Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 3, 2007
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1162 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
749
Mixed:
218
Negative:
195
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
VTJul 2, 2007
Unbelievable! Exceeded all expectations! Thrilling, sad, funny, exciting all in one. This one is for old fan and new to be fan!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JoshO.Jan 9, 2008
Transformers is a fun, action packed popcorn flick with excellent visual effects and great comedic pacing, but is flawed with a generic script that lacks a serious tone as well as certain complexities that it should
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MichaelU.Feb 9, 2008
I think this was a pretty good movie, but i think they should have focused more on the transformers and less on the humans. About 70% of the movie was all about the humans, I mean, come on! Its called transformers, not people. For this I I think this was a pretty good movie, but i think they should have focused more on the transformers and less on the humans. About 70% of the movie was all about the humans, I mean, come on! Its called transformers, not people. For this I rate it a 7 and not a 9 or 10 which it could have got if showed more interesting content. I also didn't like all of the sexual content. Transformers is a kid thing, so I hate to see it turn into a PG-13 movie. Hopefully Transformers 2 won't be so bad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BangellApr 21, 2008
From the very first speech, it was corny as hell. "Ooh, save the world from the evil robot!" And megatron, cybertron and all this other crap was just ridiculous. However, the film blended action and humour to make a great watch. It actually From the very first speech, it was corny as hell. "Ooh, save the world from the evil robot!" And megatron, cybertron and all this other crap was just ridiculous. However, the film blended action and humour to make a great watch. It actually made me laugh out loud, especially the scene in the fat computer hacker's house. The action was fast and exciting, showing the US military as well as giant frickin robots engaging each other. It was kinda obvious from the start what was going on - the "sound" wasn't really mysterious or anything. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
fredbobJul 16, 2007
i put this at about a 9.5 but for this review i will give it a 10. This is a must see movie. Its very entertaining and has great actors and actresses. Its one of my favorite movies of the year
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JagFeb 25, 2008
This is a fun action movie. Its nothing spacial but I should keep you entertained from start to finish. The acting wasn't bad. Shia Labouff's part was acted very well. This movie shows that he is good for more than just comedy. This is a fun action movie. Its nothing spacial but I should keep you entertained from start to finish. The acting wasn't bad. Shia Labouff's part was acted very well. This movie shows that he is good for more than just comedy. This does have a descent story but what truly makes this movie enjoyable is the action. Its character development was not perfect but that doesn't mean its bad. It was tolerable it was actually quite easy to bare. Transformations look quite good and safistacated. Infact they were so good that I wanted to rewatch the movie and put it in slow mo just to see those transformations. Its understandable why some people don't like this movie. IF you don't like action than you would hate it. But for those of you who are action fans and you want to see somthing get blown up this movie is a must see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
MarcD.Jun 28, 2007
It's really flashy and the action is non-stop...trademark Bay. But...the shots are too chaotic and the similar design of the Decepticons makes it hard to make out what is going on in the film at times. Instead of resulting in a It's really flashy and the action is non-stop...trademark Bay. But...the shots are too chaotic and the similar design of the Decepticons makes it hard to make out what is going on in the film at times. Instead of resulting in a heightened sense of excitement...it merely induces a serious headache. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FrankD.Jul 16, 2007
i guess it's cool to be a hater in '07? guess we can't all be autobots...prime would be disappointed in you guys
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
choomtabi31Jan 27, 2016
This is a must have movie for any movie collector or watcher. It will totally keep you on the edge of your seat and its a great movie with a great plot.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-260-Transformers-online-free
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
BenS.Nov 7, 2007
I saw transformers in an Imax theatre, which made the special effects extra special though your neck gets tired of looking back and forth. The movie was relative to the cartoon back in the day but it wasn't completely true to it's I saw transformers in an Imax theatre, which made the special effects extra special though your neck gets tired of looking back and forth. The movie was relative to the cartoon back in the day but it wasn't completely true to it's roots in a few ways. The original Transformers came out before the internet was invented and in the movie, the alien robots said they used it to get all the information about earth. Shia Labeouf's charector was tracked down through ebay so i'm sure it's not the same plot though I don't remember what the plot was. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful
7
grandpajoe6191Sep 18, 2011
Michael Bay's Blockbuster "Transformers" has everything lock-n-loaded for the summer year; sexy chicks, transforming CGI vehicles, and explosions!!!
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Sep 5, 2011
This live-action adaptation of the TV shows and the toy franchise tells the story about the battle between the autobots and the decepticons as they search for the AllSpark, a device so powerful that can turn mechanics into robots. When itThis live-action adaptation of the TV shows and the toy franchise tells the story about the battle between the autobots and the decepticons as they search for the AllSpark, a device so powerful that can turn mechanics into robots. When it lands on earth, Optimus Prime and the other autobots meet a boy named Sam Witwicky and seeks his help along with his girlfriend Mikaela to find the AllSpark and put an end to the decepticons once and for all.

I saw the trailers for this movie, but I have missed my chances of seeing it in theaters. So, I waited to get it on DVD and viola! I now have the movie and I was excited when it met my expectations.

Michael Bay did really well on his directing and the storyline was well-paced together. The cinematography and casting were great, even Shia Lebeouf and Megan Fox's performances were so good and they make a great screen couple. The Witwicky parents weren't given enough screen time, but I think they did pretty well with their comedic moments. The actors that voiced the autobots and the decepticons turned out to be great and they are just like the ones from the TV shows.

The humor was so hilarious, and the best humor part was the pee joke which I really laughed during the movie.

The action scenes were very darn good. I think that Michael Bay was a fan of action scenes from the TV show and did very well at shooting them just to make it look real.

The CGI effects from the Industrial Light and Magic company was that good and it fits well for the action sequences.

The music score was riveting and very cool and it gave some emotion in the whole movie.

I am going to point that there aren't any negative things to say about this movie and the 57% rating is a little bit low for my expectations, so I'm going to give this pretty much a higher rating.

4.5/5 stars
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
RH.Feb 3, 2008
Pure escapism, total in-your-face intense action from beginning to end. It is a fantastic movie because it makes you feel like a child with a new toy again.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
OptimusPrimeNov 18, 2007
Mr. Tea, your IQ's dropping steadily because you rated this film so low! I saw this 2 times and the second time it was as action-packed, entertaining and thrilling as the first time (which by the way was amazing)! Everything you would Mr. Tea, your IQ's dropping steadily because you rated this film so low! I saw this 2 times and the second time it was as action-packed, entertaining and thrilling as the first time (which by the way was amazing)! Everything you would want in a movie Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful
8
MorganFAug 23, 2008
Full of semi-confusing action sequences, a down-to-earth lead, and surprisingly funny. Transformers is one of the most entertaining movies I've seen in a while.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
FerdbutBMay 2, 2009
Transformers is good movie with amazing special effects and a good cast. I wish the fight between optimus prime and megatron was better thought but, overall good movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
AnthonyF.Jul 16, 2009
This is a film made by Michael Bay for Michael Bay and does nothing but please people like Michael Bay. Fans will go wild for the robots and action lovers will melt over the dazzling visuals and action scenes. If there is anything wrong with This is a film made by Michael Bay for Michael Bay and does nothing but please people like Michael Bay. Fans will go wild for the robots and action lovers will melt over the dazzling visuals and action scenes. If there is anything wrong with this picture is the fact that it runs a half hour too long and grows rather mindless near the end. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
FatManJul 3, 2007
Absolutely stunning. A real boy's movie - big boys toys, action, and sexy graphics all through it.
2 of 5 users found this helpful
9
ThomasL.Aug 6, 2007
Anyone who is trashing the movie is a pompous ass with a stick shoved up there. Geez why can't some people just kick back and have a good time? This was one of the best times I have ever had in a movie theater. This is what summer Anyone who is trashing the movie is a pompous ass with a stick shoved up there. Geez why can't some people just kick back and have a good time? This was one of the best times I have ever had in a movie theater. This is what summer movies are all about!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MichaelJ.Mar 8, 2008
All I can say is awesome, totally awesome!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MartinP.Mar 8, 2008
This is a real action movie! This is the type of movie for anyone who loves action movies. Transformers fans, you are bound to love this cuz I know I did!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrentDJun 29, 2007
This movie is sheer fun. The theater erupted everytime a new Transformer was introduced or an epic battle completed. By far, this movie has the best CGI of all time. Watched the pre-screening, now can't wait for it to arrive in theaters This movie is sheer fun. The theater erupted everytime a new Transformer was introduced or an epic battle completed. By far, this movie has the best CGI of all time. Watched the pre-screening, now can't wait for it to arrive in theaters to see it again. INCREDIBLE! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jan 3, 2008
Growing up, I loved the "Transformers" cartoons. So, when the theatres started showing trailers for this film, I got very excited. After all, what guy doesn't want to see a movie where robots kick each other's butts? The dialogue Growing up, I loved the "Transformers" cartoons. So, when the theatres started showing trailers for this film, I got very excited. After all, what guy doesn't want to see a movie where robots kick each other's butts? The dialogue was a bit on the chessy side, but, come on, who goes to see a summer action flick and expects Shakespeare-level dialogue? The visual effects in this movie were amazing. Shia LaBeouf gives the best performance of his career, but, that's not saying much. The rest of the cast are absolutely perfect. I just have one thing to say about Megan Fox: Schwing!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MikeP.Feb 20, 2008
This movie has it all, comedy, action some romance and it all blends well together, this movie is great!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesCoolMar 8, 2008
Just like my last name, this movie is cool!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MarioS.Apr 15, 2008
Absolutely amazing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FreddyAMar 25, 2009
For all people that gave it less than 7 you guys are the most idiotic people in the world. This movie had everthing romance, comedy, action and the best cast crew you could think of. This movie even made me cry: the part when they took For all people that gave it less than 7 you guys are the most idiotic people in the world. This movie had everthing romance, comedy, action and the best cast crew you could think of. This movie even made me cry: the part when they took BumbleBee away from Sam Whitwicky. I absouletly loved "Transformers" best movie. Hope they make a part 2. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JuniorW.Nov 14, 2007
Year life transformers. Best 80's to current time movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BooDiddyJun 28, 2007
Yeah was pretty good. Much better than I thought it would be. Certainly much better than Bayes prior stuff.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TomasJun 29, 2007
I must say this is one of the biggest blockbusters this year Nothing can be compared with this masterpiece created for fun and such excitement Michael Bay made a great job with this Exact measure of comedy action SFX effects I dont know I must say this is one of the biggest blockbusters this year Nothing can be compared with this masterpiece created for fun and such excitement Michael Bay made a great job with this Exact measure of comedy action SFX effects I dont know American cinematography should be proud with this also this one of the spielberg's childs so its worth every cent Watch it u wont regret it Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KyleTMar 12, 2008
Aside from the boring first half of the movie and the human cast that we don't really care about, Transformers is shown exactly the way it should be. This is the definitive moment in Transformers history, and it is no doubt the most fun Aside from the boring first half of the movie and the human cast that we don't really care about, Transformers is shown exactly the way it should be. This is the definitive moment in Transformers history, and it is no doubt the most fun movie to watch in 2007. Hopefully, Bay makes TF 2better, though. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
KurtC.Jul 13, 2008
This is a film not to be missed. It has lots of transformin' action. Great fight scenes and special effects.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BrendanE.Mar 15, 2009
This movie, starring Shia Labeouf and Megan Fox, might be one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. Partially because, come on, it has Megan Fox in it. The combination of the special effects, a good, realistic plot, and great acting is This movie, starring Shia Labeouf and Megan Fox, might be one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. Partially because, come on, it has Megan Fox in it. The combination of the special effects, a good, realistic plot, and great acting is one of the reasons for over $708 million in the box offices alone. Shia Labeouf plays a teenager who has just gotten his first car, which is a piece of crap. Little did he know that the car was really a highly sophisticated alien robot. The car was not alone, however, and soon the movie becomes a quintessential battle between good and evil. This intertwines the fates of Fox, and Labeouf. The battle includes multiple twists and just when you think you know how it is going to end, something happens that you didn't expect. I would definetly recommend this movie to people who enjoy action, and Megan Fox . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BillB.Nov 20, 2007
I don't know why this movie got any bad ratings. the effects were groundbreaking, it was funny, and of course it was more than meets the eye.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
QuentinW.Nov 29, 2007
If I could vote 11 I would. This move brought life to the Transformers to which I held so dear. I cried the precise moment Jazz died. This movie made me seriously consider Chevy and of course I already like Mountain Dew. I'll love you If I could vote 11 I would. This move brought life to the Transformers to which I held so dear. I cried the precise moment Jazz died. This movie made me seriously consider Chevy and of course I already like Mountain Dew. I'll love you always Transformers movie, Michael Bay you rock! I can't wait for the high-def version so I can watch it every day for the rest of my life. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EdwardC.Nov 30, 2007
Transformers is a crisp, focussed, interesting, intense awsome action/sci-fi movie with a touch of humor. This movie is very good, the script is flawless, but the direction is amazing, director Michael bay is totally fit for this concept, Transformers is a crisp, focussed, interesting, intense awsome action/sci-fi movie with a touch of humor. This movie is very good, the script is flawless, but the direction is amazing, director Michael bay is totally fit for this concept, and Steven Spielberg, well he sure still does know how to make a good movie. The best movie of the year by far. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LanceUppercutJun 29, 2007
Excellent movie. First movie this year that has lived up to its high expectations. Couldn't be more happier with the CGI.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CassandraA.Aug 19, 2008
Psh.. For those of you who thought this movie sucked I'm VERY surprised! It had its action/humor In it. Megan fox IS hot As well as Shia Labeouf I thought the actors were Great! It made perfect sense there wasn't a time where you Psh.. For those of you who thought this movie sucked I'm VERY surprised! It had its action/humor In it. Megan fox IS hot As well as Shia Labeouf I thought the actors were Great! It made perfect sense there wasn't a time where you were confused!!! Shia Is such an amazing actor im IN love with his humor and his movies!!! I give transformers a 10. Cant wait for part 2 to come out!!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
BrendanE.Mar 15, 2009
This movie, starring Shia Labeouf and Megan Fox, might be one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. Partially because, come on, it has Megan Fox in it. The combination of the special effects, a good, realistic plot, and great acting is This movie, starring Shia Labeouf and Megan Fox, might be one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. Partially because, come on, it has Megan Fox in it. The combination of the special effects, a good, realistic plot, and great acting is one of the reasons for over $708 million in the box offices alone. Shia Labeouf plays a teenager who has just gotten his first car, which is a piece of crap. Little did he know that the car was really a highly sophisticated alien robot. The car was not alone, however, and soon the movie becomes a quintessential battle between good and evil. This intertwines the fates of Fox, and Labeouf. The battle includes multiple twists and just when you think you know how it is going to end, something happens that you didn't expect. I would definetly recommend this movie to people who enjoy action, and Megan Fox . Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZyreneVApr 21, 2009
very nice movie...i wish trere will be Transformers 2.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AdrianS.Jun 24, 2009
It's amazing! on VFX, the Story, everything! You have to give it a shot... don't be narrow-minded.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
RobertM.Aug 25, 2009
Being a fan of the original cartoon (Generation1), I just can't hate on this movie as much as others try to influence me to. I felt it was a great adaptation of the series into film. I also enjoyed Bay's vision of what the Being a fan of the original cartoon (Generation1), I just can't hate on this movie as much as others try to influence me to. I felt it was a great adaptation of the series into film. I also enjoyed Bay's vision of what the Transformers should've been. Most of all I enjoyed the fact that I it made me a diehard fan all over again. If I had to complain about anything, was the lack of the Porsche for Jazz and Megatron and Starscream not having such a critical and deep role in the movies. The cartoons were awesome at making us emotionally attached the Autobots and decepticons. The only ones I felt that way about were Bumbole Bee and Prime. Superb effort on this flick though! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
ReconAug 12, 2010
Special Effects 9/10, Action 9/10, Score 10/10, Cinematography 9/10, Sound Design 9/10, Film Design 9/10, Characters 7/10, Acting 7/10, Story 7/10, Humor 7/10, Pacing 6/10,
Basically it depends what your looking for, if you are a teen or
Special Effects 9/10, Action 9/10, Score 10/10, Cinematography 9/10, Sound Design 9/10, Film Design 9/10, Characters 7/10, Acting 7/10, Story 7/10, Humor 7/10, Pacing 6/10,
Basically it depends what your looking for, if you are a teen or want a really stylised action film you will probably love it, if you are an adult and want a deep sci-fi story you will probably hate it. The best scenes are 10/10 the worst scenes are 4/10, under no circumstances should you believe anyone that gives this film a score in the red, there are several films I absolutely hate but I rate them fairly for its audience. People that are giving this lower than 6 seem to be very bitter people in general. Not only that but they probably believe that District 9 has a very good story when infact its just a bunch of semi-suggestive anti apartheid images superimposed over some terrible jokes.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Mar 21, 2011
This is the movie that introduced me to the amazing world of Transformers. Awesome action scenes and a great sci-fi movie overall. Thank you Michael Bay!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MegWhiteleyMar 30, 2012
Wow, amazing movie, really, when I watch the trailer of Transformers I think in two things: The first: Amazing effects, with an amazing story. The second: Other old cartoon to appear in the big screen, and the good part is some of the first.Wow, amazing movie, really, when I watch the trailer of Transformers I think in two things: The first: Amazing effects, with an amazing story. The second: Other old cartoon to appear in the big screen, and the good part is some of the first. The autobots and decepticons are awesome, have much details, and all this explosions, and battles are epic, the characters be good, but some irritant [yes Sam]. The story is really good, not excellent, is good, have some interesting moments. But the rest is normal, any new. Transformers is a good movie, the better of this saga. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MovieReviewsJun 27, 2014
Nothing to expect from a blockbuster summer movie that people are ups and arms about, except some fun action sequences, with visuals, a feast for your eyes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
GentM2015Jun 17, 2015
Transformers is a fun explosions movie.Autobots have never been more likable and the humans for once they seem to work here.I like Sam,and Shia's portrayal of him was awesome.Everything looked amazing with the visuals and while sometimes itTransformers is a fun explosions movie.Autobots have never been more likable and the humans for once they seem to work here.I like Sam,and Shia's portrayal of him was awesome.Everything looked amazing with the visuals and while sometimes it does get a little to noisy it still works. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ChazG.Jul 8, 2007
If you are looking for a real simple story line amazingly executed. Here you go... The computer generated imagery is phenominal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LouieA.Jul 2, 2007
Awesome! Never thought it could be made into film. Makes 40-ish adults like me drool like a pockmarked kid. The viewers applauded after the screening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShaneT.Jul 3, 2007
This had the perfect mix of theme, feel, and dialogue of the oldschool show, and the action, pace, humor, and effects of todays big-budget movies. For me this movie was perfect in what it was; a movie about giant robots coming to earth and This had the perfect mix of theme, feel, and dialogue of the oldschool show, and the action, pace, humor, and effects of todays big-budget movies. For me this movie was perfect in what it was; a movie about giant robots coming to earth and dealing with humans while searching for the key to possibly rebuilding their home. Oh, and blowing a whole lot of stuff up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlfredM.Jul 4, 2007
A truly epic movie to be seen! One of the best movies of the year alongside the 300!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MFJul 4, 2007
A great flick for all, with good humor, a clear line between good guys and bad guys, awesome action sequences, and a feel good essence.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JArrJul 5, 2007
seriously - why do some of you rate this so low? 0, 3, 4? that's ridiculous. i wish i could meet some of you in the street so i could f***in bury you into the ground instead of you bad-mouthing this movie. maybe it's the little kid seriously - why do some of you rate this so low? 0, 3, 4? that's ridiculous. i wish i could meet some of you in the street so i could f***in bury you into the ground instead of you bad-mouthing this movie. maybe it's the little kid in me trying to defend what memories i cherish about this franchise, but for you people to say it's deserving of such a low score is stupid. some comments from users: "Since when is Optimus a Peterbuilt?" "This film is an Incredibly juvenile piece of garbage." "..a very, very, very bad movie."he ALWAYS has those stupid F**king 1 liners.. For example in this film "You shoot, i'll drive"." these are amongst a few. think about what you just wrote - one liners? well, let's see: you are a human trying to communicate with a robot from another world while in the middle of a gunfight. did you expect to hear a complete dissertation explaining what what the alien should do? or should she just drive and assume that the robot would know what she had in mind? i know it may have sounded kinda cheesy, but be a little more understanding to the situation. next - "juvenile piece of garbage?" whoever said this should be shot in the head. no SH*T. key word: juvenile. did you think the target demographic of this film would be the same as that of say The Godfather, Citizen Kane, Letter from Iwo Jima, Pretty Woman, or Eternal Sunshine? the point i'm trying to make is OBVIOUSLY Transformers was made with intent to draw in people who gave a damn about the series 20 years ago up until today, NOT for older people looking for real-life scenarios. take it as it is - a movie about robots in disguise. if your brain limits your acceptance of a creative idea such as robots changing into cars, then sorry - you're already off on the wrong foot. quote "bad acting...no plot" as i see so many people criticize Bay for his work, i wonder what kind of movie you people were expecting. no plot? good robots try to defend bad robots from taking over earth, and in doing so inadvertently involve a boy going through adolescent stages. COME ON WTF! you don't see the story? if you do a little bit of research, you'll also notice that Spike, in the original cartoon series, was also involved in a romantic affair so for you who disapprove of the love concept in the movie, this may have been a reason to include it. among other whines from users is product placement. seriously, if you were so busy looking for logos throughout the movie, you probably didn't want to see it to begin with and wanted to just pass time. do us all a favor and just shut your trap, keep your dumb comments to yourself, and just move along. so you saw "GMC" or "Pontiac." big deal, grow up. did it bother you that much that it ruined the movie? cry me a river. lastly for people complaining about what vehicles were used, i somewhat agree (ex. bumblebee not a bug), but you have to keep in mind that they were trying to blend in with times. honestly, i'm glad bumlebee wasn't a beetle because that whole car chase with him and barricade would have been weird (beetle vs mustang?). as for the others, optimus was a truck, jazz was a sportscar, (i guess, if you consider a solstice sporty?) and starscream was a plane. only possible gripe i can think of for this movie was megatron shouldn't be a plane and jazz should have been a better car. maybe my own comments on others may seem harsh, and for that i apologize, but i refuse to sit there and let a few bad user reports hinder other moviegoers from seeing this film, or let the rating drop considerably. everything about this flick deserves praise, regardless of your previous bias towards Bay. bottom line: no way should this movie be rated lower than a 7 (green = good on this site?). if you do, i'd like to know what kind of movies you DO approve of. constructive criticism should always be accepted, but saying a movie is completely worthless and not saying why doesn't do anything to help Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DamonR.Jul 5, 2007
If your hoping to see a thought provoking, soul stirring film...stay home. If you want to see a great summer blockbuster...then go see this movie. I am an old school transformer fan who was terrified of being let down. I was not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NukeF.Jul 5, 2007
It loses one point from me due to some of the lame humor (most notably the "urination" jokes). Regardless, this is the ultimate summer action flick, a slam-bang-crash parade of "WOW" moments that made me feel like a kid again. The CGI work It loses one point from me due to some of the lame humor (most notably the "urination" jokes). Regardless, this is the ultimate summer action flick, a slam-bang-crash parade of "WOW" moments that made me feel like a kid again. The CGI work is so convincing, I forgot it was CGI at all. It's the most fun I've had at the movies in a long, long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdamJul 6, 2007
This movie was amazing. The intensity in which Bay approached this film came through on the big screen. I find some of the negative comments on the internet about this film hilarious. Many people came out of this film saying none of the This movie was amazing. The intensity in which Bay approached this film came through on the big screen. I find some of the negative comments on the internet about this film hilarious. Many people came out of this film saying none of the characters had any progression and that it was a typical Michael Bay film. First of all, this is a movie about gigantic robots that turn into cars and smash/shoot/destroy everything around them -- where is the necessity for character progression? In addition, if this were anything less than a typical Bay film, I would've been disappointed. This movie was an action packed thrill ride that never disappointed. Shia and Megan's chemistry on set was amazing. Bay did a great job of addressing several different characters while managing to get across the storyline. Had this movie been any shorter, we would've been disappointed that he left things out. This movie lived up to every childhood expectation I ever had and I was pleased with the film as a whole. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WalterR.Jul 9, 2007
Not as bad as reviewed by the pros. It was very humorous (on purpose) throughout, and the storyline keeps with the fun of the original series. While the battle sequences are deadly serious, the characters are all part of the fun storyline Not as bad as reviewed by the pros. It was very humorous (on purpose) throughout, and the storyline keeps with the fun of the original series. While the battle sequences are deadly serious, the characters are all part of the fun storyline and no one takes themselves too seriously in this movie. I would recommend for fun, sit-back-and-enjoy-the-fireworks summer fare. Huge plus if you are old enough to remember the original series, as the characters are all fleshed out perfectly. Relax everyone...the movie wasn't written to earn an Oscar. It's just fun and very cool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ConnorH.Aug 30, 2007
It's big. It's loud. It's fun. Whats not to like?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimonM.Sep 3, 2007
Awsome movie, only complaint: TOO MANY HUMANS!! not enough focus on the Transformers and their inter personal stories. Hopefully they'll fix that in 2
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyW.Oct 24, 2007
I'm beginning to think that people have actually no opinions on this website and just try and go along with what critics say so they think they're right. form your own opinion! this movie was great. better than the more recent I'm beginning to think that people have actually no opinions on this website and just try and go along with what critics say so they think they're right. form your own opinion! this movie was great. better than the more recent spiderman sequel which was one of my least favorite movies of the summer. And thank you, megan fox. i love you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SamN.Jul 10, 2007
Oh. My. God. Transformers is the biggest and 2nd best movie Michael Bay has ever done (I'm partial to Armageddon). The screen is filled with awe-inspiring visuals and there is no lack of intense action to be had. Surprisingly, Oh. My. God. Transformers is the biggest and 2nd best movie Michael Bay has ever done (I'm partial to Armageddon). The screen is filled with awe-inspiring visuals and there is no lack of intense action to be had. Surprisingly, Transformers isn't just a 2 and a half hour action scene (unlike Live Free or Die hard). The acting and script are surprisingly solid, especially Labeouf's entertaining performance as Sam Witwicky. If there's anything not to like about the film, it's the occasionally balance issue. There are plenty of epic sequences in the film and plenty of humorous ones too (it's a very funny movie), but sometimes the scenes can intertwine, leading to some annoyances. It's kind of hard to find an epic feeling as Sam and his new girlfriend Mikaela (played by the stunning Megan Fox) marveling at the the sighting of Bumblebee in his robotic form when Sam is standing around with a shirt but not boxers. Still, it's a fantastic movie and should not be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
3000Jul 2, 2007
I haven't been that excited wathcing a movie in years. The film is amazing. This is what summer movies are all about!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcoA.Jul 2, 2007
I've seen it in Italy. It's so funny! Shia Le Beuf is a Dustin Hoffman type guy, perfectly in part. Cars, Mega robot, hot brainy chicks, jokes, fun dialogues: there's all you can expect from a blockbuster. After three boring I've seen it in Italy. It's so funny! Shia Le Beuf is a Dustin Hoffman type guy, perfectly in part. Cars, Mega robot, hot brainy chicks, jokes, fun dialogues: there's all you can expect from a blockbuster. After three boring sequels, finally the real summer hit. Marco Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
bitcloudJul 3, 2007
Perfect staging with amazing action driven by human drama that is delivered via a solid cast. Humor action special FX, and a perfect rendition of the Transformers to film. The best action movie I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DerekGJul 3, 2007
Worth every penny, and I'm going back tomorrow to see it again!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnU.Jul 3, 2007
Amazing Movie, everyone in the theater cheered through the whole movie, they cheered when optimus prime appeared, they cheered when megatron came alive, and they cheered wildly at the end
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
guyp.Jul 3, 2007
Wow! ...stupendous entertainment for the hot , hot summer break. I waited through 5 power outtages at my local imax to see this thing and it was worth the $12.00 ticket!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrendanC.Jul 3, 2007
This movie was unbelieveable! It was the best movie I've seen all year. It has great humour and so much action, but best ofd all, it has good acting! Special Effects were stunning and this is definatly a film you must got to see if you This movie was unbelieveable! It was the best movie I've seen all year. It has great humour and so much action, but best ofd all, it has good acting! Special Effects were stunning and this is definatly a film you must got to see if you 10 or older. Humour is a bit crude for anyone under 10, violence is a bit much for anyone under 10. 9.8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GregoryC.Jul 3, 2007
Saw the sneak preview last night and it was amazing. i was blown away from the beginning to the end. the whole crowd was into it and clapping the whole way through. great experience definitely go see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenM.Jul 3, 2007
looks great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffS.Jul 4, 2007
Took my 11 and 8 yr old boys to it with my wife. We all loved it, boys said it was the best movie they'd ever seen. My wife and I were surprised - we really liked it too. The actors seemed to be having a really good time making this Took my 11 and 8 yr old boys to it with my wife. We all loved it, boys said it was the best movie they'd ever seen. My wife and I were surprised - we really liked it too. The actors seemed to be having a really good time making this movie and there were some heartwarming moments, some good comedy, and most of all, non-stop action with some of the coolest CGI I've ever seen. I felt like I'd witnessed the next level of movie craft similarly to how I felt when I saw the Matrix for the first time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JasonVJul 4, 2007
I find it funny that the critics of publications such as The New York Times and The Onion can't seem to understand that the movie is targeted towards kids and teenage males. Either they were never fond of giant robots or they just I find it funny that the critics of publications such as The New York Times and The Onion can't seem to understand that the movie is targeted towards kids and teenage males. Either they were never fond of giant robots or they just forgot how to be a kid. A great movie all around. The cgi effects are worth the price of admission. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichelleJul 4, 2007
I thought it was awesome. The special effects were amazing. I grew up on the original transformers, so I thought it was ingenious how quickly and smoothly they transformed. I didn't like the sexual humor, which made me give it a 9 I thought it was awesome. The special effects were amazing. I grew up on the original transformers, so I thought it was ingenious how quickly and smoothly they transformed. I didn't like the sexual humor, which made me give it a 9 instead of a 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CodyLJul 4, 2007
It's a Michael Bay movie.....about fighting robots. Anybody who whines about it not having a plot went to see the wrong movie. Don't expect a compelling storyline or major character development. This isn't an art house flick. It's a Michael Bay movie.....about fighting robots. Anybody who whines about it not having a plot went to see the wrong movie. Don't expect a compelling storyline or major character development. This isn't an art house flick. It's giant robots destroying each other and everything in their wake. And it totally delivers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertB.Jul 5, 2007
LOVED it. I'm a fan grew up on the cartoon and toys but that doesn't change the fact that it was a fantastic movie. and i know someone will say ya "FANtastic" It had that absolute best CGI that is possible out there. it pushed LOVED it. I'm a fan grew up on the cartoon and toys but that doesn't change the fact that it was a fantastic movie. and i know someone will say ya "FANtastic" It had that absolute best CGI that is possible out there. it pushed ILM's computers etc to their absolute limits, nothing out there can even come close. HUGE explosions. great car chases ala normal Michael bay. it was funny, more then I expected. I personally think it's one of my new favourite movies. If your a fan you will LOVE IT! if your not a fan you will love it. you owe it to yourself to at least check it out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DrewFJul 5, 2007
It's really quite simple. If you grew up with the TRANSFORMERS, you are going to LOVE this movie. If you didn't you probably should go see something else. I loved it. "What this movie needs, though, is more Soundwave!"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexJul 5, 2007
downright awesome. definitely the best movie of the summer, at least so far. Transformers featured some of the most amazing CGI work i have ever seen, and every scene featuring the transformers looked incredible. there were a few low spots, downright awesome. definitely the best movie of the summer, at least so far. Transformers featured some of the most amazing CGI work i have ever seen, and every scene featuring the transformers looked incredible. there were a few low spots, but nothing terribly bad. I've never been a big fan of Shia Lebouf's movies, but in Transformers it seems like he's evolving from another faceless disney star into a more mature and interesting actor. although, for a 2.5 hour movie, there could have been a little more plot/character development from the movie, especially when it came to the Decepticons. they were pretty much just randomly introduced about 3/4 of the way through the movie, and then the big fight began. still, i would definitely go see it again, and cannot wait for the DVD. 9.0 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
tonydannieJul 6, 2007
My Favorite summer movie yet. Great fun. Great action. Michael Bay is slowly redeming himself in my opinion. The Island was good too... oh wait. That was the first movie he did away from Bruckheimer. and now Transformers with spielberg. My Favorite summer movie yet. Great fun. Great action. Michael Bay is slowly redeming himself in my opinion. The Island was good too... oh wait. That was the first movie he did away from Bruckheimer. and now Transformers with spielberg. Hmmm...makes you think a bit don't it? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
pedroGJul 6, 2007
the best movie i ever saw
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackBJul 6, 2007
great
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilpT.Jul 7, 2007
I loved the action scenes, but as a fan of the series I would have liked to see more relationship between Starscream and Megatron.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TheApocalypseJul 9, 2007
Anyone who give this movie less than a 6 is simply crazy. The plot was simple, easy to follow, and beyond a few minor annoyances entertaining to watch. The acting, again, other than a few odd sequences was also pretty damn good. The action, Anyone who give this movie less than a 6 is simply crazy. The plot was simple, easy to follow, and beyond a few minor annoyances entertaining to watch. The acting, again, other than a few odd sequences was also pretty damn good. The action, was borderline excessive, but it was also incredibly fun to experience, because in this movie it is definitely more of an experience than simply watching the film. In the end, this is one of the best action movies of the past 7 years and it is definitely worthy of the phrase "summer blockbuster", better than X-Men3 and Superman Returns by leaps and bounds. The whole GM thing is pretty damn ridiculous, meaning it is a ridiculous thing to be upset about. They are called Autobots, they transform into cars, no reason why we need 10 different company logo, just so some internet nerd won't have a conniption. Its called TRANSFORMERS, not William Shakespeare's Transformers, so go into it expecting a big, over the top loud, hell of a good time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JavierM.Jul 9, 2007
So much for movie critics huh? I believe that M. Knight Shamalan (however you spell his name) was right to kill a critic on his movie. Wow I wonder if these critics saw the same movie i saw. I have to say that it was it did not leave me So much for movie critics huh? I believe that M. Knight Shamalan (however you spell his name) was right to kill a critic on his movie. Wow I wonder if these critics saw the same movie i saw. I have to say that it was it did not leave me wanting. So what they did not give you a detailed background on each and every character. Since when do we go to a movie for a history channel special. Easy plot, good action, funny. I give this movie a 10 yes thats right a 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TimA.Aug 1, 2007
I think that people trashing this film are missing the point a bit. A movie based on a collection of toys from the eighties is never going to produce a screenplay that will rival the Godfather. It is meant to be a bit of mindless fun and I think that people trashing this film are missing the point a bit. A movie based on a collection of toys from the eighties is never going to produce a screenplay that will rival the Godfather. It is meant to be a bit of mindless fun and that is exactly what it is. If you let go a little bit and stop expecting it to be a masterpiece and instead treat it as entertainment you will enjoy it. The special effects are absolutely incredible and worth the ticket alone, there are also some surprisingly good moments of humour which dare i say i actually less predicatable than the tripe produced by the highly over rated simpsons movie. Transformers is meant to be simple fun and it is - as long as that is all you want it won't disappointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JesseOct 16, 2007
It's just fun! seriously.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
michealB.Oct 24, 2007
This is one of the coolest movies ever. Period. This SUPPOSED TO BE AN ACTION MOVIE and is one of the most bad ass ever made. Whoever says it isn't ,doesn't like action, and shouldn't comment on it at all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TammyCOct 6, 2007
Loved this movie, can't wait for the DVD. In fact I have it pre-ordered already
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TomP.Jun 30, 2007
I saw this movie 2 day ago (I'm living in Korea so it comes out sooner) and I thought it was pretty decent. As long as you are expecting SUPER corny lines and an almost 3 hour long flick, I think you'll enjoy the film. There were I saw this movie 2 day ago (I'm living in Korea so it comes out sooner) and I thought it was pretty decent. As long as you are expecting SUPER corny lines and an almost 3 hour long flick, I think you'll enjoy the film. There were also plenty of good one liners along with a great job by the frantic Shia LeBeouf. Also, not to forget the most important part, the visual effects were pretty damn amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlecT.Jun 30, 2007
Good fun, with only a couple of cringe-worthy sappy moments. The only major downside was the product placement, which was very much in your face. The Panasonic SD card and the GM cars being the standout examples. SPOILER: Golden moment - the Good fun, with only a couple of cringe-worthy sappy moments. The only major downside was the product placement, which was very much in your face. The Panasonic SD card and the GM cars being the standout examples. SPOILER: Golden moment - the All Spark hits a drink vending machine and turns it into a Decepticon that launches cans of soft drink from its weapon. Priceless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DecepticonPomJun 30, 2007
"Michael Bay in good movie shock!" I've dreamed of a this movie becoming a reality for 22 years. I'm still reeling from it coming from one of cinemas worst directors!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CliffP.Jul 1, 2007
No you will not receive any insights into the human condition or the universe watching Transformers, a movie about a toy franchise. What you do get is a profoundly entertaining summer popcorn movie, a cheesy and thoroughly preposterous No you will not receive any insights into the human condition or the universe watching Transformers, a movie about a toy franchise. What you do get is a profoundly entertaining summer popcorn movie, a cheesy and thoroughly preposterous smashup that also manages to be Michael Bay's first genuinely satisfying movie. And the special effects are just ludicrous to behold. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GAJul 10, 2007
I pretty much agree with everyone who gave this movie a 7. The people that were upset about the plot and basic storyline need to realize thats not the point of the movie. its a summer action flick. and i had fun (unlike watching spiderman 3).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkR.Jul 11, 2007
The only thing that I didn't liked was the action sequences, they lacked of detail and the whole thing was actually a big mess by the end. But in general it's a fun movie and to give it a comical approach it's what saves it The only thing that I didn't liked was the action sequences, they lacked of detail and the whole thing was actually a big mess by the end. But in general it's a fun movie and to give it a comical approach it's what saves it from disaster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KeeganPJul 12, 2007
It irritates me that people are so anxious to trash this movie because of the fact that Michael Bay directed it. It wasn't even cool to diss Michael Bay until South Park, and now every one loves to hate him because of the South Park It irritates me that people are so anxious to trash this movie because of the fact that Michael Bay directed it. It wasn't even cool to diss Michael Bay until South Park, and now every one loves to hate him because of the South Park precedent. Everyone should face the fact that mindlessly regurgitating opinions from South Park is the kind of mindlessness that South Park lampoons in every episode. I went to the movie not expecting much but finding that the movie actually had a soul that transcended being a built-to-order movie that would only please nerd devotees and actually became a film that was enjoyable because it played both to nostalgia (having grown up with transformers myself) and to enjoyability/ having a soul. Just because it is cool to trash a director doesn't mean that you can't at least watch the movie first before you get your opinions decided for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrettSJul 15, 2007
The best Michael Bay film yet. Exciting, great special effects and great touches of humor. We need more of these movies, a film I can takes my kids to see that is both for kids and adults. The box office receipts speak for themselves. The The best Michael Bay film yet. Exciting, great special effects and great touches of humor. We need more of these movies, a film I can takes my kids to see that is both for kids and adults. The box office receipts speak for themselves. The public loves it, critics hate it. Star Wars had the same problem in 1976. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelM.Jul 1, 2007
This movie is the GREATEST movie of all time! I cannot possibly watch a movie that lacks transformers of any sort after watching this MASTERPEICE! If you hated Transformers, this movie will convert you to a Transfan and then you will be This movie is the GREATEST movie of all time! I cannot possibly watch a movie that lacks transformers of any sort after watching this MASTERPEICE! If you hated Transformers, this movie will convert you to a Transfan and then you will be immersed into the purified awesomeness of this magnificent artwork that TOTALLY craps all over Star Wars, Harry Potter and LOTR and any other movie ever made and then kicks them in the family jewels so bloody hard that they will be vomiting them out! You MUST watch this movie! At least a million times in the cinema before buying the DVD! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyChapmanJul 17, 2007
First of all that film was AMAZING! but secondly can anyone tell me what song is being played when the camaro (bumblebee) drives off and comes back as the new camaro? i would be very grateful as it has been bugging me ever since i saw the movie! lol
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ALJul 2, 2007
Giving an '80' score to Anthony Lane's New Yorker review suggests Metacritic's sense of irony may be as rusty as old scrap metal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelRJul 2, 2007
A flawed, but very enjoyable movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kenanh.Jul 2, 2007
Megan Fox and Shia Labeouf need to get married. The action was ridiculous and Megan Fox was also breathtakingly amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful