User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1290 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 18, 2011
    4
    "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" lacks the mind-blowing blockbuster spirit "Transformers" originally had. All you can see is messy clunky robots fighting with amazingly terrible cinematography followed by a brainlessly written script.
  2. Sep 4, 2010
    0
    This is, without exaggeration, the absolute worst movie I have seen in the last ten years. Not only because it's a million kinds of awful, but because of what it represents. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen symbolizes not just everything condescending, cynical, and soulless in Hollywood, it stands as a testament to sub-crustal standards and the triumph of a strong marketing campaign over effort, talent and vision. Batman and Robin has been dethroned. Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2010
    0
    Michael Bay strikes again. Again and again and again and again.

    For this review, I am only going to say four words: Noise. Confusion. Megan. Noise.

    That is all this movie is about. There is not much else to say. Transformers 1 was pretty decent for a horrible director but this is a piece of one big **** Nothing about this movie was good. Not even Megan Fox because she cannot act. Shia
    LeBeouf looks neurotic, the Transformers look like trash toys now, and the story sucks. Michael Bay, you have failed...for the umpteenth time. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2010
    3
    An absolutely horrible film. Michael Bay should be ashamed that he isn't capable of toning down his over-the-top action, concentrating a LITTLE on the story and, when doing a film marketed to kids, leave out all of the sex, drug and racist material.
  5. Oct 9, 2010
    0
    i hated this movie. absolutely terrible. wether its the absolutely terrible "humor" sequences, the obscured, boring fights, or the stereotyped robots, there isnt a single redeeming quality in this "blockbuster sequel" of a movie and deserves nothing but 0 as a movie, and as a form of an example of a terrible movie.
  6. Mar 5, 2011
    2
    The original Transformers was a flawed movie, sure, but it was very fun with a decent script to make Transformers fit into the modern age of Blockbusters. Transformers Revenge of the Fallen, however, is a mix of computer generated effects, pots and pans clashing together, and vomit. The movie is a mess, from a horrible script, to annoying characters, to mindless explosions and action. Revenge of the Fallen took what worked in the first movie, made those aspects not work as well, and for the aspects that didn't work, made them a thousand times worse! Expand
  7. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    The other day I thought about watching this movie again and got a sour taste in my mouth that I had to wash away with garlic fries and soda. The sad part is that I've known people to pay and watch this movie at least 4 times IN THEATER.
  8. Sep 3, 2010
    0
    I can't remember the last time I desparately wanted to walk out of a movie. I felt cheated and insulted by this movie. It's offending to even think that they consider this entertainment, what-more, to charge a full ticket price of this garbage.
  9. Feb 16, 2012
    3
    Bad storyline. Decent to bad acting. Horrible storyline. Even the special effects (which really aren't that good) can't save this one.
  10. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    I hated this movie! HATED,HATED,HATED,HATED,HATED THIS MOVIE! IT'S GODAWFUL! IT'S A CURSE,I MEAN IT IS SO SAINT IN HELL! Michael Bay destroy this movie and raping with lots of sexuality and some stereotypes in this horrible movie! HATED!!!
  11. Sep 21, 2010
    2
    Why is it that all these 2 1/2 hour long Michael Bay films feel like they're 4 or 5 hours long? It never ends with the and badly edited action scenes full of clunky-CGI , and the terrible humor, the incomprehensible plot, and the shallow characters both human and robot that I could never care much about. It goes on and on and on, and was overstaying it's welcome for me at about the hour mark. There are few amusing moments, some sparks of a decent special effects scene, but for the most part it's just a bunch mindless dribble that serves no purpose I can think of, not even on the basic level of entertainment for anyone above the age of 14 or so. Expand
  12. Mar 30, 2011
    0
    If you liked this movie, then what the **** is the matter with you? You must be a ****ing idiot to like this piece of **** I already ****ing hate you if you like it. **** Michael Bay, **** Shia Lebeouf, **** Megan Fox, **** Spielberg, just **** everybody that had anything to do with this **** Even a pizza guy. **** THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!
  13. Nov 5, 2010
    0
    There are so many flaws with this movie i wanna put a knife through my chest. But ill kepp it short.

    Its boring, not about transformers, and horribly acted and directed.

    And finally the made SOUNDWAVe a SATELITE, that in its self is a sin.
  14. Aug 25, 2011
    0
    Frankly, how bad could it be? Critics rip it to shreds, calling dumb, loud, and stupid, but it's a movie about giant robots smashing each other, so what did you expect? I expect Michael Bay to acknowledge that humans traditionally have brains. That's the problem with Transformers 2. You can complain all you want about the racist robots, the lame dialogue, the annoying human characters, and overstuffed action sequences, but it all comes down to one central problem. Yes, we all expected Transformers 2 to be loud, dumb, and stupid. The problem is that it is simply TOO loud, dumb, and stupid. It is loud, dumb, and stupid to the degree that it actually feels insulting as you watch it. The anger that possessed me during Transformers 2 was almost too much to bear. The idea that Michael Bay actually thinks we as a human race will tolerate something this stupid. Expand
  15. Jan 13, 2011
    0
    This movie sucks optimus prime's balls, and the storyline is crap. Who would in their right mind watch a long ass movie that only thing that made this movie alot of money is Megan Fox and great graphics.
  16. Jul 3, 2013
    3
    Revenge of the Fallen is beyond stupid with some of the dumbest characters ever put on screen. Acting was pitiful. Story complete garbage, if there was even one, coupled with racism everywhere in the film. Nothing could be worst for Michael bay who has just added another terrible movie to his resume.
  17. Nov 7, 2012
    0
    Another witless attempt at moviemaking from the always terrible Michael Bay. The first Transformers wasn't even that bad, at least not until the end, but this plotless recreation is a complete disaster. It could be the worst movie of the past twenty years.
  18. Aug 21, 2010
    1
    Micheal Bay returns to transformers with a even worse sequel to the original . i had no hope for this film but one never does know till they see it for themselves. yet again bay destroys more of my fond memories of transformers from a kid . lets see here we have a plot that even makes less sense then the original . more of shilo stuttering like a jack ass , more bad jokes , more pointless action with transforers blowing every thing and each other up who arnt given more then 1 or 2 sentences through the entire movie . with not a shred of charcter devolpment ever to be done peroid . i mean i like seeing stuff blowing up and giant robots kicking the crap outa each other but id also like to know about the robots doing it what they are like why they fight but no they basically have about as much personality as a rock em sock em robot. this whole movie was just basically a giant action jerk off fest layered on with bad jokes. this does 0 justice to the original transformers series . so yes if you have a IQ of a rock ,or like seeing demo derby's for mindless destruction , or are easily amused like seeing car keys or some thing jingled in your face . then yes you may like trasnformers 2. lets face it 25% of the population is retarded they think the govt. is responsable in making 911 happen or think obama is a muslim . so no im not to suprised that thoose same morons liked and payed to see this crap. Expand
  19. May 29, 2011
    4
    pretty bad one. not the best from micheal bay. disappointing and regular revenge story. no much emotions and drama here. the last 10 minutes was good. rest all bad.... just bad micheal bay surely did not surprise us. it is his regular one
  20. Oct 17, 2010
    3
    I don't know what to say, whether it's the horrible script that tries to be funny so badly or the fictional stuff that don't make sense. And perhaps some horrible acting mainly supported by Megan Fox. This movie in general is really bad, but I can't say is awful because at the very least, the people of the special effects did a terrific job!How bad is the script you say? Well when all of sudden characters that were in one country, appear in another magically. When robots suddenly can transform into humans, that makes you wonder why the idiot robots didn't come up with that in the first place. Acting? Yeah Megan fox instead of frustrated or crying for his love when he is about to be rip apart in one of the scenes, she is actually watching with amusement. Oh and apparently the government has an awful security because those radars can't detect when a robot is near a satellite, or on any kind of ground. Ugh I could continue, but it would take me days! One thing for sure, I wouldn't be happy to receive credit as a director of this film seriously. And unfortunately, there is still a lot of strange people that enjoy any kind of movie like this, and FYI I enjoyed the cartoons and love robots. Expand
  21. May 31, 2014
    2
    There are moments in this film where it is somewhat better than the last film in regards to better filming of action scenes and more Transformers but that is quickly lost. The stuff I didn’t like from the last film such as focusing on the uninteresting human characters and the dumb/annoying characters and the dumb humor. What makes this film even worse than its predecessors is there are even more dumb and goofy moments than the last film with some new annoying Transformers and human characters. Also, the film spends a good chunk of it focusing on the interesting human characters. Finally, the climax well shot better is long and boring. If you like mindless entertainment see it but if you weren’t big on the last one sit this one out. Expand
  22. Jun 29, 2011
    1
    Oh good joy. Michael Bay at his best. "At his best" I mean at his best at annoying people who like Transformers and people who like to watch films overall. Characters are annoying cardboard cut-outs with no personalities whatsoever, the robots themselves have little importance whatsoever, there are so many plot holes that it makes the first film completely irrelevant and the action scenes are a drag and boring as hell, no matter how many explosions Bay can fit in every scene. I suggest just watching the first Transformers, which is a more better film to watch than this sack of **** Expand
  23. Aug 13, 2011
    3
    I have no problem with mindless action flicks. "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" is certainly one of these, but that is not why I did not like it. ROTF tries to be intelligent, dramatic, and visually appealing, but unfortunately, it is none of these things. First of all, don't bother seeing this film for the action because the action is terrible. Bay seems to have it in his mind that the louder and more fast-cutting the action is, the more fun it is to watch, which is false. Although there were a few pretty good visual effects-heavy scenes, Bay rarely keeps the camera on one thing for a split-second and for the whole last hour of the film, which is just a brainless, noisy action sequence, I couldn't tell what was going on. My eyes were just looking at a screen with a lot of seizure-inducing lights on it. Which brings me to plot. It's not that ROTF is a mindless movie, it isn't quite that. Bay does have a story in his mind; however, bad dialogue and poor filming make the story pretty much incomprehensible. Fans of the Transformers might have a good time - I will also say that I did enjoy the first 30 minutes' character-driven humor and a few of the film's twists - but Transformers: ROTF is a huge backstep from the first film. Expand
  24. Oct 15, 2010
    2
    Maybe the most disappointing sequel in years. I really enjoyed the first film, and thought it was perfect popcorn entertainment. None of the positive qualities from the first carry over. The parents, and all of the secondary characters, have become annoying. The sound visual effects are overwhelming and just too much. And Megan Fox is useless. So very disappointing.
  25. Jan 1, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow, was this bad Transformers 2, or how to make a crap sequel Good Points: Special Effects rock, Megan Fox looking lush as ever, Fight scenes are awesome, The Fallen looked awesome and was voiced by the legend that is Tony Todd, a killer soundtrack (Green Day, Nickleback), Optimus forms with JetFire, we get the return of John Tutturro and Sams parents (who are both hilarious) Bad Points: Where to begin? The film runs for over 2 hours, which is way more than is needed. The Twins, nuff said. They're the Autobot form of Jedward. Bumblebee cannot talk again, so they basically ignored the end of Transformers 1. Sams roomate, Leon, is uneeded and annoying. Theres two scenes of dogs humping. Giant Robot Testicles. Reviving Sam, Optimus and Megatron as if their deaths meant nothing. The Fallen/Megatron/Starscream relationship. Bad dialogue "Give me your face", the scene of Sams mom running around on drugs, The swearing and sex references when kids are watching, Sam being a dick to Mikaela in the beginning, The amount of transformers which come on, one after another, not giving them enough screentime for us to care when they're destroyed. All in all, a rubbish sequel. I would've given it a 2.5 rating, but i'll be generous (like I was with the good points) and round it up to a 3 Expand
  26. Jan 5, 2011
    4
    Way too long and I didn't understand the plot (I didn't watch the first movie though!) Near the end I was bored and I just wanted it to end. But I'm going to give it a 4 because the special effects were good and the movie was ok. Not good, just ok.
  27. Jun 28, 2011
    3
    This movie was a bloated, overlong and vapid sequel to 2007's Transformers, a movie that I actually enjoyed. The threadbare story is riddled with poor dialogue, toilet humor and gaping plot holes. The biggest mistake RotF makes is the exclusion of a decent human element to the story, choosing instead to focus on messy and badly directed fight scenes. Formerly enjoyable characters are now just one-dimensional caricatures who are there to kill time before the next robot fight. The movie spends no time on developing its characters yet expects us to care when they face imminent danger. This highlights another problem. The story and characters are so weak that it detracts from our interest, meaning that scenes of dramatic importance fall flat because we no longer care. A poor effort which will derail this series if it continues as it is. Expand
  28. Jul 10, 2011
    0
    Why didn't they just blow up Megatron at the end of the last movie? Why can't Bumblebee talk anymore? Why are all the robots made from the all spark automatically evil? How could anyone fall from that height and come away completely unharmed? How on Earth did Optimus outrun the other Autobots, most of whom are fast, sports cars? Why are all the human characters either unlikeable or undeveloped? Why do Skids and Mudflap exist? Why is it day in Egypt? Why does film need to be wasted on capturing dogs humping? Why, why, why. Because Micheal Bay willed it. Expand
  29. Apr 22, 2011
    2
    plot is everywhere, most of dialogue is flat out, way too much juvenile humor, and there are the retarded twins...Acting isn't terrible, the music is good, special effects are great, fights are great and Megan Fox is hot. Those are things that I really enjoyed about this film, I think everything else is crap.
  30. May 24, 2013
    2
    Having enjoyed the first movie I was really looking forward to this follow up. There can be few sequels however in the history of film making that have been such a huge disappointment. It is difficult to know where to start when explaining what is wrong with this movie so I we simply list my biggest complaints.
    1. Why is nearly every transformer there for some sort of (badly judged) comic
    relief? I simply did not find the humour in any of them, particular the borderline racist duo.
    2. Why is it so difficult to tell what is going on during the fight scenes? Sometimes it was difficult to tell who was who and there is nothing to rival the highway scene of the first movie.
    3. With so many stories to choose from the comics and cartoon series why is the plot so dull?
    4. Whats with all the slo-mo shots of Megan Fox? We know shes attractive you don't need to constantly remind us.
    5. Why make a movie last nearly two and a half hours and then fill it with scenes as pointless and unfunny as the one where Sams mum accidently gets high on pot?
    Expand
  31. May 2, 2011
    1
    There was literally one scene in this entire movie that I found mildly enjoyable which is why I didn't rate this 0. Beyond that there was always something so horrible that they thought to add in that the rest of it was disappointing. Poor story, poor character development, and humor I'd expect from a deranged child, often at the most serious moments. Last, but certainly not least, it somehow managed to take my respect for Optimus Prime down a notch which I thought would be impossible. These must be the most absent-minded, uncaring, and vengeful Autobots I've ever seen. I thought for sure they'd do a better job than the first mediocre movie. Expand
  32. May 11, 2011
    1
    pure mindless junk. This movie is great if all you want is things blowing up and Megan Fox filmed suggestivly. Come on people most of us are not 12 anymore, we shouldn't be suckered into giving money up to such a movie. THe animated movie was better than this and it was not very good. My friend who dragged me to the movie can go punish himself alone if he chooses to see the third one. They'll keep making them as long as you keep oinking america. Expand
  33. Jul 16, 2011
    4
    I remember reading all of the critics' bad reviews and hearing all of the bad comments from friends when this movie came out a couple of years ago, so between that and the fact that I was no huge fan of the first "Transformers" anyway, I made little to no attempt to see "Revenge of the Fallen." However, it was on HBO the other night, and I said, "what the heck," and decided to give it a shot. After two or two and a half LONG hours, it was over, and my thought was "Well, it wasn't good, but it wasn't THAT bad!" If there is one thing that Michael Bay can do consistently well, it's that he can make the pictures that make up the film "pop." The actors looked fantastic (especially Josh Duhamel, Tyrese and Megan Fox, who either could be or are models anyway), the locations were gorgeous (especially the Egyptian scenes), and the Transformers themselves beautifully constructed - shiny and colorful, just like they should be. The problem, then, is that Bay has a horrendous eye for cinematography and editing. For some reason, he thinks it is a good idea to film scenes of dialogue and actual emotion on characters' faces from far away, and then film action scenes from so close-up that it is hard to tell who is where at what time in the given action sequence. I swear, at least half of the close shots were ones I thought would have made more sense to film from far away, and at least half of the long shots were ones I thought would have made more sense to film close-in. When you add those factors to editing that can practically induce seizures, the film is just exhausting to try to keep up with. And the dialogue, good god the dialogue is terrible. I know this was a summer action movie, so I didn't have high expectations for the dialogue anyway, but I expect better than this. Almost every line was like something you would find as a bumper sticker slogan or on a Hallmark card. Many of the older, more experienced supporting actors/actresses actually made some of these crap lines work, like John Turturro and the man and woman who played Mr./Mrs. Witwicky, but the younger ones like Duhamel, Tyrese and Fox didn't stand a chance (they are pretty bland actors to begin with). However, the title for worst actor has to go to Shia LeBeouf as Sam Witwicky. His idea of acting in this movie seemed more like a portrayal of a meth addict than of a smart teenage boy starting his first year of college. I just don't understand the love over this kid; he has played that same hyperactive type in every film I have seen him in, and I don't find it cute. I just want to smack him. On top of the bad dialogue and mediocre acting are some very nasty, negative themes. In Bay movies, hundreds of thousands of people die and hundreds of thousands of acres of land are destroyed, but it is all done in the name of entertainment, so hey, who cares? There is no attempt at making the deaths or destruction mean anything, and, in that sense, it cheapens the entire experience. Also, young women are not seen as real people in Bay's movies, but as objects to fulfill men's desires. It is really pathetic how misogyny just runs rampant throughout this film...and these female actors just go along with it, playing the pretty, shallow idiots just like they are told. And don't even get me started on the "black" robots, who just so happen to also be the characters who can't read. I think my mouth fell open and I gasped when they said they are illiterate - are audiences really O.K. with that? Because I'm not. The one factor that allows me to move my rating out of the red and into the yellow is the story, which is pretty neat in concept. Unfortunately, that concept is not carried out very well by Bay, but the major storyboard points are interesting enough and make sense in the context of the Transformers' universe. Obviously, based on my review, you can tell I think this movie is very flawed and mediocre. However, in hindsight, I am kind of shocked at how bad those reviews/comments were that I mentioned before. I was expecting to really despise "Revenge of the Fallen," and there are definitely many aspects of the movie that I do despise, but I would watch this again before I watched "The Last Airbender" or that god awful "Twilight - Eclipse" any day of the week. Expand
  34. Apr 27, 2012
    2
    Possibly one of the worst films ever created. Oh! Whar a suprise this film is created by Michael Bay. Can't you remember his masterpiece Armageddon. I'm just kidding his supposed best film also insulted my intelligence and wasted a portion of my life. Well I guess I have to say something bad about the film instead of just insulting it's director. Overlong mindless action with no plot simply things blowing up as well as flat jokes and horrible performances. Expand
  35. Dec 27, 2011
    3
    Transformers 2 - Slightly more than one line review!

    First of all, I didn't really like the first movie - so I didn't expect to like this one. This one was better than I EXPECTED, but still not very good. Too long, plot too... "ambitious", story making very little sense, acting pretty awful, unnecessary comic relief from mom, etc. 2.5 hours. Wow. It speaks a lot to Hollywood magic how the
    effects (which are pretty awesome) end up feeling kind of ho-hum. On the plus side, Megan Fox is super hot and worth the ticket price, and the voice of Optimus is always awesome. Some good Bumblebee moments too. Expand
  36. Jul 13, 2011
    2
    Terrible. I liked the first one but this one just went down the blow **** up for no real reason route. The first one didn't particularly care that much about character development but this one just throws it out the window completely. It's ridiculous and while a couple action scenes were entertaining, it's impressive how much of the action is really boring. The humor is stupid too with the exception of a couple times and the actors obvious puppets saying the words they have to say to move on to the next action sequence. At two and a half hours, it was really boring. Expand
  37. Dec 31, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I absolutely hated this movie with every part of my body. Sound strange but thats the only way I can explain this feeling. I saw it in theaters when it came out and hated it, then my friends wanted to watch it again on On Demand so I just went with it and hated it again. I will not watch this crap again and i don't think you should either. One reason for my hatred toward this movie is the plotline is useless and doesn't make sense. Just read a summary of the movie and you know what I mean. It's not just that though, it's also confusing, and not in a cool Inception or Donnie Darko way. It's more of a confusion that you have no idea whats going on but don't feel like figuring it out anyway. Like theres all of these explosions and the camera is spinning everywhere and then Optimus Prime dies but he actually doesn't, or does Sam save him, you know what I don't know and I don't care, all I know is Michael bay sucks at everything and to read up on how much he sucks read my other bogs on this websites. Then right when you think the criticism is over I have one more thing to share with you. The movie had soooo many useless and dull characters that it was funny. this movie could be a comedy, except the jokes in it where they were supposed to be funny are the exact opposite. So it could be a comedy for the wrong reasons and that is not good in my book. So in all, do not see this movie it is a ginormous waste of time. Expand
  38. Sep 28, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To people who actually liked this film: WTF are you people smoking? This movie was goddamn horrible **** And I thought the first one was okay. Passable. The Rock is Michael Bay's best work, and then Transformers and The Island were sorta alright. But this... this is ridiculously wretched.

    It's just bizarre that his second flick is one of the greatest action films ever and over ten years later he comes out with this sort of colossal trainwreck. I dunno, it's like he was playing it straight back then and since then, he's just been indulging in his worst instincts and Transformers 2 is the most excessive display of that.

    There are actually a pair of twin robots that speak in ebonics, call the humans **** and one has a gold tooth for some reason. It's like two Jar Jar Binks at once. And yes, they are racially offensive, it wasn't funny at all. Cringe inducing. Ya know what, I didn't even find Jar Jar Binks offensive in a racial manner, just retarded, because I've never actually met anyone who spoke like Jar Jar. "Meesa people gonna die?" Yea, never heard of that from any ethnicity in real life. But the twin robots... yea, I've heard that sorta thing. It's amazing that Michael Bay thought this was alright. Sure, Jazz from the cartoon had a distinctly black voice, but it wasn't hitting you over the head with it. Jazz never called anyone a **** or talked about how he never was much for book reading.

    And Devastator was completely wasted. Here's this gigantic robot made up out of five constructicons, and... he doesn't really accomplish anything of note. At first he sucks up one of the GhettoBots, which made me really happy... and a few seconds later we see him leap out of Devastator's mouth and start shooting it in the face. And it's supposed to be this moment of victory for the good guys, but... I just got pissed that the horrible Jar Jar bot didn't get eaten and killed. That would've been so **** great.

    Devastator then just gets blown apart by one shot from a railgun mounted on a Navy destroyer. WTF? All that buildup just to see him clumsily trying to scale a pyramid and get BOOM HEADSHOT from some made-up CGI railgun? **** lame. Of course, the design itself was awful, it looked nothing like the Devastator I remember from G1. But that goes without saying, none of the designs look good.

    You know what was amazing though? Michael Bay actually attempted to put some sort of message or moral into the plot. See, in the beginning... the main character's going off to college and he has to deal with his parents letting him go. So later, in the final battle sequence, he gets reunited with them and he tells them to go to safety and they refuse to go without him. And he says something like "Dad, no. You have to let go of me. You have to let go." And that's when it hit me... Michael Bay was actually trying to tell a story about a boy's parents learning to let go of their son so he can leave and become a man on his own. But of course, it's stuck in a film that just showed two hours of giant robots fighting each other, so... that message is kinda ridiculous. It was really funny how clumsy and awkward it was delivered.

    So yea... the film's not good. CGI's great of course, there's this nice setpiece in the middle where Optimus Prime fights two or three Decepticons in this forest. And the blending of the CGI robots with this really natural setting was super impressive. Props to ILM. But the story and characters and editing and everything else is terrible.

    Plus, I was sitting next to a douchebag who suddenly started texting on his **** cell phone halfway through. I mean, yea sure... it's a long film, two and a half hours long... but that's no excuse for disrupting the theater experience like that. I was so irritated that I leaned over, nudged him in the shoulder and said "Your phone." And this guy turns to me like he's shocked that he's sitting next to actual human beings and asks "What?" Like he has absolutely no idea that he was doing anything wrong. So I say "It's distracting." Dude goes back to texting like I'm some jerk who likes being a jerk.

    It's a terrible world we live in. And now that I think about it... I saw him texting and playing around with his cell before the film started too. Of course, I just naturally assumed he wouldn't actually text during the film. Faith and goodwill toward man, I guess.
    Expand
  39. Oct 30, 2011
    1
    This movie's plot is really bad. Watching the movie will degrade your humor level. Maybe the visual which is considered good has made this movie successful. This movie is such kind of bad when a superhero movie turns into a comedy and gives you shame rather than morality.
  40. Jan 28, 2012
    4
    When Micheal Bay gets it wrong, he really gets it WRONG. Unlike the somewhat entertaining first film, watching this movie "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" is like being locked inside a loud, fast-spinning washing machine. It's all action, but no heart or soul. No real substance but a ugly mess of CGI. The acting is good and the music (mainly for Linkin Park) is excellent but not even a whopping $200 budget could save this flick from losing its way. Summer blockbuster or not, this series deserves more respect. Expand
  41. Aug 30, 2013
    3
    There is just no way to defend or salvage the massive and overblown mess that is Revenge of the Fallen, the sequel to the equally big but not equally bad Transformers film in 2007. Clocking in at two and a half hours, this is a drag and then some, with an uneven and completely exhausting plot that twists and turns into senseless action, it becomes quite difficult to follow and, well, unnecessary. To many devices, turning points and pointless additions make up this bloated sequel, where we find Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf) now heading to college, but being dragged back into the fight of the Transformers. The Decepticons, or the bad guys, have found a new energy source, and it's location lies within the mind of Sam, and that's really the plot that drags out for an obscenely long time, and the humour and mediocre storytelling, it goes one way by the Decepticons reveal themselves the world and how they will no longer hide, but yet their epic showdown happens in the desert, away from the.. erm.. public eye. These ongoing problems persist throughout the film, as the script seems to contradict itself at many turns, switching locations and using cut-off scenes at what are perceived to be pivotal moments such as the resurrection of Megatron, but lets cut to Sam's parents trying out snails in Paris. The inconsistencies simply don't diminish, whether its these symbols that are the driving point of the film, why exactly where these missing from the first film, with only subtle hints that never amounted to anything. The humour can be the saving grace of the film, but low and behold we have teo particularly stereotyped Autobots who are now part of of Optimus Prime's team of earth dwellers who are reminiscent of the gang culture persona of African-Americans, racist and desperate are words that spring to mind. We also have new lady autobots who I'm sure have around five words to say in the entire film, its been made big, but just too big to point where there are mistakes and forgetfulness.
    LaBeouf continues to bicker his way through his lead role, perhaps trying to encapsulate a character with an attention disorder. There is very little do to for the rest of the cast, some having petty one-liners while others are kicked to the dirt entirely. The special effects are again a truly amazing to watch, but a compromise needs to be drawn somewhere, and there is none in this film, its loud and utilises slow-motion so we can watch Sam and Michaela (Megan Fox) run away several times, and leap from buildings onto piles of rubble without any sort of injury.
    There is no consistency, motive, relatable actions or fluid plot points to admire this film, instead we are left with a loud and over-arching catastrophe. Michael Bay should have listened to the dialogue that John Turturro delivers on the film, "beginning, middle, end, plot, condense If only.
    Expand
  42. Jan 7, 2012
    0
    Transformers Revenge of the fallen loses whatever made the first film good by providing bland action, awful performances and overrated visual effects with a extreme length to add to it. You will be in for a long and boring experience if you see this movie. I give this movie 3% of a good movie.
  43. Nov 28, 2011
    4
    Noisy. Annoying. bad acting. Some gripping moments. Sam Witwicky (don't tell me I spelled his name wrong or I will kill you) is a dumbass for not saying he loves her. Overall, O.K., but fake. It would be a much better movie if Sam and Megan fox just had sex while the robots fight.
  44. Dec 12, 2011
    4
    (September 25, 2009)
    The biggest action flick of the summer is also one of the biggest disappointments of the summer. Now before I get into my ârantâ? of what I think of this movie, I want to acknowledge that many people loved this movie, and I can understand why. It is more than two hours of crazy special effects and plenty of Megan Foxx to look at. All of this
    is fine, but I believe all these fancy things do not save the movie from having a subpar story. Before I touch on the many let downs of this movie let me mention the visual effects for a moment: they are breathtaking. I almost recommend seeing the movie just to see some of the best effects of the year. Now I must touch on the bad side of the film. The main thing that was wrong with this film is the plot. It just felt too jumbled. It felt like they tried to shove a bunch of things that go nowhere to develop a story and hoped if all of these elements were combined it would make a good plot. It is possible to sum this movie up in less than sixty minutes, but the film clocks out at a whopping one hundred and forty seven minutes. The dialog was no saving grace for this film either. I really do not know if the dialog writing was bad, or if it was written this way on purpose, but either way it is just not fitting at all. Also the stereotypical âgangstaâ? robots, all I have to ask is why? Finally, even though I praise these special effects, there were action scenes that just left me âlostâ?. The fight scenes were too confusing, but I guess you cannot expect much better from a fight scene between multiple gigantic robots.


    As a fan of both the Transformers toys as a child and the first movie, I went into this movie hoping for something good but worried I was going to be drastically let down. Being let down describes perfectly how I felt as soon as the credits rolled. The whole time I was watching the film I was awed by the glossiness of the effects, but I had to keep asking myself, âAs a whole do I really enjoy this?â? The answer is a clear no.
    Expand
  45. Jan 15, 2012
    2
    This movie's plot, dialogue, action sequences, and characterization was garbage! I would not recommend buying this if your life depended on it. Seriously, this movie was just trash.
  46. Mar 30, 2012
    3
    The new Transformers, sorry for all the people that love this movie, but is the worst of Transformers. The special effects can be amazing, but no all be special effects. The soundtrack is good. The cast have some regular moments. The story is great. The screenplay terrible. But what is the problem? No be one, are two biggest problems. First, the development of the movie is same like the first, much explosions, and yeah autobots that say bad words. And the other is that the autobots don't be the most important, is Megan Fox!!, yes people, Michael Bay do this like Megan and the Transformers, because all the story is about the stupid relationship of Shia and Megan, and the Transforers?, no, no this movie is really bad. Expand
  47. Aug 22, 2012
    3
    Transformers was a good movie for what it was; mindless action, a decent storyline, attractive lead acting, and cool looking giant robots. Take away the story, replace the cool robots and replace them with the robot equivalent of a Prius, and multiply the action by 100x, and you have Revenge of the Fallen. If Megan Fox wasn't there to distract me I'm not sure I would continue watching this movie. Expand
  48. Aug 3, 2013
    1
    Absolutely appalling. A ghastly disastrous film in which you look at the screen but can't process any of the inconceivable storyline, if there even was supposed to be one. Insulting. Big stupid robots.
  49. May 4, 2012
    2
    This film was **** ass hell. When I was thinking of a score for it I was thinking a 1.5 out of 10 [my first ever 1 score for a movie]. But then I will spare it from dropping down to the ground hard. I really want the director of this film to get out of this world, I mean i'm so sick and tired of his gay films. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen 2.2/10
  50. Nov 2, 2013
    4
    Disappointing. That's all I can say. "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" is a stupid way to make a sequel to the thoughtful and entertaining original. Michael Bay just wears us out completely with a crude, noisy and under-plotted sequel.
  51. Jul 15, 2012
    3
    Wow, where to begin. This movie doesn't just tarnish the Transformers franchise; it furiously b****-slaps it until nothing is left but a grinning effigy of Mr. Bay. Retarded plot points are pulled out at every corner, the fights are spastic and unfocused, and the military is there to outshine the robots during every scene. In all honesty, it feels like Bay sold this as propaganda for the military. You remember the epic fights in the first film, including the showdown between Optimus and Megatron? You'll get none of that in this movie. The supposedly invulnerable, pyramid-sized robot at the end, who decimates all attempts to destroy it, is defeated in 6 seconds by a "railgun." I know it is a real weapon in development, but it is never mentioned at any point in the movie, and honestly feels like Bay crammed it in as more propaganda. Don't see this movie. Expand
  52. Sep 9, 2012
    3
    Permission to Face-Palm: Approved. One of the suckiest, most tiresome, boring, lame, unoriginal and stupidly shafted movies I've ever seen. Maybe, it's the worst dissapointment I've had with a film.
  53. Nov 5, 2012
    2
    The plot makes little sense, it has zero continuity. The characters are annoying and the dialogue they are given only hurts their cause. The humor is painfully immature and borderline offensive. The worst part is that even as an action movie, it fails. The action scenes are poorly shot and the final fight is over all too quickly and completely anticlimactic.
  54. Nov 17, 2012
    4
    Maybe it's action is spectacular, but it's plot is stupid, there are stupid characters, stupid villians, stupid acting, stupid dialogues... Just stupid.
  55. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    I like action so will admit that I loved a lot of this film. Michael Bay knows how to direct action and there's a lot of that on display here. What I did not like is the highly unintelligent attempts of humor. This film is literally one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen.
  56. Jan 6, 2013
    2
    A terrible romp of bad race depictions and an angry robot that goes, I am MEGATRON about every ten seconds. It might be Michael Bay's worst movie yet!
  57. Jun 2, 2013
    4
    Very, very, very poor storytelling, and directing. I liked the first transformers movie, but this one is stupid, full of dirty jokes, and puts explosions 10 miles ahead of screenplay on its priority list. It's sort of passable for a t.v. viewing, and has one or two decent action scenes, but that's not enough to make a good movie, not even close. Try watching this in the movie theatre for more than 2 hours while you have to pee, and are consistently having your expectations shot down. Expand
  58. Mar 7, 2013
    1
    This movie finally provides the world with an exclusive insight inside Michael Bay's pants. During the most excruciating 150 minutes one could experience by watching a film, nothing will stop Bay from pulling his boxers all the way down just to show the world how big he is by randomly throwing everything, and I mean EVERYTHING he has right as it comes, whatever pops out first; yet managing to under-develop characters even less than he did on Pearl Harbor. And Bay's pants on his ankles also explain why the fun and humor from the 1st movie had become so gross and vulgar. Expand
  59. Apr 6, 2013
    0
    It's a bad movie. A huge Dissapoint film. First of all the VFX dazzles your mind and gives you headaches and migraines! If James Cameron and Uwe Boll made a stink pile it would be still better. No point, no story and no meaning! Tis film is one of the VFX crap Hollywood produces and Micheal Bay, oh my goodness! This great director is going for some s*** in movie history! I am fed up of stupid sequels! Give us new stuff man! It stands no choice against the batted good film Transformers and its worse than Dark of the Moon, Expand
  60. May 6, 2013
    0
    Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is without a doubt one of the worst movies I have ever seen. Literally all it is, is Transformers and Decepticons fighting each other in hand to hand combat for 150 minutes straight. No breaks. It might sound entertaining to some people but for me it was just stupid, boring, and repetitive.
  61. Mar 31, 2013
    3
    this movie is a massive disappointment this movie took everything we loved from the first sequel and destroyed it the comedy was out of place the transformations was boring i hated every minute with John Turturro in it this movie probably destroyed the sequel forever
  62. Jul 8, 2013
    3
    This is an embarrassing script for all Transformer fans. The film looks good with its big budget, but by the end of this film you just don't care about anything.
  63. Mar 27, 2013
    3
    I can't believe that Michael Bay went from a successful exciting Transformers movie to this. This movie was a real stinker. The reason is from terrible acting perfect example (Julie White) a.k.a. Sam's mom and a bunch of unessacary/retarded moments that draws your attention away from the story. In this case, I hate the fact it's so long because of the stupid moments and terrible acting. Overall, this is a waste of what could have been a fun movie, but is ruined by Michael Bay's terrible directing. Expand
  64. May 12, 2013
    2
    I'm a Transformers fan and I'm upset with what Michael Bay for what he has reduced my childhood into. There, that is practically what the next minute or two will be about. I watched this around the time it was available on Netflix, I watched it several times because it looked cool and I liked the music. Watching it now I realize that this is actually a horrible film, with sexist, and racist characters. I know for one that racism is a big deal and that now a days it's a popular form of comedy. A lot of T.V shows do this, shows like South park and Family guy do it all the time, but South park gets away with it because it gives social commentary about what's going on. This film however only gives us fascinating visuals and robots made out of cardboard. That's the major problem a lot of people had with the film, some actually don't care and just roll with it, and that doesn't mean that they're racist or anything. I guess that and some bad directing is what most skepticts focus on, and praising the visuals like everyone does, and who can help it; like what Michael Bay would want people to say after seeing one of his films: this looks awesome. The one thing I enjoy in this film is probably what a lot of people enjoyed as well: the scene where Devastator forms. This is the pinnacle of the special effects, and it's great to see one of the most profitable Transformer toys back in the day have testicles. I don't think I can say much more about this crap that no one else has already said, so I leave saying this: I don't like this movie. Expand
  65. Apr 6, 2014
    1
    Given the fact that I saw this film 5 years ago: I was surprised as to how I actually remembered it. When I saw it the other night however: I wished I didn't. Everyone had already identified all the problems with this film, the fact that Michael Bay admitted that an aspect of his film was "crap" practically tells the whole story. It's two redeeming qualities being the brutal and entertaining action sequences, with good voice acting are not even close to plunging this film out of a pit of unlikeable and underdeveloped characters, crude and sometimes grotesque humour, clunky and forced story lines, noisy and uncomfortable sequences thrown in unnecessarily, and a lethargic pacing that ultimately results in a tedious slog of a film; and it's not often I feel that way when watching blockbuster entertainment. Expand
  66. Jun 1, 2014
    2
    This movie doesn't exist to tell you a good story, it doesn't exist to give you entertainment. It only exists for EXPLOSIONS, LOT OF EXPLOSIONS, UNSTOPPABLE ACTION, SPECIAL EFFECTS EXTRAVAGANZA and it lacks humanity. Weak story, weak characters, weak dialogue, weak comedy: Weak Film.
  67. Jul 24, 2014
    4
    again great CGI but the script is so poorly written (even more so than the first) that its basically just a bunch of robots blowing each other up the acting is not great at all this movie is not very good at all.

    my ratting 4.5/10 7 for action 1 for story 6.5 for comedy 5.5 for acting 1 for character development
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 32
  2. Negative: 16 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Nick De Semlyen
    60
    A super-sized second helping, but the novelty factor and some of the charm’s gone. Hey, at least there's more Megatron / Starscream squabbling this time round.
  2. With its intelligence at the level of the simple-minded, however, the film is not likely to attract moviegoers who seek something more than a screen filled with kaleidoscopes of colored metal. Fan boys will no doubt love it, but for the uninitiated it's loud, tedious and, at 147 minutes, way too long.
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    60
    Little seems new compared to the first installment, except that this version is longer, louder, and perhaps "more than your eye can meet" in one sitting.