Twister

Twister Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The largest storm to hit Oklahoma in more than half a century is brewing, and it promises to drop multiple twisters into Tornado Alley. It's the storm that two rival groups of scientists have been waiting for to earn their place in meteorological history. [Warner Bros.]

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. It's hard to dislike a picture with flying cows and oil trucks.
  2. USA Today
    Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    88
    A summer crowd-pleaser worthy of its wind.
  3. The New Republic
    Reviewed by: Stanley Kauffmann
    80
    Twister is full of marvelous special effects. The story exists only to provide some respite between those marvels, like dialogue in an opera full of terrific arias. [10 June 1996, p.24]
  4. And for a movie that stars acts of God, this work of mortals provides surprisingly little liftoff. The stuff that whips through the angry skies in Twister is the most exciting part of the spectacle. Essentially, we're turned on by debris.
  5. The engineering of the special effects is fairly impressive, and the sight of so many objects and creatures being buffeted about carries a certain apocalyptic splendor.
  6. Extreme-weather buffs, thrill-ride junkies and anyone else in search of mindless entertainment need look no further.
  7. Big swirls of computer-generated dirt, a bickering couple and the dead certainty that the fiancee will leave and the bickerers will get back together. An exciting night out, or what?

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    One of my personal favorites, Twister wows us with it's special effects and great CGI. Yeah, the ending might be a little cheesy, but what doOne of my personal favorites, Twister wows us with it's special effects and great CGI. Yeah, the ending might be a little cheesy, but what do you expect, it's Hollywood! Bill Paxton and Helen Hunt have great chemistry, and the addition of the late Philip Seymour Hoffman in one of his funniest roles make this movie. Expand
  2. KD
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    This movie kicks ass from beginning to end. great special effects great action great story, great everything.
  3. Jan 24, 2016
    10
    Twister is one of the best disaster films out there. It's fun, it's scary, and it's entertaining. Helen Hunt and Bill Paxton were very goodTwister is one of the best disaster films out there. It's fun, it's scary, and it's entertaining. Helen Hunt and Bill Paxton were very good actors in the movie Expand
  4. May 31, 2013
    7
    The film's special effects are effective, even thrilling, but after a while you start to ask yourself why, with all the debris flying throughThe film's special effects are effective, even thrilling, but after a while you start to ask yourself why, with all the debris flying through the air, does hardly anybody even get a scratch? And it does seem a rather cynical movie ploy to posit a series of increasingly violent tornadoes as backdrop to a rather perfunctory marriage reconciliation. Executive produced by Steven Spielberg, and it shows it. But it is a welcome change to build a movie around "scientists" as heroes, and even throw in a rival scientific group (the corporate sell-outs) as the bad guys. Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2014
    7
    Its an okay movie with good special effects. The ending is amazing, but I don't understand how they made it without a scratch! Again, theIts an okay movie with good special effects. The ending is amazing, but I don't understand how they made it without a scratch! Again, the effects are amazing, and I'll watch again! Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2015
    6
    Twister was a slightly exciting movie , and is much better than "Into the Storm" in my opinion , as good work of the cast, the plot well andTwister was a slightly exciting movie , and is much better than "Into the Storm" in my opinion , as good work of the cast, the plot well and good visual effects Expand
  7. Jan 9, 2014
    1
    Twister, though it does have decent acting and good intentions, is a completely ignorant movie that makes little to no sense throughout.Twister, though it does have decent acting and good intentions, is a completely ignorant movie that makes little to no sense throughout. Though the special effects are good (considering the time it came out), the implementation of these effects are completely ridiculous, making me feel like I am watch a terrible z-movie rather than a serious drama. Also, multiple characters (the main characters included) are supposed to be intelligent weather experts, yet they act on multiple occasions like idiots and make decisions that only common sense would tell anyone are not smart. Finally, the use of a tornado as a monster like Jason or Michael Myers does not help their cause at all. A tornado is not some serial killer trying to murder people, it is a product of nature that has no complicity to act sadistically. All together, these aspects made Twister nearly unbearable, and only the acting (which, as I said, is not bad) kept me able to watch this movie to its conclusion. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  2. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.