Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: April 12, 2013
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 138 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
103
Mixed:
15
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
TheWalrus2000Apr 22, 2013
To The Wonder is not even close to the greatness of The Tree of Life. But with great imagery and tempo performances, To The Wonder is a suitable film for all audiences.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
himeegDec 19, 2013
Like every other Terrance Malick film, this one is gorgeously shot. It is atmospheric and fluid. Sadly, it is also tedious and boring. About halfway into it, I was already wishing it was over. I am big fan of his and think he isLike every other Terrance Malick film, this one is gorgeously shot. It is atmospheric and fluid. Sadly, it is also tedious and boring. About halfway into it, I was already wishing it was over. I am big fan of his and think he is brilliant. But tons pointless twirling, an overdose of voice overs, and not much story cause this one to fall way short of Malick's past masterpieces. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
TVJerryMay 11, 2013
If you liked "Tree of Life" you'll be in heaven with this latest from writer/director Terrence Malick (there's even some of the same footage). It's all beautiful imagery with poetic VO and almost no dialogue. There's a relationship runaroundIf you liked "Tree of Life" you'll be in heaven with this latest from writer/director Terrence Malick (there's even some of the same footage). It's all beautiful imagery with poetic VO and almost no dialogue. There's a relationship runaround with Ben Affleck and Olga Kurylenko, where they do lots of silly stuff that people only do in movies…and perfume commercials. Javier Bardem wanders around as a priest. Cinematic poetry and obtuse storytelling. Painfully pretentious for my taste. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Prodigy2013May 22, 2013
With the seemingly aimless direction, heavenly soundtrack and slow development, this is a typical Terrence Malick film. However, unlike his previous efforts, this one felt far more removed. ‘To the Wonder’ is an art film that presents theWith the seemingly aimless direction, heavenly soundtrack and slow development, this is a typical Terrence Malick film. However, unlike his previous efforts, this one felt far more removed. ‘To the Wonder’ is an art film that presents the cycle of romantic relationships; from its beautiful beginnings to its sometime tragic end, and back around to the beautiful new beginnings. I take it that this was meant to be a study rather than something plot driven, and that the overall experience should be the ultimate “pay-off”; however, there seems to be something missing here. Unlike Sean Penn’s grief for the death of his brother in ‘The Tree of Life’ and Collin Farrell’s adoration for Pocahontas in ‘The New World’, we didn't feel the love that the characters in ‘To the Wonder’ presumably shared for each other. We were never able to immerse ourselves in the feelings of these characters; but were simply relegated to being bystanders looking at glimpses of the relationships as it unfolded and dissolved. Sometimes it’s easier to respect the artist than the art on display, and that is the case here. I have to give this film a mediocre grade despite being a huge fan of Malick. This one just wasn't doing it for me; and in the end, it was too emotionally unsatisfying. One thing you’re guaranteed to take away from this film is Emmanuelle Lubezki’s splendid cinematography. His sun kissed lighting and eloquent camera movements were what kept me engaged most of the time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
oliver1hJun 21, 2013
Malick's beautiful, air-light, impressionistic style really shines here. Worth a watch for this alone. Like watching the works of french impressionists painters, set to motion. Olga Kurylenko surprised me with her excellent acting. I thinkMalick's beautiful, air-light, impressionistic style really shines here. Worth a watch for this alone. Like watching the works of french impressionists painters, set to motion. Olga Kurylenko surprised me with her excellent acting. I think the movie was more like a contemplation about love, relationships, loneliness and life, than actually a "movie". I say this because the movie had a very thin plot with 2 hours of running time, and not much story development. Almost like in the case of an experimental movie, which is hard to categorize. Was this a drama? Yes, but the plot was merely a "base" or a "pedestal" for the thought presented. To the wonder is a logical follow up and development of "The Tree of Life" in style. I believe Ben Affleck's character was totally underdeveloped, and underused, which is a shame. The storyline with Javier Bardem was somewhat inconclusive as well. One of Malick most "eccentric" movies. Definitely not made for wider audiences, despite the AAA actors/actresses, and the romantic plot/sub-plot. More of a movie for those who like to think about life, love, relationships, God. Not Malick's best, but worth a watch! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
wisertimeApr 7, 2014
Have to admit this was bad. I love Malick's other movies, but this was not good. Felt unfinished, rushed, poorly edited, poorly cast, even the actors didn't seem to know what they were doing in parts. The fact that he is making 3 moviesHave to admit this was bad. I love Malick's other movies, but this was not good. Felt unfinished, rushed, poorly edited, poorly cast, even the actors didn't seem to know what they were doing in parts. The fact that he is making 3 movies consecutively after doing a handful in 40 years, might be telling.

Dialog is not even understandable in parts. Characters thin, except for the female lead. Just felt like there wasn't enough there.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SteveB95Aug 24, 2015
To the Wonder is a positively beautiful film with, despite superb cinematography, many flaws. Ultimately, the story is unsatisfying emotionally in almost every way conceivable. The film is laden with compelling performances, which areTo the Wonder is a positively beautiful film with, despite superb cinematography, many flaws. Ultimately, the story is unsatisfying emotionally in almost every way conceivable. The film is laden with compelling performances, which are conveyed through bodily actions and facial expressions more than dialogue itself, for the most part. It feels like a twenty-five minute short film that's been distorted into a feature length; almost like a slinky that's been stretched too far.

It isn't particularly a bad film, but To the Wonder unfortunately gets too caught up in its idyllic and poetic imagery to delivery something above the level of dissatisfaction and, quite frankly, disappointment.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews