Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Feb 23, 2012
    70
    Beyond the shooting and running around, the film works because Beattie never loses the perspective of Ellie Linton (Caitlin Stasey), through whose eyes the story is told.
  2. Reviewed by: Russell Edwards
    Feb 26, 2012
    50
    Parochial paranoia dovetails with adolescent angst in the glossy sci-fi coming-of-ager Tomorrow When the War Began.
  3. Reviewed by: Megan Lehmann
    Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Australia may finally have a homegrown blockbuster on its hands with the terrifically engaging Tomorrow, When the War Began, an action-packed war film for and about teenagers.
  4. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Feb 21, 2012
    12
    It's one thing to defer to archetypes, but Tomorrow is so full of stock types and clichés it makes "The Breakfast Club" look like "Nashville."
  5. Reviewed by: Eve Barlow
    Feb 21, 2012
    60
    Serviceable action thriller than unleashes John Milius-style guerilla setpieces without the impact of John Milius-style budgets.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Nov 17, 2012
    8
    A good movie that combines war with adolescence.
  2. Sep 6, 2012
    3
    Limp movie with silly and cliched characters and plot lines. There was nothing believable about the story or the characters and I was leftLimp movie with silly and cliched characters and plot lines. There was nothing believable about the story or the characters and I was left without empathy for them or their situation. Freely driving and riding around the local roads when there has been an invasion by a highly mechanised army with control of the skies is not what I would consider authentic story telling let alone teenagers outwitting and outfighting trained professional soldiers. This film could have been so much more but seemed to me to be one of a number of different parts hence the disjointedness. Some of the acting was ok but more often than not it left a lot to be desired. For example the dope head character was unnecessary and poorly performed. Overall I would rate this film as an immature film school level attempt. Full Review »
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    5
    I was expecting an action movie along the lines of the classic Red Dawn however I got a movie that spent too long on a camping trip, have anI was expecting an action movie along the lines of the classic Red Dawn however I got a movie that spent too long on a camping trip, have an invasion force that couldn't shoot straight and heroes that injured themselves running into gardening equipment!! Great concept, poorly outlayed. Full Review »