User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1423 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 18, 2011
    4
    "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" lacks the mind-blowing blockbuster spirit "Transformers" originally had. All you can see is messy clunky robots fighting with amazingly terrible cinematography followed by a brainlessly written script.
  2. Feb 17, 2011
    5
    The first Transformers was enjoyable, fill with action and hot Megan Fox, but unrealistic, repetitive segments and dumb humor, I rate that one: 6.8/10. The Tranformers cast and crew return for another adventure, overall don't waste your money buying this, it's a fair rental movie to kill the night. In this one, everything is repeated with added negativity. The enjoyable story from the lastThe first Transformers was enjoyable, fill with action and hot Megan Fox, but unrealistic, repetitive segments and dumb humor, I rate that one: 6.8/10. The Tranformers cast and crew return for another adventure, overall don't waste your money buying this, it's a fair rental movie to kill the night. In this one, everything is repeated with added negativity. The enjoyable story from the last one gets replaced by just focusing on hot, but terrible actor Megan Fox and so called "Mr. Hotshot" Shia LeBeouf who is more worst at acting. 100% unrealistic, repetitive segments and sayings and the ending turns into some kind of soap opera. I rate this one: 5.5/10 Somebody please fire Michael Bay. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    The plot was insanely stupid and honestly I felt insulted that they would put something so dumb into script form. The special effects are good (as expected). The cast was solid overall (yes even Megan Fox was fine). It was funny as well, Little bits of humor added through out that imo worked well for the film. It wasnt as bad as the critics say but it wasnt good either.
  4. AlecB
    Jun 30, 2009
    5
    Transformers Revenge of the Fallen is the most dissapointing movie of the summer by far. I never agree with critics ( there overpaid assholes to me) but the movie is far from being good. The plot.? There is no Plot. Most of the Autobots and Decepticons are annoying and stupid, Especially those too black wanna be robots. And worst of all. THE MOVIE IS BORING!. You wait a good hour or so to Transformers Revenge of the Fallen is the most dissapointing movie of the summer by far. I never agree with critics ( there overpaid assholes to me) but the movie is far from being good. The plot.? There is no Plot. Most of the Autobots and Decepticons are annoying and stupid, Especially those too black wanna be robots. And worst of all. THE MOVIE IS BORING!. You wait a good hour or so to actually start getting into it. Then when the actions on and your gaining interest it ends but so abrutly. I encourage everybody to go see for yourself as it is the most anticapted sequel this year, but dont be expecting high hopes. Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2010
    5
    Firstly, the special effects are incredible and (most) of the action absolutely thrilling, however there is too much of it! This is one film which you really notice the length of while watching it. The humour wasn't very funny either. I loved the first film, but this was very average and it seems a waste of such a huge budget.
  6. Feb 10, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is for the most part is what I would have expected from a big budget movie about giant robots beating the sh** out of each other while causing maximum carnage to civilisation. The design of the transformers and the transformations from robot to vehicle mode and vice versa are visually stunning and most of them (especially Optimus Prime and Megatron) are nicely voiced. Megatron is a still a bad ass! Optimus Primes personally is portrayed very well: He's wise and a natual leader. This movie has got pretty much everything an action movie needs: explosions, brawls between the transformers and giant monuments (like pyramids and buildings) and objects blowing up and tumbling down to Earth with a thud. In short this movie is massive in scope with loads of actions scenes. Because this is a movie with a load of fast paced action scenes, this is a movie that needs to be enjoyed on a big cinema style TV with good speakers. The plot is a little bit of a mess: the movie revolves around Sam Whitwicky and he has some information about an energon source hidden on Earth and the nasty transformers (the Deceptions) want to get their hands on him so they can locate it. It follows on from the first Transformers movie and all of the Autobots have taken refuge on Earth searching for what's left of their Deception foes. The biggest trouble with this movie is that there's too much humour in this movie. The transformers, the Twins are pretty much there for the hysterical factor and I don't give a damn about them. They are annoying and clumsy and besides one scene in the movie, don't really help at all. The unnecessarily unfunny scene where Wheelie (a transformer that transforms into a remote control truck) dry humps Mikaela was just wrong. The character Leo was pointless to the storyline. The story at first may seem serious and tense (especially towards the middle of the movie where the Fallen lands on Earth) but the humour dampens the plot. Starscream (the Decepticon, 2nd in command after Megatron) acts like a coward and has a really weird voice; I mean, what happened to his robotic voice from the first movie. It sounded awesome! I guess his voice does fit his character a little bit because he doesn't seem to get involved in too many battles. He watches from the side lines while Megatron and the Fallen do all the heavy stuff (fighting). He's a little bit of a coward basically. Devestator which looks so bad ass and looks like he could level an entire city due to his massive size is only on screen for 30 seconds! I wished he just eat the Twins, spit them out and then play football with them. The Fallen (the main baddie) may seem dangerous looking at him with his skeleton like appearance, spikes protruding out of his body, his ability to teleport and his huge staff but he gets his ass kicked by Optimus Prime at the end in about 40 seconds; so much for an epic finale. I also love Optimus Prime's manners: He's weak and defenceless and can't get up to fight and the injured Jetfire (who is a old cronk by the way) offers him his parts. He sacrifices his parts to Optimus and Optimus now has the strength to fight the Fallen. Optimus doesn't say thank you to Jetfire. He acknowledges Sam for resurrecting him but doesn't thank a old deception (Jetfire) for sacrificing himself to save him. How selfish! On the outside, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen may seem a fun action movie, I couldn't take it too seriously due to unnecessarily humour and pointless characters. It's watchable but I prefer the first Transformers. Expand
  7. EvinC
    Aug 12, 2009
    4
    The first one was way better. This one made me a little sick to my stomach. I like Shia but can he please make a better film. Michael Bay has to stop focusing his camera on Fox's rack. We all now that, he's not fooling anyone. We all saw.
  8. SteveB
    Oct 6, 2009
    5
    Thoroughly mediocre, especially in view of how good the first was. Badly visualised, badly editted, poorly written. Transformers broke the Michael Bay mold, Revenge of The Fallen gets right back into it.
  9. AlF
    Jul 1, 2009
    4
    I am a great fan of transformers,but this movie was about bad sex jokes, needless explosions, overcomplicated plot and not enough robots. Transformers are supposed to be the smartest guys in the movie, yet it does not show at all, they are like the side dish. It is a beautiful visual mess. if i had millions of dollars, i could write that type of incoherent mess too. It was not a bad movie I am a great fan of transformers,but this movie was about bad sex jokes, needless explosions, overcomplicated plot and not enough robots. Transformers are supposed to be the smartest guys in the movie, yet it does not show at all, they are like the side dish. It is a beautiful visual mess. if i had millions of dollars, i could write that type of incoherent mess too. It was not a bad movie but is it too much to ask for at least a story that makes sense. Too much noise and no music. Expand
  10. BrentL
    Jul 8, 2009
    5
    What was good about the movie, they did really well. To bad everything else sucked. The movie jumped around too much in the beginning, the comedy protions lasted too long, and parts of the movie were there for no reason. They cursed just to curse, no rhyme or reason behind it, purely for cheep laughs. Slow mo running like baywatch in a childs movie, not that its the worse thing in the What was good about the movie, they did really well. To bad everything else sucked. The movie jumped around too much in the beginning, the comedy protions lasted too long, and parts of the movie were there for no reason. They cursed just to curse, no rhyme or reason behind it, purely for cheep laughs. Slow mo running like baywatch in a childs movie, not that its the worse thing in the world, but simply misplaced. The first two minutes of comedy is great and truly funny, but then it lasts another eight annoying minutes which completely overshadows the first two. They spend way too much time trying to make people laugh, and not enough perfecting the storyline. the plot is well done, but out of no where they jump from autobots to predacons to humans with terrible transitions. The movie is terrible until u get to the point where megatron fights prime, if u can watch from that point and skip the rest. if it wasnt for the later part of the movie , it would be a zero, and im a huge transformers fan. overall, the movie speeds threw parts which should be given more attention, and gives way too much time to parts that should last a minute or two Expand
  11. tonyc
    Aug 9, 2009
    6
    Though it fails in a few key ways, the incredible filmmaking that goes into it, like Bay's great directing skills, make it stand out as oscar-worthy next to pieces of poop like Wolverine or G.I. Joe, by people who can't film action to save their souls.
  12. LukeD.
    Oct 27, 2009
    4
    Transformers 2 has a great opening and special effects and its entertaing for a while but there are far too many flaws with a lame plot, terrible gags and far too long. its metal banging for 2 1/2 hours.
  13. Marc.D.
    Jun 24, 2009
    6
    It's loud, dumb and much too long. Strangely enough, Strangely enough, the formula behind Bay's best film (the first Transformers film) has proven to be a misfire for the sequel. Once all the horny teens realise that this is just soft core Megan Fox porn...they'll realise just how shallow this film really is.
  14. TrevorS
    Jun 25, 2009
    6
    Starts out strong, very strong. The first hour and a half of the movie I almost laughed at myself for doubting this movie, then the point all the raters made came out. This movie has AMAZING special effects, with perfectly created fights that left me with goosebumps, however, that just wasn't enough. It is a long movie ((close to three hours I believe)) and it hits a very stagnant Starts out strong, very strong. The first hour and a half of the movie I almost laughed at myself for doubting this movie, then the point all the raters made came out. This movie has AMAZING special effects, with perfectly created fights that left me with goosebumps, however, that just wasn't enough. It is a long movie ((close to three hours I believe)) and it hits a very stagnant point about half way through. The acting, other than LeBeouf, is stale and lazy. I would recommend this movie if you're a fan of stylized fighting sequences, such as some DBZ type stuff. If that doesn't interest you, don't waste the time or money Expand
  15. AlexP
    Jun 25, 2009
    6
    Mindbogglingly Visceral; Dumb; Too much humping.
  16. PeterS
    Jun 26, 2009
    4
    It's Ok...assuming you don't think about what you're seeing.
  17. TylerB.
    Jun 26, 2009
    5
    I wanted this movie to be so good but I came out so disappointed. The first 45 minutes isnt hardly any robots and more like a national lampoon movie complete about 50 different sexual jokes that only a 13 year old would find amusing. The robots are again pushed to the back of the movie even though clearly it is called Transformers not Humans: with special guest cameos by transformers. The I wanted this movie to be so good but I came out so disappointed. The first 45 minutes isnt hardly any robots and more like a national lampoon movie complete about 50 different sexual jokes that only a 13 year old would find amusing. The robots are again pushed to the back of the movie even though clearly it is called Transformers not Humans: with special guest cameos by transformers. The movie starts to get good and takes a serious turn when it will be ruined by another fart joke or silly robot. How are hyper evolved robots so goofy? The few action scenes that had transformers were good but sadly the dialogue for the robots is still crappy except for Peter Cullen and Hugo Weaving. Expand
  18. SeanZ.
    Jun 27, 2009
    4
    As one can see from the user votes the only people who will find this movie fulfilling are straight guys with a hard-on for Megan Fox and kids under the age of 16. Absolutely no substance. Slightly entertaining. Will not see it again.
  19. petepeters
    Jun 29, 2009
    4
    The first one was great. it baited you up. my grand daughter loved it. so did my wife and i,it pretty much destroyed and demoralized the transformers for us. it must be hard to keep things clean.
