User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 77
  2. Negative: 1 out of 77

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    80 mins of pure orgasm.

    So good it hold its own genre: Rockumentary. This is so genius. So many laughs and what differentiates it from the usual slapstick comedy is that it feels real and still maintains a decent structure. It is impossible to rate this lower than 10.
  2. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    Brilliant parody of rock music and rock musicians. As mocking and cutting as the movie, it still manages to express show the genre some love. My favorite moment is when David St. Hubbins (Michael McKean), playing and singing on stage, urges Nigel Tufnel (Christopher Guest) with a nod of his head to come out of the wings and join him on stage. Nigel had quit the band in disgust afterBrilliant parody of rock music and rock musicians. As mocking and cutting as the movie, it still manages to express show the genre some love. My favorite moment is when David St. Hubbins (Michael McKean), playing and singing on stage, urges Nigel Tufnel (Christopher Guest) with a nod of his head to come out of the wings and join him on stage. Nigel had quit the band in disgust after David's meddling wife had attached herself uninvited to the band. Nigel hesitates but then walks across the stage, straps on a guitar and plays in unison with David. It's a special moment in a special film. Expand
  3. j30
    Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Great movie. My favorite comedy. You owe it to yourself to watch this and laugh your ass off.
  4. Jun 17, 2012
    7
    Witty and good fun, even if it was a bit over done.
    You have already reviewed this product. You can submit a new review and rating now if you wish to make changes.
  5. Jan 14, 2015
    8
    This Is Spinal Tap is absolutely hilarious. The problem I find with many comedies is that they are not as funny as I want them to be, but here, that is anything but the problem. From the interactions between the band members to the lyrics in their songs, the comedy never stops here and really, you barely have time to recover between jokes. All of the band members, Michael McKean,This Is Spinal Tap is absolutely hilarious. The problem I find with many comedies is that they are not as funny as I want them to be, but here, that is anything but the problem. From the interactions between the band members to the lyrics in their songs, the comedy never stops here and really, you barely have time to recover between jokes. All of the band members, Michael McKean, Christopher Guest, and Harry Shearer, are hilarious and turn in strong performances to boot. Rob Reiner is great here as well, as are Tony Hendra, June Chadwick, and then I really liked Bruno Kirby's small part as well. The fact that much of the dialogue was ad libbed makes this one even better and really helped to make it feel so natural. Spinal Tap is obviously not a real band, but it truly felt like it was at times since the interviews and interactions felt so natural and authentic. In every way imaginable, This Is Spinal Tap is a classic comedy from the 80's that is worthy of the praise it has received over the years. Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    "This Is Spinal Tap" is a 1984 Rob Reiner mockumentary about the failing fictitious rock and roll group, Spinal Tap, and their attempts to get back on top of the charts. The film stars Michael McKean, Christopher Guest, and Harry Shearer as the main group members. What surprised me most about this film is that most of the films dialogue was improvised by Reiner, McKean, Guest, and Shearer."This Is Spinal Tap" is a 1984 Rob Reiner mockumentary about the failing fictitious rock and roll group, Spinal Tap, and their attempts to get back on top of the charts. The film stars Michael McKean, Christopher Guest, and Harry Shearer as the main group members. What surprised me most about this film is that most of the films dialogue was improvised by Reiner, McKean, Guest, and Shearer. It works quite well throughout the film, as the jokes feel more organic and not staged. There's not much else to say about "Spinal Tap". It's a really clever movie that's modestly executed and it, in all honesty, pays off. While, it's not a solid eleven (ha ha see what I did there?) in my book, it's still a freaking hilarious movie. Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2014
    7
    One of the first mockumentaries ever made and also mostly improvised This Is Spinal Tap isn't exactly your straightforward comedy. Nowadays we have new fake documentaries and found footage movies every week. Back in 1984 with one or two minor exceptions, this was a new idea and new way of making comedies. Take a look at the score out of 10 people obviously liked this new style of funnyOne of the first mockumentaries ever made and also mostly improvised This Is Spinal Tap isn't exactly your straightforward comedy. Nowadays we have new fake documentaries and found footage movies every week. Back in 1984 with one or two minor exceptions, this was a new idea and new way of making comedies. Take a look at the score out of 10 people obviously liked this new style of funny movies, this new template of how to make you laugh. And you laugh a lot. From how loud the amps can go to the story about how their drummer spontaneously combusted, pretty much everything is some kind of a joke. Overall it might not be as laugh out loud hilarious as it's reputation suggests it to be, but I definitely laughed an above average amount of times and really enjoyed myself with This Is Spinal Tap. It undoubtedly deserves it's cult status. Expand
  8. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    Not only does this succeed at being a satire of rock bands, it also acts as a satire of documentaries themselves. There are many scenes that are memorable and easily quotable lines. A silly, ridiculous, funny mock-rockumentary.
  9. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first time I saw this it was just an okay movie. But the more I watch it the funnier it gets, the dialog is clever, and the music is hilarious and great to listen to. The interactions between the characters is so well done and feels very real. It may not be a very well known movie but I highly suggest watching it. Expand
  10. Feb 13, 2015
    10
    I'd give this film 11/10 if i could. This is quite easily one of the greatest comedies/mocumentaries ever made! Dry, witty humour at it's finest. This goes to 11.
  11. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    One of my favorite movie ever. It's witty, funny and clever. They take what could have been a crappy movie and cranked it up to 11. It is fantastic. 11/10
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Carmel Dagan
    96
    So intensely funny that the viewer must hang on every word: comic gems spill forth almost continuously.
  2. 90
    Spinal Tap is still on the right side of the fine line between stupid and clever.
  3. 50
    Begs the question: Did the lads from Squatney trail the zeitgeist at every turn, or were cobandleaders David St. Hubbins and Nigel Tufnel simply in touch with their past and ahead of their time?