Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 901 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Transformers: Dark of the Moon features Sam Witwicky taking his first tenuous steps into adulthood while remaining a reluctant human ally of Optimus Prime. The film centers around the space race between the U.S.S.R. and the USA, suggesting there was a hidden Transformers role in it all thatTransformers: Dark of the Moon features Sam Witwicky taking his first tenuous steps into adulthood while remaining a reluctant human ally of Optimus Prime. The film centers around the space race between the U.S.S.R. and the USA, suggesting there was a hidden Transformers role in it all that remains one of the planet's most dangerous secrets. [DreamWorks Pictures] Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 37
  2. Negative: 8 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 28, 2011
    80
    As a performance-art act of juvenile Id-fulfillment, it's magnificent.
  2. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Jun 28, 2011
    63
    While I still protest Bay's too-hasty cutting (many shots are good enough to warrant a few extra seconds), his set pieces, and his sets, are magnificently entertaining.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    Oh, what a hollow experience Dark of the Moon is! Bay is so afraid of boring his audience, he pitches every scene at the same high volume right from the first shot, and the effect is exhausting.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    One small step for action movies, one giant leap into the abyss of mindlessness.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 30, 2011
    50
    The scorekeepers at the various sites that rate critics' enthusiasm for a film shouldn't even try to elicit a Pass or Fail grade from me on T3. I'm a fascinated, stupefied outsider. Just mark me Present.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Jun 28, 2011
    40
    An improvement on Transformers 2, but then what isn't? To paraphrase the Bard, it's a tale, full of sound and fury and extremely stupid dialogue and nonsensical plotting and preposterous stunts and robots punching each other's heads off, signifying nothing.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 29, 2011
    0
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon - high on any list of the worst blockbusters ever - is a movie bereft of wit, wonder, imagination, and any genuine reason for being. Watching it makes you die a little inside.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 90 out of 313
  1. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    You better start looking for the red carpet leading to the Oscars because Transformers is sure going to be at it's TECHNICAL end. MichaelYou better start looking for the red carpet leading to the Oscars because Transformers is sure going to be at it's TECHNICAL end. Michael Bay, with all his grace, delivers one of his finest peaces of contemporary cinema up to date. You wouldn't believe it without seeing it. Close to the end of the film, my friend sitting next to me turned at me and whispered: "This is beyond Blockbuster madness". And it made sens. What Bay and his team have achieved is beyond conventional summer movie making. The crafting here is so perfect and detailed that it pushes and redefines the boundaries of film making. From the chilling sound design, to the godlike visual effects, and perfect attention to detail from Bay's part when choosing his shots.
    It's an honest work that re establishes what fun is all about when the lights dim down and the screen springs to life.
    Just... Have fun and don't pay attention to all those lifeless critics who's conceptual fun is merely based on egocentric shallow intellectual show off and pragmatic dismissing of Bay's work. Criticising his editing and shot compositions which are, to a large extent, unique, but welcome.
    Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Michael Bay's Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon put to an end (for now)

    By W. Leung Saturday, 24 2011 Giant robots, exotic cars, and sexy
    Michael Bay's Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon put to an end (for now)

    By W. Leung Saturday, 24 2011

    Giant robots, exotic cars, and sexy woman, Michael Bay's Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon, produced in June 29, 2011, is an action packed with stunning visual effects movie.

    Since this is the final chapter of this Transformers movie trilogy, Michael Bay seek to conclude the stories with the last two movies and produces a fascinating ending of this series. The length of the movie is 157 minutes, which is the longest one in the series.

    Unlike other computer graphics movie, Transformers movie series is based on long life TV animation starting in 1984, which was created by Hasbro and Takara Tomy. The series is about two races of aliensâ
    Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    8
    Much better movie than TF2. Not quite as good as TF1 but I doubt anything could ever match that.

    Its a summer popcorn movie & should be
    Much better movie than TF2. Not quite as good as TF1 but I doubt anything could ever match that.

    Its a summer popcorn movie & should be taken as such. Michael Bay has adjusted his directing style a little & slowed it down to allow for the 3D so the pace is a little slower now & the action easier to make out as the camera steps back a bit to let you see the action from a distance.

    All the acting is fine really nothing to complain about its passable as the actors are treating it for what it is non serious summer sci-fi entertainment. Humour is juvenile but quite funny in places. Story is more defined than TF2. Action & CGI is all top notch as you would expect.

    Overall if you want a fun to watch summer popcorn blockbuster this is the movie for you if you liked TF1 then you will like TF3. If you do not like Michael Bay movies then nothing here will change your mind but I think most audiences know beforehand what to expect & here Bay delivers in his final Transformers movie (it wraps the story up so does not demand another installment anyway....).
    Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2011
    6
    This is an action packed, Hollywood type movie
    This is a Michael Bay movie indeed. This means there are constant explosions. Yes the plot is
    This is an action packed, Hollywood type movie
    This is a Michael Bay movie indeed. This means there are constant explosions. Yes the plot is predictable but I did enjoy this film. This is in my opinion a deeper film than the other transformer films which don't have much of a feeling in any way. I like this movie because in general I like action, great cars and well hot victoria secret models that replaced Megan Fox. This is a good movie if you know what you're going to see. Although the plot, the script, and the premise are indeed terrible, the movie achieves what it is going for: An action packed, special effect, animation film.
    Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2011
    4
    Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon is (in my eyes) the closest thing to being; beaten, spat on, shouted at and raped in the eyes all in 157Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon is (in my eyes) the closest thing to being; beaten, spat on, shouted at and raped in the eyes all in 157 minutes of glittery CGI robot porn without actually being; beaten, spat on, shouted at and raped in the eyes. In all seriousness though the film has some good points that i'll get out of the way first before I continue. First the 3D against my initial pre-conceptions was excellent the best 3D i've ever seen in a film and is by a huge margin the best thing the film has going for itself. But, That's it, That's the only good quality transformers 3 possesses other than the fact that it's better than it's atrocious predecessor; revenge of the fallen. The action is mental as is customary in Michael Bay's films with almost all of Chicago massacred by the end of the film and most of the scenes where someone dies being kinda crap. Fortunately the action is handled in a much more controlled way than the second film with the viewer actually being able to walk out of the cinema without a coma. The plot is pretty much non-existent involving a 60â Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2011
    3
    Almost three hours of an overly complicated plot mixed in with a ton of cool visual effects, explosions and total destruction. A definiteAlmost three hours of an overly complicated plot mixed in with a ton of cool visual effects, explosions and total destruction. A definite mixed bag and not nearly as good as the first. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2011
    0
    I wrote a racist 'poem' and my skype status read: "i'm sorry, it is not you, it was that **** movie, i say **** and kykes and call **** dykesI wrote a racist 'poem' and my skype status read: "i'm sorry, it is not you, it was that **** movie, i say **** and kykes and call **** dykes but transformers 3 has truly offended me!" My friend may have been offended by the above and asked me why? I think he likes the movie. I replied: "do you have a spare hour or two? i'll tell you. [15:27:23] calum: leaving aside the obvious lack of knowledge about the Transformers universe, Sentinel Prime (Alpha Trion) [Optimus Prime's Father] {Played by Leonard Nimoy, Galvatron, aka future Megatron} being but one glaring example. The whole use of the word race in general, both that it is used, when in reality the concept is imaginary, to refer to a whole species of robots is absurd. There is no real life proof that 'races' differ in any meaningful way besides minor ecological and geographical adaptations and evolutionary differences like my long thin nose to pick a rather vulgar example, which clearly changed from my African forefathers due to their migration to colder climates, thus allowing the more efficient heating of the air inhaled, to avoid hypothermia with the minor drawback of restricting the flow of air and thus reducing the amount that can be inhaled compared to those in warmer lands. In the movie however, race is used to define all of the transformers, their 'race' being what defines them and what they are fighting for the survival of. Also, the whole undertone of self sacrifice for ones 'race' or even planet, in the case of the humans, i find particularly disturbing as it glorifies suicide terrorism and our feeble attempt to combat such violence in kind. That isn't the morality that i grew up with in the 1980's. The Autobots would never and as far as I can remember, didn't kill anything. Let alone all the decepticons, and in the case of the usually docile and slow to anger Optimus, his own father, mentor and also a helpless and surrendering Megatron. It is this that got Prime killed in the very faithful, if a little market led Japanese Movie 'The Movie'. The Prime I know would never kill in cold blood, but then the Autobots are now an analogy for our brave and noble troops, who often are forced to murder, but Prime chooses this, so even as an example to the military, remembering this is a kids movie and not a rally cry, is still a rather disturbing moral example to set. The best performance was given by the CGI animators, but again, seemed more akin to the brutal comic books than the toys or cartoons with gratuitous dismemberment aplenty. The acting sucked, the script was worse and the director, it would appear is a racist facist homophobic **** Unless this movie is a true representation of the American worldview it can only be seen as, at best, a shameless marketing tool to sell toys with no thought given to it's content by it's creators and at worst a tasteless racist recruitment video for the so called 'war on terror'. The answer to terror it would have you believe is the merciless and complete destruction of ones enemies with no thought given to negotiation or understanding. And why the **** is Shockwave a giant snake with a separate dude that doesn't even talk and never turns into a laser gun? If any racial language used herein is offensive to you it is not intended as you can see above I don't even give the term 'race' legitimacy. Why? Because there is no such thing, simple. If you think you might be of a different 'race' to someone else or if the use of possibly offensive racial language perturbs you then it is because you are identifying yourself that way. If no ones a race, no one gets offended. Which is good because we are not and therefore we shouldn't. The word is used wrongly by most people to differentiate and in this movie, I guess they are using it well to refer to a species, eg the human race, or the cybertronian race. But it is still the wrong word, despite it's arguably accurate usage. So yeah, that's what offended me. Sure people believe in race, sure it isn't real, even surer everyone alive is racist, it is common sence to fear the unknown or the threat posed to the local womenfolk by a swarthy genetically more suitable rival. But when making a movie for kids, who should never be lied to, being so blatantly ignorant and misleading is in my opinion, unforgivable. In fact after watching the movie, i have a good mind to go and shoot all the dirty jews that made it in the head, even if they beg, like Optimus! Megatron is my inspiration no more! His feeble mercy is for the weak! Autobots, transform and kill em all!" So yeah, don't even pirate this filthy waste of bandwidth unless you... Nah, I wouldn't wish this on my worst enemy. Expand

See all 313 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  2. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.