User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 190 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 190

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    I loved this movie. I thought it was better than the last 2. I really enjoyed the 3rd movie(Rise of the Lycans), but I was left wanting way more action scenes. So I was very happy with (Awakening), I don't understand at all why it got such bad reviews on meta-critic. I saw this with a small group of friends and we all thought it was awesome! I mean it had a ton of great action, Selene(Kate) was bad azzzzz! and Hott!, as usual. We got to meet some cool new characters. I will admit that we were a group of 5 guys though, and I think guys tend to look more for action than romance and story, for the most part. This 1 may have been lacking a little in story and lot in the romance dept. compared to all the other ones but if your a true fan of the "Underworld" series, than I think your going to enjoy this movie anyways. =) Expand
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    I think that they did a great job with this movie. Action is simply amazing, even comparable to Matrix. Selene (Kate) is beautiful and badass as always. I'm a big fan of Underworld series and I hope that they will make more, prequel would be awesome because Lucian and Raze are great characters and they need more screen time. All in all, nice and exciting movie.
  3. Mar 18, 2012
    2
    Plot holes, a man paid to rip his shirt off and that's all he did in the movie, a three way war that isn't. What have you done this series is now beyond repair. DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE.
  4. Jan 26, 2012
    5
    As a fan of the series, I remain mixed on this film. Indeed, the action was great, and the effects were good, but there was very little substance present in this addition. I love action, gore, and fast pacing, but this film lacked everything that made Underworld mysterious, subtle, and provoking. I've said it before, and I'll say it again, without Bill Nighy's Victor, the series will continue to slag. Nighy had a presence that improved each film with a sense of mystique. This addition indeed welcomes back Beckinsale, but this whole "hybrid daughter" thing is a tired concept. Can't it get a tad more interesting than that? Part of what made the first film so great was it's devotion to old-style vamps and wolves, with a couple contemporary twists to make them fresh. This film is pumped so full with steroids and action that it becomes boring.......as a fan of action, gore, etc, that's a pretty big statement for me. Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2012
    3
    hmm..all i have to say is that this movie pretty much sucks..for 1 story isn't that good it isn't even good..2 special effects and action scenes were lame and uninteresting..and i can't believe it scored a 7 on IMDB.. :O
  6. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    As a big fan of Underworld, I was anxiously awaiting the release of the movie. I was not disappointed. The movie was filled with action and I thought the story was pretty decent as well. It was basically all action from start to finish and the fight sequences were awesome. If you are in the mood to see things blown up or blown away, you will love this movie.
  7. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    I would like to start out by saying that I am a huge Underworld fan because it makes Twilight look like a bunch of babies. It has everything blood,violence, a girl killing people, and a sexy Beckinsale. I will say it isn't the greatest in the series but the special effects are. I would rank it third
  8. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    I wouldn't call the movie high art, but by Underworld standards it was tons of fun and relatively plot hole free. Also, this is the first movie in the franchise where the male support characters weren't entirely useless surnames.
  9. Jan 20, 2012
    2
    I am a pretty big fan of the Underworld franchise. In fact I got my tickets free by buying the Underworld blu-ray trilogy. But even though I got the tickets free, I still am pissed off about this movie. The first three movies had a great story, cool characters and a nice Gothic European setting, the forth movie doesn't have anything I just listed. The setting is now futuristic which contrasts from the other three movies completely, the characters are completely flat and unoriginal

    For most of the movie takes place with Selene and a little girl who is a hybrid. She adds nothing to the story but instead drags it down and continues to make this bad movie even worse.

    The only part I really enjoyed was a single action scene with the lycans, nothing else. I had very low expectations for this movie and it still managed to not just disappoint me but piss me off. And don't worry the ending sets the story up for a 5th movie which I will not see.

    IF YOU ARE AN UNDERWORLD FAN, DON'T EVER SEE THIS MOVIE!!!!
    Expand
  10. Jan 20, 2012
    3
    It is rare for a movie franchise to make it to a fourth film. The Star Wars and Harry Potter franchises had it easy, Star Wars technically started on its fourth installment and Harry Potter had its stories directly handed to them. The Die Hard series had to work for it but held its head above water while the Alien series fell off a cliff when Alien: Resurrection hit the screen. Underworld: Awakening is following in the footsteps of the Alien franchise.

    There is brief â
    Expand
  11. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    I'll respect the opinions of the people who did not enjoy this movie and yes this was in my opinion just a setup to keep the franchise going but there was still enough story and plot to keep you interested, I was never bored and there were several scenes that got your blood pumping. Go see it at a theater that has a good projector/sound setup, preferably not a multiplex.. The story seemed to be set on a rail of predictability and yes the addition of what we knew might happen after the end of Evolution happened, yes, yes it did, well.. trying not to spoil it for anyone. If you like Selene in tight clothes and stylized bloody gore with gigantic Werewolves then you will not be disappointed. If you like Twilight and are Team Jacob/Edward, this is not for you! Expand
  12. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    I am going to give it a 10 based on Selene and the action and beauty she provides on screen. There's no one like Kate Beckinsale to make this such a sleek and amazing action franchise. You take her out and you have nothing, with her in you have everything. Yes, they could have made the movie a bit longer and worked on the script and backstory much better - as well as approach Michael in a much different way: CGI is not the answer. I don't really care about much because Kate Beckinsale IS the movie, but I hope they have a better script next one. The backstory was great, but the execution could have been much better. Expand
  13. Jan 24, 2012
    0
    IMO they should have skipped this one.. Maybe even decided to hang it up. It's not getting better in this franchise it's falling down a slippery slope.
  14. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    The movie was delectably the best one in my opinion, the Michael and Selene love story wasn't there as much and the budget seemed to be a bit higher making the action and choreographing a lot better. The made Kate look even more beautiful in this one and showed a more growing of maturity for reasons i won't spoil in the movie. The only thing i didn't like was the replacement for Michael which wasn't shown to much from the replacement to irratate me and i won't knock off a point for the movie because of this. If you love the Underworld series you will love this one! Expand
  15. Feb 2, 2012
    8
    I think that film very interesting , but not best film I ever watched. The best in this film is plot and special Effects and in my oppinion it is the best Underworld's film !
  16. Feb 28, 2012
    5
    I am a fan of the series: in this movie, the focus os the story shifts a little - the humans has discovered the other 2 "new" species, and begin to purge from Earth both Vampires and Lycans. Selene and Michael attempt to escape, but are captured: 12 years latter, Selen awakes in a cryo chamber (Subject 1), in a research facility, and sees another chamber, the Subject 2, beliving this is Micheals one - only to discover latter that in this chamber, was a Hybrid 12 years child, her daughter, that is being pursued by surviving Lycans... the rest of the story gets around this: has a lot of action, but a think the focus is too narrow, only in this event, and the movies ends with a direct hook to a 5th movie. Its a enjoyable sequence, filled with action, but I think it's the poorer one. My score: 5,0 / 10,0. Expand
  17. Feb 8, 2012
    3
    This movie felt like Resident Evil, but with vampires and werewolves. Not at all original, not real plot, and average acting. The special effects were it's only saving grace, though I did watch this in 3D, so guess that's a given. Oh, and Kate does look hot in those leathers... but nothing much else worth watching.
  18. Feb 17, 2012
    4
    My score? 4 / 10 It's pretty hard to mess up werewolves fighting vampires with machine guns as far as guy movies go but Underworld Awakening managed to do it. This movie was a step backwards in every way possible other than Kate Beckinsale's hotness. I liked the story in the last Underworld movie. The initial scene where a group of vampires fought with werewolves in a medieval setting was amazing, Awakening never had one of those moments. Watchable, not much more. Expand
  19. Jan 5, 2013
    5
    The effects, the fight scenes and the stunt-work is all of a very high quality and I can
  20. Jan 29, 2012
    8
    Wow. The clear intention of the producers and director was to make the most action packed movie ever filmed. I saw it in IMAX 3D and it was incredible. I needed a xanax when this film was over. The soundtrack was amazing. If you're a fan of the other movies in this franchise, as I am, I think you will like this one. However, this one is not about the storyline as much as it is about Kate Beckinsale and her ilk kicking major butt. It's loud, gross, bloody, gory, and fun. And did I mention LOUD? My ears are still ringing. The ending sets up yet another sequel and I'm glad. Expand
  21. Mar 3, 2012
    4
    A script a bit loose and does not escape its parts ridiculous abuse of the illumination intermittent obseviso you make the movie a bit uncomfortable to the eye, the good: Excellent sound editing is very good and excellent for blood lover , because the scenes are well Gore.
  22. May 13, 2012
    5
    This movie was okay . It did have a lot of action but the plot was horrible I hope they stop making these underworld movies. And this movie is way too short. Maybe it they made it longer and add some good story to it it would have been a very great movie.
  23. Jun 16, 2012
    4
    As you can see by the score I didn't like this, and maybe that's just because I didn't see the other movies, but I highly doubt it because the movie explained all I needed to know to get into the movie, vampires and lycans are at war, Selene and Michael are in love, and humans have now entered the war. I don't really think I needed to know any of the series deep secrets (like the origins and what not) to get in on it. The action is gory and what the movie focuses on instead of plot, which is obvious because the plot is simple, bland, and somewhat forgettable. Some of the special effects also looked dated in the film. I might watch the other movies in the series to see if they change my opinion of the movie, and if they do I will update my review if I need to, but after watching this the other movies are low on to watch list. If your a fan of the series you'll probably get enjoyment from it, but if your not this most likely wont change your mind. And me being a newcomer, it did little to interest me. Expand
  24. Jul 17, 2012
    5
    Underworld: Awakening is the weakest of the franchise to date. It doesn't delve deeply enough into the series's rich mythos, which is a big disappointment for Underworld aficionados. Other faults include giant plot-holes, eyebrow-arching Aliens xeroxing and a smattering of new, utterly mundane characters (the human cop... why?) who no-body could care less about. What this installment does provide is a series of descent action scenes. As a big fan of the franchise, Underworld: Awakening ultimately made for fun, compulsive viewing... That said, it's very much a film that should forever be labeled "For Fans Only". Expand
  25. Feb 29, 2012
    4
    What did you expect when you were buying the ticket? To see Kate Beckinsale back in tight latex outfit? You got it! To see ferocious werewolf comes to alive in latest Special Effects? You got it! Or to feast your eyes with more absurd gunfighting Actions? You got it too! Concisely, if you are a true fan of thiz saga, you will not have a problem to watch thiz installment one more time. It is another exact extension from the previous movies. But if you ask me, thiz movie is one of long excruciating experiences I have ever had. I mean please to be frankly honest, in every character of every scene in thiz movie, you may have some feelings about how many times you have ever seen these elements in other movies. They take a little from here and a little from that and then they put it together in one screen. It is a boring copycat. Everything seems so cliche. My Heart is not cold, it is broken. The Duo Directors who are responsible for all of thiz, Måns Mårlind and Björn Stein. Previously, they are well-known for SHELTER (2010). Beckinsale performance as Selene has two angles and an opposite side. On one side, she looks cool in some time. On the other side, she seems so frail and delicate. Meanwhile, the supporting Casts like: Stephen Rea, Michael Ealy, Theo James and India Eisley give typical mediocre performance. Selene the vampire knight has been fighting the lycans (werewolf) since the first UNDERWORLD (2003), UNDERWORLD: EVOLUTION (2006) include one prequel UNDERWORLD: RISE OF THE LYCANS (2009). The mastermind behind thiz saga is Len Wiseman, the real-life husband of Kate Beckinsale. Here is an interesting fact. In 2002, there was another couple had met and now they had become husband and wife as well. They are Milla Jovovich (Actress) and Paul W.S. Anderson (Director). They also made four installments of their own so far. It was called RESIDENT EVIL. I have a bad hunch about thiz franchise itself. There is no doubt. Thiz UNDERWORLD franchise has become a successful gold mine for the filmmakers. They will keep awakening thiz franchise as long as money keeps coming. Making matters worse, the vampires do live long! It is very clear. You do not need the brain when you got the gain.



    Visit My Blog on JONNYâ
    Expand
  26. Jun 11, 2012
    9
    Finally, an Underworld movie that I LOVED and didn't just like. This is a story I want to see. Lycans more powerful than ever, Vampire on the verge of extinction, a hybrid family, a bad ass little hybrid girl and connection and love between them all. Plus, the fight scenes were incredible. Great action! Good movie! It's a 9/10. Let's hope the 5th film is a 10 and ends it with a bang!
  27. Mar 4, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I though this was an incredibly good movie for what it is. This movie exists to tell the rebirth of the vampire race after they were found out by humans, regardless of the fact that it does not add a whole lot to the story as a whole, why I give it a 7, but based on the move it self it is a fast paced action movie that keeps true to the Vampire and Lycan lore, unlike all the horrid debaucheries of the lore that movie series that will not be named do. Cool special effects, Kate Beckinsale, and the fact that her character has grow up a bit, since she is now a mother she has a deeper motive than just her and her lover's survival, she has a child to help and protect. Expand
  28. Jan 21, 2012
    7
    The movie is fun but if you think too hard about the plot you'll get a headache due to the amount of crazy, weird things you don't really seen everyday. My main problem with the film (probably a biased opinion) is that they always make the Werewolves seem like the villain and its pretty redundant especially since the previous films showed us that Werewolves were actually the 'better side' (I use that term loosely because they aren't the good side) Expand
  29. Jan 29, 2012
    7
    I am a fan of the Underworld series, they exemplify what a vampire/ werewolf movie is supposed to be. They are very entertaining and very action-packed movies. Lets just get one thing straight though, this was a good Underworld movie, but was it a good movie period? not really, this doesn't mean its not enjoyable. It just merely means that if your going to see this and expect superb acting and a detailed story and all, then this isn't your kind of movie, but if your an Underworld fan, or you love vampire/ werewolf flicks or if you just love an action-packed thrill ride then this movie has your name written all over it.....maybe. Just a warning to Underworld fans, this definitely isn't the best entry, but it was good. Their were a few flaws, such as the entire film seemed rushed, it was mostly just ALOT of action and not a long detailed story. The review I read on screenrant.com put it perfectly in saying this felt like an extended tv episode for an underworld tv series. It was a veryy short installment, but it was still good, just not the best and it definitely could've been alot better and longer. If you like action, see it, if you only like oscar nominees then this is definitely not for you, but if you like Underworld see it but be prepared for potential disappointment, i give Underworld Awakening a 7/10 Expand
  30. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    Lets get one thing straight. This is a movie about vampires and werewolves that thankfully doesn't have teenage angst issues. That in itself should make it a 10! This is a movie in the Underworld series. Again, reason for a 10. If you don't like either the genre or the franchise, you won't enjoy this movie. Remember what it is, and you'll love it. Insane action and completely unnecessary bloodshed and violence ... of course! Collapse
  31. Jan 24, 2012
    7
    Selene did not disappointment in her battle scenes. For sheer entertainment value, the movie was fun. The soundtrack was incredible. Was the plot complicated and sophisticated? No. The details in Selene's character from her skin tight body armor, to her martial art moves, to her "gunkata" actions, and "John Woo" slow mows, they were all fun for the eyes. The setting plot wasn't as sophisticated as the first and second movie, but I am not complaining here. The story just keeps moving forward in the Underworld universe and in this case the forward plot seemed to push it to the next storyline. No "ah ha" moments, but nothing to really sink the entire story universe either. Go see it, you won't get bored. Expand
  32. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    After i watched the fourth movie today, i noticed that i love this series so much that i can say this is one of the best movie series ever created. Not any worse than any of those masterpieces that are Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Jurassic Park. I believe that Underworld will never cease to be exciting, amazing and fabolous. Vampyre-Lycan conflict has always been a popular plot for lots of movies in cinema history but this one made a difference with all these distinct characters: Selena, Marcus, Viktor, William. Characters are great, story are great, action and horror and mythology are all displayed so good. The only thing lacks is the music selection. Makes me feel like i watched a bad ending romantic drama during that credits rollout. But that is not enough to make me drop the point for this movie lower than 10. I would love to see some sequels; 5, 6... Expand
  33. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    Awesome , Amazing , Legendary , Hot , Sexy Sexy Sexy Kate . I am sure she is the hottest & Sexiest Vampire ever . She seems unbelievably amazing every time ! Not gonna brag about story or Directing Cos Vampire , Kate(her the most sexiest dress) , Dark Weather , Lycan every single of these things tuners mo on unconditional ... so yeah I loved it So freaking much . Cant Cant wait to see another sequel !!!! Expand
  34. Feb 9, 2012
    7
    Finalement, c'est là où on attend le moins qu'il faut regarder. Et comme exemple, prenons ce Underwolrd : Nouvelle Ere qui, n'ayant pas peur des mots, surprend. Surtout qu'à part revoir la sexy Kate Beckinsale dans le rôle de Selene, cet opus n'avais aucune chance de réhausser la saga. Et pourtant, c'est bien le contraire qui se produit! En ce 8 février 2012 sort ce film, énergique et jouissif, divertissement de qualité qui use d'effets spéciaux réussis, et mis en scène avec savoir-faire. Bien entendu, le film ne compte pas sur son scénario (quoique que quelques idées ne sont pas à négliger pour une nouvelle trilogie), mais en même temps, ce n'est pas ce qu'on demande à un tel enternainement. En somme, Underworld : Nouvelle Ere arrive à la cheville du premier film, si ce n'est le meilleur opus de la saga. Chapeau aux réalisateurs qui prouvent qu'il y a encore de la fraîcheur à apporter à l'univers créé par Len Wiseman (scénariste sur ce coup)! Expand
  35. Jun 11, 2012
    2
    Bad. Plot holes all over the place, a real rushed and butchered intro that essentially tries to say 'forget the past 3 films, look at these big explosions and Kate's tight ass (ignore her aging complexion too)', and a underwhelming ending are just a few of the complaints I have about this butchery of a franchise. Other's include Matrix-esq style resurrections which could see the vampires cheat death constantly, and a constant bombardment of contradictions. A beyond brain-dead film which you should steer well clear of. Expand
  36. Mar 4, 2012
    6
    Underworld Awakening, the director and producers did a great job, bringing back Selene with a new partner to help her defeat the Lycans that are stronger and with a large helping of technology
  37. Oct 15, 2012
    5
    This is what you call your typical January junk. We usually get one or two of these productions every January. I have never seen any of the Underworld movies prior to this one, I've only caught parts of them on tv. After seeing this movie, I don't think it really matters if you've never seen any of them. They give a 2 minute summary of what happened in the previous installments and then goes it's own. direction. Even though I've never seen any of the previous installments, based on the 2 minute recap in the beginning of this movie and the parts I've seen on TV of the other movies this movie seems like it has nothing to do with the franchise at all. I guess that explains why I was never lost, because it's completely different from it's predecessors. It makes this whole movie seem pointless. I guess the other reason why I was never lost was because the story and plot are piss poor. There's barely anything. The characters are flat and I didn't really give a Crap about any of them. There's barely any dialogue, I don't know if that's a good or bad thing. Despite all of this, there's some fun to be had. The filmmakers obviously decided to just drop story and plot in favor of more vapid action. In that case they don't disappoint. The action scenes are nice and well staged. The movie has some style to spare and is sleek. There plenty of Gore to spare for you Gore hounds out there like me and hey, at least there's no **** love story or sparkling vampires which is always a plus. The movie also feels like one giant videogame. It certainly plays out that way, like first Selena and the other vampires fight this pack of wolves then after the giant wolf comes out like your typical boss in a videogame. Whatever the case it was fun. I'm not quite sure what to make of the acting since the actors don't have to say much. Kate Beckinsale is either angry or depressed throughout the movie. It looks like she almost had enough with this series and I don't blame her. The rest of the cast is just okay, nothing great, but nothing truly awful either. Overall, this is what you'd pretty much expect from your typical January junk. There's no story or plot, minimal dialogue, and has nothing to do with the series as far as I can tell. However, it's sleek and stylish, there's Gore to go around, the action scenes are nicely done and entertaining and the acting is okay. Since I haven't seen any of the other films I can't say weather this is a good edition to the series, but from a moviegoers perspective who hasn't seen any of the prior installments this is junk. No story and all action. Based on the box office performance expect more of these. Expand
  38. Jan 31, 2012
    7
    After reading a bunch of reviews on this movie I was a little leary of seeing it. I have been a die-hard fan of the Underworld movies since they've been released and I knew that this one was probably gonna be judged even harsher than the others. I was right. This is a very solid installment of the series and a pretty good action movie in it's own right. I will admit that the story is far from perfect, but what does one expect from the fourth installment to a genre film like Underworld? The 3D effects also were very nice without overdoing it. This is a very enjoyable film to see if you are a fan of the series and a pretty good reason to go to the movies in what can be called a pretty lean theatre season. Expand
  39. Feb 14, 2013
    2
    What you can expect from Underworld: Awakening? A stupid movie based on a story even more stupid. One of the worst action-horror-videogames that I've ever seen.
  40. Jan 21, 2012
    4
    For the fans who've seen the previous Underworld movies, be ready for a shift of plot. The movie is 70% action with unnecessary violence and 30% flavorless screenplay. The consolation for the viewer is the undeniably eye-candy visual effects working with the 3D format. movienotesbook.blogspot.com
  41. Feb 10, 2012
    5
    Dawdling to cinema, hoping that vampire movies haven't died yet after Twilight abused them, I came across Underworld : Awakening, or more precisely I looked happily at Kate Beckinsale's poster. Underworld franchise isn't always that good, it does provide some form of entertainment of blood loving undead. Sadly this movie isn't forgiving to your eyes, literally. Just to prove no matter how cool your protagonist is, a movie doesn't depend on them alone.



    Underworld : Awakening is dark, I don't mean the vibe or atmosphere, but the whole movie is seemingly shot with dimmed lights, flickering lights, flashlights and unpaid electricity bill. I understand the need to get the theme gritty, but there is no reason why almost every light source in the movie is flickering. Some of the scenes are off putting due to the lack of clarity while being fast paced and 3D, and it's unfortunate because it has better action sequences that its predecessors. It also hampers the sense of uniqueness on most the settings, the set pieces aren't memorable and desperate for personality.

    And then there's the bane of 3D, the camera angle. Majority of the scenes are Selene pointing gun or throwing stuffs at the screen, werewolves jumping at the audience, all in so recently cliched "Ohh, grenades are coming at youuu..." fashion. I'm so over that **** It should be noted that sequences are better to unfold organically than being tossed at my face. Granted there are few good ones without forced 3D, but they didn't appear after half of the movie.

    Story is your typical humans versus vampires versus werewolves, if you've seen previous installments, you'd pretty much predict what's going to happen next. It's superficial and the relationships between characters could be portrayed better. Narrative isn't its strong suit, it kind of reminded me of Resident Evil frankly. Dialogues are not bad, with some childish taunts and remarks, not that witty but oddly fit the movie.



    If you're looking for action, it won't disappoint. This is the bloodiest of the series, honestly it's bordering on unnecessary yet gleefully gory. It has some of the best kills I've seen for a while. The hits, bites and shots have good brutality and creativity as well. It slowly builds up and gets better throughout, but the ending might leave you hanging. That being said, I rather have them add more choreography than CG, it's more fluid that way.

    Kate Beckinsale is a good choice for main protagonist. She has great physique, slender and also athletic in tightly wrapped black suit. It's quite impressive to see her in action and she also oozes calm confidence in her role. I think the directors made good use of her skinny body and seeming glittering suit to create elegant scene. While it's not a good movie, but at the very least, you can view Kate's lovely lithe body in 3D, that's gotta count for something. 5/10
    Expand
  42. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    Underworld - The Awakening is a film of the 2012 gender action, fantasy, horror film directed by Måns Marlind and Björn Stein and starring Kate Beckinsale, India Eisley, Michael Ealy and Stephen Rea and is the sequel to Underworld - Evolution. I must say that I had great expectations for this sequel, but after seeing it, I changed my mind. Better than the second chapter (at least for me), Underworld - The Awakening film is raw, full of action and with the dark atmosphere. The plot is simple because Underworld is a film of pure entertainment. Kate Beckinsale Selene in the good. Good photography and shots, with 3D, fail to give proper depth. Speaking again of the 3D is well done and very effective (although we are not at the levels of Avatar). The only flaw of this film (and the other in the saga of Underwold) is that the psychology of the characters is little addressed. Finally, this sequel will not disappoint fans of the saga at all, rather it will make them happy even if there will be Scott Speedman the actor who plays Michael. The movie I recommend to lovers of the Underworld saga and who wants to be seen a film full of action. Expand
  43. Feb 6, 2012
    8
    Angels: so I wanted to see a film that was just a visually stunning adrenaline rush, with a gorgeous mega destructo heroine, who is eye candy, and takes no prisoners. (Honestly, I have seen too many 'thinking' movies lately.) I figured that my choices were 'Haywire' and "Underworld Awakening'(UWA). As is my habit, I checked the M..E..T..A..C..R..I..T..I..C (big M) and I got some interesting feed back. The 3Ns (my honey calls them the nattering nabobs of negativism-used before but appropriate-loved Haywire, and hated UWA. You my angels flipped the script. Now when it came to UWA, the angels loved it, the 3Ns hated it. So, Angels, I followed your lead. Look, UWA is what it is. It is all action, 'on steroids' as my angel Khunter4382 says. There is gore, violence, great special effects, and minimum plot and dialog. The costumes are stylish, and the scenes dark and edgy. I Loved it. and right in the middle, is the Kate. Slinky, blue ice for eyes, ruthless, fiercely loyal, deadly, oh, and did I forget to say eye candy. This is my first UWA, so for me it was an exciting eyeopener. Perhaps, it is not as good as the first, (so my angel Khunter4382 says) but I had a ball. My honey was not so impressed. Too much Gore. Yes Angels, there was a lot of gore-but done just right.
    Sing Beautifully Angels.
    Expand
  44. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    Brutally pulchritudinous . Lives up to the rest of the Underworld movies. It stands for everything the others have and more. It has a very stylish, Gothic nature just like the others with some other new elements added to give this one its own place among the rest of the movies. Kate Beckinsale is as awesome as ever, its very dark, the fighting is over the top enough to be fantasy but down to earth enough to be brutal, and this one and the rest of the series are most likely the baddest ass vampire/werewolf movies out there. This one like all the others is just beautifully bloody . And to make things even more awesome; there was an Evanescence song during the credits. People have been relating Underworld to Evanescence for almost a decade and its finally been done officially. Its just awesome. If you hate vampire movies and action movies you will most likely hate this. But if you love a good story and hardcore action you will most likely love it. Critics bash it mainly because there is this unwritten rule that states in order to sound intelligent you must blatantly insult something. I don't buy it. I went to this movie on opening night and didn't want to sleep when I walked out. I find the critics score of this movie to be appallingly fallacious . Trust the user score. Not the critics. Its a very fun movie that is sure to entertain especially if you are a fan of the other movies. Trust me, they didn't let you down with this one. Expand
  45. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    I was not disappointed. Battles in the film were very good. Kate Beckinsale once again showed that it is the best and that Selene is her embodiment of strength and beauty. I look forward to seeing how Michael will return.
  46. Jul 4, 2012
    4
    Very good and original action cool costumes but without any plot. What little there was was a tease. Cmon it cant be hard to make a better movie. Seriously I rented it. It was like playing a single player pc game. It might have been fun to play but watching a movie with so little plot was heartburn. A good cast but where were they?2 lines of plot between 10 minute action sequences. Is that what people go to the movies to see these days. Perhaps in 3D or imax it might have been fun. But any movie sacrificing drama should be called something else. The drama was the mood and the characters will to survive. It could have been a lot better. Action chase scenes. Very repetitive. The first two were really good. The third was too much a battle between Vampires and Lycans it went no where just backstory. Very disappointed Expand
  47. Jan 23, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just a general warning, this post may contain spoilers. Itâ Expand
  48. Jan 23, 2012
    6
    Underworld: Awakening picks up 12 years after Evolution. The war between the Vampires and Lycans has changed. For the worse. The human race has caught on to these warring factions and, like the annoying white blood cells we are, seek to eradicate both sides leaving us the lone victor. Our dear Selene wakes up only to find the world around her has changed and her darling Michael is absent. She begins her journey to find answers and to try and do what she can...survive. U:A went into a correct direction for the series, yet, does not provide enough story and character development to make it work. The action, as always, is entertaining and delivers a visceral attack to the senses making you smile. Yet, with the absence of strong supporting character Michael (Scott Speedman sat this one out...it is a body double) it is as if Selene (played once again by the wonderful Kate Beckinsale) wonders around with a purpose but a script that provides little to no support of that purpose. With out giving spoilers this can be said, while not the best of the series, it is not the worst. A good addition and hopefully the next installment will take a lesson from this one and do better.

    Thanks again for another addition to a great series, keep them coming.
    Expand
  49. Sep 26, 2013
    5
    Compared to the other Underworld films, It's the best in the series in my opinion. Well done action scenes that were interesting to watch. Yes the story sort of sucked but not surprising considering the stories in the previous films were not that good in the first place. Overall, May not be perfect but it's at least watchable.
  50. Jan 27, 2012
    7
    I enjoy the Underworld take on Vampires vs. Werewolves mythology. The previous 3 kept in line with each other telling a complete story. Underworld begins a whole new story, but with the same core concept; fight between vampires and werewolves; capture the hybrid. This may have slightly made the movie all too repetitive for many and I understand but it does not remove what is loved about the series. This movie was more of a set-up for a new set of Underworld movies if they choose to continue. Was it action packed? Yes. Was it entertaining? Yes. Was the story good? Yes, but repetitive. Did it keep in line with the Underworld mythology? To an extent. I suggest this for does who have seen the previous films not for newcomers because they might be completely lost. Expand
  51. Jan 30, 2012
    7
    Great action and plausible plot combine to make this latest Underworld a highly enjoyable flick to watch. A release in two parts would have been more fitting as we are left wondering where the rest of the movie is gone to after the end scene.
  52. Feb 3, 2012
    8
    A dumb fun action film made better by the return of Kate Beckinsale as a bad-ass 600 yr old vampire with Matrix-like moves. This movie has everything you could want in a brainless action film - things blow up, people run up the sides of buildings, huge fights erupt, the villains are despicable and there is tons of blood, gore and fire.

    The story line remains the same as other underworld
    films and this movie clocks at barely over 90 min and setup the next film... All in all very entertaining if you're not digging too deep Expand
  53. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    2Wwweeeeefgrrffrddgtsfgffhrgfdhcyhfffddssssssdgyujjhfddxdsssssderrttyuuioopiuyrredfvvvvgvgghggghhggfffffhhjioiyyteewwegjgfrfdrtykunvfffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffftffffftffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff i thought it vwas great
  54. Feb 12, 2012
    1
    SUCKED. Plenty of money for budget, yet poor plot. Poor characters. Poor job of relating to timeline of past, present or future (except to keep it open for options), poor writing as a whole. Worse one of the series. So disappointing after last one "UNDERWORLD Rise of the Lycans" which may have been the best or at least tied with the first.

    Obviously made to take franchise name and make a
    quick buck with no thought of quality. A ruse played on the loyal fan base. Expand
  55. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    If you're into the franchise, you'll love it. I found this greatly entertaining and was very happy with the execution. I am hoping for more installments on this franchise.
  56. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Personally, I feel this was a great movie. Thought it didn't have much of a plot it made up for it with all the action. I think the Underworld series needed this movie and I hope it continues to go on especially because I want to see if the vampires can fight back and what would happen to Michael. Will he end up getting killed? Will he be able to see his daughter? or how many even the daughter turn out? Just a good movie in my opinion. It was a great movie to watch. Expand
  57. Mar 9, 2012
    6
    A good movie, but how humans found out about the supernatural is never explained. Overall it seemed more than anything to be rushed, or maybe its just in my opinion the pacing was off. Anyway the good things about this movie were some pretty cool fight sequences and Selene is being the BA she normally is. Bad things about this movie are the pacing seems off and the plot a little cliche. I would recommend it for rental. Expand
  58. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    Great action but I hate that werewolfs look like giant rats. A big minus for that!
  59. Mar 20, 2012
    6
    See this movie if you love the Underworld universe. It is a fun romp, but it was my least favorite of the series so far. If you see it in theaters you may be left a little wanting, however it is a great movie to target as a renter.
  60. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    All I really have to say is that it is just a wonderful movie and I really just want them to like add a little more to the movie but overall it was just FANTASTIC!
  61. Apr 7, 2012
    1
    This movie could easily be one of the worst films of 2012. Both the plot and characters are boring and generic and the action scenes quickly lose their appeal. Do not subject your senses to this uncreative, generic mess and save yourself some money and time.
  62. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    After learning of their existence, the humans have set out to destroy all vampires and werewolves, save for a few specimens that they plan to use for biological testing. Selene, the vampire death-dealer, awakens 12 years after being captured to discover that she now has a daughter, a vampire/werewolf hybrid who is the last of the Covinus line. Together, they are the only hope for survival for their dying breed! 'UNDERWHELMING' is a better title for the third entry in this struggling series, which places action and special effects ahead of story and character in another pointless chapter. AWAKENING is the least favorable of any of the sequels, boasting the worst looking computerized creatures yet in a tiring display of cartoon violence. The mythology between the two clans that once captivated audiences seems like an afterthought now as the direction of the series becomes increasingly unclear. The addition of teen star India Eisley as Eve seems questionable in a hard "R" Horror film, especially if she is to become the focus of future entries. Kate Beckinsale may look good in black, but she phones in another emotionless performance as Selene. Måns Mårlind and Björn Stein successfully maintain the same style and tone as the other films, but their eye for action is found lacking. While UNDERWORLD: AWAKENING may not be the end of the series, another sequel like this will surely bury it. -Carl Manes
    I Like Horror Movies
    Expand
  63. Apr 30, 2012
    3
    I really enjoyed the first couple movies of this series, but after this one, they should maybe consider stopping it. Why? Well, it felt like there was no scenario anymore, just some lines a kid wrote to justify the actors talking. Action was boring and reminded me of some mediocre PC action games : Lycan vs. vampire, play again and again... until big boss round.... Game over !!
  64. Apr 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Taken from my review posted on the SAFATFILMBITES site: Selene Is Back! But does she have enough ammo to shoot her way through this adventure? WARNING: This review may contain spoilers!

    Kate Beckinsale returns as Selene for the fourth film in the action packed franchise. Awakening follows Selene as she battles the humans as they try to exterminate the vampires and the lycans. Not only does she have to battle them, she also must save her hybrid daughter from the lycans as well. This film is no doubt THE best film in the series, itâ
    Expand
  65. Aug 18, 2012
    6
    Although we're glad to have Kate back I have to say that they shifted very heavily to the Action genre (probably coz it was released in 3D). In the first 2 mins you get a quick recap of the other Kate-Underworld films, then a very quick exp
    lanation of the current story situation and then you get thrown into the action which rarely ever stops. Very little time is taken out for story,
    character development or background exposistion. This movie only lasts 88 mins, 10 of which are credits, so if you don't count the intro that leaves you about 75 mins of actual film of which 850 shots are VFX (which aren't bad but also not exeptional). It's nice entertainment and if you've seen the other Underworld films you'll probably also see this one but I'm not fond of the direction they've taken... Expand
  66. Aug 8, 2012
    2
    The fourth (and plain unnecessary) entry in the Underworld series, may get by with fans on its action sequences and Kate Beckinsale comfortably seated in the lead role. It doesn't get by with me. The staging of the action scenes seem too gloomy and ugly to be considered a visual pleasure, and within each one there is a flashing strobe light that assaults the eyes. I felt like I was going to have a seizure. The dialogue proves unnecessary and the viewers' attention may drift whenever anyone opens their mouth. The addition of a daughter character is never explored as a mother-daughter character study, just a new display of vampire skills in the form of a young girl. Still, the skin-hugging black suit hasn't lost it's appeal to me. Expand
  67. Jul 20, 2012
    2
    Such a bad movie really... the first one was good, the second one was very good, the third one was not bad, but THIS!!! THIS IS BAD!!! And not just a little. As a big fan of the serie, I am SO DISAPPOINTED! It can be true... such a mistake... The story is so useless, ugly. Trash please.
  68. Feb 4, 2013
    6
    Entertaining movie with lots of special effects (some poorly made). If you liked the previous parts of the series is going to like you.
  69. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    The most recent addition to the Underworld series and it's fair to say it's probably the best, but close to the third. Special effects are pretty cool, especially towards the end! Great to see Beckinsale back in action as the leading lady as well, plus she is joined by a whole new cast this time around. It's much shorter when compared to the first Underworld film which can be both a good and bad thing. Overall an enjoyable film but for some reason I can't see it being the last in the series! Expand
  70. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    I think is great history, and much better than other recently movies of vampires like twilight and all this **** Underworld 4 deserved the next sequel.
  71. Aug 24, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At first I have to admit that I'm no Underworld Fan of the first hour, I actually didn't even hear of the first film when it came out in 2003. It must have been one afternoon in 2007 when I saw a TV trailer announcing the airing of Underworld in the late evening the upcoming weekend. I didn't know what it was all about and was actually like "What the F...?!?" when I saw the skull of the vamire lord awaking in the underground (actually thought it was some kind of zombie then) and thought it might be some kind of cool horror movie, so I marked it for watching. But what I actually watched on this particular evening was one of the best vampire movies of all time (for me personally at least):

    Already that first jump of Selene down from that Church and directly walking on in the first scene caught my attention. Then there was the first contact between Selene, the super cool death merchant with centuries of experience in hunting down lycans, and Michael, who stumbled into this century-old war between the two supernatural races with no idea what is actually going on. Then there was this mythology of how the Vampires and Lycans actually arised and which both of them (Michael & Selene) need to investigate much deeper than they are supposed to by the Vampire lords, Michael to survive, Selene to solve the riddles of her past, while both of them begin to understand that they not only need each other to survive, but also begin to develop feelings for the other one.

    The whole Mythology and Background story created within this first movie was so huge and deep that it was rightfully followed by "Underworld: Evolution" and "Underworld: Rise of the Lycans" in the folowing years. I personally think "Rise of the Lycans" actually fits very good into the storyline while "Evolution", still a good movie and clearly belonging rightfully to the series, had it's weaknesses, altough I can't really tell what it was that I felt missing in this one. And now we finally have "Underworld: Awakening" finally here.

    So let's summarize my overall Impressions on this one: Yay, Selene's back! Okay, Humans suddently noticed Vs and Ls (why actually?), and why do they actually posses the Vampire/Lycan Weaponry so fast (there is clearly a movie called "Underworld: The Purge" missing somewhere). But okay, let's focus on the storyline again. Selene is held captive by the humans in some laboratory but someone helped her to wake up. And of course all of her gear is stored right at the location where she has been held in cryostasis for all this time (12 years). To get out of the laboratory she has to fight her way through the complex, which of cours is not that much of a challenge of a skilled death merchant like her. Later on she meets a little girl named "Subject 2" (if there was actually a scene when she was renamed to "Eve" I must have missed that). This girl is a human-vampire-lycan-hybrid (like Michael) and (surprise, surprise) the daughter of Selene and Michael.

    Considering the way she finds her daughter, which she has never seen before, and the circumstances under which she finds her and what Eve is capable of, I would have expected either that Selene would mistrust Eve at the beginning or directly feel that she is no harm and show more warmth for her daughter. Actually there could have been a development from suspicious mistrust towards an arising mothers instinct towards Eve. But neither of these two happens. Also, the way Eve was given birth or how she was created isn't a topic in the whole move. She is there and she is Selene's daughter. No backtalk! And oh, look: there are bad guys, no time, let's Rumble!

    And this partucular situation could be viewed as an allegory to EACH character in this movie. As an "Underworld"-Veteran, I might get the one or other thing a little easier than a casual viewer, but there is still so much potential in this movie, if they only added much more dialogs properly acted by the cast. Okay, there is actually not much time that Selene has to get to know her Daughter, but I actually didn't feel any kind of relationship developing between both of them, and when Eve thanked Selene in one of the final scenes for coming back for her, and Selene replied "I promised it", it actually feels more like Selene rescued Eve to keep word rather than saving her daughter.

    The CGI effects might could have been better at some point, but they are ok for my opinion. The lycan-decimating death merchant Selene is cool as always, altough she has to struggle with unsteady fitness at some points (One time she cracks through concrete roofs between two laboratories within a second, the other time she has to struggle with obstacles that I wouldn't have guessed to be suchlike for her). The big issue remains the plot / character development. The first Underworld movie had 128/116 Minutes, this one 88, which makes 40/28 Minutes difference. And I got the feeling, that "Underworld" had as much action scenes as "Awakening", too, plus Story.
    Expand
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 25, 2012
    20
    There is running, hiding, fighting, shooting, bleeding, biting, slicing, dicing, and damnably little entertainment value in any of it.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Whipp
    Jan 21, 2012
    60
    A brisk creature-feature that ditches the series' dreary mythology in favor of a more direct, action-oriented approach.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jan 21, 2012
    63
    There's not much to this movie beyond a slick procession of dark, gleaming violence. But Selene lovers would pay good 3D money to see her fight a parking ticket.