TRON: Legacy

TRON: Legacy Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 769 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: TRON: Legacy is a 3D high-tech adventure set in a digital world that's unlike anything ever captured on the big screen Sam Flynn, a rebellious 27-year-old, is haunted by the mysterious disappearance of his father Kevin Flynn, a man once known as the world's leading video-game developer. WhenTRON: Legacy is a 3D high-tech adventure set in a digital world that's unlike anything ever captured on the big screen Sam Flynn, a rebellious 27-year-old, is haunted by the mysterious disappearance of his father Kevin Flynn, a man once known as the world's leading video-game developer. When Sam investigates a strange signal sent from the old Flynn's Arcade—a signal that could only come from his father—he finds himself pulled into a digital world where Kevin has been trapped for 20 years. With the help of the fearless warrior Quorra, father and son embark on a life-and-death journey across a visually-stunning cyber universe—a universe created by Kevin himself that has become far more advanced with never-before imagined vehicles, weapons, landscapes and a ruthless villain who will stop at nothing to prevent their escape. (Walt Disney Pictures)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Pete Hammond
    Dec 7, 2010
    80
    On the heels of another revelatory turn in True Grit, Bridges is sensational again, here in a groundbreaking performance.
  2. Reviewed by: J.R. Jones
    Dec 16, 2010
    70
    The special effects are incredible, blah blah blah, but oddly, the most effective element here is the original movie's striking visual design-everything pitch black except for the luminescent piping on the costumes and foreground objects-which was inspired by the primitive arcade games of the early 80s.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Dec 16, 2010
    63
    It's a triumph of streamlined design, but TRON: Legacy never enters the fourth dimension where it's worth a plugged nickel to humans.
  4. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Dec 15, 2010
    50
    TRON: Legacy may well satisfy the fanboys who have waited almost three decades for its appearance. Enjoy. Who knows, maybe one day if you wait long enough they'll make a "Super Mario Bros." sequel, too.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Dec 16, 2010
    50
    There are worse things than being trapped inside a computer game with Olivia Wilde. In Tron: Legacy, the loud, long and less than wholly satisfying sequel to "Tron," that's the bittersweet fate of Kevin Flynn (Jeff Bridges), the computer-nerd hero of both the 1982 sci-fi cult classic and its high-tech, 3-D update.
  6. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Dec 16, 2010
    50
    Tron: Legacy gives us a dud stud named Garrett Hedlund as Sam Flynn, the hero of this petrified sequel to 1982's "Tron." None of what he sees impresses. The feeling is mutual.
  7. Reviewed by: John DeVore
    Dec 17, 2010
    12
    Tron: Legacy will only be enjoyed by men in their thirties and early forties searching for a Proustian moment.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 244
  1. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    An absolutely marvelous film with breathtaking visuals and beautiful art direction. So much of the spirit of the original film is in this oneAn absolutely marvelous film with breathtaking visuals and beautiful art direction. So much of the spirit of the original film is in this one with references for the fans of the first movie to smile with pride for understanding. My only complaints are: there is no Bit (loved Bit in the original) and the vintage lightcycle is a great sight and it's built up, but it gets next to no worthwhile screen time. Regardless of those complaints, it's a fantastic movie with plenty of geek fanfare and love for the fans of the original. The acting is strong, the writing sharp, and the soundtrack is undeniably awesome. I cannot recommend this film highly enough. Go see it! End of Line. Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hmmm makes me wonder why some of the reviews are over analyzing this movie. The movie is near perfect in bringing TRON to today's audience. The acting was well done and the visual effects blew me away. I guess my only complaint is that I would of liked to have seen more of TRON (Bruce Boxleitner), but maybe in the next movie. Daft Punk really delivered in the muscial score...I hope this is not the last of Kevin Flynn...

    Me: I have been a loyal fan of TRON since I was a kid, owned both TRON and Discs of TRON arcade machines, attended the 2000 E3 show to help promote TRON 2.0 the PC game with then rumors of Disney looking at scripts for a movie...I'm happy to say that I loved the film and it exceeded my expectations.

    Disney really owes a lot to www.tron-sector.com, who helped keep TRON alive all these years..and here we are ;-)
    Expand
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    Great, Great, Great, Great movie. It's a work for the geeks, and jeff bridges fans. Cool style, actions was fantastic, I was even surprisedGreat, Great, Great, Great movie. It's a work for the geeks, and jeff bridges fans. Cool style, actions was fantastic, I was even surprised that the acting wasn't as terrible as I expected! Bottom line is that if you willingly watched the first tron and enjoyed it you'll love this. If your looking for a cool action movie, you'll love this. If your looking for a great work of art or a truly compelling story it will only be meh. Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    Highly enjoyable movie. Thoroughly enjoyed it. I thought it was a fresh take on an old classic and found the main characters believable. TheHighly enjoyable movie. Thoroughly enjoyed it. I thought it was a fresh take on an old classic and found the main characters believable. The special effects were good and I was mostly able to forget that I was watching a Disney movie. I especially liked the sound track and have been a fan of Daft Punk for years. Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2011
    7
    I watched the original about 2 weeks prior to watching this sequel.

    Great visuals, great sounds (way to go Daft Punk), great acting from Jeff
    I watched the original about 2 weeks prior to watching this sequel.

    Great visuals, great sounds (way to go Daft Punk), great acting from Jeff Bridges who really makes the movie.

    Not amazing, or ground-breaking by any means, but a polished and well-treated production.
    Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2011
    5
    Visually fantastic, with amazing music and great action scenes, but the plot is uninspired and the story feels very much like a cop-out. GoodVisually fantastic, with amazing music and great action scenes, but the plot is uninspired and the story feels very much like a cop-out. Good popcorn flick, but no one will remember it 20 years from now Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2010
    0
    This film was terrible. It was worse than the origional. at least the origional had a story and plot, much like the new star wars films. LikeThis film was terrible. It was worse than the origional. at least the origional had a story and plot, much like the new star wars films. Like why did they keep the disks on there backs where there easy to steal........also if the army went through the portal they would all end up in a small room which would cause the world to implode.......

    To sum up if you want to see a good film dont see this...see never back down. that film is amazing and well deserved its oscar.
    Expand

See all 244 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Six Picks for the Week of December 13-19

    Six Picks for the Week of December 13-19 Image
    Published: December 12, 2010
    This week brings "Tron Legacy" to theaters -- as well as a possible Oscar contender starring Nicole Kidman -- and the first posthumous album from Michael Jackson.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: November 12, 2010
    This week, get news on the upcoming Muppet movie and new projects from Wes Anderson and Cameron Crowe, plus watch over a dozen just-released trailers and clips for upcoming movies, including "Tron: Legacy," "Battle: Los Angeles," and "Friends with Benefits."
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: November 5, 2010
    This week, watch new clips from "Tron Legacy" and "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows" and trailers for upcoming movies starring Adam Sandler, Owen Wilson, Colin Farrell, and more. Plus, get news about "Spider-Man" and new projects for Leonardo DiCaprio, Brad Pitt, and John Carpenter.
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: October 29, 2010
    There are plenty of big movies and big names in this week's update. Get the latest details on Christopher Nolan's next "Batman" movie, Stephen Spielberg's newest project, and not one but two "Avatar" sequels, plus watch trailers and clips for "Tron: Legacy," "Rabbit Hole," and other upcoming films.