User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 189

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 22, 2012
    9
    I loved this movie. I thought it was better than the last 2. I really enjoyed the 3rd movie(Rise of the Lycans), but I was left wanting way more action scenes. So I was very happy with (Awakening), I don't understand at all why it got such bad reviews on meta-critic. I saw this with a small group of friends and we all thought it was awesome! I mean it had a ton of great action, Selene(Kate) was bad azzzzz! and Hott!, as usual. We got to meet some cool new characters. I will admit that we were a group of 5 guys though, and I think guys tend to look more for action than romance and story, for the most part. This 1 may have been lacking a little in story and lot in the romance dept. compared to all the other ones but if your a true fan of the "Underworld" series, than I think your going to enjoy this movie anyways. =) Expand
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    I think that they did a great job with this movie. Action is simply amazing, even comparable to Matrix. Selene (Kate) is beautiful and badass as always. I'm a big fan of Underworld series and I hope that they will make more, prequel would be awesome because Lucian and Raze are great characters and they need more screen time. All in all, nice and exciting movie.
  3. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    As a big fan of Underworld, I was anxiously awaiting the release of the movie. I was not disappointed. The movie was filled with action and I thought the story was pretty decent as well. It was basically all action from start to finish and the fight sequences were awesome. If you are in the mood to see things blown up or blown away, you will love this movie.
  4. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    I would like to start out by saying that I am a huge Underworld fan because it makes Twilight look like a bunch of babies. It has everything blood,violence, a girl killing people, and a sexy Beckinsale. I will say it isn't the greatest in the series but the special effects are. I would rank it third
  5. Jan 20, 2012
    9
    I'll respect the opinions of the people who did not enjoy this movie and yes this was in my opinion just a setup to keep the franchise going but there was still enough story and plot to keep you interested, I was never bored and there were several scenes that got your blood pumping. Go see it at a theater that has a good projector/sound setup, preferably not a multiplex.. The story seemed to be set on a rail of predictability and yes the addition of what we knew might happen after the end of Evolution happened, yes, yes it did, well.. trying not to spoil it for anyone. If you like Selene in tight clothes and stylized bloody gore with gigantic Werewolves then you will not be disappointed. If you like Twilight and are Team Jacob/Edward, this is not for you! Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    I am going to give it a 10 based on Selene and the action and beauty she provides on screen. There's no one like Kate Beckinsale to make this such a sleek and amazing action franchise. You take her out and you have nothing, with her in you have everything. Yes, they could have made the movie a bit longer and worked on the script and backstory much better - as well as approach Michael in a much different way: CGI is not the answer. I don't really care about much because Kate Beckinsale IS the movie, but I hope they have a better script next one. The backstory was great, but the execution could have been much better. Expand
  7. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    The movie was delectably the best one in my opinion, the Michael and Selene love story wasn't there as much and the budget seemed to be a bit higher making the action and choreographing a lot better. The made Kate look even more beautiful in this one and showed a more growing of maturity for reasons i won't spoil in the movie. The only thing i didn't like was the replacement for Michael which wasn't shown to much from the replacement to irratate me and i won't knock off a point for the movie because of this. If you love the Underworld series you will love this one! Expand
  8. Jun 11, 2012
    9
    Finally, an Underworld movie that I LOVED and didn't just like. This is a story I want to see. Lycans more powerful than ever, Vampire on the verge of extinction, a hybrid family, a bad ass little hybrid girl and connection and love between them all. Plus, the fight scenes were incredible. Great action! Good movie! It's a 9/10. Let's hope the 5th film is a 10 and ends it with a bang!
  9. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    Lets get one thing straight. This is a movie about vampires and werewolves that thankfully doesn't have teenage angst issues. That in itself should make it a 10! This is a movie in the Underworld series. Again, reason for a 10. If you don't like either the genre or the franchise, you won't enjoy this movie. Remember what it is, and you'll love it. Insane action and completely unnecessary bloodshed and violence ... of course! Expand
  10. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    After i watched the fourth movie today, i noticed that i love this series so much that i can say this is one of the best movie series ever created. Not any worse than any of those masterpieces that are Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Jurassic Park. I believe that Underworld will never cease to be exciting, amazing and fabolous. Vampyre-Lycan conflict has always been a popular plot for lots of movies in cinema history but this one made a difference with all these distinct characters: Selena, Marcus, Viktor, William. Characters are great, story are great, action and horror and mythology are all displayed so good. The only thing lacks is the music selection. Makes me feel like i watched a bad ending romantic drama during that credits rollout. But that is not enough to make me drop the point for this movie lower than 10. I would love to see some sequels; 5, 6... Expand
  11. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    Brutally pulchritudinous . Lives up to the rest of the Underworld movies. It stands for everything the others have and more. It has a very stylish, Gothic nature just like the others with some other new elements added to give this one its own place among the rest of the movies. Kate Beckinsale is as awesome as ever, its very dark, the fighting is over the top enough to be fantasy but down to earth enough to be brutal, and this one and the rest of the series are most likely the baddest ass vampire/werewolf movies out there. This one like all the others is just beautifully bloody . And to make things even more awesome; there was an Evanescence song during the credits. People have been relating Underworld to Evanescence for almost a decade and its finally been done officially. Its just awesome. If you hate vampire movies and action movies you will most likely hate this. But if you love a good story and hardcore action you will most likely love it. Critics bash it mainly because there is this unwritten rule that states in order to sound intelligent you must blatantly insult something. I don't buy it. I went to this movie on opening night and didn't want to sleep when I walked out. I find the critics score of this movie to be appallingly fallacious . Trust the user score. Not the critics. Its a very fun movie that is sure to entertain especially if you are a fan of the other movies. Trust me, they didn't let you down with this one. Expand
  12. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    I was not disappointed. Battles in the film were very good. Kate Beckinsale once again showed that it is the best and that Selene is her embodiment of strength and beauty. I look forward to seeing how Michael will return.
  13. Jan 23, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just a general warning, this post may contain spoilers. Itâ Expand
  14. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    2Wwweeeeefgrrffrddgtsfgffhrgfdhcyhfffddssssssdgyujjhfddxdsssssderrttyuuioopiuyrredfvvvvgvgghggghhggfffffhhjioiyyteewwegjgfrfdrtykunvfffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffftffffftffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff i thought it vwas great
  15. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    Personally, I feel this was a great movie. Thought it didn't have much of a plot it made up for it with all the action. I think the Underworld series needed this movie and I hope it continues to go on especially because I want to see if the vampires can fight back and what would happen to Michael. Will he end up getting killed? Will he be able to see his daughter? or how many even the daughter turn out? Just a good movie in my opinion. It was a great movie to watch. Expand
  16. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    All I really have to say is that it is just a wonderful movie and I really just want them to like add a little more to the movie but overall it was just FANTASTIC!
  17. Apr 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Taken from my review posted on the SAFATFILMBITES site: Selene Is Back! But does she have enough ammo to shoot her way through this adventure? WARNING: This review may contain spoilers!

    Kate Beckinsale returns as Selene for the fourth film in the action packed franchise. Awakening follows Selene as she battles the humans as they try to exterminate the vampires and the lycans. Not only does she have to battle them, she also must save her hybrid daughter from the lycans as well. This film is no doubt THE best film in the series, itâ
    Expand
  18. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    I think is great history, and much better than other recently movies of vampires like twilight and all this **** Underworld 4 deserved the next sequel.
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Jan 25, 2012
    20
    There is running, hiding, fighting, shooting, bleeding, biting, slicing, dicing, and damnably little entertainment value in any of it.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Whipp
    Jan 21, 2012
    60
    A brisk creature-feature that ditches the series' dreary mythology in favor of a more direct, action-oriented approach.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Jan 21, 2012
    63
    There's not much to this movie beyond a slick procession of dark, gleaming violence. But Selene lovers would pay good 3D money to see her fight a parking ticket.