Columbia Pictures | Release Date: December 17, 1982
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 64 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
57
Mixed:
6
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
SpangleMay 22, 2014
I had low expectations for this one and, honestly, expected the cross dressing of Hoffman to be a little...odd. However, as a whole, the film is very funny, endearing, and quite charming, as we watch Hoffman transform into a woman in order toI had low expectations for this one and, honestly, expected the cross dressing of Hoffman to be a little...odd. However, as a whole, the film is very funny, endearing, and quite charming, as we watch Hoffman transform into a woman in order to try to rescue his acting career. Easily the funniest part of the film is watching serious scenes with serious implications unfold with the knowledge that Hoffman is actually a man and being the only ones aside from his roommate (Bill Murray) who knows this. In addition, him working on his interpersonal relationships from both sides really leads to some interesting conversations that also help to add to the comedy of the film. In terms of acting, really everyone did well and aside from Hoffman who obviously stood out, Bill Murray was great. He was his usual self from the 80's, which really made every scene he was in quite funny. Overall, Tootsie is a fun film to watch (there are some awkward moments that make you cringe, but those aside) and is a solid way to spend an afternoon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysApr 23, 2014
Like many other cross-dressing roles, Dustin Hoffman's "Tootsie" steals the show. Pollack's movie delivers solid laughs as well as being a great story. It might not have beaten Gandhi in the 1982 Oscars, but I would say it's at least a goodLike many other cross-dressing roles, Dustin Hoffman's "Tootsie" steals the show. Pollack's movie delivers solid laughs as well as being a great story. It might not have beaten Gandhi in the 1982 Oscars, but I would say it's at least a good runner up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Sep 28, 2015
Charming and with a lot to say, Sydney Pollack's "Tootsie" marks a high point in the careers of Dustin Hoffman, Jessica Lange, and everyone else involved.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
Of Dustin Hoffman's many brilliant performances, this will always be my favorite. He allows us to genuinely care for this person--regardless of what he has done. His wit and comedy are to die for. Oh, and don't forget the early genius ofOf Dustin Hoffman's many brilliant performances, this will always be my favorite. He allows us to genuinely care for this person--regardless of what he has done. His wit and comedy are to die for. Oh, and don't forget the early genius of Jessica Lange. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawFeb 3, 2015
The synopsis of Sydney Pollack’s drag comedy TOOTSIE can be construed as follows: a struggling thespian/acting coach Michael Dorsey (Huffman) cross-dresses as a woman Dorothy Michaels to secure a role in a popular daytime soapie, and scoopsThe synopsis of Sydney Pollack’s drag comedy TOOTSIE can be construed as follows: a struggling thespian/acting coach Michael Dorsey (Huffman) cross-dresses as a woman Dorothy Michaels to secure a role in a popular daytime soapie, and scoops up massive acclamation as a single, middle-aged role model who disseminate fresh air of women being independent and self-confident, which profoundly inspires her fellow actress Julie (Lange), whom Michael has a huge crush on.

If one has yet watched the film, the synopsis might get on someone’s nerves, how on earth a man at the end of his tether can so easily thrive in the same line of business as soon as he acts in the opposite sex? What is more, he even becomes some sort of the guiding light to the dismissive gender while sporting a hard-on under his dress, it could only be a straight guy’s pipe-dream with a penchant for sexism and male chauvinism, the movie could have been a total train wreck under a lesser brain.

keep reading my review on my blog, google: cinema omnivore, thanks
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
chwJun 14, 2015
Tootsie is one of Dustin Hoffman's best movies. The movie also has one of the best stories for a movie I know of. Sydney Pollack's best film, and I kind of think it should have won best picture, instead of just being nominated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
avatar16Apr 7, 2012
Avant de le voir, je m'attendais plus à un film 100% tournée vers la comédie qu'autre chose. Dès les premières minutes, j'ai été surpris. Et pour cause,Avant de le voir, je m'attendais plus à un film 100% tournée vers la comédie qu'autre chose. Dès les premières minutes, j'ai été surpris. Et pour cause, Tootsie est l'un de ces longs-métrages qui se permet de dévoiler au grand public l'envers du décors et l'enfer que doivent vivre les jeunes comédiens/comédiennes pour ne serait-ce qu'avoir un rôle comme job. Une description qui pourrait facilement décourager la plupart des gens concernés. Heureusement, le tout est mené dans la bonne humeur, où il est jouissif de voir le "grand" Dustin Hoffman se travestir avec une aisance bluffante qui prouve qu'il est vraiment "grand"! Bien entendu, il n'est pas seul (Jessica Lange, Bill Murray...). Après, on peut critiquer des gags parfois prévisibles voire gros comme une maison, mais cela n'enlève rien à la joie qu'apporte ce film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
oscarrDec 20, 2011
With a terrific performance by Hoffman and the movie's great comedic style, plus a heartwarming storyline, Tootsie hits a home run. In my opinion, also better than Ghandi.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MKMJun 4, 2008
One of the all-time best comedy/ love stories. It's in my desert island bag.
1 of 1 users found this helpful