place and wrong. The middle does have some merit in fact Megan Fox surprises with a hilarious supporting role as one of Debbie's employees. However it is the ending that really raises the film up above Apatow's usual fair with some touching family moments that feel real. The inclusion of Albert Brooks and John Lithgow as Pete and Debbie's respective fathers gives a nice contrast and makes for some decent conflict the these characters. It's a film that has a huge chunk of a flaw but its one that you can ultimately shrug off thanks to an ending that reminds you why you liked these characters to begin with. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Tss5078Feb 22, 2013
Pete and Debbie, the loveable couple from Knocked Up, are back in the "sort of sequel" This Is 40. The couple are both turning 40, within days of each other, and decide that the number means it's time for a change, for them, as well as theirPete and Debbie, the loveable couple from Knocked Up, are back in the "sort of sequel" This Is 40. The couple are both turning 40, within days of each other, and decide that the number means it's time for a change, for them, as well as their family. They get new jobs and reconnect with family on their journey toward becoming a more mature couple, but it comes at a cost. Judd Apatow writes and directs this unique comedy, so I was expecting another hilarious winner, but they can't all be winners. The cast is fantastic and there are more than a few good laughs here, but this movie is extremely long and drawn out for a romantic comedy, and while it starts out strong, it starts to grow tiresome. There are many scenes between husband and wife that are boring and completely unnecessary. What I did like was how Apatow cast his daughters to be Pete and Debbie's daughters. They really are sisters and there was no pressure working for their dad, allowing them to really make it seem like this is a real family, and it's a good thing too, because for as good as both Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann are, they just didn't have much chemistry together. Both cast members were good in portraying their own characters, but when you put them together you see that something just isn't right about the pairing. I loved the concept and you will definitely laugh during this film, but it does lack a certain chemistry and is far too long for what it is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Apr 6, 2013
A remarkably funny movie based around concepts that feel so relatable and honest. The improvisation in this movie was great, and you really feel as if you understand the characters. Fun and serious and everything in between in only a way JuddA remarkably funny movie based around concepts that feel so relatable and honest. The improvisation in this movie was great, and you really feel as if you understand the characters. Fun and serious and everything in between in only a way Judd Apatow could deliver. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews