Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Laremy Legel
    Jul 16, 2013
    85
    Particular credit must be given to Samuel L. Jackson’s voicing of Whiplash and Paul Giamatti’s work on the voice of Chet. The chemistry between the two is awesome, hilarious even.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jul 16, 2013
    75
    A fresh, fast and funny little fable.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Jul 17, 2013
    70
    A series of strong emotional crosscurrents tied to the notion of winning and losing are in the hands of a very eclectic and capable cast.
  4. 63
    While small children may be enchanted by this little gastropod that could, adults will be more sorely tested. For all the horsepower Turbo boasts about, the movie tends toward the sluggish — as in slow as a slug.
  5. Reviewed by: Ken McIntyre
    Oct 21, 2013
    60
    Paul Giamatti shines as Theo’s pessimistic brother Chet, and the uplifting message never smashes you over the head.
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Jul 16, 2013
    60
    Competent, pretty funny in places, awfully nice to look at, that sort of thing. There’s just not a lot of excitement, though.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Jul 17, 2013
    25
    One of the more disappointing big studio animated features this year, a movie can't even muster the energy to be visually engaging, let alone give you anything to care about story-wise.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Dec 5, 2014
    10
    Amazing film. Love the animation, love the twists and turns, love everything about the movie. Also love how a snail enters a race! Turbo is aAmazing film. Love the animation, love the twists and turns, love everything about the movie. Also love how a snail enters a race! Turbo is a fun family film that can be enjoyed by everyone. A master film. Expand
  2. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Very cute, nice animation. Very underrated. It's really worth watching, MUST SEE. Kids will be happy. Go and see, especially if you haveVery cute, nice animation. Very underrated. It's really worth watching, MUST SEE. Kids will be happy. Go and see, especially if you have children or you're child. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    While I enjoy Dreamworks films, I never thought they were anywhere near what Pixar puts out in the department of story and humor. "Turbo"While I enjoy Dreamworks films, I never thought they were anywhere near what Pixar puts out in the department of story and humor. "Turbo" isn't going to win any awards for dynamic characters or any for having a rich deep story but I found myself having a lot of fun with the film. While it was clearly geared more towards kids rather than being a family film that both young and old can enjoy (the sheer logistics of a world where a snail can go fast and the human race kinda accepts it a little too easily will, no doubt, rub some older viewers the wrong way), I still thought the movie had some great animation, a fantastic cast doing an astonishing job and it was really funny--especially the snail character White Shadow (man, he was funny). Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    This was an all around fun movie to watch, its a good underdog story with good animations and anyone can enjoy it. Although the ending isThis was an all around fun movie to watch, its a good underdog story with good animations and anyone can enjoy it. Although the ending is quite silly in a bad way. Overall Score= 75/100 Expand
  5. May 21, 2014
    6
    This film is a mixed bag providing some decent humor and entertaining characters but a bland and uninspired story. In all honesty there is noThis film is a mixed bag providing some decent humor and entertaining characters but a bland and uninspired story. In all honesty there is no need for you to see this movie as it has little to offer. That being said though I have to give the film points for making me laugh a bit whereas The Croods didn’t. Now for granted this isn’t that much better than The Croods it’s only slightly better and one of the weaker films to come out Dreamworks. You are going to be fine if you don’t see this film but if you get stuck watching it its not that bad and you might laugh a bit. Look at this way you could be watching Planes which is far worse. However, Dreamworks has but together some good films over the years and it’s a shame that with Pixar falling behind in the race Dreamworks didn’t turn on their nitro shell and speed past them. If you saw the film in theaters though you saw a teaser for How To Train Your Dragon 2, which was better than the movie and has a lot of promise. Again not a bad film just forgettable. I saw it once and I’ll probably never see it again. Expand
  6. Aug 6, 2013
    6
    This is an enjoyable children's movie, but it's nothing spectacular. I would say it's similar to Monster's University you are hoping forThis is an enjoyable children's movie, but it's nothing spectacular. I would say it's similar to Monster's University you are hoping for something a little more, but it's worth a mild recommendation. B- Expand
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    0
    I think what kills Turbo is the fact that it has a painfully generic plot, poorly developed and unlike-able characters, and terribleI think what kills Turbo is the fact that it has a painfully generic plot, poorly developed and unlike-able characters, and terrible miscasting. I mean hopefully, Who puts people like Samuel L. Jackson and Snoop Dogg in an animated film aimed towards kids? Morons...that's who.

    Overall, Turbo shouldn't even be on your radar. It's painfully unoriginal and boring. Would be a waste of time and money to see it.
    Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers