Strand Releasing | Release Date: November 18, 2011
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 39 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
33
Mixed:
4
Negative:
2
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
nutterjrMar 10, 2012
A powerful and raw drama examining troubled, sick souls who cannot harness their abusive behaviour and therefore cannot find their much sought redemption. Olivia Colman brings a pitch perfect performance which is one of the best I have seenA powerful and raw drama examining troubled, sick souls who cannot harness their abusive behaviour and therefore cannot find their much sought redemption. Olivia Colman brings a pitch perfect performance which is one of the best I have seen for a long time and together with Paddy Considine's directorial debut is definitely worth many accolades. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
pinattarJun 17, 2012
an amazing movie. due to Paddy Considine great direction ability and his well scripted screneplay. and with two standout performances, Peter Mullan and Olivia Colman (who one of the best performances of the year). it can however be slow atan amazing movie. due to Paddy Considine great direction ability and his well scripted screneplay. and with two standout performances, Peter Mullan and Olivia Colman (who one of the best performances of the year). it can however be slow at some times, but Colman makes up for that. a highly recommended movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Andys_ReviewsFeb 17, 2013
I first have to say that the performances are all quite stunning; particularly Olivia Colman. She takes a very measured approach to the role and it comes off perfectly. Peter Mullan was also excellent as Joseph; a great piece of casting as II first have to say that the performances are all quite stunning; particularly Olivia Colman. She takes a very measured approach to the role and it comes off perfectly. Peter Mullan was also excellent as Joseph; a great piece of casting as I felt he was ideal for the role. Eddie Marsan plays the abusive and somewhat creepy husband just right and I have to also give a mention to the young actor Samuel Bottomley, who plays a local boy who Joseph looks out for. I’m sure this young man will have a great future. This is a film that is all about the performances; there are no special effects or fancy camera trickery; it lives or dies on the performances and I have to say (for me at least) it worked to a tee! One of the criteria I use when deciding whether I like a film or not, is the emotional response it generates. And I can honestly say with this one it was all positive. Don’t get me wrong, you are taken all around the houses on the way there, but to end it they way they did I though was just perfect!

SteelMonster’s verdict: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED My score: 9.6/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
williamobrienApr 14, 2012
Tyrannosaur stands out, due to it's wonderful and truly raw direction from Paddy Considine. It's written with true passion and it's led by two, utterly and completely ground-breaking performances from Peter Mullan and an exceptionallyTyrannosaur stands out, due to it's wonderful and truly raw direction from Paddy Considine. It's written with true passion and it's led by two, utterly and completely ground-breaking performances from Peter Mullan and an exceptionally heart-breaking Olivia Colman. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RoadwarriorApr 7, 2012
Emotional parabolic arcs from start to finish. Genuinely brimming with sadness, fear and pity while being subtly underlined all along with a sense of impending redemption. Characters whom you can easily identify with and even if you they areEmotional parabolic arcs from start to finish. Genuinely brimming with sadness, fear and pity while being subtly underlined all along with a sense of impending redemption. Characters whom you can easily identify with and even if you they are not to your liking you will find much of yourself in them. As a directorial début it is exceptional in the conveyance of stark reality combined with the constant buzz of anticipation. If you like human tragedy in a slow motion train-wreck then you will most likely love Tyrannosaurus, I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BeanbeanzMay 7, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gotta say, this movie was brilliant. But, it hit home for me as well being a domestic violence survivor. I don't often get emotional over movies, this one almost brought some tears. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mopatopJul 1, 2012
Not a light, happy film to say the least, but one of only a few I've watched recently which has stayed with me for more than a couple of minutes after the credits. The acting was superb, well worth a watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PaultergeistFeb 22, 2013
Paddy Considine is one of my favorite British actors. Several great movies, like "In America" and "Dead Mans Shoes", have shown his great talent. Get ready for his full-length directing debut. Tyrannosaur tells a dark and depressing storyPaddy Considine is one of my favorite British actors. Several great movies, like "In America" and "Dead Mans Shoes", have shown his great talent. Get ready for his full-length directing debut. Tyrannosaur tells a dark and depressing story about a man plagued by violence and hate. Every little thing can make him explode and he won't hold back. This is a heavy movie. If you're in a bad mood or you've just been dumped or anything like that, don't watch it, cause you'll get even more depressed. Also, if you love dogs, you might just skip this one. If you like dark, heavy dramas, you'll find a true gem with this one. I really loved the grim atmosphere in this movie, the very convincing acting and the way everything is filmed. Paddy Considine should definitely keep both acting (he's not in this movie though) and directing cause this man is a true genius. When the ending credits rolled I just sat there staring at the screen with a sad look on my face for a couple of minutes. Which in this case is a good thing cause that's probably exactly what Considine wants. This is a movie I will not easily forget about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews