Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Suffering from acute kidney failure, Uncle Boonmee has chosen to spend his final days surrounded by his loved ones in the countryside. Surprisingly, the ghost of his deceased wife appears to care for him, and his long lost son returns home in a non-human form. Contemplating the reasons forSuffering from acute kidney failure, Uncle Boonmee has chosen to spend his final days surrounded by his loved ones in the countryside. Surprisingly, the ghost of his deceased wife appears to care for him, and his long lost son returns home in a non-human form. Contemplating the reasons for his illness, Boonmee treks through the jungle with his family to a mysterious hilltop cave – the birthplace of his first life… In his signature cinematic style, the acclaimed Thai filmmaker delivers a strange and mystical world of visionary beauty. [Strand Releasing]

    Expand
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Mar 3, 2011
    100
    A moving, gently reassuring tale that softens the boundaries between humanity and nature, life and the afterlife.
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Feb 28, 2011
    100
    What you see and hear always seems perfectly natural, even if you can't exactly say why. Who needs words when you have cinema?
  3. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Mar 2, 2011
    91
    Spirit, animal, and human worlds coexist in dreamy harmony in this remarkable drama.
  4. Reviewed by: J. Hoberman
    Mar 1, 2011
    90
    A work of unostentatious beauty and uncloying sweetness, at once sophisticated and artless, mysterious and matter-of-fact, cosmic and humble, it asks only a measure of Boonmeevian acceptance: The movie doesn't mean anything-it simply is.
  5. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Apr 7, 2011
    88
    As Apichatpong erases, once again, the barriers between the celestial and terrestrial, he also does away with the cordons between film genres - this is sci-firomancefamilyreligiousthrillercomedyporn. No video service has a section for that. The only suitable shelf is the one in your soul.
  6. Reviewed by: Richard Mowe
    Feb 28, 2011
    80
    A whimsical essay about the final days of a villager suffering from kidney failure it is undoubtedly one of the filmmaker's most accessible works.
  7. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Mar 23, 2011
    50
    I'm more than ready to welcome a new style and a new metaphysic, but I still respond with skepticism and exasperation to Weerasethakul's work, which is sensuous and ruminative but also flat, almost affectless. [28 March 2011, p. 116]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Probably the weirdest film I've ever watched but it is because of this unusual weirdness that constructs the most unique and remarkable movieProbably the weirdest film I've ever watched but it is because of this unusual weirdness that constructs the most unique and remarkable movie in Thai film's industry. it also shows downfall of Thai morality- how temptations were seen as ordinary compensation. How humans are now living in 2 totally different world - the world of their own selves and the world that has been built by society which highly provokes the sense of importance of self-notification, nothing is true unless you've experienced with it. Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2012
    10
    These other users don't know what they're talking about. This movie is a cinematic marvel. Every scene feels natural even though many ofThese other users don't know what they're talking about. This movie is a cinematic marvel. Every scene feels natural even though many of them are surreal, and it leaves you with a great feeling. It's beautiful. Expand
  3. May 18, 2014
    9
    I read the bad reviews and I simply had to write one myself to clear up some things: THIS IS A METAFILM. Yes, it's a movie about movies. YouI read the bad reviews and I simply had to write one myself to clear up some things: THIS IS A METAFILM. Yes, it's a movie about movies. You can see it in the different style of cinema the scenes were shot, the multiple kinds of lighting, acting, etc. The dead son is an obvious reference to film which is losing its grounds to digital with the monkey suit as a symbol that refers to another movie, you probably know which one. He symbolizes the hybrid era which we're in, one foot in the analog, one in the digital, meandering what is superior when we look for quality not speed. The aunt is cripple, she comes from modern civilization which can be argued to cripple the human mind as well. Boonmee has a failing kidney and gets a stoma, even when the doctor said he'll be better he won't because technology simply cannot make man immortal. Man must learn to accept its fate but technology blinds us, as seen throughout the film. Nature will always remind us that we are mammals and nothing more.

    The film hypnotizes you in its slow paced story, just like the cow it takes patience to tame the beast and bring it back home. If you're simply complaining about how slow a film goes, you go to the bathroom and start checking your emails and phone calls I think you're not the right kind of person to watch these sorta films because you're obviously too busy with the material world and cannot comprehend the patience it takes to deepen your well of consciousness. Namaste and please enjoy this movie.
    Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2011
    5
    I understand asian culture and how they relate to death and ghosts in a whole other way. However, I just can't get pass this simple fact. HowI understand asian culture and how they relate to death and ghosts in a whole other way. However, I just can't get pass this simple fact. How can your dead daughter appear next to you and you not be shocked and then your dead son turn into a monkey and you act as if that isn't a big deal either. What the hell is going on in asia!!! Collapse
  5. Mar 17, 2011
    3
    My favorite part of this movie came when I needed to go to the bathroom during a sequence when the main characters are walking through aMy favorite part of this movie came when I needed to go to the bathroom during a sequence when the main characters are walking through a forest. Music is playing, they are walking through the forest saying nothing, and I thought, "This movie is really slow and that diet coke has worked it's way to my bladder - time to go." So I went to the bathroom, checked my e-mail, listened to my phone messages, then walked back in to the theatre. They were still walking. I'm not kidding. Now, I'm a fan of Buddhism, I've been to Thailand...but this movie bored me to pieces. It has ten minutes of interesting spiritual/conceptual stuff, stuck in a loooong, sloooow, movie. Pretentious people will love this movie, because it will make them feel smart for liking it. Smart people will rent the dvd and watch it at ten times speed. Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2012
    1
    This movie is one of the worst I have ever seen, and we generally like art films. It is so poorly done it would get a failing grade as aThis movie is one of the worst I have ever seen, and we generally like art films. It is so poorly done it would get a failing grade as a junior high school video project (and they'd have to delete the fish... don;t ask, it;s boring too). In retrospect I wish I had made at least one trip to the restroom, as another reviewer said they wisely did, to relieve the boredom. For me the highlight of the movie (weak though it was) was the ridiculous black shag rug costumes (which zipped up the front) with ridiculous glow-in-the-dark red eyes that the "monkey ghosts" wore. A truly unrelieved snoozer, without a scrap of interest or socially redeeming merit to be had. Save you time and your money! Expand
  7. Oct 21, 2012
    1
    Although, this isn't the reason I had a problem with it, this movie is very slow moving, and very artsy. There are people who hate movies likeAlthough, this isn't the reason I had a problem with it, this movie is very slow moving, and very artsy. There are people who hate movies like this no matter what, and there are people who love movies like this no matter what. I think the former is generally more mindful, and able to think for themselves. For me personally, like with any type of movie, a slow moving artistic movie has to be well made, and be able to achieve what it is intending to accomplish more me to like it. This was not that movie. The premise basically gives you every piece of philosophical insight this movie has to offer. A man is dying, and looks back on his past lives. That's it. It doesn't go anywhere from there. It just shows what happens in this guy's past lives, without any sort of insight into this character's mind, and what he's going through, or any sort of commentary on life and death, which you might have expected from the premise. Usually, if a movie is slow moving, it is to provoke emotion, not to make a two hour movie out of 30 minutes worth of script. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2011

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2011 Image
    Published: January 5, 2012
    Get our final rankings for the past year's best- and worst-reviewed films and see how 2011 compared to previous years.