Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: November 22, 1995
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 794 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
749
Mixed:
28
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
grandpajoe6191Sep 15, 2011
Pertaining everything from story depth to animation, Pixar has created a movie that is considered a true cinematic masterpiece; the movie of my life. Cheers Pixar!!!
18 of 23 users found this helpful185
All this user's reviews
10
BuzzLightyearApr 9, 2005
This movie is fantastic. Handling serious issues (like the fear to be thrown away when you're old and ugly) in a sincere and hilarious way. You'll find your self watching it over and over with your kids.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ESS180Nov 23, 2010
This is my favourite movie of all time, I love the characters I love the story I mean this movie is just brilliant!!!

The animation is remarkable!

Brilliant just brilliant!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
heyitsmegrif4Jan 16, 2012
Original and just lovely. Toy Story is a fantastic film that will entertain many from any age alike. And it is just a great start to Pixar's full length films. I give this movie 98%.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JoseyTApr 5, 2005
The greatest movie ever!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
A.N.O'NymousOct 22, 2002
I can't believe no-one's voted for this! It's one of the greatest films on Earth! And so is the sequel! Come on, people!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JoeB.Mar 10, 2005
This movie owns! If you have never watched Toy Story, I think you have lived in a cave for 10 years!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TheAnti360FoxMay 1, 2011
Unless you've been living under a rock for over 20 years, you know about this movie. I mean, who doesn't? Toy Story was the first feature-length film made completely with computer animation. It also has a voice cast with stars we all haveUnless you've been living under a rock for over 20 years, you know about this movie. I mean, who doesn't? Toy Story was the first feature-length film made completely with computer animation. It also has a voice cast with stars we all have heard of, like Tom Hanks and Tim Allen. the movie even won John Lasseter the Academy Award for Special Achievement. So, if you haven't seen this movie, you are not a person. Its story stands out, its visuals are history-making and the whole movie is a breakthrough in technology. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonDec 24, 2013
The animation may now be slightly dated compared to more modern efforts but Toy Story is one of very few movies than can claim to have truly changed cinema and arguably still remains Disney Pixar's finest hour. Intelligent and funny you'dThe animation may now be slightly dated compared to more modern efforts but Toy Story is one of very few movies than can claim to have truly changed cinema and arguably still remains Disney Pixar's finest hour. Intelligent and funny you'd have to have a heart of stone not to enjoy this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
QuoteNov 10, 2011
A CGi animation masterpiece, not to mention the first, if i'm not mistaken. It was always a great movie back in the early years of my childhood. I can't explain how great it is. Most people think "CGi animation + Toys = Kids movie" but that'sA CGi animation masterpiece, not to mention the first, if i'm not mistaken. It was always a great movie back in the early years of my childhood. I can't explain how great it is. Most people think "CGi animation + Toys = Kids movie" but that's just following the animation is for kids stereotype. It has appropriate adult laughs, and lots of good humor kids will love. This is the start of a good era, of Pixar films. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Innocent, beautiful, and revolutionary, "Toy Story" is the personified existence of the virtuous animated family film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ninja_dolphinFeb 9, 2013
Such a nostalgic movie, one of the best animated films of all time only surpassed by it's predecessor. The characters are great, the animation holds up to this day and the film is enjoyable for all ages.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AReviewsJun 22, 2013
"Toy Story" is great, cheer up film for the whole family. While Toy Story is very creative and entertaining, it is one of the best animated movies ever made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticOct 31, 2013
I grew up with this movie as it aired on TV. It always has it's heart, it's comical aspects, and a delightful set of voices, especially that of a two-time Oscar winner like Tom Hanks. The scene of Sid was written brilliantly, and still makesI grew up with this movie as it aired on TV. It always has it's heart, it's comical aspects, and a delightful set of voices, especially that of a two-time Oscar winner like Tom Hanks. The scene of Sid was written brilliantly, and still makes me laugh today. Heartfelt, warm, and surprisingly has a small portion of what most animation have: hammy dialogue. The innovation of CGI does not deter the story's elements. I'll always love this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
wheels_of_fireFeb 12, 2014
It is a classic. It's the first and best of all. It has unique story, amazing visual quality in it's time and unforgettable characters. And also it's childhood of a generation. Thank you for this masterpiece Pixar!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
charpiechengtzDec 7, 2014
Definitely one of the most personal movies for me,but what makes it so personal for me is its simple yet amazingly original storyline,its great animation at that time(yes 1995 when I was born and till today the animation is still good noDefinitely one of the most personal movies for me,but what makes it so personal for me is its simple yet amazingly original storyline,its great animation at that time(yes 1995 when I was born and till today the animation is still good no matter what),its relatable characters and also the imagination and the world that this movie has created when I was little.And no matter how many times you watch it,you'll still love this movie,it feels so nostalgic.Also it deserves a great rating,because it has been one of the main reasons why I want to take up animation courses at the first place and i mean if you ask anyone who were either pursuing a career or taking a course related to animation in the recent times ,they will say its this film that makes them do so.It is a gem that should never be forgotten and it deserves the praises that it has till today Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BeastprogamerMar 30, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a great movie. The story is amazing. The characters are awesome especially Woody, Buzz, and The Aliens. I like the part where the toys scare the crap out of Sid. Toy Story is one of my favourite movies of all time and one of my favourite Disney movie/film and you should watch it soon. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
moviesubJun 1, 2015
In my opinion, the Toy Story franchise has the best animation, effect and plot and this movie does not look like a 90s movie at all. Compared to these days animated movies like Wreck-It-Ralph, Frozen, etc, Toy Story has better animation andIn my opinion, the Toy Story franchise has the best animation, effect and plot and this movie does not look like a 90s movie at all. Compared to these days animated movies like Wreck-It-Ralph, Frozen, etc, Toy Story has better animation and plot. I really enjoyed the movie franchise and this movie makes you feel to watch it 10 times a day. So, that makes me love the movie franchise sooo much. I give this movie a 10/10! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
YellowKirbySep 9, 2015
Toy Story is a fantastic movie with witty jokes, good characters, a great story... my favourite movie of all time! It's basically the definition of a perfect movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
EpicLadySpongeDec 28, 2015
If you want a decent time consuming movie, this one's it. History was made during the release of the movie and it'll forever be part of history and one of the best animated movies of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
homestar4000Mar 17, 2011
The movie that made Pixar really significant, and one of the most nostalgic movies I have known of. I love the characters, the design, the story, and the animation. It's because Pixar is one of the animation studios that can do this extremely well.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
Neo010390Mar 13, 2011
When you were a kid and you used to play with toys, did you ever wish they could come to life? Directed by John Lasseter, Walt Disney Pictures and Pixar Animation Studios have teamed up together and produced a brilliant family feature whereWhen you were a kid and you used to play with toys, did you ever wish they could come to life? Directed by John Lasseter, Walt Disney Pictures and Pixar Animation Studios have teamed up together and produced a brilliant family feature where toys come to life. The story is about a young boy named Andy, who loves playing with his toys. His favourite toy is Woody (Tom Hanks) a pull-string cowboy doll that makes different speeches like "There's a snake in my boots", every time his string is pulled at the back. Whenever Andy is not around, the toys come to life and Woody is the leader of the whole toy pack (much to the jealousy of Mr Potato Head). On Andy's birthday he receives a new present from his mum, a space ranger toy called Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen) that has so many cool features like a laser, karate chop, wings and multi voice simulator (including his main one "To infinity and beyond"). When Buzz introduces himself to Woody and the other toys, he thinks he is a real space ranger, with real lasers and can fly. The other toys believe him but Woody tries to convince Buzz and the rest that he is simply a toy like everyone else. The days pass by and soon everyone starts taking more notice in Buzz, including Andy and Woody seems to be forgotten. Growing tired of it all, Woody attempts to knock Buzz down a corner of draws using RC, but accidentally knocks him out the window. The other toys think he did it on purpose and start attacking him until Andy comes, where he takes Woody in the car to the petrol station. As soon they stop and head out the car to fill up, Buzz (who sneaked into the car) pushes Woody out the car and the two begin fighting. Andy and his Mum get back into the Car (without realising that Woody is not there) and drive off. From this point on Woody and Buzz are lost toys and must stick together if they are to get back home. Overall this whole movie is about a toy being a Childs favourite, until he is replaced and that replacement becomes his main enemy. In the end they learn a valuable lesson, it is not about being the favourite or played the most, but that they are there for the Child when he needs them. People out there will watch and enjoy this mainly because of the CGI effects, and I admit they are really impressive, considering it was the first feature length movie. But when I see this movie, I go far deeper into the toys themselves, as if you are going through the same deal of emotions. The voice actors are perfect, Tom Hanks and Tim Allen make the perfect Woody and Buzz as do the other cast who voice there own characters respectively. I absolutely adore the soundtrack of this movie. Written and composed by the talented Randy Newman, he has put together some really amazing songs including my personal favourite "You got a friend in me". Toy Story is a fantastic computer-animated picture that will bring the heart and joy to all families out there, no matter what age you are. You may watch this again years later as an adult, but you will still appreciate the memories of your childhood. I do anyway and I enjoy it just as much now as I did then. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
JawsPapi87Aug 11, 2011
Incredible groundbreaking-animation, fun action thrills, very funny voices and characters as real as any live-action film are what make this (first) Pixar effort a true masterpiece
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
Harry210Mar 22, 2011
1995 saw the release of the first computer generated animated feature length film and this movie introduced a whole new way of telling a story. Toy Story marks the first hit movie made by Pixar Animation Studios, who in the early days, prior1995 saw the release of the first computer generated animated feature length film and this movie introduced a whole new way of telling a story. Toy Story marks the first hit movie made by Pixar Animation Studios, who in the early days, prior to the production of this movie, made 4 very fascinating computer generated short films. Toy Story is Pixar"s big leap to the big screen and boy does this movie not disappoint. This movie has an interesting plot and shows what toys would be like when the humans leave them on their own. The movie definitely gets going towards the middle of the movie. This movie has a superb cast of characters and all are perfectly voiced. The presentation, it"s outstanding even by today"s standards. Andy"s toys are running scared because of Andy"s birthday (he pushes his birthday party forward by one week because he"s moving house) is coming up as they are worried that some of them may be replaced by better toys or be outclassed. Woody, a cowboy doll (voiced brilliantly by Tom Hanks) is the leader of the group of Andy"s toys. He"s the dominant toy and Andy"s favourite toy. However, his position is threatened with the arrival of Buzz Lightyear (voiced by Tim Allen): A space ranger toy which strangely thinks that he is a real space ranger. His catchphrase "To infinity and beyond" is so memorable and even gets a neat little mention in Pixar"s next film, A Bugs Life. Buzz thinking that he"s a real space ranger makes me laugh: I mean, he tries to fix his "ship" which he "crash landed" onto Andy, proves that he can fly by using his plastic wings to fly around Andy"s room which Andy"s toys become mesmerised by the display. Hell, he even wants to teach a nasty kid, named Sid who lives next door to Andy"s, a lesson by melting him with his "scary laser". He basically refuses to accept he is a toy until he tries to fly out of a window later on in the movie. Andy"s toys seem delusional and excited over the arrival of Buzz as they find all of the neat stuff that he can do. Woody's jealously gets the better of him as he doesn't want to become second favourite to Andy so he devises a cunning plan to get rid of Buzz. After he accidently knocks him out of the window of Andy's room, Andy's toys are angry at Woody and before they can punish him, Andy and his mother take Woody to Pizza Planet. Buzz and Woody have a brawl at a petrol station and then find themselves at Pizza Planet. They then find themselves in the clutches of the toy bully, Sid which picked them both up at a grabbing toy alien game (or something like that). Now unlike the other 2 Toy Story movies that have an antagonist which is an evil toy, this movie doesn't have that but Sid sorta fits into the evil antagonist category. As Rex would say, Sid "tortures toys, just for fun!" Sid has toys which look horrifying (sort of) and most of them are toys which have been merged with other toys like the toy with the muscular body with a ducks head or the toy that has a toy babies head implanted onto a spider meccano body. As the two try to find a way out of Sid's horrible room, Buzz finally finds out that he is a toy and together with Woody, they make it out of Sid's house (even going far as breaking a few rules). Woody grows to accept Buzz into Andy's toy colony over the course of the movie and like a real cowboy, he becomes the hero of the movie. There are a few sad moments in this movie where Woody is trapped under a milk crate and admits that he doesn't hold a candle to a toy like Buzz and tells Buzz to leave him behind because he thinks Andy would rather play with a toy (which thankfully doesn't happen). When Andy is sad over losing Woody and Buzz, children can definitely relate to that and shows how much he misses his 2 favourite toys. This sets the scene for an exhilarating climax which sees Woody and Buzz trying to catch up with the now departing moving van and their owner Andy which sees Andy's RC car go as fast as the Earth's rotation. The two toys finally make it back and everything is back to normal. The original music composed by Randy Newman is really good and one piece of music that he wrote and sung titled "You've got a friend in me" suits the movie well and is also used in Toy Story's 2 sequels. Pixar have made a film about plastic toys and made the concept an entertaining movie to watch. In this movie, the toys are being portrayed as adults and their job is to look after Andy and be there for him. Toy Story isn't too serious and scary to be watched by kids even though it is rated PG by the BBFC; there is some humour in the movie like the fact that Buzz believes that he is a space ranger, Buzz acting all crazy in the "I am Mrs Nesbitt!" scene and the fact that Mr Potato head keeps losing his body parts. It maybe a computer generated animated movie but it's definitely aimed at people of all ages. I will always love Toy Story and animated films in general regardless of my age. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Apr 7, 2011
Spectacular masterpiece that made Pixar famous, revolutionized movies the same way Star Wars did, and introduced people to one of the best trilogies ever!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
MonsieurEamesJan 23, 2013
An absolute masterpiece that defines my childhood. There is nothing wrong with Toy Story. This movie, undoubtedly, has changed the way animation is forever.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
DaveHDec 5, 2009
There's nothing special about this movie, it has only received acclaim because it was the first computer animated film, I'd compare its plot to Ant Bully or Open Season, they are about the same level.
3 of 5 users found this helpful
10
MichaelDJan 4, 2011
A great movie for everybody. Not my favourite movie but it deserves a ten.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
CritiqueGirlMar 4, 2011
Excellent family movie. Original story and great animation.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
potatoes351Feb 17, 2013
Toy Story was the first Pixar film to grace the big screen and easily one of the best animated films of all time. Toy Story brings the concept of 'What do toys do when we aren't around?' to life. The film follows a small group of toysToy Story was the first Pixar film to grace the big screen and easily one of the best animated films of all time. Toy Story brings the concept of 'What do toys do when we aren't around?' to life. The film follows a small group of toys belonging to a young boy named Andy in suburban America in what is probably the late 90's or early 00's. His favourite toy, Woody the Sheriff is the leader of the toys including ones such as Slinky the Dog, Rex the Dinosaur, Little Bo Peep, Ham the piggybank and Mr Potato Head. But when Andy receives a new toy for his birthday, Buzz Lightyear, Woody feels threatened that his position as Andy's favourite toy and as the leader of the toys may be in jeopardy. As such he decides to get rid of Buzz, however in doing so he realises that what he has done is wrong and must do whatever he can to get Buzz back safe and sound before Andy moves house.
Each character is unique and has something to give to the overall film, each one is funny and well designed both emotionally and aesthetically. The animation and sound design is also top notch. There is very little that can be seen as bad in Toy Story however it does seem to move at a rather slow pace for the entirety of the film, but this is nothing bad considering that this is the start of a very promising series of films.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews