Turistas

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 148 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 148
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    3
    I think, the director had a really good idea with this movie, but he didn't make a good plot. I mean, he could show more of what happened with them after they were taken, and make it interesting with more action. The only thing you'll see on this movie is people taking, you'll never see a coherent action, because the director "tried" to make it feel like an action movie, but the result wasI think, the director had a really good idea with this movie, but he didn't make a good plot. I mean, he could show more of what happened with them after they were taken, and make it interesting with more action. The only thing you'll see on this movie is people taking, you'll never see a coherent action, because the director "tried" to make it feel like an action movie, but the result was boring. If you want to see a really bad movie, please see "Turistas" (for me it was like another "Saw" sequel) Expand
  2. Dec 10, 2011
    2
    If you forget to use your brain while watching "Turistas", perhaps you can excuse director John Stockwell for wasting your time and the writer Michael Arlen Ross for trying to insult your intelligence.
  3. PnArdyPnArdy
    May 13, 2007
    6
    A terrifying horror triller about human organ trafficking in Brazil. Several young americans run for their lives in the brazilian jungle.
  4. ChrisB.
    Apr 20, 2007
    3
    If you're bored, and want to watch a mediocre horror flick then I guess you could rent this. In all honesty, it's a lame movie. It has a decently attractive cast, seems like it could be fun because it's on a beautiful beach in brazil, but nope. It's a huge letdown. As a reference... It's no where near as good as hostel, even if you disliked hostel.
  5. HalB.
    Apr 6, 2007
    6
    A pleasant surprise. The tension builds nicely, the acting is decent, the dialogue believable (for a horror flick). I liked it better than Hostel and much much better than Saw III (or was it II)? Not quite as good as The Descent. The three female leads (Olivia W., Melissa G., Beau G.) are all amazingly gorgeous. People who see this film as racist or anti-Brazilian just need to chill out. A pleasant surprise. The tension builds nicely, the acting is decent, the dialogue believable (for a horror flick). I liked it better than Hostel and much much better than Saw III (or was it II)? Not quite as good as The Descent. The three female leads (Olivia W., Melissa G., Beau G.) are all amazingly gorgeous. People who see this film as racist or anti-Brazilian just need to chill out. It's a B movie Horror flick!!! Get over it already. Expand
  6. JwuandahouseL
    Dec 24, 2006
    8
    I've honestly never been so scared in my life.
  7. JoshF.
    Dec 4, 2006
    1
    Yet another unoriginal, unintelligent horror film for this year. Ive never seen a premise like this before.... oh wait yes I have, it's called Surviving the Game and this is just as bad. The only difference is that I don't get to laugh at Gary Busey in turistas, I get to laugh at everyone's performance.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Nov 29, 2006
    9
    Starts slow finishes unbelievable.
  9. SarahL.
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    The movie as a whole is unbelievable and mezmerizing. It falls flat out as a horror classic. With brilliant twits and turns, great and realistic non-horror scenes and a perfect buildup and ending, you really could not ask for more. You will laugh, scream and cheer. The film is perfect for horror fans with its nudity.
  10. RuthF.
    Nov 29, 2006
    4
    This movie is filled with suffecent violence, gore and twits. But the bad acting and predictible plot make the film a large dissapointment. I have definitly seen better horror movies. The Descent was a far better foregin but english speaking film. This movie is also racist, depiticing all the blacks as violent savages.
  11. BillyC.
    Nov 29, 2006
    9
    Bone Chilling Suspenceful classic. All around Brilliant. Matches up to The Descent as one of the Years Best Horror Films. I loved every minute of it.
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 26
  2. Negative: 11 out of 26
  1. There's only one surgery scene, but it's the heart (and kidneys) of Turistas. The rest -- especially the incoherent action -- falls well below the mark set by the last Americans Abroad torture-porn picture, "Hostel."
  2. Reviewed by: Nathan Lee
    30
    Turistas eventually bogs down in an underlit mess.
  3. The movie, with the exception of that lone squirmy surgery scene, is "Hostel" without sadism, thrills, or funky severed-limb F/X. It quickly turns into a very dull escape thriller.