User Score
2.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 53
  2. Negative: 40 out of 53
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VinceH.
    Feb 28, 2004
    1
    I went to see this film mostly because I am a huge fan of some of Philip Kaufman's earlier film (esp. Quills) and though I'd heard that this was a routine detective story, I was hoping a talented director may elevate the material (like Curtis Hanson with "8 Mile"). Boy was I wrong! A sloppy, poorly edited, bland-as-vanilla cliche fest. Has absolutely no point and no reason to I went to see this film mostly because I am a huge fan of some of Philip Kaufman's earlier film (esp. Quills) and though I'd heard that this was a routine detective story, I was hoping a talented director may elevate the material (like Curtis Hanson with "8 Mile"). Boy was I wrong! A sloppy, poorly edited, bland-as-vanilla cliche fest. Has absolutely no point and no reason to exist. BTW, if you want real laughs read Michael Sragow's review at the top of page. It's one of the funnest things I've ever read...give that guy the Pulitzer! Expand
  2. Lumiere
    May 1, 2004
    0
    Worst movie of the year. On a level so bad its worse then Gigli. Everything is wrong with this film that's possible. Please avoid it or you will feel horrible.
  3. EfeB.
    Sep 3, 2004
    0
    I think since they are making films like this...metacritic fellas need to create a "below zero" rating system that enables us the mighty online critics to be able to score points like "-8". because frankly...i think i am putting the big fat red zero to shame by associating it with this. i am gona kill this movie...you wanna read it and have a good time?...here we go, number one: the name I think since they are making films like this...metacritic fellas need to create a "below zero" rating system that enables us the mighty online critics to be able to score points like "-8". because frankly...i think i am putting the big fat red zero to shame by associating it with this. i am gona kill this movie...you wanna read it and have a good time?...here we go, number one: the name of the film is twisted, but for something to be "twisted" it needs to be straight first...thats not this movie. number two: make sure you bring a friend with you when you see this film, because you will need a witness to remind you that you were NOT infact in hell, but rather in your home watching a dvd. nunmber treeee: if you want to be a filmmaker or just join the film industry, this film is sure to make you wanna be a plumber, you will think that cleaning peoples toilets is a more rewarding line of work. number four: make sure you are not eating while watching this film, because whatever you eat, will reappear smack on your plate in the manner of vomit. number five: your t.v might reek of rotten flesh for weeks and attract near by rodents because this film STINKS. number six: while watching this movie, you will question your sanity and you may rise to a conclusion that you are insane, pick up an axe and swing it left and right, damaging furniture or other civilians. number seven: if you make it through the 50 minutes of this film, you will have an urge to receive a medal of courage of somesort, you will stand up, right hand on salute and just wait there for hours for nothing. number whatever: you will write a long and low rating rant at metacritic, and beg hollywod to not kick you in the bottom once again. Expand
  4. SueH.
    Sep 6, 2004
    0
    I got a beef against Baltimore Sun / Michael Sragow how the hell could he give it 100 for this movie? Sue this paper immediately and get your money back for seeing a movie that pukes of vomit for a false rating. "Sony Pictures may be nearing a settlement in the class action over the use of fake critics, filed by two LA filmgoers, Omar Rezec and Ann Belknap. According to the Hollywood I got a beef against Baltimore Sun / Michael Sragow how the hell could he give it 100 for this movie? Sue this paper immediately and get your money back for seeing a movie that pukes of vomit for a false rating. "Sony Pictures may be nearing a settlement in the class action over the use of fake critics, filed by two LA filmgoers, Omar Rezec and Ann Belknap. According to the Hollywood Reporter, the settlement - which charged Sony with misleading filmgoers by quoting a fictional critic in advertisements - could be for more than $1m, meaning that individual moviegoers could receive as much as $5 each, depending on how many decide to claim. " Expand
  5. JayB.
    Feb 27, 2004
    0
    Unfortunately, I live in the city where Michael Sragow is the main critic. Thank the lord for the internet!!!
  6. DeanT.
    Aug 31, 2004
    0
    Ashley Judd is a gifted actress doing a surprisely bad movie. I will give her the benefit of the doubt and say it was her agent that talk her into doing this crap. This movie sucks. The plot has so many holes even Sherlock Holmes would walk out of the cinema. The ending is totally implausible to say the least. Leave your brain - thinking cap at home.
  7. GrahamM.
    Dec 15, 2005
    0
    Pointless.
  8. Sonya
    Mar 21, 2004
    1
    As bad as they say as a thriller but really underestimated as a comedy, just know that if nothing else this movie will make you laugh at how bad it is!
  9. tylerc
    Sep 18, 2004
    0
    I thought with Ashley Judd, Andy Garcia, and Samuel L Jackson this movie would at least be watchable. Boy was I wrong! I was never engaged with the plot, did not care who the killer was, and almost fell asleep to this movie. This gives the "thriller" genre a bad name!
Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 34
  2. Negative: 26 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    30
    A dreary, weary psychosexual thriller that's neither sexy nor thrilling.
  2. A pretty lousy movie, which would be offensive were it not safely neutered by its own stupidity.
  3. A neo-noir movie nightmare gone sadly wrong.