Paramount Pictures | Release Date: August 13, 2008
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 534 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
383
Mixed:
81
Negative:
70
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AntiLonnC.Aug 14, 2008
Lonn C said ZERO because to bruing the average down which defeats the whole purpose of a group average. So I am voting 10 to push Lonn's 0 to 5 which is the score that would have been given. Come on people, do your review based on your Lonn C said ZERO because to bruing the average down which defeats the whole purpose of a group average. So I am voting 10 to push Lonn's 0 to 5 which is the score that would have been given. Come on people, do your review based on your opinion, ignore other comments and the group average. The idea is everyone gives their honest and as unbiased as possible opinion and then the group average reflects the users opinions. Giving a much lower score because the current average score does not reflect your opinion is just turning the average score into your opinion which makes it worthless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexB.Aug 5, 2008
With apologies to WALL-E and The Dark Knight, this is the best movie of the summer. It works because it's a send-up of Hollywood, not of war movies in general. Like Paul P. said, it had great comedy without going too over the top. With apologies to WALL-E and The Dark Knight, this is the best movie of the summer. It works because it's a send-up of Hollywood, not of war movies in general. Like Paul P. said, it had great comedy without going too over the top. Robert Downey Jr. is absolutely amazing, and would be the best thing in the movie were it not for the presence of a big name actor who I won't reveal here (although any movie fan has probably heard about his presence). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BruceW.Sep 7, 2008
Hilarious and cutting. From the opening psuedo trailers to the closing Tom Cruise dance, this moving poked fun at all those Vietnam films and at the film industry. Two thumbs up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickS.Aug 14, 2008
I'll give it a 10 just to balance that last gus 0 - can't wait to seet it! Ben Stiller rocks!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AshleyAug 22, 2008
I have never laughed harder during a film. I consider it a perfect movie because it did exactly what it set out to do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TzviM.Sep 1, 2008
One of the funniest movies I've seen in years- non stop laughs, top notch satire, and surprisingly entertaining action. Better by far than "The Pineapple Express," which says a lot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshF.Sep 6, 2008
Absolutely hilarious. excellent cast and very good script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
meenajDec 8, 2008
It was so hillarious, i loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Aug 13, 2008
quite possibly the best movie i have ever seen in my entire life. but definitely the best movie of the summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimpleJackAug 16, 2008
Instant classic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
THATMOVIEGUYAug 18, 2008
Pretty good satire with some outstanding acting. Tom Cruise of all people steals the show. The rest of the All Star cast including Nick Nolte are excellent. Take it for what ii is a fun dark comedy and you will enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiloB.Aug 18, 2008
Hilarious movie. This movie was smart and very well-written that can appeal to both the intelligent audiences and the not-so. I would recommend this movie to anyone and everyone who wants to have a great belly laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkoC.Aug 21, 2008
A really funny movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyH.Aug 23, 2008
Best comedy ever. I laughed over the whole movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephS.Aug 23, 2008
After a lot of superheores movies, something truly funny came out. Go buy a ticket, because you really are going to enjoy this great comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomT.Aug 24, 2008
Tony D. I just wonder if you developed any sense of humor. The movie is very funny. But always will be that minority that say it wasn't.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisMAug 25, 2008
This will go down as a classic comedy. I loved the satire and stereo types. RDJ absolutely stole the show for me. One of Ben Stiller's best comedies to date. I'm not a big Jack Black fan, but aside from the toilet humor, he played This will go down as a classic comedy. I loved the satire and stereo types. RDJ absolutely stole the show for me. One of Ben Stiller's best comedies to date. I'm not a big Jack Black fan, but aside from the toilet humor, he played his part very well. Just seeing Nick Nolte on the screen cracks me up (I can't get his mug shot out of my mind). Tom Cruise was bald, overly hairy, dancing fool, but he even brought out a couple chuckles. A lot of no names, with a few guest stars. At a couple points, I thought maybe this is where it gets silly or over the top. Even in those spots, they were able to walk a fine line, but never crossed it. Overall, just a very funny comedy that entertained me from the beginning to the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianK.Aug 25, 2008
You will either love it or hate it. I love this type of humor. One of the silliest, funniest movies I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Aug 7, 2008
Tropic Thunder portrays a wonderfully flicked action/comedy, and, with its astounding funny performances, probably the best since Hot Fuzz. Ben Still, you rock!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TJN.Sep 27, 2008
A ridiculously funny movie. The final scene involving Ben Stiller and "his son" makes me laugh just thinking about it. Downey amazes and Booty Sweat quenches the palate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackPJan 30, 2009
One of the funniest movies i've ever seen. Hell, one of the best movies i've ever seen. No one gets more laughs than Robert Downey Jr, but Tom Cruise is just as funny as him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidW.Mar 4, 2009
Best Film of the year. How did this not win best picture. Comedies deserve more credit. This movie was incredibly intelligent. It is sad that some are not intelligent enough to realize this.
