Tropic Thunder

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 473 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 473
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    Hilarious! One of the funniest films ever for sure. Cool concept and with an all-star cast of Ben stiller, Jack Black, and more. Will be in my top ten and classified as a classic in my mind for a long time.
  2. SimpleJack
    Aug 16, 2008
    10
    Instant classic.
  3. Scorcher7
    Aug 17, 2008
    6
    Downey Jr. is a 10, everything else is hit and miss. Stiller still goes off on weird dope induced tangents that take from the "tightness" of the movie--overly silly but not really funny all the time. There are some funny parts, but no way is this movie "classic" or a "10". A year after the DVD comes out you'll barely remember this except for Tom Cruise's creepy character and Downey Jr. is a 10, everything else is hit and miss. Stiller still goes off on weird dope induced tangents that take from the "tightness" of the movie--overly silly but not really funny all the time. There are some funny parts, but no way is this movie "classic" or a "10". A year after the DVD comes out you'll barely remember this except for Tom Cruise's creepy character and Downey's funny linesperformance. Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2011
    7
    If you exaggerate the meaning, "Tropic Thunder" is a excellent movie with **** good humor. If you look at me eye to eye for my honest opinion, its just a unpredictable movie that has its laughs.
  5. DavidW.
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Best Film of the year. How did this not win best picture. Comedies deserve more credit. This movie was incredibly intelligent. It is sad that some are not intelligent enough to realize this.
  6. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    A 7? Am I missing something? I know the movie is good .. but it is a bit boring ..
  7. Paula
    Aug 24, 2008
    2
    gross, offensive, barely a chuckle.
  8. RiverS.
    Oct 3, 2008
    2
    I thought this movies was ridiculing those with physical and mental disability i.e 'retard'( i quote form the film). Also there was child abuse involved (throwing the chinese child off the bridge), i thought this was not needed. last of all i thought the film was being homophbic, so what if he's gay, there was no need for the characters to make him uncomfortable about it.
  9. RobertT
    May 7, 2009
    5
    This movie was not in the least bit as fnny as it is made out to be. Seriously the only funny thing in the movie is Jack Black's character. That was hilarious. If someone thinks his movie is intelligent then they are insane. I really did not like the lame attempt at laugs, especially Robert Downy Jr.'s character and also Ben Stillers character was incredibly unfunny. Overall is This movie was not in the least bit as fnny as it is made out to be. Seriously the only funny thing in the movie is Jack Black's character. That was hilarious. If someone thinks his movie is intelligent then they are insane. I really did not like the lame attempt at laugs, especially Robert Downy Jr.'s character and also Ben Stillers character was incredibly unfunny. Overall is if you want to see a dumb, mostly unfunny comedy then you should watch it, bu why waste your time. Expand
  10. LaurenC
    Sep 1, 2008
    1
    The movie was long, with little meaningful plot, and an star studded cast whose talents were wasted on a no-brainer idiotic script. It was insulting that any producer would expect people to find the contrived "jokes" funny. A "1" for Tom Cruises cameo, because that was indeed worth a chuckle. But, there were little redeeming qualities about this movie and I left the theater feeling cheated.
  11. giln
    Jun 8, 2009
    0
    Tropic Thunder was a cheap remake of Galaxy Quest. All they did was go from space to the jungle. Next it will be some actors from Lost getting kidnapped onto a real island full of Gilligan girls and dinosauers and giant apes. If copyright laws were tighter Tropic Thunder would be another infringement case. Goes to show that big shot Hollywood types are not so talented after all.
  12. Wokoil
    Oct 22, 2008
    0
    For me, this movie is beyond bad. Granted, I'm don't usually tune in to this kind of weak comedy so I think I saw through it pretty much when steve coogan had that stupid look on his face he now considers his acting masterclass (can you believe this guy used to do 'the day today?!?). I'm just amazed that some of you are giving it 8,9 & 10's. No offense, but some For me, this movie is beyond bad. Granted, I'm don't usually tune in to this kind of weak comedy so I think I saw through it pretty much when steve coogan had that stupid look on his face he now considers his acting masterclass (can you believe this guy used to do 'the day today?!?). I'm just amazed that some of you are giving it 8,9 & 10's. No offense, but some of you saying it was laugh out loud funny for 90 minutes really need to get out more. Film Critic Richard Corliss summed it up perfectly for me with "The brain gets the joke; the ribs are untickled" Expand
  13. Marvin
    Aug 17, 2008
    3
    Very bland, boring, and unfunny in long stretches of the film.
  14. JeffM.
    Aug 20, 2008
    4
    This was not a good movie. I feel dumber for having seen this.
  15. JohnG
    Aug 20, 2008
    3
    The previews are expertly edited to show the few funny parts in the movie while hinting that this is just a taste of what will be an equally funny movie...this movie is actually boring and tired. Downey's character is the funniest but he has few good lines. A huge disappointment.
  16. LonnC.
    Aug 8, 2008
    0
    i wouldn't say 0, I would say 5, but I'm just averaging out the reviews. The movie isn't very good. It's funny, but it's pointless, repulsive and stupid. It' s dumb, dull, and boring. I guess its okay.
  17. JohnG.
    Sep 1, 2008
    0
    Absolutely horrible. The constant use of the f word and crude remarks dealing with sexual acts on a man made me walk out during the movie. I was embarrassed to be in the theater. What bothered me most is that there were 6-7 year old kids sitting there watching this garbage.
  18. Anthony
    Aug 22, 2008
    3
    Wow this movie was ridiculously bad, maybe the cut some funny scenes as someone had mentioned earlier, but even then a few scenes couldn't save this movie. The cast was amazing i was really excited to have so many funny people in one movie but they didn't pull it off, Jack Black did ok but Downey and the rest could have taken a much better role and made this 10 year in Wow this movie was ridiculously bad, maybe the cut some funny scenes as someone had mentioned earlier, but even then a few scenes couldn't save this movie. The cast was amazing i was really excited to have so many funny people in one movie but they didn't pull it off, Jack Black did ok but Downey and the rest could have taken a much better role and made this 10 year in development film worth while. Most people probably already saw it but i highly recommend you save your maybe anyway. Expand
  19. GilbertC.
    Aug 8, 2008
    0
    What a bore. The trailer is funny. But this movie isn't. It's repetitive and stupid. I Hate It!
  20. MichaelO.
    Jan 21, 2009
    3
    First 10 minutes are funny. The remainder is boring. I had to watch this twice. I fell asleep the first time.
  21. SimpleBen
    Jun 14, 2009
    0
    The imitation trailer idea was stolen from Tarantino's 'Grindhouse' and they were all stupid anyway. Stiller jus threw down a bunch of jokes for 14 yr olds and retreaded criticsm of the filmaking industry with a parody of the business and Vietnam war movies while he was at it. The product is shallow characters stumbling through an incomprehensible plot distracted by a lot The imitation trailer idea was stolen from Tarantino's 'Grindhouse' and they were all stupid anyway. Stiller jus threw down a bunch of jokes for 14 yr olds and retreaded criticsm of the filmaking industry with a parody of the business and Vietnam war movies while he was at it. The product is shallow characters stumbling through an incomprehensible plot distracted by a lot of gasoline explosions making you wonder what the hell is the point. Anyway Stiller gets to fan his vanity and show us he's been working out. Expand
  22. GrantC.
    Nov 28, 2008
    5
    I had high expectations, with such high scoring from critics (and raves from my friends, but high schoolers aren't the most trustworthy with films). I never thought it could be good. This movie was a giant let down. It wasn't bad per se, but it could never lived up to the high 71 average. I usually agree with the critics (my favorite films this year all have Metascores that are I had high expectations, with such high scoring from critics (and raves from my friends, but high schoolers aren't the most trustworthy with films). I never thought it could be good. This movie was a giant let down. It wasn't bad per se, but it could never lived up to the high 71 average. I usually agree with the critics (my favorite films this year all have Metascores that are favorable or UA: 82, 85, 93, 63, 79), but they let me down with this stupidity. I laughed a few times, at the opening commercials, at... it's hard to think of much else. Just don't get excited about this movie, it' nothing special in the least. Entertaining and moderately amusing, but there are much better films to watch or even rewatch (Holy Grail for the hundredth time anyone?) over this. Expand
  23. Jennifer
    Dec 26, 2008
    3
    Ok I came into this movie expecting to be crying from laughter, and if anything i was crying because i just wasted 8 bucks. the jokes werent funny, i was forcing myself to laugh the whole time so i could keep myself from falling asleep. i think there was maybe one funny part but for the most part, i kept thinking"so when is this movie going to get funny like everyone said it was?" i didnt Ok I came into this movie expecting to be crying from laughter, and if anything i was crying because i just wasted 8 bucks. the jokes werent funny, i was forcing myself to laugh the whole time so i could keep myself from falling asleep. i think there was maybe one funny part but for the most part, i kept thinking"so when is this movie going to get funny like everyone said it was?" i didnt think tom cruise was funny. he grossed me out, it completely tarnished the little respect i have left for him after the whole katie holmes faze. tom used to be my favorite actor, now he is a joke. i do love ben stiller though, he was the only good part of this film. but overall... huge disappointment. Expand
  24. pdxsrw
    Nov 29, 2008
    3
    You see the only funny moments in the trailer....a complete waste of time and some talent.
  25. Jan 4, 2013
    0
    Most unfunny slap-stick piece of junk I've EVER seen in my life. It's pretty sad that the only funny part in this movie is Ben Stiller acting as a retarded kid for mercenaries in a play. yeah.
  26. SidR.
    Oct 3, 2008
    8
    This film is seriously hilarious, i was laughing almost at every scene, the bonus of this film is you get to see Tom Cruise dancing for at least five minutes, his dance moves is just unbelievably funny!!
  27. AntiLonnC.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Lonn C said ZERO because to bruing the average down which defeats the whole purpose of a group average. So I am voting 10 to push Lonn's 0 to 5 which is the score that would have been given. Come on people, do your review based on your opinion, ignore other comments and the group average. The idea is everyone gives their honest and as unbiased as possible opinion and then the group Lonn C said ZERO because to bruing the average down which defeats the whole purpose of a group average. So I am voting 10 to push Lonn's 0 to 5 which is the score that would have been given. Come on people, do your review based on your opinion, ignore other comments and the group average. The idea is everyone gives their honest and as unbiased as possible opinion and then the group average reflects the users opinions. Giving a much lower score because the current average score does not reflect your opinion is just turning the average score into your opinion which makes it worthless. Expand
  28. RafaelF.
    Aug 11, 2008
    9
    I just saw an advance screening and must say this movie was awesome. Much more than what I expected.
  29. DavidB.
    Aug 15, 2008
    9
    Hilarious movie all around. Robert Downey Jr is absolutely fantastic, and the rest of the cast does a great job as well. This isn't comedy of the summer (Pineapple Express will be hard to surpass), but it's still really good.
  30. MikeK
    Aug 18, 2008
    2
    Terrible movie don't understand all the great reviews the beginning is the only funny part. After that it is just the same jokes over and over, do yourself a favor save $10 and wait for DVD even then pretty weak movie.
  31. SeanR.
    Aug 20, 2008
    5
    Funny here and there, I suppose if you like on the nose humor this is your movie.
  32. KevinD.
    Aug 24, 2008
    2
    Worst movie I've seen since Date Movie, which was the worst I've ever seen. I get that the movie pokes fun at Hollywood (itself), and that's worth something. But, it isn't nearly enough. This movie just wasn't funny. Tom Cruise was the best part of the whole movie.
  33. AlexB.
    Aug 5, 2008
    10
    With apologies to WALL-E and The Dark Knight, this is the best movie of the summer. It works because it's a send-up of Hollywood, not of war movies in general. Like Paul P. said, it had great comedy without going too over the top. Robert Downey Jr. is absolutely amazing, and would be the best thing in the movie were it not for the presence of a big name actor who I won't reveal With apologies to WALL-E and The Dark Knight, this is the best movie of the summer. It works because it's a send-up of Hollywood, not of war movies in general. Like Paul P. said, it had great comedy without going too over the top. Robert Downey Jr. is absolutely amazing, and would be the best thing in the movie were it not for the presence of a big name actor who I won't reveal here (although any movie fan has probably heard about his presence). Expand
  34. Anonymous
    Sep 1, 2008
    9
    This movie was hilarious and smart.
  35. EvanL
    Sep 1, 2008
    9
    I can see why some people didn't like this movie. There were so many obscure hilarious references to movies like apocalypse now and such. You fellas should get out more.
  36. TimE.
    Sep 6, 2008
    8
    This movie is not a 10 or a 9, but I think it's quite good, and worth watching it!
  37. BruceW.
    Sep 7, 2008
    10
    Hilarious and cutting. From the opening psuedo trailers to the closing Tom Cruise dance, this moving poked fun at all those Vietnam films and at the film industry. Two thumbs up.
  38. TedB.
    Oct 15, 2008
    4
    Just not quite funny enough? Lots of the Jokes fall flat but you're left amazed by the amount of money spent on them?