  20. EnzoP.
    Jul 1, 2009
    5
    Transformers 2 is a action packed entertaining movie but it has problems. For instance the plot and the script is very poor, and the acting is not that good. Micheal Bay shouldn't of made the sequel, the first one is a handful better.
  21. ChrisL
    Jul 1, 2009
    4
    ok, i really do have so much to say about this movie, i honestly do, but it can all be summed up on this site
    http://movies.yahoo.com/feature/smg-transformers-10-questions.html
    honestly, its everything i already thought about the movie, plus a few more things. there were inconsistencies with the first movie (bumblebee CANT TALK again??? the robots were revealed by the national defense
    ok, i really do have so much to say about this movie, i honestly do, but it can all be summed up on this site
    http://movies.yahoo.com/feature/smg-transformers-10-questions.html
    honestly, its everything i already thought about the movie, plus a few more things. there were inconsistencies with the first movie (bumblebee CANT TALK again??? the robots were revealed by the national defense guy on television, and now they're a secret again??? WHAT?) and inconsistencies within the movie's own plot (why oh WHY did he need to go halfway across the world to revive optimus?? look in mikaela's purse!!!)

    sigh... i hope i'm allowed to put the link up, it's yahoo's burning questions, legit page. i had a friend who loved the movie, i showed him this page, and he rethought it after reading the burning questions
    Expand
  22. TriciaO.
    Jul 13, 2009
    5
    Overall the movie was good. However, I think it's sad that the writers felt the need to use such profanity. This is a movie truly solicited towards kids, and I teach my kid right from wrong, but this was over the top. There were so many alternatives that could of been used and these Transformers would of be funnier. Using profanity in the manner in which they did, just was not funny. Overall the movie was good. However, I think it's sad that the writers felt the need to use such profanity. This is a movie truly solicited towards kids, and I teach my kid right from wrong, but this was over the top. There were so many alternatives that could of been used and these Transformers would of be funnier. Using profanity in the manner in which they did, just was not funny. Boo to the writers on this one. Expand
  23. RobD
    Jul 1, 2009
    4
    Waaaaay to long for such a mediocre story and poor character development. Much worse than the first installment with the sole exception of the action. Most every character was a stereotype used for cheap laughs and had 0 depth. I'm not just talking about the racist "Sambo" robot caricatures either. Jewish guy who lives with his mom and works in a deli, Italian stool pigeon robot,Waaaaay to long for such a mediocre story and poor character development. Much worse than the first installment with the sole exception of the action. Most every character was a stereotype used for cheap laughs and had 0 depth. I'm not just talking about the racist "Sambo" robot caricatures either. Jewish guy who lives with his mom and works in a deli, Italian stool pigeon robot, every girl wears short skirts and is an object of pleasure. What disturbs me the most is the unnecessary swearing thrown in to appease low brow intellect and the amount of small children in the theater. If you are 13 or under or have the mentality of the same age group, you will love this movie. I wasn't going in expecting "Gone With the Wind," but I wanted to laugh, see robot destruction, and be entertained. 1 out of 3 ain't bad I guess. Expand
  24. RowanF
    Jul 18, 2009
    6
    Not that bad actualy: I read the reveiws on here before i saw it and thought 'oh god, i'm in for a peice of crap' but it wasn't realy that bad... OK so the plotline was a little thin, the sections which portray Sam's social life are DREADFUL and you'll find it hard to give a flying monkey shit about his girlfreind, and in a few of the fight scenes you simply Not that bad actualy: I read the reveiws on here before i saw it and thought 'oh god, i'm in for a peice of crap' but it wasn't realy that bad... OK so the plotline was a little thin, the sections which portray Sam's social life are DREADFUL and you'll find it hard to give a flying monkey shit about his girlfreind, and in a few of the fight scenes you simply CANNOT tell whats going on, but aside from this it remained a fairly fun outing. The special effects were phenomenal and make up for the fairly poor acting, and a few of the fight scenes do truly look awsome - what better to see than giant robots tearing each other's heads off? Overall it's naff and far from deep and moving, but probably jsut about worth spending a fiver to see the awsome robot fights on the big screen, but almost definately not worth getting on DVD. Expand
  25. NickT
    Jul 1, 2009
    5
    The special effects for this movie were incredible, but the story completely killed it. in the first movie, the basic story is: There are robots, both good and bad. There's a cube called the allspark and we need to stop the bad robots from getting it. In this movie, the plot is so convoluted i could barely understand what was happening. There's a piece of the all spark that sam The special effects for this movie were incredible, but the story completely killed it. in the first movie, the basic story is: There are robots, both good and bad. There's a cube called the allspark and we need to stop the bad robots from getting it. In this movie, the plot is so convoluted i could barely understand what was happening. There's a piece of the all spark that sam has, then there's another one in a big super secret safe and then there's this other thing trapped in a cell made of transformer carcasses that does basically the same thing as the all spark and sam needs to get it before the bad robots destroy the great pyramid to unleash a machine to destroy our sun. i mean, WHAT?? In addition, the dialogue is laughable at times (along with the acting by a certain Megan Fox). When Megatron has a conversation with The Fallen, it comes off as a bad darth vader/emperor thing with the fallen referring to him as "My apprentice." Another thing that sealed the deal was that they tried too hard to make the robots funny. There are two robots that follow sam & company around for the whole film simply as "Comic relief." That'd be fine, IF THEY WERE FUNNY!! They come off to me as the jar jar binks of transformers. annyoing, stupid, and just plain unnecessary. This crit, (though it may be viewed as a plus for some) has to do with megan fox. The movie was a megan fox fest. From the first time she's on screen till when the credits roll, she's there to serve one purpose: To make the men drool. There's a shot in the final battle of Shia and Megan running through the smoke and flames in slow motion. There was no need for slow motion, except to make megan fox jiggle. (Not to mention her acting sucks so terribly). In conclusion, I think transformers overcomplicated itself and should have stuck with a simpler more straight forward storyline. The special effects are fantastic and nearly worth the price of admission alone, but no matter how great they are, they need a plot to stand on. And transformers just doesn't have one. Expand
  26. AdrianF
    Jul 2, 2009
    4
    It's sooo long, boring... so much noise, after that I was deaf... the acting was not incredible... but some scenes were very funny, entertaining... I liked the effects, were awesome! It's just OK if want to spend money for a pain of coccyx.
  27. MartinS
    Jul 3, 2009
    5
    I give it 5 for special effects. I'm not sure who is the demographic for this picture. Clearly the major appeal will be to teenagers and preteens but the language and Megan Fox crotch-shots pretty much eliminate any kids under 12. As an actress, Ms. Fox will make a fine playboy centerfold. Anybody who's already been through puberty can skip this one.
  28. BradM
    Jul 3, 2009
    6
    Didn't exactly hate it. Some holes in the plot. Action was incredible. Length of the movie became a issue.
  29. PedroM
    Jul 3, 2009
    6
    Too much expectation,for a movie that does not inovate form the last one...The last 30Minutes makes everyone headache.
  30. BitBurn
    Jul 4, 2009
    6
    Meh, the excitement is not there anymore. Plus this one is way more childish than the first one with lots of CGI, effects, weak storyline.
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 32
  2. Negative: 16 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Nick De Semlyen
    60
    A super-sized second helping, but the novelty factor and some of the charm’s gone. Hey, at least there's more Megatron / Starscream squabbling this time round.
  2. With its intelligence at the level of the simple-minded, however, the film is not likely to attract moviegoers who seek something more than a screen filled with kaleidoscopes of colored metal. Fan boys will no doubt love it, but for the uninitiated it's loud, tedious and, at 147 minutes, way too long.
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    60
    Little seems new compared to the first installment, except that this version is longer, louder, and perhaps "more than your eye can meet" in one sitting.