6 of 8 users found this helpful
10
PaulL.Aug 11, 2008
The best war movie of the entire satire of Hollywood making. Ben, jack, and Robert has lighten the subject with humor and entire film with laughs!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KimS.Aug 13, 2008
This is such good movie. Is really funny and the action is very good. Is the most funny movie of all the summer, I enjoy it a lot. Robert Downey is the best, his performance was so hilarious, he truly is a great actor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MoniqueMAug 15, 2008
This is one of the best comedy movies, I was laughing from the start, its worth seeing more than once!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MollyG.Aug 15, 2008
This movie was smart and very well-written that can appeal to both the intelligent audiences and the not-so. I would recommend this movie to anyone and everyone who wants to have a great belly laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MitchellC.Aug 18, 2008
One of the funniest films this year, and a great movie on Hollywood satire. Tom Cruise was awesome as the money grubbing exec Les Grossman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PierreTalentShowAug 18, 2008
Great all-around cast, splendid movie making on such a well produced comedy film that introduced great dramatic elements. Alpa-Chino was one of the most interesting, intellectual characters of the movie, and Downey Jr. delivers again. Great all-around cast, splendid movie making on such a well produced comedy film that introduced great dramatic elements. Alpa-Chino was one of the most interesting, intellectual characters of the movie, and Downey Jr. delivers again. Scorcher 6? Brilliant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CodyR.Aug 18, 2008
Best comedy ever. Robert Downey Jr. is brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeL.Aug 19, 2008
Awesome movie! Funniest movie of the year by a mile. Also had great action for a comedy. And Jack Black steals the show. Trust me, you will love it!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraD.Aug 22, 2008
Simple: Best comedy movie, I have seen in a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LayneM.Aug 27, 2008
One of the funniest movies of all time. I simply do not understand people not getting this movie. It's amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NealVanGorderAug 27, 2008
Great one liners! Fantastic cast and funnier the 2nd time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattB.Dec 26, 2008
A brilliantly original metamorphosis of the best minds of the day with a new take on a terrible historic event. Simply hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TheQuietGamerMar 9, 2011
Tropic Thunder is probably the funniest movie I've ever seen, whenever I still laugh till it hurts, it's just done so perfectly, I can't find a flaw with this movie, this is truly deserving of a perfect 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviegrabbagJun 12, 2011
I absolutely loved this movie. This is how a comedy should be done. It takes a plot and lets the comedy flow from the plot, it doesn't throw random topical references out. Robert Downey Jr. is amazing, Jack Black and Ben Stiller wereI absolutely loved this movie. This is how a comedy should be done. It takes a plot and lets the comedy flow from the plot, it doesn't throw random topical references out. Robert Downey Jr. is amazing, Jack Black and Ben Stiller were fantastic. However the best performance comes from Tom Cruse, thats right I said Tom Cruse. I wont say who he plays because part of the glory of his role is actually figuring out and comming to terms with the fact that it is Tom Cruse. This is one of the best comedy's in a very long time. If you get the chance watch this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Surg3onOct 13, 2012
If you think statements of "its f***king hilarious" are crass then I dont recommend this f***king hilarious movie. Great stuff for those of us with a sense of humour.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KapootisJun 23, 2012
Really great movie.:):):):):):):):):
This completely reestablished my fragile perception of reality with its uncontainable bodacity. Crunchy babies. ARGH
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Annoymous1Jan 26, 2013
Definetly the best movie of 2008. Best comedy, Best makeup. Adam Sandler is awesome in this movie and MUST get a Oscar. The average ratings and negative ratings by the users must be removed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
M0vieAddictMar 20, 2013
Cram Ben Stiller, Robert Downey Jr, Jack Black, Tom Cruise, Danny McBride and Bill Hader together.. then yes, you have a classic movie that manages to be both inteligent and hillarious. Simple Jack and The Scorcher Series are just two of theCram Ben Stiller, Robert Downey Jr, Jack Black, Tom Cruise, Danny McBride and Bill Hader together.. then yes, you have a classic movie that manages to be both inteligent and hillarious. Simple Jack and The Scorcher Series are just two of the gut-busting moments you may encounter. The acting is top notch from an exceptional and experienced cast and this is a perfect blend of action and comedy. C'mon guys! You can give a saucy teenage flick a nine or ten but Tropic Thunder barely deserves a five? Some people just went full retard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RafaelF.Aug 11, 2008
I just saw an advance screening and must say this movie was awesome. Much more than what I expected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidB.Aug 15, 2008
Hilarious movie all around. Robert Downey Jr is absolutely fantastic, and the rest of the cast does a great job as well. This isn't comedy of the summer (Pineapple Express will be hard to surpass), but it's still really good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnonymousSep 1, 2008
This movie was hilarious and smart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EvanLSep 1, 2008
I can see why some people didn't like this movie. There were so many obscure hilarious references to movies like apocalypse now and such. You fellas should get out more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulP.Jun 27, 2008
This was a great Action Comedy. It really mixed the production value and effects of a great Vietnam movie with edgy comedy that we don't see very much these days. The actors play the comedy straight, but not in an over the top silly This was a great Action Comedy. It really mixed the production value and effects of a great Vietnam movie with edgy comedy that we don't see very much these days. The actors play the comedy straight, but not in an over the top silly matter that we are used to seeing in other send up movies. There is plenty of movie references throughout, but unlike most parody movies, the viewer can enjoy this movie on it's own merit and without seeing any of the referenced films. I would have to say that this movie really broke new ground in combining comedy and action and I don't think I have ever seen a movie like it; and that's hard to find in today's cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattS.Aug 18, 2008
This will become a comedy classic on the same high level that Stiller's other major directorial outing - Zoolander - currently sits at. Robert Downey Jr. in the role of a lifetime and Tom Cruise in the life-saving role of a lifetime are This will become a comedy classic on the same high level that Stiller's other major directorial outing - Zoolander - currently sits at. Robert Downey Jr. in the role of a lifetime and Tom Cruise in the life-saving role of a lifetime are the highlights, but everything about this movie, from the minutes before it even begins to the credits after it ends, is pure genius. my only very minor quibble is that they provided no closure to the Jay Burachel storyline...I was kinda hoping to see him become a big Hollywood star in the end or something, because he was the only down-to-earth person in the entire movie. :P Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewR.Aug 21, 2008
One of the funniest comedies I have seen recently
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonU.Sep 28, 2008
Few one joke movies are this entertaining - from the opening to the end it is a convulsive romp
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
J.PetersenSep 4, 2008
A beautiful satire of the movie industry, filled with dark, dark comedy. If you take life too seriously, you may not enjoy it, but I loved the over-the-top insanity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LinL.Jan 4, 2009
Needed a movie night that provided some laughs, for me as well as for my 20-something son -- and this really fit the bill. Hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeAug 10, 2008
Funniest movie of the year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonB.Aug 17, 2008
As long as you are not easily offended, I think this is the summer comedy to see. Yes, Stiller plays his typical role, but Downey and Black complement each other in their polar-opposite styles. It all comes together somehow in this mix of As long as you are not easily offended, I think this is the summer comedy to see. Yes, Stiller plays his typical role, but Downey and Black complement each other in their polar-opposite styles. It all comes together somehow in this mix of satire and slap-stick comedy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleW.Aug 27, 2008
Let me start by talking about things that have not been mentioned so far. First off, the sound track is amazing with an excellent mix of music genres and old and new tracks. The music seemed to help amplify the current mood of the film. Also Let me start by talking about things that have not been mentioned so far. First off, the sound track is amazing with an excellent mix of music genres and old and new tracks. The music seemed to help amplify the current mood of the film. Also the special effects were over the top, which is exactly what needed to be done. Its not just the "one-liner" jokes that make this movie funny, It is the whole attitude that this film keeps the whole way through. I will also say that most all the actors did an excellent job acting as actors, its something that is really hard to do. If you like good clean comedy and don't like to be offended, don't see it. It is offensive, but on a level that tries to explain and not make fun of. The retard part everyone is talking about is clearly making fun of the fact that actors have to play things they don't really understand and usually fail bad at. Overall if you like in you face comedy with a good plot see this. If you think you might get offended or think its going to be "Gentleman's humor"(for a lack of a better phrase) skip it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesJ.Sep 6, 2008
