Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 37
  2. Negative: 8 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jun 28, 2011
    38
    The overwhelming sci-fi action spectacle is a merciless sensorial assault that leaves you with something akin to post-traumatic stress disorder.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jun 28, 2011
    38
    LaBeouf, who appeared to hit a low in "Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull," has sunk to greater levels of incompetence here.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jun 28, 2011
    38
    A work of ineffable soullessness and persistent moral idiocy.
  4. Reviewed by: Anthony Lane
    Jul 4, 2011
    30
    The first ten or fifteen minutes of Michael Bay's movie tremble, unaccountably, on the verge of being fun. [11 & 18 July 2011, p.101]
  5. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 28, 2011
    25
    A visually ugly film with an incoherent plot, wooden characters and inane dialog. It provided me with one of the more unpleasant experiences I've had at the movies.
  6. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jun 28, 2011
    20
    Anyone hoping to engage even a single brain cell, however, is out of luck. Which is too bad, since popcorn blockbusters don't actually have to be mind-numbingly stupid or soul-suckingly empty.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jun 29, 2011
    0
    Director Michael Bay, Hollywood's answer to the Antichrist, isn't primarily interested in your soul, though his movie does a pretty effective job of sucking that away (and sucking, in general).
  8. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 29, 2011
    0
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon - high on any list of the worst blockbusters ever - is a movie bereft of wit, wonder, imagination, and any genuine reason for being. Watching it makes you die a little inside.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 834 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 299
  1. Sep 18, 2011
    5
    The movie's CGI is very impressive, i'll tell you that. But the movie lacks strong narration to their overly cliched plot and its overwhelming explosions and flashes will hurt your eyes. However, the movie's main criticism is the British girl from Victoria's Secret; in all that 157minutes, she does nothing but screaming and staring at the Decepticons like a brainless moron. The next thing I would need is a another popcorn and Megan Fox. Full Review »
  2. Jun 29, 2011
    8
    Transformers 3, action action ACTION, forget about the plot, Transformers 3 is the best action movie! Tons of special effects and sci-fi action that you feel guilty if you blink your eyes once!

    3D will be your main choice seriously, though I still think it's a bit expensive, Transformers 3 really show what 3D effects are capable of!

    I found some parts are not that logic, otherwise Transformers would have win OSCAR!
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    You better start looking for the red carpet leading to the Oscars because Transformers is sure going to be at it's TECHNICAL end. Michael Bay, with all his grace, delivers one of his finest peaces of contemporary cinema up to date. You wouldn't believe it without seeing it. Close to the end of the film, my friend sitting next to me turned at me and whispered: "This is beyond Blockbuster madness". And it made sens. What Bay and his team have achieved is beyond conventional summer movie making. The crafting here is so perfect and detailed that it pushes and redefines the boundaries of film making. From the chilling sound design, to the godlike visual effects, and perfect attention to detail from Bay's part when choosing his shots.
    It's an honest work that re establishes what fun is all about when the lights dim down and the screen springs to life.
    Just... Have fun and don't pay attention to all those lifeless critics who's conceptual fun is merely based on egocentric shallow intellectual show off and pragmatic dismissing of Bay's work. Criticising his editing and shot compositions which are, to a large extent, unique, but welcome.
    Full Review »