This Is the End

This Is the End Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 711 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jun 11, 2013
    100
    In its own sloppy, raunchy, sophomoric, occasionally self-pleased and consistently energetic way, This Is the End is just about perfect at executing its mission, which is to poke fun at its stars, exhaust every R-rated possibility to get a laugh, and even sneak in a few insights into Hollywood, the celebrity culture and the nature of faith.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 11, 2013
    88
    A one-joke movie, but it’s a joke whose recurring rimshots grow as loud as our laughter.
  3. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Jun 14, 2013
    80
    That film is far more interesting in concept, and infinitely more elegant in execution, than what Rogen and his buddies have cooked up in This Is the End — but I've gotta admit, it's not nearly as funny.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 11, 2013
    75
    By the time September arrives, This is the End will probably be in the running for "funniest comedy of the 2013 summer."
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Jun 12, 2013
    67
    Maybe it has something to do with Jewish writers riffing on the apocalypse, but This Is the End doesn’t really know how to end.
  6. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jun 23, 2013
    60
    Is the movie fun? Yes, for half the time. An hour would have sufficed. [24 June 2013, p.84]
  7. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jun 12, 2013
    38
    There are a few laughs at the start of This Is the End, and a couple more at the end of This is the End. As for the endless middle, it’s middling.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 194
  1. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    I never write reviews, but this movie is an instant classic. The creativity and the improvisation are, as always, big parts of what make theI never write reviews, but this movie is an instant classic. The creativity and the improvisation are, as always, big parts of what make the movie work. But also just the sheer joy of watching Hollywood's lovable actors cooped up in one house with one each other during an invasion make this movie sure a memorable time at the theaters. "This Is the End" is a perfect watch throughout the strand of disappointing comedies as of late. Maybe its because of the lack of creativity in Hollywood or because it really is sheer genius, "This Is the End" is the funniest movie I can remember watching in the theaters. Must see. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Consistently funny from beginning to end, with a lot of self-deprecating humor. I loved the finale with a particular musical cue that was gutConsistently funny from beginning to end, with a lot of self-deprecating humor. I loved the finale with a particular musical cue that was gut splitting. I think the thing I appreciate most, was the attention to technical detail that the filmmakers gave to crafting this gem. It would have been easy to have low grade special effects, but all of the visual effects work was solid, which only enhances this masterpiece. Michael Cera, and Danny McBride really steal the show, never failing to skewer their own image, or really go there with being despicable and hedonistic. This is one for the ages. Well done, Seth Rogen! Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    The most original unoriginal movie I've ever seen. I'm not a fan of most comedies, but this movie was one of the rare gems that pop out everyThe most original unoriginal movie I've ever seen. I'm not a fan of most comedies, but this movie was one of the rare gems that pop out every now and then. Rogen, Baruchel, Franco, and Robinson are amazing as exaggerated versions of themselves. Truthfully, the movie made me feel like I was watching how myself and some of my bros would deal with the same situation. Excellent film and absolutely hilarious. Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    This Is The End Review

    An interesting concept for Seth Rogan's first attempt to direct a movie, which could really have been a hit or
    This Is The End Review

    An interesting concept for Seth Rogan's first attempt to direct a movie, which could really have been a hit or miss. End of the world movies usually fall flat (2012), but the all star cast managed to make a pretty good movie. The appeal of the movie for me is that everyone plays themselves. Seth Rogan is "Seth Rogan", Jonah Hill is "Jonah Hill" and so on. It works well for the most part, but some actors come of annoying. I can simply not stand Danny McBride, he just bothers me. He is the sole reason 30 Minutes Or Less was not a good movie. In this movie his only purpose is to be a dick to everyone and its not that funny. But thankfully Franco and Hill manage to keep the movie afloat. Their are several cameos in the movie which was cool, especially one toward the end. Their are several hilarious moments and small inserts of violence that felt a little to forward, but funny none the less. Theirs something about playing soccer with a decapitated head of man that just offered to f**k" Seth Rogan that's just perfect. The special effects are comically awful, which I feel was done on purpose. Craig Robinson was probably my favorite part about the movie, and has one of the funnier scenes at the beginning of the movie while singing with Rihanna. To be able to get all the references in movie you have to be familiar with some of actors pass works. Actually I would encourage to watch Pineapple Express before seeing this as it has a pretty large part in the movie. Overall my only real compliant is that I wish that they would have worked on McBrides dialogue in the movie. Although being a jerk was his role in the movie, they could have made it funnier. This Is a good movie that I recommend to see if you have seen Rogan's and Franco's past work. If not wait for the rental, your not missing out by not going to the theater.

    8.3/10
    Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this movie was just excellent and every man did a good job selling their own characters. The plot was pretty good I don't think that many film creators have thought of this idea. Of course the movie was super funny at parts but in other parts they tried to hard to be funny that it wasn't funny. My other complaints about this movie are that it had a lot of blood and gore. Although some of the parts that featured those things were really funny. I liked the fact that the movie had a lot of inside jokes between actors such as James Franco and Seth Rogen. It was also funny when many people didn't know who Jay Baruchel was due to the fact that he has only been in a few movies. Overall this movie was pretty great with a lot of laughs and creativity.
    Overall: 7.75/10
    Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    Yes it's a comedy all right. You know what to expect when Seth Rogen, Jonah Hill and similar are starring... It does have a few funny lines,Yes it's a comedy all right. You know what to expect when Seth Rogen, Jonah Hill and similar are starring... It does have a few funny lines, not too many but still... Silly-funny, not smart-funny but (excuse the repetition) it was expected. So, for the most part it was amusing to watch. Yet when I was leaving the theater I felt sad. These talented actors are already all in their 30's yet the way they talk and behave is as if they are teenage half-wits who can only think about drugs and fornication. This movie could be easily done with marionettes instead of actors, "Team America"-style. In fact, it would be even funnier. What I mean is there is nothing to play in that script and it seems to be a waste of actors' skills. Is it a quest for easy money or inability to get out of an established stereotype screen character? Collapse
  7. Dec 28, 2013
    0
    What a terrible movie. okay so the big mistake was using the real actors names. this was misleading because the actors are NOT playingWhat a terrible movie. okay so the big mistake was using the real actors names. this was misleading because the actors are NOT playing themselves. they pretend that they are, but are really just acting like brain-dead stoners. really weird, unrealistic acting, not funny at all. really disappointing, i was exited for this one too. Expand

See all 194 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: May 31, 2013
    Watch new trailers for Denis Villeneuve's "Prisoners," "Monsters University," "Machete Kills," "This Is the End," and more films, and get an update on the week's movie news.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: April 5, 2013
    Our weekly roundup includes new looks at "The Great Gatsby," "The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones," "This Is the End," "Only God Forgives," "2 Guns," "Carrie," and much more.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: December 20, 2013
    It's an end-of-the-year trailer blowout! Watch new teasers, trailers, and clips from Christopher Nolan's "Interstellar," Wally Pfister's "Transcendence," Wes Anderson's "The Grand Budapest Hotel," plus "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes," "22 Jump Street," and many more 2014 films.
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: May 24, 2013
    Catch up on the week's movie news and watch over a dozen newly released trailers, including the first for Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s directorial debut and new looks at "Man of Steel," "The World's End," "The Lone Ranger," "Wolverine," and more.