User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 1 out of 81
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewF.
    Nov 22, 2001
    10
    Sh*t sandwich.
  2. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    80 mins of pure orgasm.

    So good it hold its own genre: Rockumentary. This is so genius. So many laughs and what differentiates it from the usual slapstick comedy is that it feels real and still maintains a decent structure. It is impossible to rate this lower than 10.
  3. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Brilliant parody of rock music and rock musicians. As mocking and cutting as the movie, it still manages to express show the genre some love. My favorite moment is when David St. Hubbins (Michael McKean), playing and singing on stage, urges Nigel Tufnel (Christopher Guest) with a nod of his head to come out of the wings and join him on stage. Nigel had quit the band in disgust afterBrilliant parody of rock music and rock musicians. As mocking and cutting as the movie, it still manages to express show the genre some love. My favorite moment is when David St. Hubbins (Michael McKean), playing and singing on stage, urges Nigel Tufnel (Christopher Guest) with a nod of his head to come out of the wings and join him on stage. Nigel had quit the band in disgust after David's meddling wife had attached herself uninvited to the band. Nigel hesitates but then walks across the stage, straps on a guitar and plays in unison with David. It's a special moment in a special film. Expand
  4. trug.
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Very good. And funny.
  5. PatC.
    Jan 14, 2004
    9
    Just damn clever. In elemental criteria ways not that good, but it was the only flick to come along and fill a gap that needed to be filled. 5 points for movie quality, 4 extra credit points for brazen originality. On a scale of 1 to 11, of course.
  6. DanC.
    Feb 7, 2004
    10
    I wish the ratings went to 11. Great movie!
  7. MartyD.
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Funnier than any Monty Python movie ever made and a fantastic DVD package with over an hour of scenes that didnt make the final cut that are easily as funny, if not funnier, than the scenes that did, a comedy that is so enjoyable I have listened to it four times and look forward to it again plus a whole bunch more. Too much more! Hehe, seriously, pick up this ponderous pretentious Funnier than any Monty Python movie ever made and a fantastic DVD package with over an hour of scenes that didnt make the final cut that are easily as funny, if not funnier, than the scenes that did, a comedy that is so enjoyable I have listened to it four times and look forward to it again plus a whole bunch more. Too much more! Hehe, seriously, pick up this ponderous pretentious collection and ask the question. Dont forget to listen to what the Flower People say. Expand
  8. KateB.
    Aug 3, 2004
    10
    Hilarious. great satire.
  9. JeffF.
    Jan 19, 2006
    9
    Very funny. One drummer choked on someone elses vomit. I wish Metalica some kind of monster would have been this good.
  10. KyleM.
    Jan 27, 2006
    10
    The tasteless cover is a good indication of the lack of cinematic invention within. The musical growth of this cast cannot even be charted. They are treading water in a sea of retarded sexuality and bad poetry. Great movie.
  11. WilliamW.
    May 30, 2006
    9
    I just picked this up on DVD. Of course, it's a great movie. But I had to wonder whether the Metacritic people realized that the Village Voice review by Jessica Winter to which they assigned a "50" is actually a joke, written as if it were a perfectly serious attempt to use the release of the DVD as the occasion to consider the band's legacy. Or are the Metacritic people just I just picked this up on DVD. Of course, it's a great movie. But I had to wonder whether the Metacritic people realized that the Village Voice review by Jessica Winter to which they assigned a "50" is actually a joke, written as if it were a perfectly serious attempt to use the release of the DVD as the occasion to consider the band's legacy. Or are the Metacritic people just going along with the joke? With deadpan upon deadpan upon deadpan, it gets hard to tell. Expand
  12. ColmM.
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    A classic in every sense.
  13. DanS.
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    Perhaps my favorite movie of all time. As Nigel noted (if I remember it correctly), "there's a fine line between clever and stupid" and this movie is never stuipid. It's hilarious.
  14. RyanM.
    May 28, 2001
    10
    The best Rock comedy ever made. One of the greatest overall films ever made too. Probably in my top 50 ever.
  15. BrrrrrettM.
    Aug 24, 2001
    10
    Simply the funniest film ever made, with "Airplane" running a very, very close second.
  16. BobL.
    Nov 12, 2003
    9
    Having only seen trailers and the basic plot, I vote it a 9 on specs. Kudos to Rob and the lads, Bob L.
  17. ButteredPopcorn
    Jul 19, 2003
    10
    I've seen this movie so many times I lost count. It is great! Someone I recommended this movie to said it took them half the movie to realize that it was not a real band. THis movie is the best in its genre, bar none. Spinal Tap sets the standard. "A Might Wind", "Waiting for Guffman", and the rest don't even desrve to be mentioned in the same breath as this move (forgive me). I've seen this movie so many times I lost count. It is great! Someone I recommended this movie to said it took them half the movie to realize that it was not a real band. THis movie is the best in its genre, bar none. Spinal Tap sets the standard. "A Might Wind", "Waiting for Guffman", and the rest don't even desrve to be mentioned in the same breath as this move (forgive me). If you haven't seen it yet, I am envious. You are in for a treat. Expand
  18. MichaelM.
    Oct 23, 2004
    9
    This is one of the most hysterical movies ever made. Although, this isn't the best Christopher Guest written/starring in film, Waiting For Guffman and Best In Show were better. But this is still a comedy masterpiece that should be admired from all aspects of film making. Instead of Christopher Guest directing this like Waiting For Guffman and Best In Show, Rob Reiner (Misery, Stand This is one of the most hysterical movies ever made. Although, this isn't the best Christopher Guest written/starring in film, Waiting For Guffman and Best In Show were better. But this is still a comedy masterpiece that should be admired from all aspects of film making. Instead of Christopher Guest directing this like Waiting For Guffman and Best In Show, Rob Reiner (Misery, Stand by Me) directs this classic mockumentary/comedy that invented the movie genre, Rockumentary. The story is about a film maker (Rob Reiner) making a documentary of a british band full of idiots called "Spinal Tap". The band members contain two lead guitarists/singers, Nigel Tuffnel (Christopher Guest), David St. Hubbins (Michael McKean), and have one bass player Derek Smalls (Harry Shearer). The band keeps losing drummers to various accidents that result in death - one drummer explodes on stage, one dies in a gardening accident, and the funniest one - one dies by choking on vomit (as Nigel Tuffnel says, "It wasn't his vomit, it was someone else's. Unfortunetly, they can't do DNA testing to find out who's it actually was."). The film maker also explores David St. Hubbins's obnoxious and naive girlfriend, who is kind of like "Yoko Ono" and trys to tear David and Nigel apart. This is a film I would recommend to anyone looking for an excellent film to watch. The movie also guest stars Bruno Kirby, Fred Willard, Dana Carvey, Billy Crystal, Ed Begley, Jr. and Fran Drescher. (20 February 2003) Expand
  19. MichaelB.
    Apr 29, 2004
    10
    This is the funniest film i have ever seen!
  20. DaveK.
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    Great movie! The satirical content in this is great, any big band would think this is hilarious.
  21. RosieH.
    Nov 28, 2001
    8
    Your scores don't go to 11. A very clever & hugely funny movie.
  22. Gilbert
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    Damn, someone's already done the "your scores don't go to 11" one. Well done, Rosie. Instead I'll say: is it possible for a film to be funnier? No. Watch it. Watch it RIGHT NOW. Or you will be damned forever. Really. It's a Must See in the holiest sense.
  23. MikeN.
    Aug 16, 2003
    8
    Okay, it's not actually an '11'. But it's a pretty good mock documentary.
  24. aREALBandMember
    Aug 25, 2003
    10
    FUNNY and well... I hate to say but mostly true.
  25. CHuggins
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    The best movie ever. The comedic highlight for me is when Nigel shows off his "Trademark Solos."
  26. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Great movie. My favorite comedy. You owe it to yourself to watch this and laugh your ass off.
  27. Jun 17, 2012
    7
    Witty and good fun, even if it was a bit over done.
    You have already reviewed this product. You can submit a new review and rating now if you wish to make changes.
  28. Jan 14, 2015
    8
    This Is Spinal Tap is absolutely hilarious. The problem I find with many comedies is that they are not as funny as I want them to be, but here, that is anything but the problem. From the interactions between the band members to the lyrics in their songs, the comedy never stops here and really, you barely have time to recover between jokes. All of the band members, Michael McKean,This Is Spinal Tap is absolutely hilarious. The problem I find with many comedies is that they are not as funny as I want them to be, but here, that is anything but the problem. From the interactions between the band members to the lyrics in their songs, the comedy never stops here and really, you barely have time to recover between jokes. All of the band members, Michael McKean, Christopher Guest, and Harry Shearer, are hilarious and turn in strong performances to boot. Rob Reiner is great here as well, as are Tony Hendra, June Chadwick, and then I really liked Bruno Kirby's small part as well. The fact that much of the dialogue was ad libbed makes this one even better and really helped to make it feel so natural. Spinal Tap is obviously not a real band, but it truly felt like it was at times since the interviews and interactions felt so natural and authentic. In every way imaginable, This Is Spinal Tap is a classic comedy from the 80's that is worthy of the praise it has received over the years. Expand
  29. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    "This Is Spinal Tap" is a 1984 Rob Reiner mockumentary about the failing fictitious rock and roll group, Spinal Tap, and their attempts to get back on top of the charts. The film stars Michael McKean, Christopher Guest, and Harry Shearer as the main group members. What surprised me most about this film is that most of the films dialogue was improvised by Reiner, McKean, Guest, and Shearer."This Is Spinal Tap" is a 1984 Rob Reiner mockumentary about the failing fictitious rock and roll group, Spinal Tap, and their attempts to get back on top of the charts. The film stars Michael McKean, Christopher Guest, and Harry Shearer as the main group members. What surprised me most about this film is that most of the films dialogue was improvised by Reiner, McKean, Guest, and Shearer. It works quite well throughout the film, as the jokes feel more organic and not staged. There's not much else to say about "Spinal Tap". It's a really clever movie that's modestly executed and it, in all honesty, pays off. While, it's not a solid eleven (ha ha see what I did there?) in my book, it's still a freaking hilarious movie. Expand
  30. Jan 18, 2014
    7
    One of the first mockumentaries ever made and also mostly improvised This Is Spinal Tap isn't exactly your straightforward comedy. Nowadays we have new fake documentaries and found footage movies every week. Back in 1984 with one or two minor exceptions, this was a new idea and new way of making comedies. Take a look at the score out of 10 people obviously liked this new style of funnyOne of the first mockumentaries ever made and also mostly improvised This Is Spinal Tap isn't exactly your straightforward comedy. Nowadays we have new fake documentaries and found footage movies every week. Back in 1984 with one or two minor exceptions, this was a new idea and new way of making comedies. Take a look at the score out of 10 people obviously liked this new style of funny movies, this new template of how to make you laugh. And you laugh a lot. From how loud the amps can go to the story about how their drummer spontaneously combusted, pretty much everything is some kind of a joke. Overall it might not be as laugh out loud hilarious as it's reputation suggests it to be, but I definitely laughed an above average amount of times and really enjoyed myself with This Is Spinal Tap. It undoubtedly deserves it's cult status. Expand
  31. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    Not only does this succeed at being a satire of rock bands, it also acts as a satire of documentaries themselves. There are many scenes that are memorable and easily quotable lines. A silly, ridiculous, funny mock-rockumentary.
  32. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first time I saw this it was just an okay movie. But the more I watch it the funnier it gets, the dialog is clever, and the music is hilarious and great to listen to. The interactions between the characters is so well done and feels very real. It may not be a very well known movie but I highly suggest watching it. Expand
  33. Feb 13, 2015
    10
    I'd give this film 11/10 if i could. This is quite easily one of the greatest comedies/mocumentaries ever made! Dry, witty humour at it's finest. This goes to 11.
  34. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    One of my favorite movie ever. It's witty, funny and clever. They take what could have been a crappy movie and cranked it up to 11. It is fantastic. 11/10
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Carmel Dagan
    96
    So intensely funny that the viewer must hang on every word: comic gems spill forth almost continuously.
  2. 90
    Spinal Tap is still on the right side of the fine line between stupid and clever.
  3. 50
    Begs the question: Did the lads from Squatney trail the zeitgeist at every turn, or were cobandleaders David St. Hubbins and Nigel Tufnel simply in touch with their past and ahead of their time?