Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: December 17, 2010
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 798 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
529
Mixed:
202
Negative:
67
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Lopez17Dec 27, 2010
"Tron Legacy" is what you would call pure eye candy with a heavy visual twist much like "The Matrix"(1998) and "Inception"(2010) the only thing that separates these two films from Legacy is there deep rooted stories groundbreaking"Tron Legacy" is what you would call pure eye candy with a heavy visual twist much like "The Matrix"(1998) and "Inception"(2010) the only thing that separates these two films from Legacy is there deep rooted stories groundbreaking visuals, thought provoking premises and phenomenal scripts from there respective directors. This sequel of the 1982 cult classic is rather simple stuff the screenplay by Adam Horowitz and Edward Kitsis is dull with uninspired dialogue and a lack of real emotions. But what the screenplay lacks the sheer power of this visuals, action, story and the return of Jeff Bridges as Kevin Flynn greatly makes up for the lack of compelling dialogue in this film. First time director Joseph Kosinski and cinematographer Claudio Miranda do a bang up job bringing this visually lush world to life breathing life into a rather lifeless film and in the process creating a fantastical film that literally jumps out of the screen. "Tron Legacy" is a massive improvement on the original in both visuals and style what the original lacked this absorbing sequel makes up for it with a high octane, bold adventure that is ripped right from the world of TRON, this film may lack compelling dialogue but it has just enough intelligence, style, charm and just enough well written dialogue to save this from being a disaster "Tron Legacy " is a magical in the sense of its wonder and excitement, in its visuals and its at times emotional father son tale at the heart of this film. This film is not one of the years best and it is nowhere near as good as any other high gloss Science Fiction adventure such as "The Matrix" or "Inception" but "Tron Legacy" proves to be one of the years most enjoyable popcorn adventure flicks and one of the most enjoyable film of this holiday season. I loved every minute of this wildly entertaining film.


To watch this film you have to leave you inhibitions at the door, you have to leave logic at the door and just sit back and enjoy the ride, which is what I did. I just sat back and enjoyed this film for what it is flaws and all and trust me when I say this movie has a boatload of them. To save this film the embarrassment I am going to restrain from naming them. However, I will name one the plot; the plot of this film is so full of holes big enough that you could stuff the whole digital world into it. That is not the point of this film that is not why it was made. If this film was made to be "Inception,â
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Frmz84Dec 27, 2010
This movie is probably a 7, but I truly enjoyed it so went w/ an 8. A lot of things worked in this movie, first of all the soundtrack was awesome and worked w/ every scene to perfection. Second, the action was entertaining and memorizing toThis movie is probably a 7, but I truly enjoyed it so went w/ an 8. A lot of things worked in this movie, first of all the soundtrack was awesome and worked w/ every scene to perfection. Second, the action was entertaining and memorizing to look at. I truly found this movie to be extremely entertaining, but maybe that's b/c i love anything sci-fi and techno. The only thing that didn't work was the computerized version of the younger Jeff Bridges (KLU). Just looked fake.. They might have been better off just using another actor there, but i like the idea of KLU being him. Really can't complain too much about this film. Could it have been smarter or had some better acting (Jeff Brigdes' son kind of lame), probably, but overall i was sucked into this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
nvnickDec 23, 2010
Entertaining. Visually it's more pleasing than Avatar, from my perspective. Story wise it's also much more original - but still lacking. There was room in this TRON universe for more of a complicated story but instead this was a pretty stockEntertaining. Visually it's more pleasing than Avatar, from my perspective. Story wise it's also much more original - but still lacking. There was room in this TRON universe for more of a complicated story but instead this was a pretty stock storyline. It was still a fair movie though, and the visuals were nothing short of amazing. Would recommend it, you'll be glued to the screen most of the time. Except that at a few times the fast pace of the story and action seems to slow down, and there's corny lines. Other than that it's action packed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
NeilieoDec 18, 2010
While not perfect this movie was incredibly enjoyable and worth the money to see in theaters. The visual style of the film is by far the best part with stunning shots of a cyber world and an outstanding style that made the first one soWhile not perfect this movie was incredibly enjoyable and worth the money to see in theaters. The visual style of the film is by far the best part with stunning shots of a cyber world and an outstanding style that made the first one so loved. The musical score really does a great job emphasizing the mood and pace of the movie and is as important as the acting. As for the story I personally really enjoyed it and thought the cheese was minimum. I especially liked that it wasn't your classic "son is mad at dad" story, it takes a different approach that really shows how most father-son relationships are. Overall if you like sci-fi, creative visual style, or just love Daft Punk I would highly recommend this movie. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
EliteF50Dec 30, 2010
Personally, I think a 49 is very undeserving. I walked into this film with fairly low expectations, and was wowed with almost everything. The acting was superb throughout the entire film, the CG was phenomenal (not CLU), the 3D was nice, andPersonally, I think a 49 is very undeserving. I walked into this film with fairly low expectations, and was wowed with almost everything. The acting was superb throughout the entire film, the CG was phenomenal (not CLU), the 3D was nice, and the story was very good. Don't trust the critics, go watch this movie for yourself. I'm sure you'll love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sebastianDec 22, 2010
Dude, it's Tron man: people trapped in a video game, and digital elements of that game manifested as people. If you want that concept to be any deeper than Jeff Bridges' Buddhist Jedi Programmer Lebowski, then by all means skip this one.Dude, it's Tron man: people trapped in a video game, and digital elements of that game manifested as people. If you want that concept to be any deeper than Jeff Bridges' Buddhist Jedi Programmer Lebowski, then by all means skip this one. If you don't mind a neon stick world that derives almost all of its ideas from the Black Knight, Star Wars, the Matrix trilogy, and the first Tron--AND you think the idea of a light bike appearing out of thin air when a neon-rimmed program-sapien breaks a glowstick in two--then go see Tron and get your brain Daft Punked in 3D. Fact: Seeing Tron is a lot more fun than reading some socially confused movie critic's ten paragraphs about the Wikipedia version of Proust. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sapient254Dec 26, 2010
This is a movie that goes beyond that which the "professional critics" expect out of movies. It provides an original (even though it's a sequel) movie-watching experience that does a good job of allowing the viewer to suspend disbelief. It'sThis is a movie that goes beyond that which the "professional critics" expect out of movies. It provides an original (even though it's a sequel) movie-watching experience that does a good job of allowing the viewer to suspend disbelief. It's visuals are stunning, the soundtrack fits perfectly to the theme of the movie (a lot of techno and futuristic music), and the sound effects are enthralling and make you feel like you're really in a virtual and high-tech sci-fi world. There are plenty of action scenes that break up the boredom and monotony from which the original movie suffered. I did not see the movie in 3D (because i don't believe in using 3D tricks and gimmicks to overshadow lack of movie-making abilities). Therefore I have no comment on the quality of the 3D experience. However, knowing Disney's track record with quality movie-making, I'm sure they didn't disappoint (for those who are interested in that sort of thing). The only downside to the amazing visuals was the CGI Jeff Bridges. Though the technology that goes behind recreating human faces and emotions are getting better by the year, they still seem a ways away. The tones and colors of young Jeff Bridges' face were spot on, but he often seemed to lack that emotional and subtle quality that we are all honed in to detect. The story was more enthralling and dramatic than the original, but very predictable. Do yourself a favor and ignore the "professional critics." See this movie if you have an open mind, are a fan of sci-fi, and enjoy stunning visuals and enthralling music and sound effects. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Rob274Jan 11, 2011
TRON: Legacy was an absolutly amazing science fiction movie of all time! It is this year's Avatar or better! The effects were dazzeling, the music was awesome, and everything was just great! Though, the storyline wasnt that great, but otherTRON: Legacy was an absolutly amazing science fiction movie of all time! It is this year's Avatar or better! The effects were dazzeling, the music was awesome, and everything was just great! Though, the storyline wasnt that great, but other than that TRON: Legacy did deliver a great performance for all of us. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
killingspreeDec 19, 2010
This movie is amazing. Don't listen to the critics. Critics ruin all good movies out there with their know-it-all, snobby attitudes and biased bad reviews. It is in the spirit of the original film and isn't watered down.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
BrahmaBullDec 20, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gotta agree with the critics some on this. Probably better to watch on its own but with a title like Tron Legacy, they'd have to expect you may have seen the first one. It does not compare favorably in my opinion. I own the original Tron and love it. And this is not Tron. Too damn serious for one thing. I know the character was supposed to have heard all about the Grid from his dad's stories but he still should have inspired some sense of wonder at the place when he eventually gets in--Jeff Bridges did so much better in the original. And the visuals? The magic with the first Tron was that EVERYTHING was computer-generated. Here they have actual REAL models for the light-cycles and light-bikes. The movie was just as awkward as the dinner scene with newly reunited father and son. Cooked food? Hardcovers? In the digital realm? WTF? Some nice references to the old movie and 80's nostalgia. But it was all flash and no soul. The tech to create "young Jeff" was not as bad as it could have been. But, again, the original movie, everybody's face looked pale because of graphics not because of makeup, everybody's costume "seemed digitized" not like real tights, and whose bright idea was it to make "deresolution" look like glass breaking? There wasn't even the laser to "scan" Sam into the Grid. And no Cursor--the only nod to actual computer tech was some UNIX-looking (probably MacOS X) commands typed in. If this was an attempt at upgrading the Grid, it was mistaken. Do people expect a better, more visually complex Grid 20 years later? Yes, but they could have executed much better given that CGI today is light years ahead of where it was then. This movie supposedly continues where Tron left off and it does explore territory the original Tron didn't. But I would rather watch old Tron than new Tron. Although he was the best actor in the film, even Jeff seemed like he was more interested in making True Grit than this movie--it even comes off that way in his very few promotional appearances for it. The movie was eye-candy, but ultimately emotionless. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
angelrubioDec 28, 2010
I'd say it is a good movie with a bad script for the main character. Luckily, he doesn't speak too much. The face animation for Jeff Bridges is horrible, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BIGREESEDec 19, 2010
So um... this is tron. and daft punk created the whole soundtrack... with that information its got a 10 already. Its the most visually pleasing movie ive ever seen and its all backed up with a daft punk original soundtrack!!!!! now the storySo um... this is tron. and daft punk created the whole soundtrack... with that information its got a 10 already. Its the most visually pleasing movie ive ever seen and its all backed up with a daft punk original soundtrack!!!!! now the story isnt all that great, but it isnt bad. If you have no idea what tron actually is that will take away abit from the movie. BUT if u like old videogames, if you like eye candy, if u like daft punk... GO SEE THIS MOVIE Expand
11 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
10
dragotronJul 29, 2011
keep watching this movie..... its an onslaught of incredible visuals and amazing music... can't stop listening to the soundtrack either... first time since star wars. Daft Punk... who I wasn't a fan of prior blows minds in this musical score.keep watching this movie..... its an onslaught of incredible visuals and amazing music... can't stop listening to the soundtrack either... first time since star wars. Daft Punk... who I wasn't a fan of prior blows minds in this musical score. And the story is quite sellable and tolerable for both children and nostalgic adults alike. Tell your kid about the first Tron movie... and then watch this one with them. In HD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JoeyKDec 27, 2010
Really great film. Exciting, interesting, visually appealing, emotionally engaging, nostalgic, and modern. I'm seriously having trouble understanding where such negative reviews are coming from.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Idontpanic42Dec 18, 2010
Tron Legacy may not have had the deepest plot, but it was a good movie. People forget that they go to the films to have fun and escape. The stylized effects mixed with Daft Punk's musical score was excellent. I enjoyed this movie and plan toTron Legacy may not have had the deepest plot, but it was a good movie. People forget that they go to the films to have fun and escape. The stylized effects mixed with Daft Punk's musical score was excellent. I enjoyed this movie and plan to buy it on release. Don't listen to the critics, they forget what movies are about. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Feb 8, 2011
A masterpiece that definitely lives up to its predecessor. However, I don't get why some critics are whining about the script/plot. It seriously wasn't that hard to follow. Personally, I had a harder time following Inception's plot, and IA masterpiece that definitely lives up to its predecessor. However, I don't get why some critics are whining about the script/plot. It seriously wasn't that hard to follow. Personally, I had a harder time following Inception's plot, and I saw the damn movie twice! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Syn_againDec 19, 2010
Tron: Legacy is a great film that entertains with a good story, nice acting, excellent music and sounds, and with a visual style that keeps your eyes glued to the screen. Overall this is a film full of Sci-Fi entertainment that would haveTron: Legacy is a great film that entertains with a good story, nice acting, excellent music and sounds, and with a visual style that keeps your eyes glued to the screen. Overall this is a film full of Sci-Fi entertainment that would have expected since this film's first rumor.

This film is a interesting cross between the original Tron and the Matrix and the similarities are hard to miss. The blend is great. While maintaining that "Tron" atmosphere the addition of the "Matrix"-type world of characters and locations added a nice change of pace from the traditional in-a-data system-feel. It would have been great to see this explored further but where it settled with the plot of the story was fitting and comfortable. The Visuals and Audio was truly amazing. The classic tones of the Tron world enhanced with the Techno beats of Daft Punk was a perfect match with style.

The movie itself was strong with Jeff Bridges at the lead. The Computer animated Jeff Bridges needed to go through several more rounds of work but it was a decent attempt that could have just been avoided altogether. Nothing would've been wrong with a human antagonist. Most of the scenes did not look right but at least you could tell where the filmakers were going and that was enough to forgive.

The story was very traditional and could have easily been more epic but I gather it will be more for the planned Trilogy rather than during the reintroduction of the franchise in 20 years. Start strong and grow big.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
masterbedgoodDec 17, 2010
An absolutely marvelous film with breathtaking visuals and beautiful art direction. So much of the spirit of the original film is in this one with references for the fans of the first movie to smile with pride for understanding. My onlyAn absolutely marvelous film with breathtaking visuals and beautiful art direction. So much of the spirit of the original film is in this one with references for the fans of the first movie to smile with pride for understanding. My only complaints are: there is no Bit (loved Bit in the original) and the vintage lightcycle is a great sight and it's built up, but it gets next to no worthwhile screen time. Regardless of those complaints, it's a fantastic movie with plenty of geek fanfare and love for the fans of the original. The acting is strong, the writing sharp, and the soundtrack is undeniably awesome. I cannot recommend this film highly enough. Go see it! End of Line. Expand
19 of 24 users found this helpful195
All this user's reviews
10
Forrestgump1Dec 18, 2010
"Words Can't Describe , the intensity , the Graphics , the Tron!. Tron Legacy is one 3D spectacle that dares to be reckoned with , its truly amicable , from the moment you enter the grid till you leave .. Tron Legacy will have you wanting more" .. A
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
ZephJan 6, 2011
TRON Legacy... well I honestly didn't expect an innovative story like Inception from the trailer, and that's what I got. Its not garbage, but not anything we haven't seen 100 times already. Audio is amazing, visuals are good, but 3D is NOTTRON Legacy... well I honestly didn't expect an innovative story like Inception from the trailer, and that's what I got. Its not garbage, but not anything we haven't seen 100 times already. Audio is amazing, visuals are good, but 3D is NOT as strong as it should be, I believe they could have at least put a little more effort into it. My recommendation is to go 2D if you see it. But all that aside, TRON Legacy is GOOD. You will get entertainment out of it, and it is worth your attention. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DralenDec 17, 2010
Critics really are full of s*** sometimes. What a brilliant film this is! Fantastic visuals, great cast (I especially loved Olivia Wilde in this movie; her very innocent, good natured character was really cute and charming; and she was aCritics really are full of s*** sometimes. What a brilliant film this is! Fantastic visuals, great cast (I especially loved Olivia Wilde in this movie; her very innocent, good natured character was really cute and charming; and she was a truely awesome warrior in battle), amazing score. It was entertaining and epic; and isn't that what a movie is supposed to do? It also felt like a real tribute to the original Tron movie. Yes, the light cycles and suits were different, but it's the year 2010 now people. The 3D element was done to perfection, I especially liked how the movie starts in 2D in the real world and then shifts to 3D when Sam enters "The Grid", very clever. I enjoyed this movie so much I went to see it again today after seeing the midnight showing last night. It's a must see. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
ethanaterDec 20, 2010
if you hate this you where expecting to much and was disappointed. and when Disney says 3d it doesn't mean sh*t poping in your face. it means they are trying to make the movie look like it has depth.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
SchroederRockFeb 13, 2014
A visual masterpiece that oozes cool all over the place. Tron: Legacy is an outstanding continuation from the 1980s original, one that will greatly impress viewers. It's no surprise that Disney was a part of this given the level ofA visual masterpiece that oozes cool all over the place. Tron: Legacy is an outstanding continuation from the 1980s original, one that will greatly impress viewers. It's no surprise that Disney was a part of this given the level of technical detail put into the film. Everything about it is great, except there's that notion of shallowness that can't be escaped. A great movie should be rewatchable multiple times, and while Legacy does so much to entertain your visual and audible senses (Daft Punks original score for the movie is OUTSTANDING), the way the story is told feels a bit underwhelming considering how impressive everything else is. I absolutely love this film and I hope Disney puts more into the story next time (there's confirmation that, at this time, a follow up movie is in the works). The actors were fantastic (how can you say no to Jeff Bridges and Olivia Wilde!?), I just could have used more weight to the plot instead of a very cookie-cutter format. Still, I highly recommend this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
strayJan 3, 2011
I guess the risk of making a sequel after almost 30 years is that people have expectations, and more than that their own interpretations of the original, and how a sequel should play out. I grew up with the first Tron, and went in expectingI guess the risk of making a sequel after almost 30 years is that people have expectations, and more than that their own interpretations of the original, and how a sequel should play out. I grew up with the first Tron, and went in expecting to be disappointed, but have to say Legacy might be one of the best, most intelligent sci-fi/fantasy movies I've seen in years. I don't think the story is lacking at all, in fact I think it's filled with a lot of subtle subtext rather than beat-you-over-the head preachiness you'd find in something like Avatar or The Matrix. Either way don't let the reviews turn you away, if nothing else the effects and music are top notch, and it's worth the ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ESS180Jan 2, 2011
This movie was awesome!!!

Disney did a perfect job on the special effects and the fight scenes. The music was amazing, Daft Punk are a excellent duo and fit the movie completely. I saw it in Imax 3D and I was suprised because the
This movie was awesome!!!

Disney did a perfect job on the special effects and the fight scenes.

The music was amazing, Daft Punk are a excellent duo and fit the movie completely.

I saw it in Imax 3D and I was suprised because the sound is so loud, it made the chairs vibrate I was like "I felt that!!"

Super cool movie!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Ivan_Es_SupremoJan 8, 2011
Underrated! This is the type of film that bulds a strong cult following despite negative reviews. There are some plot holes, but really, nothing that hurts the story and nothing you could think of for an explanation as to why somethingUnderrated! This is the type of film that bulds a strong cult following despite negative reviews. There are some plot holes, but really, nothing that hurts the story and nothing you could think of for an explanation as to why something happened.

I wonder why this movie was hated and really the movie itself was made for lovers of Tron. Although the family I saw it with loved it, they were confused as to who was who. Perhaps there is a cultural gap. Either way, there was no major flaw to me in this film. Lovely story, despite all the hatred towards it, a soundtrack worthy of the Oscar but will more than likely not even get the nomination due to the artists who made it, beautiful visuals, as much as people will hate to admit, film is a visual medium and without great cinematography or wonderful art direction, other films risk bleeding into each other, Tron Legacy excels just as it did in the original and will be fondly remembered because of it, and one more thing, the performances. Not a single bad performance in the bunch, everyone delivers in their own way. Director Joseph Kosinski has a great future ahead of him. He might have to make the average drama in order for people to realize it, but the man has great potential in hollywood and I hope he gets the chance to make one more film as it was intended.
Collapse
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Gamingking007Jan 3, 2011
This movie was brilliant!!!The only thing i wanted was more at the end for example what happened to the company and how was the ISO adapting to life...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
roddersj04Dec 29, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tron Legacy: Sequel to the original which was released nearly 30 years ago. I myself haven't seen the original Tron film, so I can't say whether its a worthy sequel or whether it was worth the wait, but I will say that I thoroughly enjoyed the film. The special effects were quite awesome and the film brilliantly made use of the IMAX 3D, and managed to give us some astounding graphics within the Grid. It's good that the film makes concessions to those that haven't seen Tron, by giving us a little backstory about the first film and how it ties into the second film. The lightcycles and light disk fights are the best parts of the movie, and there should've been more of that. The acting is quite good, all of the actors give great performances, especially Garret Hedlund as main character, Sam. Martin Sheen gives the best performance, as the vibrant and ecstatic bar owner Zeus, injecting charisma into every scene he's in. And Daft Punk get three cameos as DJs, changing the song when a fight breaks out. However, this isn't a perfect film. A number of the dialogue that comes from Sams mouth sounds quite cliched and the script isn't exactly oscar-worthy. It isn't exactly a surprise when Zeus betrays Sam to CLU and it seems pointless having Quorra send him there in the first place. And the final part in the grid where Flynn has CLU bond back with him makes you think "why wait until now to do that?". Also, de-aging Jeff Bridges doesn't exactly work, just making him seem video-gamey. Granted, it works for CLU, but doesn't really work for Flynn. All in all, I recommend this film. Just don't expect much of character development and go in expecting a dazzling visual for your eyes rather than for your mind Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Gr33nF00tDec 18, 2010
I saw the original Tron movie when I was a kid, and I absolutely loved it. The visuals and the concept really appealed to me, so I was really pumped to see Tron: Legacy in 3D. I must say really enjoyed it. T:L kept to the spirit of theI saw the original Tron movie when I was a kid, and I absolutely loved it. The visuals and the concept really appealed to me, so I was really pumped to see Tron: Legacy in 3D. I must say really enjoyed it. T:L kept to the spirit of the original, as well as building upon certain aspects of the Grid. The visuals are absolutely stunning, and Daft Punk's score is magnificent.. The story is a little light, as it was in the original, which is one of the few drawbacks to the film. The use of 3D was also very effective; it wasn't forced "in your face." Instead, it was used to support and enhance the visuals of the movie, so you sometimes forget you are watching a 3D movie because the visual aesthetic works so well. All in all, if you are a fan of the first Tron, you will most likely like this film. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
xXAnthonyXxDec 25, 2010
This is a very good movie, don't listen to the "49", it deserves over a 90. Enjoyable movie. I don't understand the negative reviews but it's a good movie and worth a check.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
powersackersDec 19, 2010
Entertaining and fun. 3D was weak. Story was not weak at all, quite good for an action / sci-fi movie. I would recommend this to anyone who like sci-fi or hero movies. It's better than most.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Jerik02Apr 19, 2011
Highly enjoyable movie. Thoroughly enjoyed it. I thought it was a fresh take on an old classic and found the main characters believable. The special effects were good and I was mostly able to forget that I was watching a Disney movie. IHighly enjoyable movie. Thoroughly enjoyed it. I thought it was a fresh take on an old classic and found the main characters believable. The special effects were good and I was mostly able to forget that I was watching a Disney movie. I especially liked the sound track and have been a fan of Daft Punk for years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asylumspadezNov 20, 2011
I actually thought it was pretty good. Solid acting and good effects as well, Works well in 3D too. The downfalls of it though is the rather long run time, Far too long if you ask me. Also while its entertaining for the most part, Its ratherI actually thought it was pretty good. Solid acting and good effects as well, Works well in 3D too. The downfalls of it though is the rather long run time, Far too long if you ask me. Also while its entertaining for the most part, Its rather boring at times as well. Overall its still rather good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
jediboyApr 5, 2011
I watched the original about 2 weeks prior to watching this sequel.

Great visuals, great sounds (way to go Daft Punk), great acting from Jeff Bridges who really makes the movie. Not amazing, or ground-breaking by any means, but a polished
I watched the original about 2 weeks prior to watching this sequel.

Great visuals, great sounds (way to go Daft Punk), great acting from Jeff Bridges who really makes the movie.

Not amazing, or ground-breaking by any means, but a polished and well-treated production.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ParanoidandroidDec 19, 2010
The characters and plot are cliche and the writing certainly is not the best. The acting is decent with the standout being Jeff Bridges who as usual is the man. This would all make for a mediocre movie if it weren't for the amazing world andThe characters and plot are cliche and the writing certainly is not the best. The acting is decent with the standout being Jeff Bridges who as usual is the man. This would all make for a mediocre movie if it weren't for the amazing world and visuals created by special effects. The great music by Daft Punk certainly doesn't hurt either. Tron Legacy's world is creative beautiful and must be seen by everyone. I couldn't look away for a single second and although the writing and acting weren't the greatest it is good enough for you to care about the characters enough to warrant your attention. I recommend this movie to almost anyone and you don't need to see the first one to know whats going on if that is scaring you. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
abm89Dec 22, 2010
I went into this movie with only high expectations for visual effects. I wasn't disappointed, and the story was pretty decent in my opinion. I'd recommend this movie to someone purely based on the stunning visuals and the cool soundtrack.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZeroRageXDec 17, 2010
I LOVED this movie. I had to see it twice on opening day, in 2D and 3D. I can't for the life of me understand all the hate for this film? Did you see the original or did you simply catch the highlight reel? There is a story being told here, aI LOVED this movie. I had to see it twice on opening day, in 2D and 3D. I can't for the life of me understand all the hate for this film? Did you see the original or did you simply catch the highlight reel? There is a story being told here, a very well told one. The only drawbacks to the movie are some 3D scenes aren't up to snuff and CLU in his representation isn't quite there, but still effective for the character. On the same hand, some of the 3D effects are simply breathtaking! The opening sequence and lead up to the final sequence were amazingly well done. The story was clear and well told, filled with interesting and lovable characters (I dare you to not fall in love with Olivia Wilde). This film is a sight to behold and is a treat for the ears. See the original Tron first, as you should with any sequel. Easily one of the best movies to come out this year. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
9
manic221Dec 22, 2010
Excellent the CGI is incredible and the soundtrack is pumping not the best film I've seen this year that was a toss up between Scott Pilgrim and Harry Potter but this is a close second if your a fan of the original i would definitelyExcellent the CGI is incredible and the soundtrack is pumping not the best film I've seen this year that was a toss up between Scott Pilgrim and Harry Potter but this is a close second if your a fan of the original i would definitely recommend checking this out. if not in the Cinema rent when the Blu-Ray comes out. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialCarloJan 1, 2011
Great visual effects, production design, musical scoring. Nice story. Good actors and actresses. All I can say I am satisfied. Sometimes, we only see the effects but not the story. Good movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GambonerDec 19, 2010
visuals were a billion times better than avatar and the soundtrack was unbelievable. exceeded my expectations in every way. critics are dumb, olivia wilde is a fricken babe, this movie was the best this year.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
MozBlueDec 17, 2010
Ignore the critics as clearly they don't know what they are talking about. TRON: Legacy isn't just spectacular effects and a fantastic thrill ride full of character and not a weak link to be found in the cast.
Unless you hate sci-fi you
Ignore the critics as clearly they don't know what they are talking about. TRON: Legacy isn't just spectacular effects and a fantastic thrill ride full of character and not a weak link to be found in the cast.
Unless you hate sci-fi you should go see this film.
Expand
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
8
jsowersDec 21, 2010
Tron: Legacy is quite a solid film. The story and setting are so nuanced and quirky it keeps things fresh despite the numerous action scenes. Solid performances from the actors and a fantastic soundtrack inject meaning into a world craftedTron: Legacy is quite a solid film. The story and setting are so nuanced and quirky it keeps things fresh despite the numerous action scenes. Solid performances from the actors and a fantastic soundtrack inject meaning into a world crafted via Disney's heavy-handed application of CGI animation. Of course, the depth and complexity of Tron may not reach the heights of classic dramas but Tron sits comfortably among the other popcorn flicks playing at your local 12-screen and has a ton of fun besting them. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Cuban_NerdDec 18, 2010
The critics can s*ck it. The movie was great. Great visual effects, good story and acting. Amazing score. It was definitely better than Avatar.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
DarkKnightVMay 3, 2011
Amazing visually - I really wish I had the chance to watch this movie in theaters in 3D. I wasn't expecting too much from the plot, but I actually really liked it. And the score by Daft Punk is really sweet. Overall, I really enjoyed Tron: Legacy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jz3Dec 17, 2010
After reading all of the negative reviews, I was surprised to find the movie to be AWESOME. It stays true to the original, while introducing enough new elements to, well, make it new.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
ijwhelanDec 17, 2010
Amazing visuals, sound, and acting, and the plot ain't too bad either. I have never seen a movie that has had reviews that are so far off the truth about the movie. Tron will have you immersed in beautiful visuals and beautiful sound (thankAmazing visuals, sound, and acting, and the plot ain't too bad either. I have never seen a movie that has had reviews that are so far off the truth about the movie. Tron will have you immersed in beautiful visuals and beautiful sound (thank you Daft Punk) and the plot easily outclasses other sci-fi blockbusters (*cough*Avatar*cough*).

See this movie.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
8
BenMillsDec 17, 2010
I totally loved this movie. A great follow on from the classic film. The visuals are great, the sound is stunning with the music not being a separate layer - rather a integral part of the narrative. How this film has such a low rating isI totally loved this movie. A great follow on from the classic film. The visuals are great, the sound is stunning with the music not being a separate layer - rather a integral part of the narrative. How this film has such a low rating is criminal. It really shows how far the "film critic" class is away from what real people love and want to see. If you want a fun, thrilling, great family movie this Christmas i would say it's gonna be perfect for you. Just don't expect it to be full of loads of Freudian rubbish and metaphorical bull. ;) Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
9
ShocKNursEDec 17, 2010
Despite some negative critic reviews, this film remarkable. To see it in IMAX format was breathtaking. The visuals are amazing. I felt immersed in the Gaming Grid. The musical cues are spot on and Daft Punk creates the atmosphere like noDespite some negative critic reviews, this film remarkable. To see it in IMAX format was breathtaking. The visuals are amazing. I felt immersed in the Gaming Grid. The musical cues are spot on and Daft Punk creates the atmosphere like no other. I'm certainly looking forward to the next 2 movies. Expand
14 of 16 users found this helpful142
All this user's reviews
10
DarthSatorisDec 18, 2010
I can only say that if you want to see a movie with stunning visuals, a presentation of a new and fantastic world, a good cast and a decent story, I say go for it, but if you're the guy that sees a movie solely for moral messages, complexI can only say that if you want to see a movie with stunning visuals, a presentation of a new and fantastic world, a good cast and a decent story, I say go for it, but if you're the guy that sees a movie solely for moral messages, complex character development and a deep undertaking in the human mind, this isn't really a movie for you.

I enjoyed it greatly, and if you're just as geeky as I am about computers and worlds beyond the bonds of our own physics, you will too, I guarantee that.

For a longer and more thorough review, visit my blog at: darthsatoris blogspot com
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
oandaDec 17, 2010
I saw this at midnight showing last night and I was blown away. I was worried that it was going to suck but I kept my expectations in check and I was not dissapointed at all. It really was a good story. Its deeper than these crtics realize iI saw this at midnight showing last night and I was blown away. I was worried that it was going to suck but I kept my expectations in check and I was not dissapointed at all. It really was a good story. Its deeper than these crtics realize i guess because they were too distracted by the amazing visuals. If you like a good action movie with a good story and an amazing soundtrack you should see this. Also there is no other way to see this movie but in IMAX. Please don't see it any other way. Can't wait to get it on bluray. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
SioDec 17, 2010
Once again, "professional" critics are off the mark. WAY off! This movie was very entertaining and the music was perfect for it. It was beautiful, in fact. One critic said they "forgot to tell a story"...I say he forgot to pay attention.Once again, "professional" critics are off the mark. WAY off! This movie was very entertaining and the music was perfect for it. It was beautiful, in fact. One critic said they "forgot to tell a story"...I say he forgot to pay attention. Another said the music "lacked rhythm"...to that I say TRON wasn't a dance party, it was a life-or-death struggle. The music reflected danger, fear, and the ultimate victory that the movie was all about. Users have spoken: this was a great film and it deserves recognition. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
seenewDec 17, 2010
The critics can't seem to make up their minds with what they wanted this movie to be. I've seen complaints that it wasn't light-hearted enough just as often as I've seen people suggesting it could have dealt more with the complex problems ofThe critics can't seem to make up their minds with what they wanted this movie to be. I've seen complaints that it wasn't light-hearted enough just as often as I've seen people suggesting it could have dealt more with the complex problems of digital culture today.
I don't think Legacy is trying to be either of those things. I think it's some really high-end fan service for the people who loved the original, and a really beautiful 3D experience for newbies with an interest in technology.
Sure they didn't exploit everything they could have with the advancements in computing since 1982, but I think that would have been distracting and made the movie much too heavy. Sure, there's room for an epic story told like what critics wanted Tron to be, but that's not what I wanted and that's not really what was advertised.
We got what we were promised. High tech, sexy, 3-D action with some likable characters, pretty women, and an awesome soundtrack.

No, it's not the best movie of all time, but it's a good one, and a damn fun ride. I gave it a ten on here to try and even things out, because it deserves more than the 51/100 the critics gave. It's at least a solid 80.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
TellarHKDec 17, 2010
Having seen the previous film only a few minutes before sitting down in the theater to see Tron Legacy, there were a number of areas in the newer film that clearly stood out as similarities to the original film. In fact, there are so manyHaving seen the previous film only a few minutes before sitting down in the theater to see Tron Legacy, there were a number of areas in the newer film that clearly stood out as similarities to the original film. In fact, there are so many similarities to the original film in pacing and storytelling, that Legacy actually manages to feel like a curious hybrid of sequel and remake.

There's a touch more "Real World" setup in the beginning than the original film, a slightly-too-long solar sail segment leading up to the final act, and Tron is almost as scarce in this film as his appearances were in the original. But, with all those similarities the film does tend to leave the viewer with a higher awareness of the mythology behind the Grid and its inhabitants. Technically, the film is nearly flawless with no issues that leap out at the viewer as a mistake or flub on first viewing. Every shot is well aimed, fight and game sequences are presented in a way that's less MTV and more "80's karate movie" and the story flows fairly well from one segment to the next. The greatest flaw most viewers might see in Tron Legacy is its tendency to explain and talk for large portions of screen time, but that isn't necessarily a complaint that feels particularly valid when you're looking at something so large-scale as the world presented in the Tron "mythology". Some stories just take a little time and scripting to tell, and Legacy struck an excellent balance of action and exposition in the eyes of those in the theater where I saw the film.

When it comes to the die-hard geek demographic however, perhaps Tron Legacy's greatest flaw is a desire to position the film in a more mainstream fashion. Geeks may have wanted more information, more easter eggs and more background knowledge of how things worked - but those answers and options would likely only have detracted from the film. Bottom line, if you liked the first film, you'll love Legacy. If you never "got" the original Tron despite more than one viewing in recent years, don't bother with Legacy.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
AmphibianDec 18, 2010
Stunning visuals, complete eye candy! Tron script won't win the Pulitzer Prize but amazing 3D experience. Good family fun during the holiday season for all of us.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
DefaultArtistDec 19, 2010
Come on! What are you guys talking about... the movie was great. It's TRON. The goal of movies like this is to be epic, beautiful, and other worldly - The complexity is in the visuals, the story is there to move you through them. Any specialCome on! What are you guys talking about... the movie was great. It's TRON. The goal of movies like this is to be epic, beautiful, and other worldly - The complexity is in the visuals, the story is there to move you through them. Any special effects fan will love this film! Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
mgeekDec 18, 2010
Tron was both visually appealing and emotionally capturing. I loved the father / son story. I thought all three lead actors did great - Bridges was particularly engaging. Wilde was fun and in-character. Content was kept at a good PGTron was both visually appealing and emotionally capturing. I loved the father / son story. I thought all three lead actors did great - Bridges was particularly engaging. Wilde was fun and in-character. Content was kept at a good PG level, which I appreciate in an adventure film. The 3D IMAX experience was a great choice for this movie, and a lot of fun viewing. I'll see it again and I recommend it! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
Megaguy84Dec 18, 2010
First of all, movies are meant to be enjoyed, not dissected and picked apart like some puzzle or algorithm. Tron Legacy is a Family friendly movie with keen aesthetics and balance. This story had a simple premise comprised of multipleFirst of all, movies are meant to be enjoyed, not dissected and picked apart like some puzzle or algorithm. Tron Legacy is a Family friendly movie with keen aesthetics and balance. This story had a simple premise comprised of multiple intellectual thoughts. As this Film is clean and neat with the thought of the "what if" scenario that tries to answer as much as it can while posing more to be questioned all amidst the impending fate. As far as technology goes, what else can we expect to see other than what we know in a more polished state with the aesthetic depth and crisp 3D? This movie is easy to see, great to enjoy at various levels and with a good musical backdrop and follow through. My wife who is not as technologically inclined enjoyed the movie and loved the music. You don't have to be a Nerd, Psychologist, Scientist, Hacker, or any other stereotype to enjoy this great film, that we the viewers did not have a hand in making, so by all means if anyone can do better... all said and done we were left satisfied and understood the many levels of intellect of the feature film. For those that liked the first, will no doubt enjoy this re-envisioned remake sequel that does exactly what it is supposed to in an adventure. spoilers..... spoilers


For those that doubted the resolutions and postulated questions, it is all right in front of you. Flynn after seeing the iso's form their self consciousness is taken back to the realm of possibilities from this self born AI thus leaving Clu to form feelings of jealousy, since he was bred from Flynn's own self. Then when the cu is formed Flynn is thus seen as unfit and imperfect since he went back on a perceived promise made and then Clu fights for his own perceived place on the grid by genocide on the iso's. When flynn sees that he is far from the portal and removes himself from the grid and by his own right creates a sanctuary where he finds quorra, the last surviving iso and takes her in and fills her with the knowledge he had transported over time from earth all while seeing that in his attempts to fight back at clu he only created more artifacts, which after being destroyed and re-purposed, were used by clu to continue taking control over the grid. Thus this is why Flynn went into hiding and stopped creating from within. This leads clu to his course of actions on him not being satisfied with controlling the grid and watching the programs fight to death (derezolution), but leaving him wanting to get out and populate beyond the confines of the grid. Clu dissatisfied attempts to recontact those who created both the MCP and the Grid to see if he can get a way to change the game, and then the main action of the story continues. so with that said and done, talk about religion and faith, and selflessness and why the grid did not grow more. to answer that, there was only one who could create and that was Flynn. More intent on getting the key disk now are we? Go enjoy the movie, no need to dissect.
Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
LE_Dec 20, 2010
I struggled with the score for this movie. Should I give it a 9 b/c I really liked the movie, or should I give it a 2 because I was felt ripped off by the 3D upcharge that WAS NOT worth it? I paid $7 extra to see it in 3D, but I was sorelyI struggled with the score for this movie. Should I give it a 9 b/c I really liked the movie, or should I give it a 2 because I was felt ripped off by the 3D upcharge that WAS NOT worth it? I paid $7 extra to see it in 3D, but I was sorely disappointed to find out only a few scenes were actually shot in 3D. Sadly, there was more exciting 3D 2 minutes of previews before the movie, than in the entire Tron movie.

Getting past that, I really liked this movie, the themes, and the art/graphics direction of the movie. Not the highest tech effects, but definitely well done.

The movie was a little confusing at points(especially, for non-Tron fans and non-Geeks), but overall, I was really happy with the movie and the ending was pretty good.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
PetieeDec 19, 2010
Great, Great, Great, Great movie. It's a work for the geeks, and jeff bridges fans. Cool style, actions was fantastic, I was even surprised that the acting wasn't as terrible as I expected! Bottom line is that if you willingly watched theGreat, Great, Great, Great movie. It's a work for the geeks, and jeff bridges fans. Cool style, actions was fantastic, I was even surprised that the acting wasn't as terrible as I expected! Bottom line is that if you willingly watched the first tron and enjoyed it you'll love this. If your looking for a cool action movie, you'll love this. If your looking for a great work of art or a truly compelling story it will only be meh. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
GRENDEL123Dec 19, 2010
This movie was great. My first "new generation" 3D movie and it delivered. Saw it in an IMAX theater and it was quite the experience, visuals were amazing and the story was good, not sure what movie some of the others are watching. It's anThis movie was great. My first "new generation" 3D movie and it delivered. Saw it in an IMAX theater and it was quite the experience, visuals were amazing and the story was good, not sure what movie some of the others are watching. It's an adventure flick, plain and simple, setting up a new world/franchise that I hope continues to grow and prosper. I heard a lot of the negative press and have to say I can't imagine why. Just sit back and enjoy the film, it's not a sermon no matter what some critics would have you believe. Who's paying them anyways, most seem to have no touch with what the public is looking for in terms of entertainment. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
WillSciDec 19, 2010
This movie is fun, edgy, cool. It won't be a critic's choice, but It's better than typical Hollywood fluff. I hope they make a sequel, the story has been setup well for one. While this film has a good level of closure, there are plenty ofThis movie is fun, edgy, cool. It won't be a critic's choice, but It's better than typical Hollywood fluff. I hope they make a sequel, the story has been setup well for one. While this film has a good level of closure, there are plenty of options to take things further. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
SacrificeDec 19, 2010
Great visual effects. Decent enough story for a film that is special effects focused. It starts off strong, but part way through I found the pacing becomes sluggish and disjointed at times.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerOct 15, 2011
Truly spectacular, while I haven't seen the original Tron I really loved this movie, the world is awesome, characters are fantastic, and it just has an amazing atmosphere to it, it's action packed and just a lot of fun to watch, and theTruly spectacular, while I haven't seen the original Tron I really loved this movie, the world is awesome, characters are fantastic, and it just has an amazing atmosphere to it, it's action packed and just a lot of fun to watch, and the special effects and the cool suits they wear are awesome, and the ending has me hoping for another movie, truly a spectacular ride form beginning to end. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MetaCriticsDec 19, 2010
One of the most exciting, entertaining and visually pleasing movies I've ever seen. Along with the solid plot fidelity it's hands down one of the best movies I've seen in years.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JimZimbabweDec 20, 2010
I'm sorry that many people (and critics) don't understand that the whole point of going to the movies is to be entertained and to escape from reality for a while. TRON Legacy is wonderfully entertaining, visually stunning, and the story isI'm sorry that many people (and critics) don't understand that the whole point of going to the movies is to be entertained and to escape from reality for a while. TRON Legacy is wonderfully entertaining, visually stunning, and the story is engaging and plenty full of depth, despite what you may have heard. Also Jeff Bridges delivers an exceptional performance along side other strong actors. I will agree that the CGI on young Bridges looks out of place in the "real" world, but on the grid as the tragic antagonist CLU, It is entirely convincing that he exists. The villains are very interesting and at times I found myself rooting for them because of how cool and they are, especially Michael Sheen's fabulously despicable character. I never saw the first one nor was I born in the eighties, but I still thought this movie was fantastic, it doesn't just appeal to people in their thirties who want some nostalgia. Also, it's called TRON because the first one was called TRON and because calling it CLU, Light Cycles and Laser Frisbees, or Kevin Flynn and Company's Spacey Adventure on the Grid wouldn't be as catchy. I would give it a 12 out of 10 if I could because it was just that awesome of a spectacle and story of estrangement, betrayal, political symbolism, and self-sacrifice. Also, the soundtrack is top notch, I had my doubts at first when I heard Daft Punk was doing all the music, but it has one of the best scores of any movie that I have seen. Definitely see this movie, you will be surprised at how good it is. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ANormalHumanDec 20, 2010
Ok look you people are idiots, what do you expect when going to a movie entertainment not some deep thought provoking movie that will unravel the meaning of life of course not you go in there to watch a freekin movie. It's a moovie for peatOk look you people are idiots, what do you expect when going to a movie entertainment not some deep thought provoking movie that will unravel the meaning of life of course not you go in there to watch a freekin movie. It's a moovie for peat sake. The graphics where amazing the acting was awesome the story line kept true to the tron legacy and the music was perfectly chosen. I sat through the hole two hours and while I was in the theater I completely lost track of time and if a movie can make you feel like that than it's a great movie. So I give tron legacy a million out of a million. And let me tell you people that get a kick out of making people feel bad feel bad for working hard on something well than you can suck my left nut and if you go into a movie theater to look for the meaning of life than you might as well kill yourself because the closet thing you'll ever find to the meaning of life is staring at you straight down the barrel of a gun. So screw you an tron legacy is an amazing movie no matter if you 10 or 100. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Rebecca_87Dec 20, 2010
How can anybody not like this movie? If your argument is that it failed the original, revise your argument. This affectionate sequel paid sincere homage to its ground-breaking 80s predecessor, without being spoofy. It was clearly made withHow can anybody not like this movie? If your argument is that it failed the original, revise your argument. This affectionate sequel paid sincere homage to its ground-breaking 80s predecessor, without being spoofy. It was clearly made with love by a director who is a much a fan of the original Tron as Chuck Bartowski is. The 3D is neither gimmicky or showy but serves to pull in the audience like they have been affected by the laser as well. This is complemented by the forwards/ backwards movement in the movie which made the whole thing feel like a fairground ride. Daft Punk's soundtrack was quite simply AWESOME. The electro sound adds to the cleaned-up 80s feel of the movie and it is just so fantastically LOUD that it contributes beautifully to the immersive and disorienting experience. It isn't just the soundtrack itself that makes the movie a musical feast: Kosinski uses sound wonderfully to frame each movement, scene and mood-change that the movie is reminiscent of his very clever commercials and game trailers. it becomes very clear how he landed this gig. I'm thinking in particular of the moment, in the club/ fight scene where Flynn appears looking like a scary Dalai Lama/ Santa Claus accompanied by a cacophony of spine-tingling techno magic. You have to see it! There are not enough good words to describe Jeff Bridge's performance as the now world (and grid) weary hacker Kevin Flynn so I will plump for these stellar and so so cool. Relative newcomer Garrett Hedlund is an excellent young protagonist. I expected him to somewhat irritating (like Hayden Christensen in Attack of the Clones) but he wasn't and brought a Mark Hamil-esque quality to the piece. I have heard so much criticism of the CG which brought CLU, Flynn's creation-turned-nemesis, to life. The criticism was that compared to the surrounding characters it didn't look quite right. These people seem to be forgetting that they are comparing CG to REAL PEOPLE. Any graphics that are not quite as good as flesh as blood must be pretty good really. Remember how awesome we all thought Beowulf was.....

The overall feel of the movie is irrefutably polished and exciting. It made feel like an 11 year boy (which is an achievement as I'm a woman, so have never been one. ) Those who feel the story should have been more complex should remember this film was brought to you by Disney, the studio responsible for Pirates of Caribbean and Snow White. Any critics who feel that it didn't live up to the original should probably go watch the original again.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
PWarren4Dec 20, 2010
I know the critics are bashing this film and that makes me happy. That confirms to me mission accomplished by the producers and director. If they made a critical success that would mean they had dumbed it down to much and not played to theI know the critics are bashing this film and that makes me happy. That confirms to me mission accomplished by the producers and director. If they made a critical success that would mean they had dumbed it down to much and not played to the fan base that will truly make this the success it can be. I think they did it right, it gorgeous, it sticks to canon, and it tells a story. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
xanderveeDec 20, 2010
As a fan of the first movie I was eager to see Tron legacy, but at the same time afraid that it wouldn't be all that great. Well, I'm happy to say that I was very pleased with what I saw. Ignore the critics; all they want are movies that pullAs a fan of the first movie I was eager to see Tron legacy, but at the same time afraid that it wouldn't be all that great. Well, I'm happy to say that I was very pleased with what I saw. Ignore the critics; all they want are movies that pull your heartstrings and make you think. Those are good movies, but sometimes, I just want to watch a movie that takes me on a fun flight through imagination, and that's exactly what Tron legacy does. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
SeattleMike2010Dec 20, 2010
Not sure what the critics are talking about! Great movie, good acting, stunning visuals, fun soundtrack. If you like Avatar, you'll like Tron: Legacy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
KingFDDec 20, 2010
This is no Oscar winning masterpiece, but I still enjoyed it even with it's flaws. The biggest gripe would have to be with the story but even with this it still made for entertaining watching. Very shallow character development and a storyThis is no Oscar winning masterpiece, but I still enjoyed it even with it's flaws. The biggest gripe would have to be with the story but even with this it still made for entertaining watching. Very shallow character development and a story that seemed to awkwardly plod along to the start of the entry to the grid were things started to pick up Action sequences were spectacular and had me engaged through out. Very cool when watching full screen in an IMAX theatre. Jeff Bridges dialog had me cringing occasionally, but other than that I thought it was pretty enjoyable. So much so, I'm going watch it again this weekend. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Mangler298Dec 21, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hmmm makes me wonder why some of the reviews are over analyzing this movie. The movie is near perfect in bringing TRON to today's audience. The acting was well done and the visual effects blew me away. I guess my only complaint is that I would of liked to have seen more of TRON (Bruce Boxleitner), but maybe in the next movie. Daft Punk really delivered in the muscial score...I hope this is not the last of Kevin Flynn...

Me: I have been a loyal fan of TRON since I was a kid, owned both TRON and Discs of TRON arcade machines, attended the 2000 E3 show to help promote TRON 2.0 the PC game with then rumors of Disney looking at scripts for a movie...I'm happy to say that I loved the film and it exceeded my expectations.

Disney really owes a lot to www.tron-sector.com, who helped keep TRON alive all these years..and here we are ;-)
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheChiefOfCODJan 1, 2011
OK, what the heck? Whats wrong with these critics!? This movie was AMAZING. I loved every thing about this movie. Great action. Great effects. Great actors. Love it. DON'T LISTEN TO THE CRITICS. WATCH IT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Shock256Dec 22, 2010
This movie really did pay tribute to the original. I have been a fan sense the first one and this one is exactly in the same spirit. It is slow at times, fast paced at others as well as being visually and musically a landscape. The sound andThis movie really did pay tribute to the original. I have been a fan sense the first one and this one is exactly in the same spirit. It is slow at times, fast paced at others as well as being visually and musically a landscape. The sound and sites are a treat, the story, while not perfect, is, when compared to the first, a perfect sequel. I can't wait to see if this series can ramp it up in following movies, or if it dies do to over critical inter-net snobbery. See the first one again, then go see this. You will not be disappointed and in the end that is why you bought the ticket and took the ride.

END OF LINE
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
haigchapmanDec 23, 2010
An absolute spectacle. Breathtaking, cinematic and inspired. The story is fairly weak (but fashionably Disney), and the dialogue a little forced ("Radical, man"), but the experience is far from disappointing. The musical score has anAn absolute spectacle. Breathtaking, cinematic and inspired. The story is fairly weak (but fashionably Disney), and the dialogue a little forced ("Radical, man"), but the experience is far from disappointing. The musical score has an undeniably exciting leitmotif, and the fact that it was composed by first-timers Daft Punk really emphasises its brilliance. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KalibrDec 24, 2010
I loved this movie... I want more! Go see it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VentXekartJan 24, 2011
I think the critics underestimated the potential this movie has, not only is it good eye candy but it is also a good sequel to one of Disney's greatest live action sci-fi hits.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
davidp1045Dec 31, 2010
Loved it! Garrett Hedlund, Olivia Wilde, and Jeff Bridges are all fantastic in this movie. The music was great. The 3D effects were awesome. I definitely would recommend this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
howitzerDec 27, 2010
What a ride! This movie takes you off to another world and keeps you entertained from beginning to end. In my opinion there was no need to expand/review on old characters and plot as this is a sequel. This was a good move, leaving moreWhat a ride! This movie takes you off to another world and keeps you entertained from beginning to end. In my opinion there was no need to expand/review on old characters and plot as this is a sequel. This was a good move, leaving more time for showing off the beauty of this incredible world. If you've watched the first movie, you'll understand who flynn and alan are etc... The new characters were developed well. Music is absolutely perfect for the film and helps to transport you there. 10/10 for pure cyber punk entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ferretfaceDec 28, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised by Tron: Legacy.
First off, this movie has the best matched soundtrack in a very long time. Daft Punk do/does the music and it figuratively drives the film.
The visual effects are very nice and help tell the story
I was pleasantly surprised by Tron: Legacy.
First off, this movie has the best matched soundtrack in a very long time. Daft Punk do/does the music and it figuratively drives the film.
The visual effects are very nice and help tell the story as opposed to overshadowing it.
The acting was good and it was fun to see Bruce Boxleitner and Jeff Bridges back on The Grid.
I also thought it was cool that there was a brief reference to the old MCP.
There was plenty in this movie to create new TRON fans and enough bones tossed to old TRON fans to make them (me) feel acknowledged.
I give it an 8/10.
I think the movie could have been edited down to improve pacing and reduce the overall length of the film.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MichaelDAug 20, 2011
I absolutely loved the movie. The lightcycle races and the disc wars were absolutely spectacular and Jeff Bridges gave his all in a great performance. And Daft Punk is just the cherry on top! Possibly the best family movie I have seen sinceI absolutely loved the movie. The lightcycle races and the disc wars were absolutely spectacular and Jeff Bridges gave his all in a great performance. And Daft Punk is just the cherry on top! Possibly the best family movie I have seen since Monsters VS Aliens. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ZugishDec 29, 2010
It's like your usual guns and girls action movie... for a nerd. Everything from the light cycles to the disk throwing to aerial techno dog fights looks absolutely stunning and are truly the highlights of the movie. Everything else isIt's like your usual guns and girls action movie... for a nerd. Everything from the light cycles to the disk throwing to aerial techno dog fights looks absolutely stunning and are truly the highlights of the movie. Everything else is forgettable. Acting is sub-par and the only memorable personality is that of Jeff Bridges who plays a mix of god and hippie. If you want a nice looking movie, I would suggest it but like others have said, it lacks a grabbing story. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
jamesdeanDec 29, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Interesing movie, but it's a cliche, it doesnt give us something new and the music i expected more of Daft Punk, the only really good it's the visual effects but the don't know how to use in its totallity the 3D.... its only a movie that you can see in your room in a borin sunday afternoon. i hope my "critic" could help you for make a descicion to see it Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
David_HDec 29, 2010
I'm old enough to have seen the first TRON in the theater so I have to admit, I walked in somewhat jaded and thinking it wouldn't likely be very good. I was actually pleasantly surprised. There was good chemistry with the actors and OliviaI'm old enough to have seen the first TRON in the theater so I have to admit, I walked in somewhat jaded and thinking it wouldn't likely be very good. I was actually pleasantly surprised. There was good chemistry with the actors and Olivia Wilde was an excellent addition to the cast. The technology and vehicles were also very well done. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
nickissortacoolDec 30, 2010
This movie is brilliant. Everything about but especially the visual effects and the soundtrack were quite FTW. And nickissortacool. I recommend this movie to everyone with eyes and ears.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
herrojewJan 1, 2011
Though not as well written as the original, this sequel was quite decent. The story was mediocre, but visuals and audio were spectacular. Definitely a must see for fans of the original.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Libra85Apr 12, 2011
This is a great visual specticle and the characters really come to life. The story isn't much but its not awful. This movie does a great job entertaining and if yyou expect just that, then you will enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dumbuldoreJan 1, 2011
Tron Legacy is a great movie if you've seen the original. It's great special effects,acting,script,and action. My opinion is that you shouldn't see tron in 3D. It's a GREAT movie!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
vocecitaJan 1, 2011
I enjoyed this movie so much!! great acting and visuals!!! I enjoyed watching Jeff Bridges young looks... amazing!! I hope the dvd com with the first movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tayfrox3Jan 4, 2011
I do not understand the negative reviews for this film because I LOVED it! I think that some people are forgetting who this film was made by and who it was made for. Of course the film isn't intense and or deeply intellectual it was made bytI do not understand the negative reviews for this film because I LOVED it! I think that some people are forgetting who this film was made by and who it was made for. Of course the film isn't intense and or deeply intellectual it was made byt he Disney company for ALL AGES. I am a college student and went to the film with my boyfriend who is also in college and his twin brothers who are 13. All four of us enjoyed the movie and want to see it again. The visuals are breath-taking and the musical score is excellent. I wish that the critics would take a step back and reassess the movie as a whole instead of comparing it to movies which were made for completely different audiences and purposes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SFNJan 5, 2011
i enjoyed this movie, the 3D really made the difference, even thou im not a real fan of tron i enjoyed this movie, the actors are good at best, the storyline to me could"ve been better but still a good movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BourneflynnJan 5, 2011
Why must we analyze movies to death all the time. The best movies allow people to escape for a couple of hours, to immerse you in compelling stories or worlds never seen before. I grew up watching the original, intrigued by the vehiclesWhy must we analyze movies to death all the time. The best movies allow people to escape for a couple of hours, to immerse you in compelling stories or worlds never seen before. I grew up watching the original, intrigued by the vehicles and characters in the Grid. I always hoped a sequel would be made. Well after all these years, the second was definitely worth the wait. The artists created an amazingly beautiful world and for 2 hours, you are immersed in Sam's journey. Truly amazing visuals mixed with an amazing soundtrack by Daft Punk. A must see in 3D! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
brandonmoe96Jan 5, 2011
Tron is such an amazing movie. I found pure perfection in it's overall story line. Long movie, however it was so entertaining throughout the entire movie there was never a boring part especially with all of it's amazing scenes graphics. notTron is such an amazing movie. I found pure perfection in it's overall story line. Long movie, however it was so entertaining throughout the entire movie there was never a boring part especially with all of it's amazing scenes graphics. not one thing looked fake or cheesy. I give this movie a 10 easily! must see dont hesitate!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MentlaJan 6, 2011
SERIOUSLY ignore then hate bandwagon that's rolling along (it seems it cool to hate this film) and go see a damn good action movie. Obviously my score gets a +1 as it was IMAX but still think it was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
johnwhoJan 6, 2011
This movie is pretty much awesome, don't freakin listen to the critics! It's an amazing audio/visual experience that will definitely blow your mind!! The acting is great, the directing is great and i was pretty stunned when i saw it was madeThis movie is pretty much awesome, don't freakin listen to the critics! It's an amazing audio/visual experience that will definitely blow your mind!! The acting is great, the directing is great and i was pretty stunned when i saw it was made from a non-famous director. The music score... all i can say is that after i saw the movie i was in youtube for hours listening to the soundtrack.
About the story... i don't get it, how can some ppl say it lacks in story (ofc it's not "silence of the lambs" or "shutter island") but i guess ur mind was blacked out from the visual awesomeness and u didn't really pay attention to the film (poor IQ).
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Templar19Jan 6, 2011
I don't know why this movie got such a bad critic score, but i loved this movie, it is one of my new favorite movies, i even paid to see it in 3d Twice, and i normally will only go see movies if i have a coupon or get in free. The music isI don't know why this movie got such a bad critic score, but i loved this movie, it is one of my new favorite movies, i even paid to see it in 3d Twice, and i normally will only go see movies if i have a coupon or get in free. The music is awesome, i even downloaded the Daft punk album! lots of action great storyline, and Olivia Wilde is Strangly extremely attractive :p Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Palino007Jan 12, 2011
A bit of a disappointment for me. While visually stunning and with incredible music, the tempo is uneven and the movie is sometimes boring. But at least a few truly incredible parts, bring this movie to 7/10 for me.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
grrrgoJan 9, 2011
The Tron Legacy maybe not a matrix caliber film, but even it is a breathtaking masterpiece with unique design and incredible spectacle. The music is clearly one of the best soundtrack. Simply phenomenal. A good hint, if you can watch it in 3D!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
NRowanJan 9, 2011
I really enjoyed it. It's visually spectacular and has an awesome soundtrack by Daft Punk. Can't wait for more! Is it going to win Oscars for story and acting? Probably not. Will it win for special effects? It's got a shot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
flyer_Jan 9, 2011
Certainly it lacks strong characters but I'd risk to say Olivia Wilde's performance as an 'app' is somehow praise-worth. I enjoyed. The highlights are the visual effects --the colors combination fits the virtual environment and takes you intoCertainly it lacks strong characters but I'd risk to say Olivia Wilde's performance as an 'app' is somehow praise-worth. I enjoyed. The highlights are the visual effects --the colors combination fits the virtual environment and takes you into it -- and the soundtrack. Never would expect to like Daft Punk. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews