Training Day

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 338 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 338

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 26, 2016
    8
    Fantastic! Great to see this Rogue Character for Denzel...He played it so well. Great team work, They work so well together, so believable.

    Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-926-Training-Day-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
  2. Apr 18, 2016
    7
    There's no doubt that you can't enjoy Training Day without having someone to enjoy it with you because they're just making you want to enjoy it so you can like the movie. Training Day is another film I would love to make everyone see.
  3. Jan 30, 2016
    9
    Training Day is a well done film that brings out the best of both Denzel Washington and Ethan Hawke. In addition to a very interesting story of justice and corruption. In the end, Training day deserves the praise it gets as it blends thriller/drama to a near perfection.
  4. Jun 21, 2015
    10
    I finally saw “Training Day”. Upon looking it up, I realized that this movie is coming up on 15 years old, but I swear it looks like something that just came out. This tale is amazing. I don’t mean to say that it was full of surprises, because if you pay close enough attention and you have a good sense of how film works, you should be able to guess how the story is going to play out,I finally saw “Training Day”. Upon looking it up, I realized that this movie is coming up on 15 years old, but I swear it looks like something that just came out. This tale is amazing. I don’t mean to say that it was full of surprises, because if you pay close enough attention and you have a good sense of how film works, you should be able to guess how the story is going to play out, but it still felt so fulfilling getting to experience it as it unfolds. Yes, it is gritty, and yes, it feels way too much like a template for the modern police brutality that is all over the news today. Also of note, this is the most stereotypical take on race in America that I have seen since the ‘80s, but if there is any way that you can look past that, it is just so good. If you don’t mind the violence, then it should be a no brainer to watch “Training Day”, if you haven’t already. Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2014
    9
    Training Day is a classic. Denzel Washington is electric in his role as Alonzo Harris, which is one of his best roles ever. He displays such amazing intensity as this character. I was fixed on the screen as soon as I heard Denzel's first line. Washington some of the most memorable quotes in this movie. Perhaps the best police film that was ever released. I could watch this film over andTraining Day is a classic. Denzel Washington is electric in his role as Alonzo Harris, which is one of his best roles ever. He displays such amazing intensity as this character. I was fixed on the screen as soon as I heard Denzel's first line. Washington some of the most memorable quotes in this movie. Perhaps the best police film that was ever released. I could watch this film over and over again and find something new in it each time. Alonzo Harris is so unpredictable and is probably my favorite anti-hero in all of film. Training Day will leave you guessing until the very end, where it concludes just as suddenly as it begins. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2014
    10
    Denzel Washington had one of the performances if you ask me. A lot of people may not agree with that but he won the Academy Award for it. Ethan Hawke was also a great actor in this film. Great plot as well with a lot of twists. This is a must see.
  7. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    Great film! Without a doubt an instant classic that could stand amongst the likes of End of Watch and The Departed as one of the all time great cop thrillers! Also boast one of Denzel Washington's best performances!
  8. May 23, 2014
    7
    Denzel Washington is just so smart and charismatic as the cocky macho cop Alonzo Harris, he usually plays good guys but in this material he just is so good as a villain. Ethan Hawke is quietly impressive as the rookie Cop Jake Hoyt. This is Antoine Fuqua's best movie
  9. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    Training Day Triumphs.
    Between the crafty, gritty performances of actors Denzel Washington and Ethan Hawke; Training Day is victorious with a blazing plot.
  10. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    One of the best crime thrillers I've ever seen, Training day would have gotten a 9 from me had it not become somewhat sloppy in the last couple of minutes with a generic cat and mouse chase scene. Unlike most of his roles Denzel Washington's Alonzo Harris is an absolute monster. Cruel, violent, deceitful, and downright nasty, he makes other loose cannon cops like John McClane seem likeOne of the best crime thrillers I've ever seen, Training day would have gotten a 9 from me had it not become somewhat sloppy in the last couple of minutes with a generic cat and mouse chase scene. Unlike most of his roles Denzel Washington's Alonzo Harris is an absolute monster. Cruel, violent, deceitful, and downright nasty, he makes other loose cannon cops like John McClane seem like SpongeBob in the episode where he becomes a hall-monitor. Denzel rightfully earned an Oscar in this role. Dafoe also does a great job, which earned him an Oscar nomination as well. This movie is a gritty, exhilarating, and extremely well crafted thrill ride. There are plot twists and turns you won't expect, as well as lots of memorable dialogue and action. Corruption and morally ambiguous situations literally stuff the film, which makes it as thought provoking as it is visceral. Near the ending there is a generic and basically pointless chase scene which took up enough time to force me into giving it an 8 instead of a nine, but don't let this quibble discourage you from seeing it. Thanks to Training Day, the next time I walk into the DVD store, I know which movie I'm looking for first. Expand
  11. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    This movie defines the essence of the thriller genre. The moment Denzel Washington speaks his first few lines to Ethan Hawke immediately grip my entire attention. They govern Training Day and it's definitely a treat to have them as the lead roles. This movie is definitely one of the most enticing, on-edge films of all time. This is a movie that should not be dismissed.
  12. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    This is the kind of movie I hope to watch on a Saturday. This is a must watch for movie lovers! Denzel really digs into the character, showing his rookie partner how to do the job but as a corrupt cop.
  13. Sep 1, 2013
    9
    Before movies like "The Departed" and "The Town" comes a riveting and intense cop thriller. This movie blew me away with it's great story and tremendous acting form Ethan Hawke and especially Denzel Washington. Overall, it's a cop thriller that's got the goods. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies.
  14. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    Dang. Brilliantly acted, though the first 30 minutes are slow, but as you get into the film, you see why they were necessary. Not entirely what I expected, but all the same, great entertainment.
  15. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Training Day is absolutely one of the best gangster movies ever made, from acting to story it's perfect. Denzel and Ethan are both great in this cat and mice chase filled with thrills. The film is totally fresh with absorbing lore in all of its dynamics and suspense. The film targets many perspectives of New York deep down dirty gangs and director Antoine Fuqua has made his subject veryTraining Day is absolutely one of the best gangster movies ever made, from acting to story it's perfect. Denzel and Ethan are both great in this cat and mice chase filled with thrills. The film is totally fresh with absorbing lore in all of its dynamics and suspense. The film targets many perspectives of New York deep down dirty gangs and director Antoine Fuqua has made his subject very detailed. The Best Gangster Film since The Godfather. Expand
  16. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Denzel Washington is amazing with his corrupt cop role. Whole movie he's trying to make Ethan Hawke (and YOU) believe in his truth. In the beginning he's successful and you think that he's not that bad, but in the end you see his true face. Well deserved 10/10 I think. Expand
  17. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    "Training Day" is the story of Jake Hoyt (Ethan Hawke), an LAPD rookie who is looking to join a top-notch narcotics squad led by Alonzo Harris (Denzel Washington). Harris gives Hoyt one simple task; accompany him on a one-day ride-along where he must prove himself worthy of enlistment. Now from this point on the movie maintains a steady level of immense entertainment. The most noteworthy"Training Day" is the story of Jake Hoyt (Ethan Hawke), an LAPD rookie who is looking to join a top-notch narcotics squad led by Alonzo Harris (Denzel Washington). Harris gives Hoyt one simple task; accompany him on a one-day ride-along where he must prove himself worthy of enlistment. Now from this point on the movie maintains a steady level of immense entertainment. The most noteworthy aspect of this movie is Denzel Washington's Academy-Award Winning portrayal of Alonzo Harris; the rugged cop that has seemingly blurred the line between what is right and what isn't. His performance is as charismatic and imposing, as it is chilling and antagonizing. Every line that Washington delivered was either intensely funny or incredibly demented (but still funny). Which brings me to the script; "The Fast And The Furious" writer, David Ayer, delivers deeply provocative dialogue, as well as a compelling narrative that delves into some very insightful themes. The main theme of the movie, however, seems to be a blend of the "Crime doesn't pay" Expand
  18. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    Absolutely loved it. Denzel is a badass. What more do you want? Well, drama, lots of it too. In addition to great acting and drama, all this **** revolves in one day and will have your mind spinning and confused. Fresh, certified by me!
  19. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    Stretches the bounds of credibility but it's still gun-blazing entertaining and in spite of its excesses it still has the ring of truth to it... that there is a lot of BS to being a cop in LA but justice somehow wins its small victories. Reality aint pretty, justice aint pretty but if you want pretty, you just gotta stay away from ugly.
  20. Aug 19, 2012
    7
    This is not my kind of movie, but this movie is really good and it worth watching, is not just a cliché, really amazing, with good acting and a good script.
  21. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A tale of danger and crime, Training Day is good at demonstrating cops fighting gangs in Los Angeles. Not only does it teach us the dangers and crime of Los Angeles, it takes arresting criminals seriously. I was disappointed Denzel Washington turned out to be a antagonist despite his impressive performance, but he was even more impressive at his script and dialogue. Expand
  22. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    Brilliant acting by Denzel Washington and Ethan Hawke in an extremely well written movie. Critics who gave this movie any mark under 90 are certainly living inside a bubble.
  23. Aug 2, 2011
    8
    Grit and power in its finest form in a police tale is exemplified in Antoine Fuqua's Training Day. Never has the line between right and wrong on the streets of LA been more poetic and indulging. Denzel Washington is captivating in his role as Alonzo the mesmerising hard faced detective willing to go to unsettling methods to reign in the narcotics line bulging through the drug dominatedGrit and power in its finest form in a police tale is exemplified in Antoine Fuqua's Training Day. Never has the line between right and wrong on the streets of LA been more poetic and indulging. Denzel Washington is captivating in his role as Alonzo the mesmerising hard faced detective willing to go to unsettling methods to reign in the narcotics line bulging through the drug dominated neighborhoods our protagonists drive through. Ethan Hawke is also perfectly cast and a first day on the job trails for Washington's unit. His upstanding ethos twinned with his Innocent damaged gaze gives the two leads their Shakespearean explosiveness and appeal. Fuqua's real triumph however dwells in his shooting of an authentic LA. The city being the muse and center of the film. The real people , the culture and the threat of their lives are entangled in our characters story. A massive step forward in film making. You have never seen anything like this before. Enthralling entertainment. Expand
  24. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    One of my top 5 favorite movies of all time. Awesome story, perfect acting. Denzel Washington is my favorite actor and Hawke did great too. Lots of quotable lines in this movie.
  25. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    This movie was absolutely amazing. It was a drama with hints of comedy and an array of action.
  26. Aug 23, 2010
    7
    Rookie cop has first day on job with "maverick", teaches rookie to be streetwise, dodgy methods, rookie gets suspicious.
    Not as good as I'd heard but still a watchable buddy cop film gone wrong.
    Denzel Washington is brilliant (is this guy ever rubbish??) & Ethan Hawke comes out ok too. Lot of good cameos including Tom Berenger, Snoop Dogg, Dr Dre & Macy Gray. It did have a familiar feel to
    Rookie cop has first day on job with "maverick", teaches rookie to be streetwise, dodgy methods, rookie gets suspicious.
    Not as good as I'd heard but still a watchable buddy cop film gone wrong.
    Denzel Washington is brilliant (is this guy ever rubbish??) & Ethan Hawke comes out ok too. Lot of good cameos including Tom Berenger, Snoop Dogg, Dr Dre & Macy Gray.
    It did have a familiar feel to it whilst watching it even though I'd never seen it before & I assume because it wasn't all that original.
    Expand
  27. Brandon
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    Amazing dark cop drama. One of the best "corrupt cop" movies there is. For everyone claiming it is too over the top and unrelalistic.... please look up the LAPD Rampart scandal, which is what inspired the film.
  28. BusterB
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best movies ever. Seriously, Denzel and Ethan Hawke were amazing and the whole concept of the movie was great. The supporting cast took me by surprise when Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg made appearances and they were actually reasonably good. The action, the one-liners, the immortalized ending, the shady characters, the fact that this was filmed in the real gang areas in LA, This is one of the best movies ever. Seriously, Denzel and Ethan Hawke were amazing and the whole concept of the movie was great. The supporting cast took me by surprise when Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg made appearances and they were actually reasonably good. The action, the one-liners, the immortalized ending, the shady characters, the fact that this was filmed in the real gang areas in LA, and the look into the face of evil (Denzel) really made this movie shine. Amazing, and I recommend this to anyone who doesn't mind a whole lot of cussing. Expand
  29. [Anonymous]
    Jul 9, 2005
    8
    Denzel's suprisingly great as the baddie. Shows, with detail, the darker side of LA, the side eclipsed by Hollywood and Beverly Hills. I once idealized LA as a great, shiny city of dreams, a place where anything can happen and the possibilities are endless. Don't get me wrong, I still like LA today, but now i know that not everyone's basking in the eye candy and excess Denzel's suprisingly great as the baddie. Shows, with detail, the darker side of LA, the side eclipsed by Hollywood and Beverly Hills. I once idealized LA as a great, shiny city of dreams, a place where anything can happen and the possibilities are endless. Don't get me wrong, I still like LA today, but now i know that not everyone's basking in the eye candy and excess wealth that all of us fantasize about over there. Expand
  30. P.M.
    Feb 24, 2005
    10
    It is one of the best movies i have ever seen and i have seen them all.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    75
    With its unflinching style, Training Day can be hard to sit through at times. But it's worth the discomfort for the adrenaline rush of the plot and Washington's compelling performance.
  2. This is a movie that rocks and socks you, and has a performance by Washington that's ruthless and scary. But in the end, it leaves you unmarked.
  3. Reviewed by: Jay Carr
    75
    Even when it falls back excessively on coincidence and contrived set pieces, even when it gushes irretrievably over the top in its final act, Washington makes Training Day sizzle.