OK So, for all of you who are still thinking "Who the heck does this THAT MOVIE GUY think he is??" for my giving Pineapple Express a 3/10...Yeah that's what I spend my time wondering about. Good movie, some of the funniest lines OK So, for all of you who are still thinking "Who the heck does this THAT MOVIE GUY think he is??" for my giving Pineapple Express a 3/10...Yeah that's what I spend my time wondering about. Good movie, some of the funniest lines I've heard in quite a while e.g. "I'm just like a little boy, playin' with his dick when he's nervous". Definitely worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcusL.Jan 5, 2009
Partly stupid, but was a very funny movie. The movie had many stars in it. You would make you laugh so hard until the end. I really liked it. Every actor in this movie mad at least 1 funny joke through out the movie. Tom Cruise was by far Partly stupid, but was a very funny movie. The movie had many stars in it. You would make you laugh so hard until the end. I really liked it. Every actor in this movie mad at least 1 funny joke through out the movie. Tom Cruise was by far the funniest part in the whole movie. This movie will make you laugh and laugh and laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
georguesJun 24, 2009
Straight up hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PiotrNov 2, 2008
Simply funny as hell! One of the best comedy movie for a long long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KiranA.Aug 13, 2008
Robert Downey played his role to perfection. Stiller did his usual entertaining performance. Jack Black, although his part was a bit stock, also acted well. Tom Cruise, as a supporting actor, went well outside of his usual role in order to Robert Downey played his role to perfection. Stiller did his usual entertaining performance. Jack Black, although his part was a bit stock, also acted well. Tom Cruise, as a supporting actor, went well outside of his usual role in order to prove to the world that he can act with the best of them - absolutely hilarious. There were a couple of periods where the movie went a little too far into the war genre, or a little too far into the 2000's over-the-top comedy, but overall, the direction was great. The end piece was synergistic and hilarious commentary on the movie business. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeAug 14, 2008
Funniest movie of the year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisW.Aug 16, 2008
Brilliant cast... absolutely hysterical... The story was a little weak... but then again aren't all comedies? Jack Black was stellar... Robert Downey Jr. was amazing... Ben Stiller...was kind of typical as his previous performances. Brilliant cast... absolutely hysterical... The story was a little weak... but then again aren't all comedies? Jack Black was stellar... Robert Downey Jr. was amazing... Ben Stiller...was kind of typical as his previous performances. T.Cruise was the funniest I have ever seen him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimmyJAug 24, 2008
Robert Downey Jr. was ridiculously amazing... can't wait to see it again and catch even more of it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
lovemusicMay 21, 2011
acting was superb. funny as **** this movie was so funny. it had me crying in the movie theaters. Robert downey jr and tom cruise were too funny. this movie was just funny. i love it. it was great. 9 out of 10. near perfect.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
jakerthetakerJun 22, 2011
Super funny awesome movie. Very original concept (making a war movie by putting the actors in a war), and professional acting. All the characters are hilarious, and there's alot of movie references. Best funny action movie, next to The Other Guys.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JAM123Jul 19, 2011
Hilarious! One of the funniest films ever for sure. Cool concept and with an all-star cast of Ben stiller, Jack Black, and more. Will be in my top ten and classified as a classic in my mind for a long time.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
First off, this is a 9.25 out of 10. It's really funny. Story is good, and so is the acting. Everyone did a good job, especially Robert Downey Jr. Overall, this a really, funny movie that you should watch. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Rox22Apr 19, 2015
One of the better comedies I have seen that came out in the last 10 years.

Acting is generally OK. However Cruise and RDJ are phenomenal. Stiller is as Bland as usual. Story, effects and writing are pretty good. Not brilliant, but for a
One of the better comedies I have seen that came out in the last 10 years.

Acting is generally OK. However Cruise and RDJ are phenomenal. Stiller is as Bland as usual.

Story, effects and writing are pretty good. Not brilliant, but for a comedy better than you expect.

Overall:
Tropic Thunder is far from being a classic, but, it is fun and aims to entertain us. Really great seeing such over the top characters. Heck, this is easily my favourite Tom Cruise performance.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GarfoodleSep 30, 2014
Funny,stupid, and funny. Top of the line acting, lots of WTF moments, amazing writing, and a pretty deep story, for a cheap comedy movie at least. Go on and watch it, for the fun of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ThatOneGuy6667Oct 27, 2015
This is one of my favorite movies, it's hilarious. And the cast is good too, it's an awesome movie overall and very enjoyable

.
.. .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SidR.Oct 3, 2008
This film is seriously hilarious, i was laughing almost at every scene, the bonus of this film is you get to see Tom Cruise dancing for at least five minutes, his dance moves is just unbelievably funny!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TimE.Sep 6, 2008
This movie is not a 10 or a 9, but I think it's quite good, and worth watching it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SoorajM.Aug 25, 2008
Hilarious. The funniest movie ever this year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
WilliamFletcherAug 30, 2008
This exceeded my expectations by a huge degree. A truly funny movie with lots of genuine laughs. Thoroughly enjoyable, all-star cast and all.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BobWSep 4, 2008
I would rate it higher if not for the excessive use of the f word and a gory scene with the director.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GerronKNov 2, 2008
Really good stuff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CarrieNov 6, 2008
Funnier than I thought, but not mind blowingly so. I thought it was pretty awesome, though, and am definenetly glad I cought it in the theater.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShanK.Dec 11, 2008
Stiller rocked, downey stole the show but jack was too hilarious, one of the best comedies of 08.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PabloP.Jun 27, 2008
I got to test screen this movie. It is really a good adult action comedy. While much has been made about the fact that Robert Downey JR plays a black man, and this is seen as racist, thats not the case at all. I won't go into details I got to test screen this movie. It is really a good adult action comedy. While much has been made about the fact that Robert Downey JR plays a black man, and this is seen as racist, thats not the case at all. I won't go into details because it spoils the plot. The movie is no bars held action comedy. It has Good Action, and some really funny comedy. I just hope they aren't forced to cut out the parts that really made this a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
THATMOVIEGUYAug 14, 2008
Pretty good satire with some outstanding acting. Tom Cruise of all people steals the show. The rest of the All Star cast including Nick Nolte are excellent. Take it for what ii is a fun dark comedy and you will enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ErinE.Aug 15, 2008
I haven't laughed that hard in a long time. My sister and I are in our 30s and we laughed during the whole movie. I'm a social worker and wasn't offended by the movie as a realize it is satire. It has a couple of gross parts, I haven't laughed that hard in a long time. My sister and I are in our 30s and we laughed during the whole movie. I'm a social worker and wasn't offended by the movie as a realize it is satire. It has a couple of gross parts, but the rest of the movie makes up for them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeyAug 22, 2008
I laughed for 90 min...I loved the whole raunchy and delicious movie. After the literally too dark knight, this was a sheer laugh out loud delight.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CarolD.Aug 23, 2008
Over rated by critics but still a great movie. Now I know Tom Cruise can nail comedy! More satire than laugh-out-loud in parts but that's all to the good. Kinda like French cuisine with great big lumps of choc pudding in it. Tasty and Over rated by critics but still a great movie. Now I know Tom Cruise can nail comedy! More satire than laugh-out-loud in parts but that's all to the good. Kinda like French cuisine with great big lumps of choc pudding in it. Tasty and interesting and it makes you wonder what in the world the cook (Stiller) was thinking. An Arty- Farty movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JustinE.Oct 12, 2008
Not the greatest movie ever, but very solid. It had plenty of laughs throughout, though some parts were a bit bland. Overall, I recommend seeing this in theaters, and at least renting it, though it may be a buy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NDNov 28, 2008
Hilarious. Long in the tooth, but a genuinely funny film. Downey does steal the show away from Stiller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Aug 14, 2008
Kirk Lazarus(Robert Downey Jr.) is an actor from Australia who prepared for his role as a black infantryman by studying Sherman Hemsley. Rap artist Alpa Chino(Brandon T. Jackson) takes great offense to the Aussie's manner of modulation, Kirk Lazarus(Robert Downey Jr.) is an actor from Australia who prepared for his role as a black infantryman by studying Sherman Hemsley. Rap artist Alpa Chino(Brandon T. Jackson) takes great offense to the Aussie's manner of modulation, because he knows that his people don't speak jive like a dry-cleaning merchant from the seventies. But just in case you missed the irony, his people might also take offense to a soft drink he peddles around called Booty Sweat. Alpa Chino, arguably, is guilty of minstrelism, too. Skin color loses some of its relevance, since both men perpetuate the same media-created stereotype that all African-American males talk as if they're imitating some musical idiom(jazz or rap, depending on the generation). Cartoonist Gary Larson of "Far Side(The)"-fame, drew a incisive panel about pigeonholing people, or in his case, birds, being birds that don't comply with our notions of bird-like behavior(the caption read: "Non-singing canaries take shop"). There's no intent on Lazarus' part to offend the black community; it's just another role to him, another opportunity to expand his acting range, a challenge. A method actor like Lazarus has an ego that drives his inner muse to be the "person" to the best of his ability; to lampoon his character's racial identity would be antithetical to the spirit of "The Method". In Lazarus' self-involved mind; black people talk like this. And even worse, that he IS black. Alpa Chino knows how black people talk, but that doesn't prevent him from pitching a carbonated soft drink demographically-targeted towards his own kind which would give somebody like Lazarus the wrongheaded impression that all black people are pimps and hos. The filmmaker gets away with blackface because he has the shrewdness to understand that the gangsta rap sub-genre in hip-hop culture, is an even more insidious brand of minstreling than the vaudeville acts from time immemorial. "Tropic Thunder" knows the language of "South Park" by heart. It satirizes and takes no prisoners. Nobody is spared. Nobody. When Cartman crashes the Special Olympics by impersonating a "retarded" person, he becomes the butt of his own joke, when the mentally-impaired athletes repeatedly kick his ass. That's the problem with Simple Jack, the handicapped character played by Tugg Speedman(Ben Stiller); there's no turnabout-is-fair-play moment to excuse the harsh depiction of the "full-on retarded" in this cruel, but undeniably funny movie. If you're reaching for a silver lining, though, you can make the argument that a male model(Derek Zoolander, from this filmmaker's own "Zoolander") is more "retarded" than Jack, so his own "retarded"-ness achieves a state of relativity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TaylorH.Aug 18, 2008
Great, but not as great as Zoolander.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LarryS.Aug 31, 2008
Hilarious - as un-PC as they come. Downey Jr and Cruise in awesome performances. Great send up/
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChuckO.Nov 18, 2008
Absolutely one of the funniest movies I've seen in years. Downey just about steals this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
Funny film. A lot of priceless moments in it and it showed just how well Stiller and Downey Jr can act. I didnt not like Jack Black at all though, He brought the entire film down imo. Overall it was still a good comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleFeb 1, 2016
Zany and bombastic, Tropic Thunder is a fantastic satirical skewering Hollywood, its members, and of war movies in particular. The acting, especially from Matthew McConaughey and Tom Cruise, is great and the film as a whole is trulyZany and bombastic, Tropic Thunder is a fantastic satirical skewering Hollywood, its members, and of war movies in particular. The acting, especially from Matthew McConaughey and Tom Cruise, is great and the film as a whole is truly hysterical. The various elements of Hollywood that are parodied are too numerous to list out, but each is given its due and is really mocked thoroughly. Though it can be over-the-top at times, it is a fantastic time throughout that really exceeded my expectations completely. I expected it to be pretty dumb all around, but instead, I got a crazy good time that kept me laughing from beginning to end. The writing is good, the mise en scene as a whole is very good, and I loved the make-up and characterization in particular. Overall, Tropic Thunder lived up to the hype and more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Mar 24, 2016
[8/10] -- About as equally apt and witty as it is gasp-worthy and absurd, "Tropic Thunder" is one of the better films from Ben Stiller's directorial filmography, featuring fun action, a brilliant sense of self-awareness, and impossibly[8/10] -- About as equally apt and witty as it is gasp-worthy and absurd, "Tropic Thunder" is one of the better films from Ben Stiller's directorial filmography, featuring fun action, a brilliant sense of self-awareness, and impossibly hilarious turns from both Robert Downey Jr. and Tom Cruise. "Tropic Thunder" is that unsung gem of a summer comedy that really brings in the consistent laughs, without sacrificing the story, pace, or characters. If only, we'd gotten "Tropic Thunder 2" before "Zoolander 2." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeApr 19, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Funny movie,awesome cast,great idea,This is the movie Tropic thunder in three words.This comedy movie is one of my favourite by far because of the actors(Ben Stiller,Jack Black,Robert Downey Jr,…) and because of the funny scenes if you want to watch a good action/comedy movie then pick him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
geo333Apr 15, 2016
With laughable dialogue and scenes, add to that a great cast with a funny story; all add up to make tropic thunder, tropic fun. In the end, there is no reason why viewers wont leave entertain and please.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeMay 17, 2016
Now this is true comedy gold right here. Everyone managed to make this film look hilariously funny and I guarantee you that you'll have a fun time watching Tropic Thunder again. It's a movie within a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31May 9, 2016
Love this film! Great comedy and lots of action. Lots of quotable lines. Hilarious!

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-747-Tropic-Thunder
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AaronWasserman1Apr 11, 2016
This movie is hilarious! even by today's standards. The cast is all really great, the highlight of the movie is at the very beginning with the trailers. Such a creative way to start the movie, in the theater, you are not sure if it even isThis movie is hilarious! even by today's standards. The cast is all really great, the highlight of the movie is at the very beginning with the trailers. Such a creative way to start the movie, in the theater, you are not sure if it even is the movie at first. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MarkB.Oct 9, 2008
To go "full-on retard" or not to go "full-on retard", that is the question. Perhaps if I were the parent of a Down's syndrome child I could more easily embrace the objections of those who are, in some cases, understandably offended by To go "full-on retard" or not to go "full-on retard", that is the question. Perhaps if I were the parent of a Down's syndrome child I could more easily embrace the objections of those who are, in some cases, understandably offended by the dialogues that occur late in Ben Stiller's take-no-prisoners film industry satire between actors debating whether to use restaint in portraying mentally challenged characters, as Tom Hanks did in Forrest Gump, or to go way over the top like Sean Penn in I Am Sam, and the box office and Academy Award rewards and penalties that potentially go with either approach. Although I can sympathize (if not empathize) with said critics, I think some of them may be too emotionally close to the subject to understand that Tropic Thunder's principals are figures of ridicule and NOT ROLE MODELS--after all, nobody objected when the Nazis in Schindler's List spewed anti-Semitism, did they? Besides, Kirk Lazarus's (Robert Downey Jr., enjoying a movie year that some actors would sell less-loved siblings to have) and Tugg Speedman's (Stiller) observations are dead-on--if anything they don't go far enough. This movie doesn't mention the worst example of all: Cliff Robertson's horrible overacting in 1968's Charly, which netted him an Oscar for a role that he ruthlessly engineered for himself while demolishing Daniel Keyes' fine novel in the process. Tropic Thunder also neglects to discuss how many Little Golden Guys inevitably go to performers who (pardon the expression in advance) go "full-on gimp", portraying PHYSICALLY challenged folks (Jane Wyman, Daniel Day-Lewis, Hanks in Philadelphia, etc., etc. It could be said--though not by me--that the only actor to honestly come upon an Oscar this way was Marlee Matlin.) Clearly, the actors and crew of a Vietnam movie-within-a-movie who fall down a real-life rabbit hole that Lewis Carroll never dreamed of think that Konstantin ("Love art in yourself, not yourself in art") Stanislavski was a long-deposed Balkan government official; Stiller and cowriter Justin Theroux are ruthless in depicting them, and the result is a movie whose box office success, like that of 2006's Borat, happily disproves the old saw that satire is what closes on Saturday night. Unfortunately, as with Borat, much of Tropic Thunder is funnier on paper than actually on screen (and it never manages to top the magnificent parodies seen in the first five minutes, which among other things should prove beyond all remaining doubt that hacks-from-hell Aaron Seltzer and Jason Friedburg should be shot into outer space). But even though Tropic Thunder is stuffed with insider jokes that will confuse if not outright bore casual moviegoers, it's difficult not to admire its utter mercilessness and lack of sentimentality in depicting EVERYONE in the profession as greedier and more heartless and self-centered than those in Wall Street and Washington combined. (Sadly, this hasn't changed much over the years; if you want proof, read Joseph McBride's disturbing John Ford and Frank Capra biographies. Nor will it: while AMC's brilliant TV series Mad Men delights in exposing the difference between early 1960s Madison Avenue culture and today's--puff, puff--TRopic Thunder could easily be remade 48 years later with very few changes.) But you gotta admire the resourcefulness, caginess and intelligence of A Certain Superstar whose recent couch-jumping antics, overespousal of religious beliefs and willingness to star in Robert Redford's boring Iraq preachathon have subjected him to hard times: his astonishing comeback cameo as a studio slimeball who maybe has taken a sequence in Risky Business a bit too much to heart has, at least for now, restored for Mr. Cruise the mantle of One Of The Smartest Guys In Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
C.B.Sep 5, 2008
Not as funny as I hoped, but better than 90% of the comedies of the last ten years... Cruise & McConaghey were really good. Jack Black's talents were wasted once again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TaylorC.Dec 4, 2008
The best part of Tropic Thunder is Robert Downey Jr. The rest of the characters n the movie are annoying and while watching, you wish they could just shut up. Jack Black's character is perhaps the worst. I like Jack Black, but he is The best part of Tropic Thunder is Robert Downey Jr. The rest of the characters n the movie are annoying and while watching, you wish they could just shut up. Jack Black's character is perhaps the worst. I like Jack Black, but he is incredibly annoying in this movie. The rest of the characters might be a tad bit annoying as well, but they are at least standable and contribute to the real star of the movie. The movie has a plot that is an incredibly funny idea, and while it might no turn out perfect, it at least looks well. I suggest this movie as a rental. It is quite enjoyable t watch, but not worth the $20 rental. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GeorgeMAug 22, 2008
Tropic Thunder is not the laugh-inducing-assault its been labeled to be. Its funny but equally stupid. Ben Stiller and Robert Downey Jr. get the best material, Jack Black is just flat-out annoying 90% of the time, Tom Cruise gets a few Tropic Thunder is not the laugh-inducing-assault its been labeled to be. Its funny but equally stupid. Ben Stiller and Robert Downey Jr. get the best material, Jack Black is just flat-out annoying 90% of the time, Tom Cruise gets a few chuckles, until he starts dancing (ACK!!!), Steve Coogan and Danny McBride seemed a bit wasted, which is a shame. McBride is hilarious in Pineapple Express (funnier movie). Tropic Thunder is a wacky romp that pokes fun at Hollywood. Watching them rip on Platoon, I Am Sam (with "Simple Jack" being the parody), and actors in the business today is just too good to pass up. FUN? Yes. Forgettable? Also, yes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewM.Aug 24, 2008
Funny, but not fantastic. If anything, it's worth paying to see this film just for Tom Cruise, he outshines all of the cast sadly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful