Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 23
  2. Negative: 16 out of 23
  1. It's crazy, dangerous and sometimes gorgeous: a feast of nuttiness that takes you, for a while, over the edge.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Fox
    63
    By turns fascinating and intolerable.
  3. Tideland is the easiest of Gilliam's films to follow, yet the most disturbing to watch.
  4. Reviewed by: Leslie Felperin
    30
    Dragged down by a sputtering script and torpid pacing. Way too disturbing for kids and too weird for most grown-ups.
  5. Borderline unwatchable, although, as is true of all Gilliam movies, it certainly is different.
  6. 20
    The worst that can be said of the first two-thirds of Tideland is that it is tiresome. Toward the end it becomes creepy, and not in a good way.
  7. 0
    Rarely has an act of such cinematic cruelty as Tideland been perpetrated on filmgoers.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    One of Gilliam' best. Beautiful, funny, dark. Most critics, it seems, we're too terrified by the image of a retarded man kissing a young girl. It's worth noting that this is not a sexual kiss, it's a peck on the lips like any two children might do while playing. Anyone who interprets that scene as pedophilia needs to take long look at themselves because it's kind of creepy to read that much in to such an innocent scene. Expand
  2. BobC
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    Beautiful... And disturbing, but only because deep-seated traditional taboos are broken without any sort of apology. But for fans of uncompromising art, this movie will probably enthrall you. I, for one, couldn't be happier that Gilliam made this movie, by far one of his best (my favorite other than Brazil). I only hope that the audience that this movie was intended for ignores the surprisingly pig-headed reviews and sees this film anyway! Expand
  3. Paul
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    In my opinion Tideland is a really great movie. It might not be Gilliam's best one but surely one of the most interesting and eclectic movies I watched in the last years. It misses some of the qualities cinema visitors might want - such as strong excitement, a happy end or something. But that would just distract us from the interesting points of Tideland. Expand
  4. PinkyC
    Oct 15, 2006
    9
    This movie is awesome! Jodelle Ferland turns in an Oscar calibre performance and will mesmorise you. Based on the novel "Tideland" by Mitch Cullin - Terry Gilliam has created a fantastic adaptation that will shock you and touch you. It will leave you thinking about Tideland for a very long time. (I saw it Sept 2005 and Oct 2006 at Toronto screenings) Expand
  5. MichaelE.
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    Stunning. Gilliam's most complete film since Brazil, and probably the truest, most emotionally resonant film he's ever done. Compared to the somewhat similar Pan's Labyrinth, Tideland wins in every department -- and there's no gratuitous violence! The overwhelmingly negative critical reception to this versus the overwhelmingly positive critical reception to the inferior Del Toro feature has eroded what little respect I have for commercial film reviewers. All the rumors they've started are untrue: Tideland is not ugly, it's not "disturbing," it's not pointless, and it certainly isn't boring. Unless Inland Empire is everything I've hoped for and more, this is my pick for the Film of 2006. Expand
  6. ChadS.
    Apr 6, 2007
    6
    People who despise "Tideland" object strongly, rightfully so, mind you; to the adult relationship between Jeliza-Rose(Jodelle Ferland) and Dickens(Brendan Fletcher). Statutory rape, or even its overtures that would precipitate such a godforesaken congress, violates the unspoken, but implicit pact between performer and director; which is: the filmmaker has a moral obligation to not humiliate his actor. If Dell(Janet McTeer) doesn't burst in the room and interrupt a kiss, clearly intended to be adult in nature, between man(-child) and child, a far-worse transgression would most likely follow. "Tideland", in my mind, is Terry Gilliam's f*****-up interpretation of "The Blue Lagoon". An ocean transformed from a field of tall brown chaff is suggested, visually, through CGI; but it's when Dickens pretends to swim with Jeliza-Rose did my pre-pubescent memories of Christopher Atkins and Brooke Shields(and her strategically-placed hair) stir, and stir, and stir. Is this a reason to fully recommend "Tideland"? Hell, no! Jeliza-Rose's come-ons made my skin crawl. But just keep it in mind that the accidental lolita is carrying on without any adult supervision. She's an innocent. Expand
  7. AaronS
    Oct 16, 2006
    0
    One critic has called this virtually unwatchable. Yep, that it is. Gilliam can be a fine filmmaker, but his recent output has been to put it kindly, uneven. 'Tideland' on the other hand is bad. Beyond bad. This movie is not only painfully offensive, but just downright trash. One of the very worst movies from a talented filmmaker ever made. Stunningly, mind-numbingly awful. Collapse

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. All Films Considered: Terry Gilliam

    All Films Considered: Terry Gilliam Image
    Published: January 7, 2010
    The Monthy Python alum and director of the new Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus is responsible for some all-time great movies -- and some absolute box office disasters. We examine his 35-year film career.