Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1243 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the highly-anticipated Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, debuting June 24, 2009, Sam Witwicky again joins with the Autobots® against their sworn enemies, the Decepticons®. (Paramount Pictures)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 32
  2. Negative: 16 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    75
    A well-oiled, loudly revving summer action vehicle that does all that's required, and then some, within the confines of PG-13: It cracks genitalia jokes, messes around with toys and blows stuff up.
  2. 63
    At least the special effects in Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen are remarkable: You never tire of the endless variations of robots Bay and his computer-generated effects crew come up with.
  3. With its intelligence at the level of the simple-minded, however, the film is not likely to attract moviegoers who seek something more than a screen filled with kaleidoscopes of colored metal. Fan boys will no doubt love it, but for the uninitiated it's loud, tedious and, at 147 minutes, way too long.
  4. 38
    The storyline is so infantile that it will appeal to young kids.
  5. Fox's cleavage is the only camera object that catches Bay's attention for more than a millisecond.
  6. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    30
    Much of Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is simply despicable.
  7. 0
    Transformers 2 has a shot at the title Worst Movie of the Decade.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. KostasM
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    A blast from start to finish. Intense, brutal, massive, lasting mech batles with outstanding sound audio and video effects that build upon it's predecessor. A must-see for any transformers' geek and a pretty entertaining movie for any other kind of geek or action movie fans. Expand
  2. Nickr
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Insane, not as pleasing as the first but still action packed. I HAVE NO IDEA WERE THESE CRITICS HAVE THE GULL TO PUT DOWN THIS MOVIE. Overall i thought it was good and definitely looking forward to a third if that is the plans. Good job to Bay for me. Collapse
  3. LockonS.
    May 3, 2010
    9
    Honestly, If it weren't for the Mechanical details of the robots, I have not even bothered to watch after seeing the first movie, which was really boring, but after watching this sequel, it made me take back what I said. Expand
  4. Ross
    Jun 27, 2009
    6
    Ok, I love the original show of Transformers. It was great! So I know my history for the movie. Most of the fights were really good. The scene with Sidewinder at the beginning is sick! That being said, the story was annoying. I realize that their has to be a plot, but I really hated seeing the whole stupid college thing. Almost every joke in the movie was sexual. And the Constructicons were a major disappointment! All in all it was an alright movie. Its good for seeing once or twice. Don't expect to see many familiar Autobots and Decepticons if you are a fanboy. Only a couple of them show up. Good action, bad story. Not the best movie. Altough I have to say there were two or three moments where I looked over at my friend and both our jaws dropped. Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2013
    3
    This is an embarrassing script for all Transformer fans. The film looks good with its big budget, but by the end of this film you just don't care about anything. Expand
  6. JerrelA
    Jun 29, 2009
    2
    I couldn't wait to see this movie. What a letdown! I am not one to walk out on movies, but I nearly did several times on this one. They could have done so much better than sex jokes, come on, what did the dog "dominating" the other one have to do with the movie? It's Transformers for crying out loud, giant robots, and this is the best the script team could do? I will say in it's favor, hence the two stars, that they do the visual effects very well. At the end of the movie though, I felt like the character on the pyramid, "under the scrotum" of the shmucks that wrote the script. Very disappointing! Expand
  7. SimonW.
    Jun 24, 2009
    0
    Boring, too long, too loud, too much BAY! Someone please tell Speilberg to drop this guy, I was under the impression Speilberg was a story teller, but Michael Bay has no clue how to tell a story. Worst film of the year and racist with it. Expand

See all 670 User Reviews