Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: April 12, 2013
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 136 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
102
Mixed:
15
Negative:
19
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
LamontRaymondApr 13, 2013
From a visual and auditory standpoint, it's an incredible movie. Casting Olga Kurylenko was obviously a wise move in a movie about beauty, with very little perceptible dialogue, she's able to carry much of the film's load. I would haveFrom a visual and auditory standpoint, it's an incredible movie. Casting Olga Kurylenko was obviously a wise move in a movie about beauty, with very little perceptible dialogue, she's able to carry much of the film's load. I would have loved a bit more clarity about how the two met, his job in the local Oklahoma community, his background (other than his prior relationship with the Rachel McAdams character), and what happened to the two lead characters at the end. But I appreciate Malick's use of the uroboros. I enjoyed Javier Bardem as the local priest who is struggling with his own mission. With so much negativity in the press about the Catholic Church and Christianity in general, it's great to see this very typical character visiting the sick, the lost souls in prison, etc. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
KentRDec 7, 2013
The people and activities shown in To The Wonder seemed more real than in most films. It was interesting to notice how the lack of dialog seemed to contribute favorably to the realism. The actors were convincing and some were attractive.The people and activities shown in To The Wonder seemed more real than in most films. It was interesting to notice how the lack of dialog seemed to contribute favorably to the realism. The actors were convincing and some were attractive. Although I'm pretty sure I did not understand much of what Terrence Malik was saying with this movie I must have understood some of it because I found myself viewing the entire movie and enjoying the challenge of trying to figure out some of the characters' feelings and some of the connections among the people featured. The depictions of Oklahoma caught my attention because they were sad, stark, funny, tragic, and beautiful. There was a lot of good wind shown throughout this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MrThistleApr 14, 2013
I loved this movie, and I loved Tree of Life. Amazing to me that some people complain about the plot. Hahahah! This isn't a story, it's a poem and painting set to film. There's no plot. The astounding visual contrasts are presented with veryI loved this movie, and I loved Tree of Life. Amazing to me that some people complain about the plot. Hahahah! This isn't a story, it's a poem and painting set to film. There's no plot. The astounding visual contrasts are presented with very little judgement, it seems to me. Everybody knows Paris is beautiful, but Oklahoma apparently has its own sort of beauty. I saw Tree of Life four times in two weeks, mainly dragging recalcitrant friends along. It got better each time. I'll see this at least twice in the first week, but not planning on taking anyone else. This is better savored alone. Also, I'm really glad Ben Affleck has so thoroughly redeemed himself as a serious artist, and Olga Kurylenko and Javier Bardem were perfect. I don't think there's a more interesting actor than Javier out there right now... Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
DenisovichApr 13, 2013
To the Wonder is actual art in favour of modern arty pizzazz, it is cinematic poetry in place of those "art" films that are petrified at doing anything different, it is uncompromising in its technique, holding up a middle finger to any manTo the Wonder is actual art in favour of modern arty pizzazz, it is cinematic poetry in place of those "art" films that are petrified at doing anything different, it is uncompromising in its technique, holding up a middle finger to any man who dare say: "No, Malick, stop! Art is bad for us boo! boring! boredom!" The Tree of Life was a vast, monstrous creation that swallowed up the earth and the universe in its vision but it still held tight to certain narrative constraints, and one could almost feel the aching soul of Malick trying to get out, to create a style which was utterly his own, and now he has done it: To the Wonder is less a film than a Renaissance work of art, a modern idealist painting of colours, movement, sensuality and sound: the characters are avatars into which Malick pours his ideas, expressing their hopes and sorrows through speed, walking, running, sunlight, water, air, wind, anything from nature... one has to press pause or constantly replay almost every frame and immerse himself in what it would feel like to be in those places, to hear those sounds... he somehow makes the sound of water so shockingly beautiful, he is a painter let loose in film, who allows his audience to actually feel the beauty of the world, more so than any other living film director. There is no real narrative and there are no characters worth describing we wouldn't criticise a Shakespeare sonnet for lacking in story, or a Da Vinci for telling us very little about the Madonna or the Mona Lisa, in the same way that Malick has gone beyond names or places, the jargon dialogue of famous movie characters that makes them "memorable"; this is what it feels like to be alive, in 1 hour and 52 minutes. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
cnrcnrApr 12, 2013
Beautiful and utterly wonderful, poetry in film. Terrence Malik has yet failed to make a film that is bad, in fact he finds it hard not to make some of the best films ever made.

To the wonder is a sensation. It's textured and layered with
Beautiful and utterly wonderful, poetry in film. Terrence Malik has yet failed to make a film that is bad, in fact he finds it hard not to make some of the best films ever made.

To the wonder is a sensation. It's textured and layered with romantic imagery, the minimal dialogue only adds to the beauty and romance of the film.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
madamsApr 16, 2013
You can approach this movie in several ways, but if you go in with an appreciation of Terrence Malick's latest works, you will enjoy this movie. Cinematography over story.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
ThegodfathersonApr 13, 2013
It's a great raw romance film, keeps you hooked but not that surprising. Javier Bardem's role is nice after all the villain playing films. It's a good Malick film, I mean like its good for everyone and not only for woman but for men too. OlgaIt's a great raw romance film, keeps you hooked but not that surprising. Javier Bardem's role is nice after all the villain playing films. It's a good Malick film, I mean like its good for everyone and not only for woman but for men too. Olga Kurenlenko was super great and it was a wise choice to take her in. If someone says Terence! Bring us crappy movies like Alone in the Dark! It's good for us!" But actually he made a masterpiece. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
nicholasbertJan 30, 2014
There are no words capable of accurately reviewing Terrence Malick's films, just as there were very few words in his last scripts. One thing's clear though: there's no intent to amuse us, entertain us, make us laugh, make us cry, make us doThere are no words capable of accurately reviewing Terrence Malick's films, just as there were very few words in his last scripts. One thing's clear though: there's no intent to amuse us, entertain us, make us laugh, make us cry, make us do anything really; this film is just what it is, and what it is turns out to be pretty personal. So let's not try to make this a pamphlet on the importance of art house, or Ben Affleck's completely (and sure intentionally) blank performance. I will say that no dialogue is better than bad dialogue and no plot is definitely better than bad plot. I'm looking at you, superhero-sagas screenwriters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
teodanteJan 1, 2014
гармонии.
Отрицание оставила
нужный эмоций. Этот пересмотреть. А мне. Как тематики. Любовь грубости. После
гармонии.
Отрицание оставила
нужный эмоций.
Этот пересмотреть.
А мне.
Как тематики.
Любовь грубости.
После
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
audreythomas25Jan 11, 2016
What is most affecting is Malick's intent. He plainly devised the story to give him a series of panels for the expression of feeling.

Watch this here online http://www.watchfree.to/watch-283e2d-To-the-Wonder-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AminkhApr 16, 2016
I have seen lots of Romantic movies before, but To The Wonder movie Depicts love in the best way!
Unstructured, free, full of uncertainty and beauty.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews