User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnB.
    Jul 8, 2009
    9
    LOVED IT! very interesting movie, and we finally get to see it from tysons point of view. youll gain a new perspective of mike after seeing this
  2. wilmerj
    Apr 27, 2009
    9
    It was touching, he brought tears to my eyes. Great Movie.
  3. Leland
    Apr 25, 2009
    8
    I was never a big fan of Tyson, however this movie gave some good insight on this life in his own words. Bias or not i think most of you will enjoy it.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Apr 29, 2009
    10
    If you can accept the movie and the man without preconceived notions of what and who he is, you will be in for a surprise. Mike is engaging and easy to sympathize with, and more than anything clearly understands what he's done and the wreckage he's left to deal with.
  5. ValmontW
    May 10, 2009
    10
    Great movie... specially if your a Mike fan it realy has a mix of fun and inspiration.
  6. StuartW
    May 20, 2009
    9
    I gave this such a high score because i grew up watching the fights at ridiculous hours of the morning. he was my hero in such a way that when he was destroyed by Lennox Lewis i couldn't help but well up a bit. When he was younger he looked unbeatable. This film shows that had things been slightly different, maybe he would have gone down in history as the greatest. instead, he is I gave this such a high score because i grew up watching the fights at ridiculous hours of the morning. he was my hero in such a way that when he was destroyed by Lennox Lewis i couldn't help but well up a bit. When he was younger he looked unbeatable. This film shows that had things been slightly different, maybe he would have gone down in history as the greatest. instead, he is portayed as an extremley mixed up individual who isn't telling the whole truth most of the time. Mike Tyson said of himself that he is he most foolish person he knows after blowing nearly $400 million. he tries to defend his mistakes, it's intriguing to hear what he has to say, but deep down you sense that he abused his power and success on more than one occasion. Great film if you are a fan. Expand
  7. AndrewP
    May 9, 2009
    9
    One sided story telling be damned; the true strength of this film is not showcasing the preconceived opinions on Mike Tyson and lets the audience connect the truths about him within their own mind. A great follow-up to Toback's "The Big Bang." The film allows Mike to showcase himself and he comes across more interesting than any fictional character drawn up by the mind. Quiet, One sided story telling be damned; the true strength of this film is not showcasing the preconceived opinions on Mike Tyson and lets the audience connect the truths about him within their own mind. A great follow-up to Toback's "The Big Bang." The film allows Mike to showcase himself and he comes across more interesting than any fictional character drawn up by the mind. Quiet, honest, reflective, and heartfelt; audiences will walk away exploring pieces of their own psyche after discovering the humanity of a fighter deemed more beast than man. Brilliant film making; one of the best documentaries I have seen in years. Expand
  8. JosephK
    Jul 9, 2009
    9
    Mike Tyson is my favorite rapist and at first i wasnt sure if the movie was going to be honest about him but it was and it was a good movie you should see it.
  9. JayH.
    Aug 14, 2009
    4
    It's certainly a well crafted documentary and has excellent use of past footage. But bottom line is I was completely bored. I have no interest in Mike Tyson, I could not understand some of what he was saying in his interviews since his English consists primarily of heavy accented mumbling. It does delve into his persona, revealing an unexpected side of him, but I still couldn't It's certainly a well crafted documentary and has excellent use of past footage. But bottom line is I was completely bored. I have no interest in Mike Tyson, I could not understand some of what he was saying in his interviews since his English consists primarily of heavy accented mumbling. It does delve into his persona, revealing an unexpected side of him, but I still couldn't care less about him. Expand
  10. JoeT.
    Aug 21, 2009
    9
    Riveting documentary, particularly how (he) explains his mindset as a kid before he discovered boxing (or it discovered him), and how this informs everything after. His talk on his boxing style and what the sport means to me is insightful too. The latter half (i.e. Robin Givens onwards) is painful to watch (like a train speeding off that cliff... again... and again... and again...). The Riveting documentary, particularly how (he) explains his mindset as a kid before he discovered boxing (or it discovered him), and how this informs everything after. His talk on his boxing style and what the sport means to me is insightful too. The latter half (i.e. Robin Givens onwards) is painful to watch (like a train speeding off that cliff... again... and again... and again...). The documentary reminds me of JCVD and The Wrestler (it's that kind of experience). Mike Tyson, greatest boxing champion ever! (except Mohammad Ali, who even Tyson acknowledges as greater). Expand
  11. John
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    I saw this movie months ago. I re-lived the joys of a dominant boxer, and humiliation of a broken man I felt the heat break, and saw the train wreck. You are mesmerized by his accounts of story telling. The tale seemed to end too-soon, especially with the recent passing of his young daughter, and marriage a few days later you have to wonder, what he was feeling and thinking, but not feel I saw this movie months ago. I re-lived the joys of a dominant boxer, and humiliation of a broken man I felt the heat break, and saw the train wreck. You are mesmerized by his accounts of story telling. The tale seemed to end too-soon, especially with the recent passing of his young daughter, and marriage a few days later you have to wonder, what he was feeling and thinking, but not feel suprised at all. Expand
  12. MikeD
    Aug 22, 2009
    10
    Excellent documentary on Mike Tyson. Very engaging and will keep you glued to the movie. This movie humanizes a man that has been misunderstood by the public since Day 1.
  13. Jan 9, 2011
    9
    A powerful, compelling documentary told in Tyson's own words. Excellent cinematography, used mostly to underline the many (and conflicted) aspects of the film's subject. The film focuses on both the personal and professional life of Tyson, conveying the links between the two with compassion and, at times, humour. This is truly an authentic autobiography, as the fillmmaker (a long-timeA powerful, compelling documentary told in Tyson's own words. Excellent cinematography, used mostly to underline the many (and conflicted) aspects of the film's subject. The film focuses on both the personal and professional life of Tyson, conveying the links between the two with compassion and, at times, humour. This is truly an authentic autobiography, as the fillmmaker (a long-time friend of Tyson) let the boxer tell his own story. Is this the only story of Tyson, or an entirely objective telling of his life? It may not be, but it is highly candid and genuine. It is neither a paean to the greatness of the man at his peak nor a salacious "tell-all" appealing to the gossip crowd. This documentary is a thoughtful meditation on character, excellence, boxing, and an insecure man who has been betrayed countless times. Collapse
  14. j30
    Oct 9, 2011
    8
    A well made documentary about one of the most misunderstood sports figure in history.
  15. Dec 15, 2011
    8
    It was an interesting movie and it did a good job giving us insight on one of the greatest boxers of all time. Tyson is definently worth watching if you are a fan of Mike Tyson or boxing in general.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Damon Wise
    80
    Very humane portrait of a potentially extremely unlikeable character.
  2. The result is flashy, but the meaning is a bit of a bob and weave.
  3. Reviewed by: Whitney Borup
    80
    If you’re not really interested in Mike Tyson as a boxer and a person, the film doesn't give you much to go on. This is a movie called Tyson and it is about Mike Tyson – and nothing else.