Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Jan 20, 2012
    35
    Murky and perpetually bluish in tinge, Underworld: Awakening does and gets little with the 3-D in which it's being offered, and ends by shamelessly setting up a further and fatally unnecessary installment.
  2. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jan 21, 2012
    30
    Kate Beckinsale can still fill out a skin-tight leather bodysuit, but with Awakening, the vampires-vs-werewolves Underworld franchise has finally decayed beyond the point of repair.
  3. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 25, 2012
    20
    There is running, hiding, fighting, shooting, bleeding, biting, slicing, dicing, and damnably little entertainment value in any of it.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Singer
    Jan 20, 2012
    20
    Also missing: the series' reliable camp heavies, Bill Nighy and Michael Sheen, and most of the so-called Lycans who, their appearance in a few respectable action sequences notwithstanding, are now nearly extinct. So is this franchise.
  5. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Jan 20, 2012
    16
    Watching the film is strangely like looking at the same three still frames of supernatural battles over and over for 90 minutes.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Humanick
    Jan 20, 2012
    12
    The only thing that manages to outpace Underworld: Awakening's ineptitude is its utter soullessness.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jan 20, 2012
    0
    Latest, dreadful entry in the vampires-battling-werewolves franchise.
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 73
  2. Negative: 13 out of 73
  1. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    I loved this movie. I thought it was better than the last 2. I really enjoyed the 3rd movie(Rise of the Lycans), but I was left wanting way more action scenes. So I was very happy with (Awakening), I don't understand at all why it got such bad reviews on meta-critic. I saw this with a small group of friends and we all thought it was awesome! I mean it had a ton of great action, Selene(Kate) was bad azzzzz! and Hott!, as usual. We got to meet some cool new characters. I will admit that we were a group of 5 guys though, and I think guys tend to look more for action than romance and story, for the most part. This 1 may have been lacking a little in story and lot in the romance dept. compared to all the other ones but if your a true fan of the "Underworld" series, than I think your going to enjoy this movie anyways. =) Full Review »
  2. Mar 18, 2012
    2
    Plot holes, a man paid to rip his shirt off and that's all he did in the movie, a three way war that isn't. What have you done this series is now beyond repair. DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE. Full Review »
  3. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    I think that they did a great job with this movie. Action is simply amazing, even comparable to Matrix. Selene (Kate) is beautiful and badass as always. I'm a big fan of Underworld series and I hope that they will make more, prequel would be awesome because Lucian and Raze are great characters and they need more screen time. All in all, nice and exciting movie. Full Review »