  39. MarkB.
    Oct 9, 2008
    7
    To go "full-on retard" or not to go "full-on retard", that is the question. Perhaps if I were the parent of a Down's syndrome child I could more easily embrace the objections of those who are, in some cases, understandably offended by the dialogues that occur late in Ben Stiller's take-no-prisoners film industry satire between actors debating whether to use restaint in To go "full-on retard" or not to go "full-on retard", that is the question. Perhaps if I were the parent of a Down's syndrome child I could more easily embrace the objections of those who are, in some cases, understandably offended by the dialogues that occur late in Ben Stiller's take-no-prisoners film industry satire between actors debating whether to use restaint in portraying mentally challenged characters, as Tom Hanks did in Forrest Gump, or to go way over the top like Sean Penn in I Am Sam, and the box office and Academy Award rewards and penalties that potentially go with either approach. Although I can sympathize (if not empathize) with said critics, I think some of them may be too emotionally close to the subject to understand that Tropic Thunder's principals are figures of ridicule and NOT ROLE MODELS--after all, nobody objected when the Nazis in Schindler's List spewed anti-Semitism, did they? Besides, Kirk Lazarus's (Robert Downey Jr., enjoying a movie year that some actors would sell less-loved siblings to have) and Tugg Speedman's (Stiller) observations are dead-on--if anything they don't go far enough. This movie doesn't mention the worst example of all: Cliff Robertson's horrible overacting in 1968's Charly, which netted him an Oscar for a role that he ruthlessly engineered for himself while demolishing Daniel Keyes' fine novel in the process. Tropic Thunder also neglects to discuss how many Little Golden Guys inevitably go to performers who (pardon the expression in advance) go "full-on gimp", portraying PHYSICALLY challenged folks (Jane Wyman, Daniel Day-Lewis, Hanks in Philadelphia, etc., etc. It could be said--though not by me--that the only actor to honestly come upon an Oscar this way was Marlee Matlin.) Clearly, the actors and crew of a Vietnam movie-within-a-movie who fall down a real-life rabbit hole that Lewis Carroll never dreamed of think that Konstantin ("Love art in yourself, not yourself in art") Stanislavski was a long-deposed Balkan government official; Stiller and cowriter Justin Theroux are ruthless in depicting them, and the result is a movie whose box office success, like that of 2006's Borat, happily disproves the old saw that satire is what closes on Saturday night. Unfortunately, as with Borat, much of Tropic Thunder is funnier on paper than actually on screen (and it never manages to top the magnificent parodies seen in the first five minutes, which among other things should prove beyond all remaining doubt that hacks-from-hell Aaron Seltzer and Jason Friedburg should be shot into outer space). But even though Tropic Thunder is stuffed with insider jokes that will confuse if not outright bore casual moviegoers, it's difficult not to admire its utter mercilessness and lack of sentimentality in depicting EVERYONE in the profession as greedier and more heartless and self-centered than those in Wall Street and Washington combined. (Sadly, this hasn't changed much over the years; if you want proof, read Joseph McBride's disturbing John Ford and Frank Capra biographies. Nor will it: while AMC's brilliant TV series Mad Men delights in exposing the difference between early 1960s Madison Avenue culture and today's--puff, puff--TRopic Thunder could easily be remade 48 years later with very few changes.) But you gotta admire the resourcefulness, caginess and intelligence of A Certain Superstar whose recent couch-jumping antics, overespousal of religious beliefs and willingness to star in Robert Redford's boring Iraq preachathon have subjected him to hard times: his astonishing comeback cameo as a studio slimeball who maybe has taken a sequence in Risky Business a bit too much to heart has, at least for now, restored for Mr. Cruise the mantle of One Of The Smartest Guys In Hollywood. Expand
  40. PaulP.
    Jun 27, 2008
    9
    This was a great Action Comedy. It really mixed the production value and effects of a great Vietnam movie with edgy comedy that we don't see very much these days. The actors play the comedy straight, but not in an over the top silly matter that we are used to seeing in other send up movies. There is plenty of movie references throughout, but unlike most parody movies, the viewer can This was a great Action Comedy. It really mixed the production value and effects of a great Vietnam movie with edgy comedy that we don't see very much these days. The actors play the comedy straight, but not in an over the top silly matter that we are used to seeing in other send up movies. There is plenty of movie references throughout, but unlike most parody movies, the viewer can enjoy this movie on it's own merit and without seeing any of the referenced films. I would have to say that this movie really broke new ground in combining comedy and action and I don't think I have ever seen a movie like it; and that's hard to find in today's cinema. Expand
  41. PatrickS.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    I'll give it a 10 just to balance that last gus 0 - can't wait to seet it! Ben Stiller rocks!!!
  42. MattS.
    Aug 18, 2008
    9
    This will become a comedy classic on the same high level that Stiller's other major directorial outing - Zoolander - currently sits at. Robert Downey Jr. in the role of a lifetime and Tom Cruise in the life-saving role of a lifetime are the highlights, but everything about this movie, from the minutes before it even begins to the credits after it ends, is pure genius. my only very This will become a comedy classic on the same high level that Stiller's other major directorial outing - Zoolander - currently sits at. Robert Downey Jr. in the role of a lifetime and Tom Cruise in the life-saving role of a lifetime are the highlights, but everything about this movie, from the minutes before it even begins to the credits after it ends, is pure genius. my only very minor quibble is that they provided no closure to the Jay Burachel storyline...I was kinda hoping to see him become a big Hollywood star in the end or something, because he was the only down-to-earth person in the entire movie. :P Expand
  43. BillG
    Aug 18, 2008
    4
    Pushed by all the hype I went and Tropic Thunder today. The verdict: extremely over rated. There were a few clever parts and some amusing gags here and there, but mostly it was just silly and dumb. Afterwards I wished I'd gone to see Woody Allen's new movie a man who's humor is a little more developed than fart and "retard" jokes.
  44. JackH.
    Aug 18, 2008
    5
    Nice Schmoolie G.....Nice. I didn't see this movie, and probably won't until it comes out for rental. But nice review either way Schmoolie.
  45. AndrewR.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    One of the funniest comedies I have seen recently
  46. Ashley
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    I have never laughed harder during a film. I consider it a perfect movie because it did exactly what it set out to do.
  47. TonyD
    Aug 23, 2008
    0
    Ashley and Laura D. I just wonder wher is the joke? worst movie I've ever seen.
  48. SoorajM.
    Aug 25, 2008
    8
    Hilarious. The funniest movie ever this year.
  49. PaulW.
    Aug 25, 2008
    2
    This movie was meant to be a comedy???? I would call it a disaster film, bigger than Titanic or The Towering Inferno.
  50. WilliamFletcher
    Aug 30, 2008
    8
    This exceeded my expectations by a huge degree. A truly funny movie with lots of genuine laughs. Thoroughly enjoyable, all-star cast and all.
  51. TzviM.
    Sep 1, 2008
    10
    One of the funniest movies I've seen in years- non stop laughs, top notch satire, and surprisingly entertaining action. Better by far than "The Pineapple Express," which says a lot.
  52. NGRCNGRC
    Sep 21, 2008
    4
    So disappointing, I don't understand how this film got labelled as a satire.... it's not, it's a spoof. Scary Movie in the jungle.
  53. JonU.
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    Few one joke movies are this entertaining - from the opening to the end it is a convulsive romp
  54. J.Petersen
    Sep 4, 2008
    9
    A beautiful satire of the movie industry, filled with dark, dark comedy. If you take life too seriously, you may not enjoy it, but I loved the over-the-top insanity.
  55. BobW
    Sep 4, 2008
    8
    I would rate it higher if not for the excessive use of the f word and a gory scene with the director.
  56. C.B.
    Sep 5, 2008
    7
    Not as funny as I hoped, but better than 90% of the comedies of the last ten years... Cruise & McConaghey were really good. Jack Black's talents were wasted once again.
  57. JoshF.
    Sep 6, 2008
    10
    Absolutely hilarious. excellent cast and very good script.
  58. LinL.
    Jan 4, 2009
    9
    Needed a movie night that provided some laughs, for me as well as for my 20-something son -- and this really fit the bill. Hilarious!
  59. IgorG
    Feb 1, 2009
    1
    Nice setup and a couple of good laughs, then 100 minutes of unfunny, stupid, vulgar dreck. I specifically noticed no one in the theatre laughed after the first five minutes. Had high hopes for it, but if you've seen the trailer you've seen every decent line in the movie. The Cruise character is a really nasty piece of work; the McConaughey dude is too witless for words; the Jack Nice setup and a couple of good laughs, then 100 minutes of unfunny, stupid, vulgar dreck. I specifically noticed no one in the theatre laughed after the first five minutes. Had high hopes for it, but if you've seen the trailer you've seen every decent line in the movie. The Cruise character is a really nasty piece of work; the McConaughey dude is too witless for words; the Jack Black bit is a humorless one-trick pony; none of these guys are the least bit funny. Should've known better -- Stiller flicks are just one or two clever gimmicks buried in two hours of garbage. Expand
  60. JayH.
    Nov 12, 2008
    6
    Although it is an amusing premise, I was not quite as enthralled with the film as most. Robert Downey Jr. is great, and Jack Black dies well, but I had a problem with Ben Stiller. His one note performances are getting tiresome. Good cinematography. Entertaining but not very memorable.
  61. GerronK
    Nov 2, 2008
    8
    Really good stuff.
  62. Carrie
    Nov 6, 2008
    8
    Funnier than I thought, but not mind blowingly so. I thought it was pretty awesome, though, and am definenetly glad I cought it in the theater.
  63. ShanK.
    Dec 11, 2008
    8
    Stiller rocked, downey stole the show but jack was too hilarious, one of the best comedies of 08.
  64. TaylorC.
    Dec 4, 2008
    7
    The best part of Tropic Thunder is Robert Downey Jr. The rest of the characters n the movie are annoying and while watching, you wish they could just shut up. Jack Black's character is perhaps the worst. I like Jack Black, but he is incredibly annoying in this movie. The rest of the characters might be a tad bit annoying as well, but they are at least standable and contribute to the The best part of Tropic Thunder is Robert Downey Jr. The rest of the characters n the movie are annoying and while watching, you wish they could just shut up. Jack Black's character is perhaps the worst. I like Jack Black, but he is incredibly annoying in this movie. The rest of the characters might be a tad bit annoying as well, but they are at least standable and contribute to the real star of the movie. The movie has a plot that is an incredibly funny idea, and while it might no turn out perfect, it at least looks well. I suggest this movie as a rental. It is quite enjoyable t watch, but not worth the $20 rental. Expand
  65. meenaj
    Dec 8, 2008
    10
    It was so hillarious, i loved it.
  66. PabloP.
    Jun 27, 2008
    8
    I got to test screen this movie. It is really a good adult action comedy. While much has been made about the fact that Robert Downey JR plays a black man, and this is seen as racist, thats not the case at all. I won't go into details because it spoils the plot. The movie is no bars held action comedy. It has Good Action, and some really funny comedy. I just hope they aren't I got to test screen this movie. It is really a good adult action comedy. While much has been made about the fact that Robert Downey JR plays a black man, and this is seen as racist, thats not the case at all. I won't go into details because it spoils the plot. The movie is no bars held action comedy. It has Good Action, and some really funny comedy. I just hope they aren't forced to cut out the parts that really made this a good movie. Expand
  67. BenK.
    Jul 25, 2008
    1
    Lame. A Ben Stiller ego trip. He should have spent more time on the script, and less time working out. Downey's funny, but Jack Black sucked. Stiller's about to go the way of Mike Myers.
  68. Mike
    Aug 10, 2008
    9
    Funniest movie of the year!
  69. [Anonymous]
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    quite possibly the best movie i have ever seen in my entire life. but definitely the best movie of the summer.
  70. THATMOVIEGUY
    Aug 14, 2008
    8
    Pretty good satire with some outstanding acting. Tom Cruise of all people steals the show. The rest of the All Star cast including Nick Nolte are excellent. Take it for what ii is a fun dark comedy and you will enjoy it.
  71. ErinE.
    Aug 15, 2008
    8
    I haven't laughed that hard in a long time. My sister and I are in our 30s and we laughed during the whole movie. I'm a social worker and wasn't offended by the movie as a realize it is satire. It has a couple of gross parts, but the rest of the movie makes up for them.
  72. DanE.
    Aug 15, 2008
    3
    Ben Stiller has yet to make a very funny movie. Four laugh out louds and using the "F" word 50 times just doesn't cut it. Robert Downey did a great job!
  73. LayneD.
    Aug 15, 2008
    2
    I gave this movie one point for every time I laughed. To be fair though, I left the theater about half way through, so there may have been one or two that I missed. I guess if you think the F-word is funny after the 100th time in 40 minutes, this is the movie for you. I didn't go into it expecting comic genius, but I hoped (in vain) for mildly intelligent.
  74. SchmoolieG.
    Aug 16, 2008
    5
    "Tropic Thunder" lambastes Hollywood for its excesses? Nonsense. This movie is just as much of a useless exercise in Hollywood excess as any other. What is supposed to make it funny is its self-awareness of that fact. Critics are grooming this to be the comedy event of the Summer. This is unfortunate, because it is at its essence a very generic comedy. Jonesing for your monthly fix of "Tropic Thunder" lambastes Hollywood for its excesses? Nonsense. This movie is just as much of a useless exercise in Hollywood excess as any other. What is supposed to make it funny is its self-awareness of that fact. Critics are grooming this to be the comedy event of the Summer. This is unfortunate, because it is at its essence a very generic comedy. Jonesing for your monthly fix of fart/blood/fat/gay/black/retard jokes? You got it. Can't get enough of that "white-guy-dances-awkwardly-to-hip-hop" scene that has appeared in every single big-budget comedy made in the past decade? Let's do it. Twice! There's no room for real satire when you're busy working with the broken formulae that make this type of comedy so derivative to begin with. The opening trailers are hilarious, and the first 30-or-so minutes had the audience rolling, but the movie is insubstantial at its core. There are definitely some funny moments, but my lack of interest in the characters made the time between punchlines drag so much more. Ben Stiller is the same old one-dimensional wacky Ben Stiller that you either love or are completely ambivalent towards. Robert Downey Jr. was the only one who gave the audience anything to chew on. Expand
  75. JonB.
    Aug 17, 2008
    9
    As long as you are not easily offended, I think this is the summer comedy to see. Yes, Stiller plays his typical role, but Downey and Black complement each other in their polar-opposite styles. It all comes together somehow in this mix of satire and slap-stick comedy.
  76. THATMOVIEGUY
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    Pretty good satire with some outstanding acting. Tom Cruise of all people steals the show. The rest of the All Star cast including Nick Nolte are excellent. Take it for what ii is a fun dark comedy and you will enjoy it.
  77. MiloB.
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    Hilarious movie. This movie was smart and very well-written that can appeal to both the intelligent audiences and the not-so. I would recommend this movie to anyone and everyone who wants to have a great belly laugh.
  78. BillyS.
    Aug 18, 2008
    6
    Take away the opening preview trailers, Tom Cruise, in what is sadly, his finest screen performance and Robert Downey Jr. and this would be lucky to rate a 4! Without them, this is just another Ben Stiller movie-for-the-masses in which the audience laughs at every obvious punch line while you sit there going "Was it really that funny?" No, it really wasn't.
  79. AnnN.
    Aug 19, 2008
    1
    I could count on the fingers of 1 hand the number of movies I've walked out on. I walked out after 20 minutes. This movie is awful!.
  80. HalB.
    Aug 19, 2008
    6
    Pretty disappointing, given all the critical praise. Definitely agree with Scorcher 7 and Schmoolie G.
  81. JasonH.
    Aug 21, 2008
    1
    I don't know how this got such great reviews. tom Cruise was slightly funny, but the rest of the movie was awful. I kept waiting for the movie to get funny, but it never did. One of the worst movies I've ever seen!!!!
  82. MarkoC.
    Aug 21, 2008
    10
    A really funny movie.
  83. CristinZ.
    Aug 20, 2008
    2
    Terrible plot, seldom funny. Tried way too hard and failed. That's enough Ben Stiller.
  84. Mikey
    Aug 22, 2008
    8
    I laughed for 90 min...I loved the whole raunchy and delicious movie. After the literally too dark knight, this was a sheer laugh out loud delight.
  85. GeorgeM
    Aug 22, 2008
    7
    Tropic Thunder is not the laugh-inducing-assault its been labeled to be. Its funny but equally stupid. Ben Stiller and Robert Downey Jr. get the best material, Jack Black is just flat-out annoying 90% of the time, Tom Cruise gets a few chuckles, until he starts dancing (ACK!!!), Steve Coogan and Danny McBride seemed a bit wasted, which is a shame. McBride is hilarious in Pineapple Express Tropic Thunder is not the laugh-inducing-assault its been labeled to be. Its funny but equally stupid. Ben Stiller and Robert Downey Jr. get the best material, Jack Black is just flat-out annoying 90% of the time, Tom Cruise gets a few chuckles, until he starts dancing (ACK!!!), Steve Coogan and Danny McBride seemed a bit wasted, which is a shame. McBride is hilarious in Pineapple Express (funnier movie). Tropic Thunder is a wacky romp that pokes fun at Hollywood. Watching them rip on Platoon, I Am Sam (with "Simple Jack" being the parody), and actors in the business today is just too good to pass up. FUN? Yes. Forgettable? Also, yes. Expand
  86. TonyH.
    Aug 23, 2008
    10
    Best comedy ever. I laughed over the whole movie.
  87. StephS.
    Aug 23, 2008
    10
    After a lot of superheores movies, something truly funny came out. Go buy a ticket, because you really are going to enjoy this great comedy.
  88. CarolD.
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    Over rated by critics but still a great movie. Now I know Tom Cruise can nail comedy! More satire than laugh-out-loud in parts but that's all to the good. Kinda like French cuisine with great big lumps of choc pudding in it. Tasty and interesting and it makes you wonder what in the world the cook (Stiller) was thinking. An Arty- Farty movie.
  89. AndrewM.
    Aug 24, 2008
    7
    Funny, but not fantastic. If anything, it's worth paying to see this film just for Tom Cruise, he outshines all of the cast sadly.
  90. TomT.
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    Tony D. I just wonder if you developed any sense of humor. The movie is very funny. But always will be that minority that say it wasn't.
  91. ChrisM
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    This will go down as a classic comedy. I loved the satire and stereo types. RDJ absolutely stole the show for me. One of Ben Stiller's best comedies to date. I'm not a big Jack Black fan, but aside from the toilet humor, he played his part very well. Just seeing Nick Nolte on the screen cracks me up (I can't get his mug shot out of my mind). Tom Cruise was bald, overly This will go down as a classic comedy. I loved the satire and stereo types. RDJ absolutely stole the show for me. One of Ben Stiller's best comedies to date. I'm not a big Jack Black fan, but aside from the toilet humor, he played his part very well. Just seeing Nick Nolte on the screen cracks me up (I can't get his mug shot out of my mind). Tom Cruise was bald, overly hairy, dancing fool, but he even brought out a couple chuckles. A lot of no names, with a few guest stars. At a couple points, I thought maybe this is where it gets silly or over the top. Even in those spots, they were able to walk a fine line, but never crossed it. Overall, just a very funny comedy that entertained me from the beginning to the end. Expand
  92. BrianK.
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    You will either love it or hate it. I love this type of humor. One of the silliest, funniest movies I have ever seen.
  93. KyleW.
    Aug 27, 2008
    9
    Let me start by talking about things that have not been mentioned so far. First off, the sound track is amazing with an excellent mix of music genres and old and new tracks. The music seemed to help amplify the current mood of the film. Also the special effects were over the top, which is exactly what needed to be done. Its not just the "one-liner" jokes that make this movie funny, It is Let me start by talking about things that have not been mentioned so far. First off, the sound track is amazing with an excellent mix of music genres and old and new tracks. The music seemed to help amplify the current mood of the film. Also the special effects were over the top, which is exactly what needed to be done. Its not just the "one-liner" jokes that make this movie funny, It is the whole attitude that this film keeps the whole way through. I will also say that most all the actors did an excellent job acting as actors, its something that is really hard to do. If you like good clean comedy and don't like to be offended, don't see it. It is offensive, but on a level that tries to explain and not make fun of. The retard part everyone is talking about is clearly making fun of the fact that actors have to play things they don't really understand and usually fail bad at. Overall if you like in you face comedy with a good plot see this. If you think you might get offended or think its going to be "Gentleman's humor"(for a lack of a better phrase) skip it. Expand
  94. maggiec
    Aug 27, 2008
    0
    The worst movie produced. There were parts that could make some one smile but deffinatly not laugh. This movie was draged out to a max and could have been thought up of by a 2nd grader.
  95. JaredC.
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    Tropic Thunder portrays a wonderfully flicked action/comedy, and, with its astounding funny performances, probably the best since Hot Fuzz. Ben Still, you rock!
  96. AlexG.
    Sep 10, 2008
    7
    Another funny film from director Ben Stiller. My expectations for this film were very high but Tropic Thunder still made me laugh. Starting off with the funniest part of the movie with the three fake movie trailers. Most parts of it were a little off beat and not so much funny but it had its hilarious moments!
  97. Deanna
    Sep 16, 2008
    7
    I really enjoyed this movie. I mean, you weren't crying from laughter the entire time. But worth seeing for sure. Robert Downey Jr was EPIC.
  98. NancyS.
    Sep 2, 2008
    7
    Silly, ridiculous, un-PC, even retarded, but funny enough for me and my sisters. Lots to laugh at and there was laughing through most of the movie in the theatre but not from everyone at once, so maybe there was a little for most everyone and a few things that cracked most everybody up. Cruise was totally creepy and, indeed, hairy. No classic but fun to watch.
  99. DavidV.
    Sep 20, 2008
    7
    A lot of it was hilarious, but some of the jokes fell flat.
  100. TJN.
    Sep 27, 2008
    10
    A ridiculously funny movie. The final scene involving Ben Stiller and "his son" makes me laugh just thinking about it. Downey amazes and Booty Sweat quenches the palate.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    90
    Tropic Thunder is the funniest movie of the summer--so funny, in fact, that you start laughing before the film itself has begun.
  2. Stiller manages his movie nicely so that all actors get their share of the comic spotlight. Seldom does an ensemble comedy not contain a single weak character or performance as does this one.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    60
    Apart from startling, out-there comic turns by Robert Downey Jr. and Tom Cruise, however, the antics here are pretty thin, redundant and one-note.