User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 171
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ENRIQUEP.
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    I don't really understand. I mean, this is unbelieveable. They bring us special videos from MJ's this is it, a series of concerts that would have been the ebst of all time, and still people criticise. WHAT DOES THAT MEAN? this is not any movie, this is THE movie and one of the most heartbreking films i've ever seen. IT IS A PRIVILAGE TO SEE THIS! people could not criticise I don't really understand. I mean, this is unbelieveable. They bring us special videos from MJ's this is it, a series of concerts that would have been the ebst of all time, and still people criticise. WHAT DOES THAT MEAN? this is not any movie, this is THE movie and one of the most heartbreking films i've ever seen. IT IS A PRIVILAGE TO SEE THIS! people could not criticise because it is not like other films. EXCELLENT AND MICHAEL WAS MORE THAN READY. Expand
  2. AnneG.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I watched it at 20th century in Nairobi. It was packed and people were screaming. Kenyans L.O.V.E Michael !!! Understand this haters, mike is universal, he will never die and your hate for him creates even more love for him.The negative press did nothing in 20 years! He has God's favour.
  3. HaritsA
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    This is the best concert I've ever seen so far..! And to see it on the big screen, it was AMAZING...!!! Too bad he's gone too soon.
  4. SuzyC
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    I absolutely loved it!
  5. DylanY
    Nov 6, 2009
    10
    I normally do not write reviews on Metacritic, but in this case I think that the Metacritic rating (67) does not do justice to this masterful piece of filmmaking. For me what's truly moving about this film is watching artistic genius -- not just Michael Jackson, but also everyone around him. All are absolutely the best at what they do. Sure, the "This Is It" tour would ultimately I normally do not write reviews on Metacritic, but in this case I think that the Metacritic rating (67) does not do justice to this masterful piece of filmmaking. For me what's truly moving about this film is watching artistic genius -- not just Michael Jackson, but also everyone around him. All are absolutely the best at what they do. Sure, the "This Is It" tour would ultimately have been a "commercial event," but the fact is the people behind it have real artistic integrity and talent. Watching the sausage being made and seeing this skill at work is a rare experience. Personally, I would much rather see this movie than an actual concert. Anyone who appreciates music and artistry should see this movie; the reviewer who said "it's like watching band practice" clearly has no appreciation for either. Collapse
  6. suzyg
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    I super love it! It would have been the greatest concert ever!... Those critics that give it a lower score must be the ones whose soul are full of hatred!... We, MJ fans at every corner of the world, didn't care how he looked like! We love him inside and out! the fact is he brought us joy with his music and dance! His music and dance make us happy everytime we listen to it and watch I super love it! It would have been the greatest concert ever!... Those critics that give it a lower score must be the ones whose soul are full of hatred!... We, MJ fans at every corner of the world, didn't care how he looked like! We love him inside and out! the fact is he brought us joy with his music and dance! His music and dance make us happy everytime we listen to it and watch him dance lift up our spirit!.. That 's why we will always love him...He gave more than just music! He gave us happiness!...I Love U Forever Michael! RIP. Expand
  7. LindaC.
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Having the documentary insight into the final days of MJs life and tour production is stunning. The quality [filming, editing, styling] of the movie is amateurish. The genius of MJ will remain phenomenal for many decade, perhaps century!
  8. JaneE.
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    Love MJ. Wish he was here to continue to bring us the very enlighening music to help heal our world.
  9. JacquellineT.
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    Love you MJ...I have seen This Is It 4x and I love everything about the film especially Michael performing and his singing. He would be just another human being in this world but higher up above all of us because he is born with talents. I prayed for those who have negatives thoughts or perceptions of him could give yourselves a chance to appreciate him. Just so you are expecting Love you MJ...I have seen This Is It 4x and I love everything about the film especially Michael performing and his singing. He would be just another human being in this world but higher up above all of us because he is born with talents. I prayed for those who have negatives thoughts or perceptions of him could give yourselves a chance to appreciate him. Just so you are expecting societies to do the same to you. Expand
  10. DG
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    Very interesting movie. It was amazing how involved Michael Jackson was in all aspects of this concert. It would have been a really unique and entertaining experience. The movie gives us a glimpse of his talent. Definately worth a view.
  11. LisaH
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    My daughter and I went to see this movie and loved it! Michael Jackson was a musical genius and entertainer. His concert would have been magnificent. It is so said that he didn't get the chance to tour. I am grateful that Mr. Ortega put together his rehearsals to show the genius that Michael was. He will be missed but never forgotten. His music will live on forever.
  12. BarbaraG
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    This film is redemptive not only for Michael Jackson but also for his fans and hopefully his critics. We see the genius of the artist but we are also glimpse a mature person in control of his body and his team. The deference given to Jackson by his director and the entire group puts the audience on notice that this guys delivers, and that there is not a single person involved in his This film is redemptive not only for Michael Jackson but also for his fans and hopefully his critics. We see the genius of the artist but we are also glimpse a mature person in control of his body and his team. The deference given to Jackson by his director and the entire group puts the audience on notice that this guys delivers, and that there is not a single person involved in his productions now or in the past that wasn't in awe of this mans talent. The show is fabulous and more than once my husband or I breathed a "unbelieveable" sigh. I am so glad that I got to see Michael the 50 year old man working, directing, creating, and leading not just performing. This is s side of Jackson we haven't seen in the media, a focused, mature, and balanced adult. Additionally, the way he is able to push his body (frail or not) to limits should silence those critics who said he could not deliver. I cannot imagine now being 50 something myself having kept that pace, I ache after a hike! Bravo Mr. Jackson, God gave you a gift, a gift that you shared with the world -- Be at peace. Expand
  13. scottm.
    Nov 2, 2009
    9
    My family loved this movie of MJ. We see it as a tribute to his talents. Nay sayers i believe were not MJ fans to begin with. The movie delivered exactly what it said it would, a behind the scene look at a great entertainer at work. Not a perfect concert film. The concert would have been amazing, and i have no doubt would have hit every note! MJ always delivered.
  14. MARTAP
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    I loved every second of it. Made me smile, laugh, sing, dance in my seat and cry. I have no words to say how much we missed and lost with MJ's death. Thank you Michael!! LOVE and RESPECT!
  15. MickeyM.
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    Stirring, sad and ultimately uplifting.
  16. Carol-AnnL.
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    Went to see the movie expecting to see a drugged, week MJ. The first time I went I could not take my eyes off him as he performed. He may have been sleep deprived, but he was alive and wonderful while performing. I was truly sad and grieving his death. The second and third times I saw the movie, I was able to appreciate the genius that was MJ. There's no need for anyone to look for Went to see the movie expecting to see a drugged, week MJ. The first time I went I could not take my eyes off him as he performed. He may have been sleep deprived, but he was alive and wonderful while performing. I was truly sad and grieving his death. The second and third times I saw the movie, I was able to appreciate the genius that was MJ. There's no need for anyone to look for an excuse to slam him. He was found not guilty in the trial. He did want the first case to go to trial to prove that he was not guilty but his Insurance company settled while he was in Europe in Rehab. He was furious and fired people for that. He said he was not guilty and I believe him. Remember, Innocent until proven guilty. All this has nothing to do with the performing genius he was. He will live on forever through his music. And, to all who persecute him, Karma! You will get yours. Expand
  17. KimJ.
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    It was great. MJ was beautiful, charming, talented, it was like being on set with him. Just wish he was here. I love you Michael J. Jackson, I know God taking care of you sweaty.
  18. JohnF.
    Nov 1, 2009
    9
    I was fascinated to watch the behind-scenes activity - the planning, construction, practice - for the show mounting. I was never a big fan of MJ, but his talents cannot be denied.
  19. SteveK
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    I would say my opinion is right in line with Marc A. (near the top here). I'll add that I was a fan long ago, I defended Michael's weirdness until it became too ugly (at least the public's view). And I abandoned him - could not even listen to his music I had loved soo much. But at this point, after the purging via his passing, and with this movie - I am back with a I would say my opinion is right in line with Marc A. (near the top here). I'll add that I was a fan long ago, I defended Michael's weirdness until it became too ugly (at least the public's view). And I abandoned him - could not even listen to his music I had loved soo much. But at this point, after the purging via his passing, and with this movie - I am back with a vengenance. Michael's soul is wherever he believed it would go - the sins are accounted for. Now I, we fans, are free to fully enjoy this incredibly well done movie, of an incredibly well designed show, acted out by an incredibly talented back up staff led by the quintessenial pop artist of our time. With soul, and heart. And to think, they were on track to redo these old classics, and make them even better - who would ever believe that was possible. As for the 0 raters - obviously haters, who have no place commenting here. It has always been my feeling that the first question should be do you even understand what you are rating - (like this is a movie of a rehersal - not a trial of Michael's moral or rational failings) - pass that, then have an opinion. And don't review Transformers when you were expecting Hamlet. Expand
  20. AngieT
    Nov 16, 2009
    9
    It's too bad that most of the zero rated votes come from people who haven't seen the film but look for any opportunity to slam anything Michael Jackson. For me, the film brought some measure of clousre as It allowed us to visit the final days of this true genius and to witness his light still brilliant even given what apparently could not have been easy days for the man. It's too bad that most of the zero rated votes come from people who haven't seen the film but look for any opportunity to slam anything Michael Jackson. For me, the film brought some measure of clousre as It allowed us to visit the final days of this true genius and to witness his light still brilliant even given what apparently could not have been easy days for the man. Although in practice mode, his dancing and singing continued to dazzle. His modest and unassuming nature, given his standalone talents, make me view Michael Jackson with more respect than ever. Yes, the film captures only selected footage, fair enough. But we are watcing the world's finest at work. Compelling and highly entertaining. Expand
  21. lol
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    I went to this movie a little bit skeptical and returned with a BIG smile on my face. Michael Jackosn is/was an amazing, incredible, complete artist! He showed us what talent is all about. Not to mention his kind heart and his concerns over our planet. What a loss.
  22. BobK
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    This film gives a unique, and apparently honest, look at a superstar preparing a tour. I am not a die-hard fan of MJ, but I found it quite interesting, especially how the other entertainers are "extensions of Michael".
  23. MarcA.
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    Hmm, what do I have to say about "This Is It"; the cold hard truth about this documentary... Before I tell you that answer I have a question for all of you first. Does magic exist? I truly believe this film was pieced together by magic and then some. This was and probably will be the best thing I seen on the big screen this whole year. What an icon! What it was about to keep it short; The Hmm, what do I have to say about "This Is It"; the cold hard truth about this documentary... Before I tell you that answer I have a question for all of you first. Does magic exist? I truly believe this film was pieced together by magic and then some. This was and probably will be the best thing I seen on the big screen this whole year. What an icon! What it was about to keep it short; The documentary chronicled what would have been Michael Jackson's last performance in England at the O2 arena. The film went through his whole set routine from start to finish and every song almost in their entirety. Between music pieces you can see a very warm, good-hearted, human Jackson dealing with some discrepancies with some of the music, dance numbers, and set cues. He handles things in the most professional and adult of mannerisms. What a guy! In the end you would have witnessed with what would have been one of the best concerts ever! My heart was irradiated with the most warmest feelings of love, peace, and harmony when watching this. Sitting there in that theater seat I was also very hot due to that fact. Lastly, throughout the film my eyes were so watered up, I was holding in tears the whole movie. By the end of it all, after walking out of the theater I just really felt the need to want to cut loose and dance my ass off. This is the must see movie of the year! Expand
  24. NiecyD
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    This documentary was absolutely fantastic! I enjoyed watching behind the scenes and the creativity of the producers, set designers, etc. Watching Michael was electrifying to me. Many of the movie goers that were in the theater with me, often clapped after they saw various scenes. I saw all ages at the movie and no one---absolutely no one left until the lights came back on at the very end. This documentary was absolutely fantastic! I enjoyed watching behind the scenes and the creativity of the producers, set designers, etc. Watching Michael was electrifying to me. Many of the movie goers that were in the theater with me, often clapped after they saw various scenes. I saw all ages at the movie and no one---absolutely no one left until the lights came back on at the very end. Everyone clapped and cheered and I saw a lot of emotion. I can't wait to purchase the DVD. Expand
  25. SR
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    Michael Jackson pursued perfection towards his music and it shows. During the rehersals he was perserving his voice and enegy for the big show and even with that it was just amazing to see his talent. He is the king of Pop and his music will live on forever. Regardless of the media, his character really prevails in this movie. He is a man of charisma and depth. It is too bad to know that Michael Jackson pursued perfection towards his music and it shows. During the rehersals he was perserving his voice and enegy for the big show and even with that it was just amazing to see his talent. He is the king of Pop and his music will live on forever. Regardless of the media, his character really prevails in this movie. He is a man of charisma and depth. It is too bad to know that people who really strive to save the planet and share love to the world would be condemened but he is in a better place now. May God bless his family and loved ones. With much love and respect always! Expand
  26. MillieB
    Nov 4, 2009
    10
    A beautiful film that captures the magic of Michael. I loved seeing him smile as his body responded to the beat of the music. Thank you Kenny Ortega and AEG for allowing us to see Michael's preparation for his best-ever show.
  27. LineJ
    Nov 5, 2009
    9
    Went to see the movie with my 11 year old daughter, we loved it! Michael's genious side was really apparent. He didn't seem sick a all, my girl said. This would have been a really great show. Too bad Michael had to leave so soon. He will always remain the king of pop.
  28. AshmeedM
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    This is it was a great documentary. I am lost of words to describe it. It is most enjoyed on the big screen or IMAX theater. I highly recommend you get a view of this. Its nothing short but amazing please leave all your critical opinion about MJ otherside you will be blown away.
  29. AlanM.
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Awesome just a shame we have missed out on THE event of the century. rip.
  30. DannyC
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    It is a great film. I was not a fan of Michael Jackson before. I liked his music, but not a fan. After his death, I paid serious attention to his music, and found it artisitc and great. This film just reaffirms my view. Thanks, Michael, for your dedication to your music. Your artistry overshadows the editing, and you come through like a superstar.
  31. sherryt.
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    What a talented legend! A true inside to what it takes to perform a concert like THIS IS IT! Very enjoyable, interesting and so sad!
  32. KellieH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Iv never really seen This Is it before but the trailer it's good from what iv seen I love Michael Jackson with all my heart this is for him R.I. P Michael Jackson The Man.
  33. AMayo
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    Up to this point in time I've always felt that Madonnas documentary "Truth Or Dare" was the best of the genre...that is, until now. It amazes me that Director Ortega was able to construct a moving tribute documentary after the tragic death of the principle star. And a loving work it was. Not a word of the incredibly depressing facts of this tragedy. Those rightfully so, are left for Up to this point in time I've always felt that Madonnas documentary "Truth Or Dare" was the best of the genre...that is, until now. It amazes me that Director Ortega was able to construct a moving tribute documentary after the tragic death of the principle star. And a loving work it was. Not a word of the incredibly depressing facts of this tragedy. Those rightfully so, are left for the media mongers that were relentless during Mr. Jackson's life and continue to this day. Go with God Michael, we miss you. Expand
  34. YunX.
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    I had my fear going in, but it was all shattered. A blast that far exceeds my expectation. This is a must-see for every MJ fan and even non-fans to understand why he was so popular and deserved every bit of the title King of the Pop. A consummate artist, a perfectionist, and a visionary. The film is overflowed with his energy, passion, and dedication, although he was like a child sometime I had my fear going in, but it was all shattered. A blast that far exceeds my expectation. This is a must-see for every MJ fan and even non-fans to understand why he was so popular and deserved every bit of the title King of the Pop. A consummate artist, a perfectionist, and a visionary. The film is overflowed with his energy, passion, and dedication, although he was like a child sometime too. If the rehearsals could be this good and engaging, one could only imagine what the concerts would've been. His voice sometimes showed his age; however, his dance moves were not, at all. He was thin and his face could still scare you, but physically he was in superb shape that you couldn't tell he was 50 or on drugs. In addition, the young lead female guitarist was not just good looking, but crazily good with the guitar as well. Smooth Criminal segment is probably my favorite, but they're almost all very excellent. I don't feel the film is exploiting his death in any way. Rather it's paying the tribute and gives fans something they deserve to see. The film, in some sense, was constrained in a good way and feels intimate. A lot of applause in the theater, and many stayed all the way through the end credit. Expand
  35. IqbalS.
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    Its amazing to see michael dance and sing he is at his best.
  36. EmmaJ.
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    Fan bloody tastic. What a fabulous and talented artist. If your a fan youll love it. If your not a fan i hope you can understand how talented this guy is. We miss you Michael.
  37. KuntayO.
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    The master working on his masterpiece. That's what i'd call this movie. "This is it" offers a focused, proffessional but at the same time humble and friendly man who was set to give the world the most spectacular show in the music history. The majority of the movie is about Michael Jackson being a performer, improvising his dance-steps and giving his all when singing songs like The master working on his masterpiece. That's what i'd call this movie. "This is it" offers a focused, proffessional but at the same time humble and friendly man who was set to give the world the most spectacular show in the music history. The majority of the movie is about Michael Jackson being a performer, improvising his dance-steps and giving his all when singing songs like "Human Nature" and "Earth Song". People who are not really fans of him should see this movie just to see what this man was all about. To get his message to the world that people should start "loving each other" and "care for our world". Any Michael Jackson fan will probably see this movie no matter what, but those who are afraid to see a frail looking MJ shouldn't worry. Michael Jackson was on top of his game and was ready to deliver on what he promised people years ago. "You ain't seen nothing yet". Expand
  38. DejanJ
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    Superb!
  39. Jamie
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    Exactly what it is claims to be--a great documentary on the making of the This Is It! Tour and the last rehearsals of Michael Jackson. For Jackson fans, this is an absolute must, as it shows him as an artist at work, designing and altering every aspect of his show, sometimes on the spot in rehearsal. For non Jackson fans, it is still a captivating look at how a major concert production Exactly what it is claims to be--a great documentary on the making of the This Is It! Tour and the last rehearsals of Michael Jackson. For Jackson fans, this is an absolute must, as it shows him as an artist at work, designing and altering every aspect of his show, sometimes on the spot in rehearsal. For non Jackson fans, it is still a captivating look at how a major concert production comes together, with nice features on all of the people involved--the backup dancers and singers, the band, the lighting & special effects guys, the video creaters, etc. One of the most captivating documentaries I've seen, especially since it captures the last days of a pop icon. Highly recommended. Expand
  40. JoanneV.
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    The film was done perfectly. MJ was amazing while in rehersals. I imagine the concert would have been his masterpiece.
  41. PhilipC
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    Loved this movie, MJ was a brilliant man.
  42. harryl
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    He is simply the greatest artist to walk the face of the earth. I don't think there will ever be anyone like that again.
  43. TonyS.
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    Wow!, MJ Still amazes! I learned alot tonight about the man and the legend and can't wait to take my 3 year old son to see it. MJ touches everyone! His rendtition of Billie Jean, while it didn't have the same energy it once did, had something else, which I can't pinpoint that made it special and something i'll never forget. GOD Bless MJ.
  44. PattiC.
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    I agree totally with Ebert's summation of the documentary, except to add - I believe Michael was the only one with long sleeves because he is said to get cold very easily and liked the temperature around 90 degrees. What a gifted man, not a drug addict, as this film definitely shows.
  45. ClintL.
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    It was much MORE than I expected. Although Michael looked very thin, this movie depicts him pouring all of himself in to each song. The guy has an unbelievable sense of rhythm. I think this is a must see movie. Judge him on his performance and talent, not his reputation. He is and will remain one of the arts most influential figures. Thanks Michael. We miss you already.
  46. CarolB.
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    Amazing!
  47. ChrisH.
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    This movie is for the fans so when i read the rubbish critic views above i wonder why they are actually paid to critic in the first place. This film is a fantastic experience for Michael's fans, it's that simple. If you're not bothered about the man and thought you'd just take interest in him once he had died then maybe this isn't for you, but for all who were in This movie is for the fans so when i read the rubbish critic views above i wonder why they are actually paid to critic in the first place. This film is a fantastic experience for Michael's fans, it's that simple. If you're not bothered about the man and thought you'd just take interest in him once he had died then maybe this isn't for you, but for all who were in support of him throughout his life (or their's if you're young like me) this is a must. And this whole folly about how MJ as a perfectionist would've cringed watching this is rediculous. As fans we could all imagine how amazing this would've been, but to just see the man at work behind the scenes is a very good substitute for the real thing. The truth is based on the movie, we really do now know the truth, this man was incredible. Expand
  48. BrianB.
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Amazing look behind the scenes at one of greatest performers. Especially wonderful for a fan!
  49. Jennifer
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    I left the movie ready to go do something with my own life. It is amazing to see not only a musical genius at work but to see someone so passionate about their craft. It is an inspiring documentary showing the master at work, inspiring a new generation of dancers, musicians, and singers. You can tell just being in his presences, the people around him were able to pick up on his energy and I left the movie ready to go do something with my own life. It is amazing to see not only a musical genius at work but to see someone so passionate about their craft. It is an inspiring documentary showing the master at work, inspiring a new generation of dancers, musicians, and singers. You can tell just being in his presences, the people around him were able to pick up on his energy and enthusiasm about the project they all were undertaking. This is it shows clips of not only the rehearsals for the concert but also the film clips and the dancers and musicians hired to help bring the show to life. The director also made sure to include one more plea from Michael to take care of our planet and to love one another. One good thing about this documentary is the people who worked so hard to prepare this concert from the performers to the costume designers, have the chance to show whoever decides to see the film what they were working on. It is really too bad all their hard work will not be viewed by the thousands they were preparing it for. Many of us missed the opportunity to see MJ in concert but we all get the chance to appreciate what an amazing performer and musical genius this man is. He surely was a one of a kind. Expand
  50. JohnE.
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    Watching MJ do his thing is like nothing you'd expect. His ability to continue being creative in the middle of rehearsing was amazing. He always had the fans in mind when he created his shows and music. Goodbye dear friend; we will miss you.
  51. joses.
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    It's a movie for fans and performance artists and musicians. For the regular eye, I'm not sure how it's going to play. Bot for us, it's a jewel..priceless.
  52. TrevorD.
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    While this concert documentary will not likely remain in history as a masterpiece, it does offer plenty of insight into the genius and charm that Michael Jackson possessed up to and until the final days of his magnificent life. If nothing else, this film shows to the world a glimpse into what would likely have been one of the most spectacular live entertainment events in recent history. While this concert documentary will not likely remain in history as a masterpiece, it does offer plenty of insight into the genius and charm that Michael Jackson possessed up to and until the final days of his magnificent life. If nothing else, this film shows to the world a glimpse into what would likely have been one of the most spectacular live entertainment events in recent history. As much as it is a shame that such brilliant work was never revealed to the world on its intended stage, it is a true blessing that fans and skeptics alike can experience the wonder that Michael had planned for the world. Expand
  53. VanessaC.
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    Just unbelievable........to think that THIS IS IT is just a rehearsal. A rehearsal!!!!!
  54. RandyL
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    Brilliant.
  55. DaveM.
    Oct 29, 2009
    10
    Great Movie, amazing to see how creative the King Of Pop was.
  56. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    This film is not a money grab, what it is, is the experience of the magical making of Michael Jackson's return to the stage, in what we can say through the footage, was going to be the greatest show on Earth (the title of one of his songs from his early solo albums in Motown).

    Once you sit down and start watching the film, you realize that all those made up scandals that sold millions of
    This film is not a money grab, what it is, is the experience of the magical making of Michael Jackson's return to the stage, in what we can say through the footage, was going to be the greatest show on Earth (the title of one of his songs from his early solo albums in Motown).

    Once you sit down and start watching the film, you realize that all those made up scandals that sold millions of papers and magazines and gave high ratings, don't really matter, those things don't reflect the musical genius that Jackson was.

    This Is It is a compilation of the rehearsals that occurred in LA's Staples Center for the 02 Arena Concerts in London. What you'll see? Michael Jackson preparing His show, enjoying it, tuning it to perfection, to make sure he gave his fans the best, because, after three successful solo tours, what else could you have expected from him?

    Even when he's not 100% there (energy wise), he performs with a passion that today's artists lack, such humbleness and joyfulness that keep you glued to the screen wondering what note he will hit, how well he would sing, or best of all, what dance move he'll perform.

    In the end, we are left with a raw rehearsal, one that left a lot to be desired in terms of technical specs, such as lighting, pyrotechnics, 3D (yes, well done 3D with new intro segments for Smooth Criminal, They Don't Care About Us, Earth Song, and the finale, 'Air MJ'), but thankfully we get to see a master of performance, somebody that wanted to show the new generations why he was and will always be the King of Pop. His legend will continue and after you watch this, you'll wonder how his comeback would've played out. Great, we can assume.
    Expand
  57. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    I warched this film in cinema, so many people were dancing and singing Michael's songs, it was soo nice. And some part of this film made me cry and to feel sad,because we lost such a great and talented man.
  58. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    The greatest musician/artist/entertainer and performer this world has ever known! "This is it" is so great that i cry almost every time i watch it because i realize that this amazing tour was canceled and The king Michael Jackson is not with us anymore. I don't think i should add something more, MJ is my biggest inspiration and for sure the best artist, everyone who liked his music shouldThe greatest musician/artist/entertainer and performer this world has ever known! "This is it" is so great that i cry almost every time i watch it because i realize that this amazing tour was canceled and The king Michael Jackson is not with us anymore. I don't think i should add something more, MJ is my biggest inspiration and for sure the best artist, everyone who liked his music should watch this movie without no doubt. Expand
  59. Dec 25, 2014
    10
    shows the genius that was Michael Jackson, involved in all aspects of the tour and making it unbeatable. without editing work is a praise for Mr. Jackson. simply a masterpiece
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. 100
    [An] extraordinary documentary, nothing at all like what I was expecting to see. Here is not a sick and drugged man forcing himself through grueling rehearsals, but a spirit embodied by music. Michael Jackson was something else.
  2. He could dance brilliantly right up to the end, it’s clear.This Is It may be a court documentary, but as a heavily lawyered portrait of an artist, it’s still pretty compelling.
  3. What this strange yet strangely beguiling film does is capture one of pop culture's great entertainers in the feverish grips of pure creativity.