User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 909 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. dereks
    Apr 4, 2009
    0
    By far the worst movie ever made in the history of mankind. Biggest waste of 2 hours ever created.
  2. surs
    Jun 1, 2009
    1
    The book was great. It may not be a literary jewel but it was an excellent romantic story. I was very disappointed with the movie. Kirsten Stewart can't act to save her life. The movie was not true to the book at all. I for one cannot see the cullens riding in public transportation of any kind, even a school bus. The book had so much potential as a movie that I hope someone does a The book was great. It may not be a literary jewel but it was an excellent romantic story. I was very disappointed with the movie. Kirsten Stewart can't act to save her life. The movie was not true to the book at all. I for one cannot see the cullens riding in public transportation of any kind, even a school bus. The book had so much potential as a movie that I hope someone does a good remake. Expand
  3. KeenanS.
    Jun 15, 2009
    3
    The moment I saw a preview of this film, I knew it was going to suck, but I was still willing to give it a chance, so I went and saw it. Wow, it sure did suck. The film is atrocious and fails to deliver anything that a romance or vampire film should have. It has boring, 1-dimensional, cardboard characters who have some of the worst acting abilities (Especially the guy who plays Edward) The moment I saw a preview of this film, I knew it was going to suck, but I was still willing to give it a chance, so I went and saw it. Wow, it sure did suck. The film is atrocious and fails to deliver anything that a romance or vampire film should have. It has boring, 1-dimensional, cardboard characters who have some of the worst acting abilities (Especially the guy who plays Edward) I've ever seen in a film. The dialogue was really bad, thanks to the cliched, hackneyed script. The music soundtrack is horrible, and stands as one of the worst film soundtracks I have ever heard. The CGI effects were utterly appalling, and I've seen better CGI in the 90's. The film also does not meet certain requirements vampire films are supposed to have, such as the fact the vampires sparkle like diamonds in the sunlight. I don't mind if a few things get changed up a bit in a vampire film, but vampires die in sunlight. It's been a requirement for the last few centuries. By the way, whoever says this is the best romance since Romeo and Juliet is an idiot. Expand
  4. ShaneB
    Jun 17, 2009
    2
    Twilight is, quite frankly, a film in which only 16 year old goths will enjoy. While the film does at times have some decent Cinematography, the plot is over exaggerated, the acting is poor, the writing is uninspired and the film at times looks just plain ugly, making Twilight, in my opinion, one of the worst films of the year thus far.
  5. SeanF.
    Jul 20, 2009
    0
    Just a dreadful, dreadful movie. Vampires playing baseball, flying? Come on, at least stay close to the confines of conventional vampire lore. The movie started off as if it might actually be going somewhere, but never does (anywhere interesting at least). Rent one of the Underworld movies instead of watching this.
  6. AngelaH
    Aug 10, 2009
    0
    This is without a doubt one of the worst films I have ever seen.
  7. SebastianC
    Sep 30, 2009
    1
    Bar none, one of the worst films ever made. I understand this is a teen flick, but the script is appalling, the acting is dreadful, the directing is terrible and the whole thing is just physically painful.
  8. GeorgeC.
    Nov 21, 2008
    0
    I'm not kidding, its like the worstest movie of the year by far. It is so pale, dull and boring. Nothing exciting ever happens. It is emotionless, and you just can't wait for it to end. And the visual effects, they were awful! But most of all, why would you make a movie adapted from the lamest hit chick flick novel out there. And the story: Booooo.
  9. Billbilly
    Nov 21, 2008
    2
    I give it a 2 because at least it had all of the characters and the adaptation was somehwat accurate. I was extremely dissapointed with Twilight. I've read all the books, and this ones the best. But believe me, it is even worse than "Eragon"! You might think that's a joke, it ain't. This is probably the boringest movie I have ever seen. It felt like poor-quality I give it a 2 because at least it had all of the characters and the adaptation was somehwat accurate. I was extremely dissapointed with Twilight. I've read all the books, and this ones the best. But believe me, it is even worse than "Eragon"! You might think that's a joke, it ain't. This is probably the boringest movie I have ever seen. It felt like poor-quality entertainment all the way through. Like everything is in there, but it would have been nice if they'd try to entertain us, then make a daring epic. Twilight isn't a daring epic!!!!! It's a chick Flick!!! For gods sakes how can they get that wrong? Expand
  10. KellyNelson
    Nov 22, 2008
    2
    I have read the book 3 times, and was very disappointed, most of the actors didn't fit the charaters, the acting was mostly bad, imporant info was left out which I think will make the next movies difficult, worthless things were added...not impressed. They relied to much on teeny-boppers looking for eye candy and not enough on the actual story which could have been an amazing movie ifI have read the book 3 times, and was very disappointed, most of the actors didn't fit the charaters, the acting was mostly bad, imporant info was left out which I think will make the next movies difficult, worthless things were added...not impressed. They relied to much on teeny-boppers looking for eye candy and not enough on the actual story which could have been an amazing movie if they had stuck to the book. Didn't appear the screen writer had read the other books since items that become very important in the next book were left out, rushed through, or changed dramatically. Expand
  11. Agnes
    Nov 23, 2008
    0
    A High School Play has better acting than this. Make that a Middle School ! The audience was actually laughing at how stupid this was. Save your hard earned money to buy a new book. Let's see a vampire that is out in daylight, doesn't bite his victims, and looks in the mirror. And to think we all thought that Dracula was the exact opposite. Live and Learn!
  12. Carin
    Nov 24, 2008
    0
    I loved this book, but I went into the movie with low expectations because of the previews.
    Alas, it didn't even live up to those low expectations. This really is the worst movie I have ever seen. Now I haven't seen Plan 9 from Outer Space, so it may not be the worst movie ever made, but it's pretty close.
  13. LouE.
    Nov 24, 2008
    1
    Bram Stoker must be turniing in his grave!!!!!!!
    But I know I'm not the intended audience, I never read t he book, I'm not a tween, I'm a guy and I have a brain, it might as well been brought to us by Disney. All in all just a buch of pretty white kids pretending to act. totally messed up the Vampire genre
  14. ArtemO
    Nov 29, 2008
    2
    Probably one of the worst movies I've ever seen. Acting sucked, the girl wasn't pretty, and they were hardly even vampires! Not to mention normally when I think vampire I think action but this movie had none.
  15. an
    Dec 12, 2008
    0
    I loved the book because it was oddly addictive (although the writing was nothing spectacular) but expected the movie to be absolutely terrible, especially after seeing the trailers. The acting was horrendous, and my friend and I were laughing the entire time at their interpretations of the book. Probably the worst movie I've ever seen, Absolutely devoted fans of the book that think I loved the book because it was oddly addictive (although the writing was nothing spectacular) but expected the movie to be absolutely terrible, especially after seeing the trailers. The acting was horrendous, and my friend and I were laughing the entire time at their interpretations of the book. Probably the worst movie I've ever seen, Absolutely devoted fans of the book that think this movie is actually good are in denial. Expand
  16. SarahK.
    Dec 8, 2008
    0
    This has to be one of the worst teen lip flicks I've ever been forced to watch. I am sorry I let my sister drag me to this. I made the mistake of reading Stephanie Meyer's writing before, and I won't make the mistake of seeing any more of her movies.
  17. AnonymousMC
    Dec 8, 2008
    1
    This movie had no character development, and no passion. It was a complete flop compared to the books. And what was with the stuttering during the hospital scene? Kristen sucks in this movie. She doesn't even capture 1/4 of the essence of Bella. Save your money and read the books again.
  18. Monica
    Nov 23, 2009
    0
    Am I mistaken, or did I just read comparisons to "Romeo and Juliet" and "Lost Boys." Are some of you daft or just mentally challenged? OR can you at least admit that you were never able to grasp the world-renown play or cinematic classic and got a "C" in your High School literature classes. Holy Hell, how aggravating it is that some of you represent the United States in critical thinking.
  19. Jacob
    Nov 30, 2009
    0
    What a waste of my time. Bella is a weak, shallow woman in an imbalanced relationship. Edward (if he wasnt "hot" would be seen as a creepy, geriatric pedofile and a stalker. The "vampires" are so unvampiric its just sad that Meyers is allowed to even use the term for her creatures. Lots of boring angsty staring and laughable dialog. Give this a miss.
  20. JohnT.
    Oct 14, 2009
    0
    The fact that this movie is being compared to Romeo and Juliet in any context other than to exemplify everything that is wrong with Twilight is a sign our culture is slowly dying. The series was a horrible, pathetic creation vulgarly posturing as a romance, luring young girls and disillusioned middle-aged women (and men) into its abominable bosom, whispering false promises of eternal love The fact that this movie is being compared to Romeo and Juliet in any context other than to exemplify everything that is wrong with Twilight is a sign our culture is slowly dying. The series was a horrible, pathetic creation vulgarly posturing as a romance, luring young girls and disillusioned middle-aged women (and men) into its abominable bosom, whispering false promises of eternal love and devotion. Expand
  21. Rachel
    Dec 16, 2009
    2
    There's supposed to be chemistry between the two characters, I didn't notice any. And some emotion would've been nice. Maybe some sound/music in the first half would've entertained me and my friend also. Unless you like Robert Pattison I don't think you'll like the film!
  22. Tizzy
    Dec 26, 2009
    0
    The acting; terrible. The writing; terrible. The cinematography; terrible. The directing; terrible. Though, working off of a misogynistic, glittering, terribly written, encyclopedia slap happy, no character development (Except when Bella's monster baby bursts out of the womb and the only way for her to survive is to be turned into a vampire, which then she becomes automatically The acting; terrible. The writing; terrible. The cinematography; terrible. The directing; terrible. Though, working off of a misogynistic, glittering, terribly written, encyclopedia slap happy, no character development (Except when Bella's monster baby bursts out of the womb and the only way for her to survive is to be turned into a vampire, which then she becomes automatically perfect and beautiful. That's the only time she changes, which is in the last book) teen pleasure novel, it's gonna be bad either way. And no good director in their right mind would direct such a terrible series. I'd find it funny if a good director like David Lynch or Woody Allen would direct this. Quite humorous, indeed. Expand
  23. RichardA.
    Mar 23, 2009
    2
    I believe this movie marks the death of the Bramstoker vampire and the nosferatu in general. The chemistry between characters is awkward and plastic, the story line is simple, and judging by the books fan base, one of whom was quoted as saying "I like the books but these reading things is hard", it's good the story line is simple otherwise it'd lose them too quickly. A sick I believe this movie marks the death of the Bramstoker vampire and the nosferatu in general. The chemistry between characters is awkward and plastic, the story line is simple, and judging by the books fan base, one of whom was quoted as saying "I like the books but these reading things is hard", it's good the story line is simple otherwise it'd lose them too quickly. A sick twisted affair based on a half hearted book, compared to Romeo and Julliet by what I seriously hope are the worst trolls in the history of the internet. Expand
  24. NateK.
    Mar 24, 2009
    1
    I read the book and saw the movie, but it wasn't that great. The book wasn't the best, and had some major flaws, and the movie adaptation was absolutely horrendous. Not only did it have terrible special effects, the actors were disappointing in their performances. Perhaps the second movie will be better, but not by much.
  25. RyanM.
    Mar 26, 2009
    3
    Ridiculous. Sappy. Like a bad MTV video or after school special. Really geared for teenage girls.
  26. HannahH
    May 17, 2009
    0
    This movie is so lame and stupid, with hardly any plot at all. It damages the definition of a vampire!!! Vampires are supposed to be evil creatures who suck human blood. And Edward Cullen?! He "sparkles", DOESN'T drink human blood, and falls in love with Bella!! Stupid. The only reason some people like this is because of the cheesy romance in it.
  27. EnzoP.
    Jul 16, 2009
    3
    Twilight is a very bad movie. While was watching it I felt so weird because every five seconds you see kirsten stewart and robert pattinson staring at each other awkwardly. Just look at the picture on the top of the page. Although it did keep my interest through out the movie.
  28. MikeR.
    Nov 21, 2008
    0
    It seemed half the audience in the theater had already read the book and had already made up their minds--the rest of us came to mock it. Between the awful score, makeup, special effects, dialogue and (the worst of all) directing, there was no shortage of opportunities to laugh out loud (and everyone did) during what I assume should have been dramatic sequences. Maybe this will appeal to It seemed half the audience in the theater had already read the book and had already made up their minds--the rest of us came to mock it. Between the awful score, makeup, special effects, dialogue and (the worst of all) directing, there was no shortage of opportunities to laugh out loud (and everyone did) during what I assume should have been dramatic sequences. Maybe this will appeal to die-hard fans of the book, but certainly not anyone who appreciates any kind of coherent cinematography or character depth. I can say with a high degree of certainty that we won't see another movie this bad for a very long time. Expand
  29. fhallo
    Nov 22, 2008
    0
    People tell either it's the best movie ever made, others say it's one of the worst. And for those ones who hate it usually tell me they'd rather watch 'Eragaon', (that crappy book adaptation of the excellent bestseller). I thought that was a joke. I was laughing up to the point of seeing Twilight Saturday afternoon with my friends. IT"S AWFUL! Don't seePeople tell either it's the best movie ever made, others say it's one of the worst. And for those ones who hate it usually tell me they'd rather watch 'Eragaon', (that crappy book adaptation of the excellent bestseller). I thought that was a joke. I was laughing up to the point of seeing Twilight Saturday afternoon with my friends. IT"S AWFUL! Don't see it! Don't waste your time or money on it, I am going to regret seeing this for the rest of my life. yes, it is AMAZINGY OVERRATED! And so bad, and 2 times worse than Eragon. Believe me, if you plan on seeing this, if your a fan, plan on walking out in tears, for those who don't care, you will have a grudge against Twilight forever. Expand
  30. Connor
    Nov 22, 2008
    0
    Absolute garbage...

    It's nearly impossible to relate to ANY of the main characters, they screwed up the entire vampire concept, and the female lead is dumb as a sack of bricks. Not only that, but their relationship did nothing for me.

    Don't get me wrong, I'm normally a sucker for this kind of thing, but this movie just left me with a feeling of disgust.
  31. GearoidM
    Nov 24, 2008
    2
    From around half way through onwards people were laughing. I wasn't sure if it was a comedy or not. That's 2 hours of my life I won't get back, unfortunately. The acting was poor and it was sooo slow. My wife enjoyed it - mostly because she spent the entire movie drooling over the lead actor.
  32. BenM.
    Nov 29, 2008
    0
    this movie is nothing more than Hollywood cashing in on a book that did nothing more than put some generic teenage girls wet dream on paper. it was thrown together, sloppy, and is getting a score far exceeding what it deserves because there are thousands of 14 year old girls who sat at their computers for days looking for anywhere and everywhere they could squeal about how "Edward is the this movie is nothing more than Hollywood cashing in on a book that did nothing more than put some generic teenage girls wet dream on paper. it was thrown together, sloppy, and is getting a score far exceeding what it deserves because there are thousands of 14 year old girls who sat at their computers for days looking for anywhere and everywhere they could squeal about how "Edward is the only real guy left" (a notion I shouldn't even have to point out as a contender for the stupidest thing ever said), etc. and have given it 10's even while admitting it was not as good as they had hoped. and so, even if it is a harsher rating than it perhaps deserves, no matter how bad it is, I plant myself as a counter balance against all the brainless, fad crazed votes this movie has received. Expand
  33. MattB.
    Dec 27, 2008
    1
    Bad. Bad. Horrible. I didn't even sit to keep watching like 1/4 the way in. This movie just proves no matter what that anything Twilight is a horrible, abyissmal blight to all that is literature and film. A plot that has less meat on it then a model, unrealistic characters that don't have any substance, and horrible screnewritting/dialoge. The only people who could possibly like Bad. Bad. Horrible. I didn't even sit to keep watching like 1/4 the way in. This movie just proves no matter what that anything Twilight is a horrible, abyissmal blight to all that is literature and film. A plot that has less meat on it then a model, unrealistic characters that don't have any substance, and horrible screnewritting/dialoge. The only people who could possibly like it are diehard fans who don't even know what a good book is. Expand
  34. AlexG.
    Dec 27, 2008
    3
    This movie, along with the book, was not all that great. I found it annoying that there was no background for the characters and that Bella did not do or say things that a normal person would. Also, the so-called vampires in this movie were nothing but people who were strong and people who could fly. What happened to the vampires that suck humans' blood and can't go out in This movie, along with the book, was not all that great. I found it annoying that there was no background for the characters and that Bella did not do or say things that a normal person would. Also, the so-called vampires in this movie were nothing but people who were strong and people who could fly. What happened to the vampires that suck humans' blood and can't go out in sunlight. Twilight recieves far more praise than it deserves and is one of the worst movies of 2008. Expand
  35. AlexH.
    Dec 28, 2008
    0
    Of couse, if you're a fan of the book, you are most likely going to enjoy the movie adaptation of what is, in my opinion, one of the worst movies of the year. I decided to watch the movie for a few laughs but in the end, I regretted it. The whole series in general dulls the name of vampires because vampires don't go out in the day and vampires suck humans' blood. The Of couse, if you're a fan of the book, you are most likely going to enjoy the movie adaptation of what is, in my opinion, one of the worst movies of the year. I decided to watch the movie for a few laughs but in the end, I regretted it. The whole series in general dulls the name of vampires because vampires don't go out in the day and vampires suck humans' blood. The dialouge is poor and the characters have absolutely no background. Bella doesn't even do or say things that a normal person would do. I can't find one good reason why teen fangirls that drool over Edward call this romantic. The romance in the movie is dull and is only normal high school life, something many believe to happen to very few people. It's hard to even watch a movie when the main character is the most annoying character. This piece of garbage recieves far more praise than it deserves and is a sorry excuse for "an epic romance". Expand
  36. JimB
    Nov 18, 2009
    1
    This movie had high hopes but failed to meet them. Kristen Stewart, although she is young, did an awful job of acting. She was emotionless throughout almost the whole movie, expect when she received her new truck from Billy Black. Stewart would have been better as a role of a zombie in Zombieland. It would have been nice to see more of that energy consistent in the entire movie. Robert This movie had high hopes but failed to meet them. Kristen Stewart, although she is young, did an awful job of acting. She was emotionless throughout almost the whole movie, expect when she received her new truck from Billy Black. Stewart would have been better as a role of a zombie in Zombieland. It would have been nice to see more of that energy consistent in the entire movie. Robert Pattinson, the male lead, was not as awful as his female counterpart but his performance was far from good. He showed glimmers of a strong character at the beginning and end of the film, but it would have been nice for the middle parts to be as strong so he could at least make up for what Stewart was lacking. The special effects were rushed and just plain cheesy. It was not believable at all. Overall the movie did stay true, or at least tried, to Stephanie Meyer's novel. Expand
  37. Sep 9, 2011
    0
    This was the most boring film ever i sat through. I wonder why they took "actors" for this "vampire-movie". A non bloodsucking vampire is as much a vampire as a potato. In a film with non bloodsucking potatoes they could have saved on the budget though.
  38. Dec 7, 2011
    2
    One of the dullest movies I've ever seen in my life. If only I could take those 122 minutes back. Here are reasons why this movie sucked. 1. First off, the characters are lifeless. 2. The characters sound like they are reading off paper
    3. Practically remain blank faced throughout most of the movie
    4. No chemistry between the two main characters 5. Is everybody wearing makeup? If you are a
    One of the dullest movies I've ever seen in my life. If only I could take those 122 minutes back. Here are reasons why this movie sucked. 1. First off, the characters are lifeless. 2. The characters sound like they are reading off paper
    3. Practically remain blank faced throughout most of the movie
    4. No chemistry between the two main characters
    5. Is everybody wearing makeup?
    If you are a Twilight fan, then I feel sorry for you. Please get some help.
    Expand
  39. Apr 14, 2013
    0
    This movie I simply awful.
    The worst performance I've ever seen. Specially when two of them are talking.
    If I could I would ask Stephenie Meyer that does she even know what a vampire is?
    It's a shame...
  40. Jul 21, 2014
    0
    This is film is realy boring and for making it even more boring and unwatchable they put in it millions minute of stares! You want him to be horror but it makes you "laugh instead! Dialogue is like this i love you! Me too! Great! "
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. 63
    Twilight will mesmerize its target audience, 16-year-old girls and their grandmothers. Their mothers know all too much about boys like this.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    50
    A disappointingly anemic tale of forbidden love that should satiate the pre-converted but will bewilder and underwhelm viewers who haven't devoured Stephenie Meyer's bestselling juvie chick-lit franchise.
  3. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    50
    In the 17-million-copy land of "Twilight," the calling card isn't blood and fangs, but the exquisite, shimmering quiver of unconsummated first love. By that measure, the movie version gives really good swoon.