Screen Gems | Release Date: January 25, 2008
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 51 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
25
Mixed:
11
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
ERG1008Aug 24, 2010
FBI cybercrimes division, find dodgy website that kills a cat, then a man, then another one, etc, etc. The more people log on to watch, the quicker the victim dies.
Run of the mill thriller, few flaws here and there but nothing too bad.
Bit
FBI cybercrimes division, find dodgy website that kills a cat, then a man, then another one, etc, etc. The more people log on to watch, the quicker the victim dies.
Run of the mill thriller, few flaws here and there but nothing too bad.
Bit of a dig at society today at the end.
Watch the Saw films, they're much better at this sort of thing.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
TR.Feb 3, 2008
This movie is stunningly boring and pointless. It takes itself seriously as it follows all the predictable moves of a poorly written plot. I like Diane Lane, but she really must have needed a paycheck to be in this stinker. Don't waste This movie is stunningly boring and pointless. It takes itself seriously as it follows all the predictable moves of a poorly written plot. I like Diane Lane, but she really must have needed a paycheck to be in this stinker. Don't waste your time on this--staring at the wall is more entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JessieC.Aug 7, 2008
This movie was aweful! I am typically a big fan of crime/thriller shows and movies, but I couldn't make it all the way through. The killer is identified immediately, which means that the only suspense involved is waiting for more This movie was aweful! I am typically a big fan of crime/thriller shows and movies, but I couldn't make it all the way through. The killer is identified immediately, which means that the only suspense involved is waiting for more bloodshed. Far too grusome in my opinion! The only plus was the cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeP.Feb 19, 2008
I liked the movie and how it was played out, however it was very predictable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HakkiO.Feb 19, 2008
Great movie; correct social-criticism.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
WilliamL.Mar 8, 2008
Diane Lane used to be able to read a script and tell whether it's going to be a good movie or not. She must be hard up for cash to appear is this piece of drivel. The very end of the film is so bad, it reminds me of Judge Dredd. No Diane Lane used to be able to read a script and tell whether it's going to be a good movie or not. She must be hard up for cash to appear is this piece of drivel. The very end of the film is so bad, it reminds me of Judge Dredd. No suspense is built anywhere along the way. We've seen variations on this theme in a hundred different forgettable movies. The writers should rent an imagination and take a risk next time--if any of them get another chance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnH.May 2, 2008
Great Movie, Great Actors, Great Story 10 of 10 Points
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JaredB.Jun 10, 2008
When I first saw the trailers for this movie, I was, to say the least, repulsed. My first impression was, "Oh, this will be just another boring 'torture porn' movie. Well, I was partially right. While this movie fell neatly into When I first saw the trailers for this movie, I was, to say the least, repulsed. My first impression was, "Oh, this will be just another boring 'torture porn' movie. Well, I was partially right. While this movie fell neatly into the 'torture porn' category, it was anything but boring. For the whole hour and forty-one minute length of the film, I was on the edge of my seat. Diane Lane, whose last good movie was "Unfaithful,' is excellent as Jennifer, an investigator with the FBI's cybercrimes unit. One day, she and her partner, played by Colin Hanks, stumble upon a site, where the webmaster kidnaps various people and tortures them. The more hits this website gets, the faster the victims die. At first, Jennifer treats this as just another case. That is, until someone very close to her becomes the killer's next victim. My only problem with this movie was the end. For those who have yet to see this movie, I won't spoil it. To everyone else, were you as frustrated by this as I was? Besides this one minor flaw, I gotta say, I found this to be an enjoyable, tense, well-made thriller. Pick up a copy and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AndyW.Jun 2, 2008
This film tries to be clever, but fails miserably. In between the detectives clumsy attempts to find the perpetrator are political barbs from the tired rhetoric of the right. Net neutrality, pirating and pornography are all attacked in cheap This film tries to be clever, but fails miserably. In between the detectives clumsy attempts to find the perpetrator are political barbs from the tired rhetoric of the right. Net neutrality, pirating and pornography are all attacked in cheap shots that barely associate with the plot. The writers ulterior motives leaked into the films and it was hard not to be pissed off watching this. A sharp viewer will come up with plenty of solutions to the idiotic issue and the end is shockingly boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
NigelM.Jun 2, 2008
This will appeal to fans of the Saw movies, as its basically an excuse to squirm at the ingenuity of the killers methods of executing his victims. One for the sadist in you, if that's your bag.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JimOJun 6, 2008
Boring and uninteresting characters tell a story of a "elite" computer hacker who kills and is "untraceable". So bad.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DebrahA.Jan 23, 2008
Not my kind of movie but I saw it at a screening yesterday and it sucked me in and took me on a wild ride. Lane is fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BarbLJan 23, 2008
Good old fashioned suspense served up on the new and scariest plate of all...the wicked wide web.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarcusA.Jan 25, 2008
You people are idiots. And why Roger Ebert, why? Stop giving bad movies good ratings, please! Every time you do this I lose a little respect for you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephenC.Jan 27, 2008
I think most of the critics were WAY off in rating this movie. It was taut, thrilling and well acted! Diane Lane still remains one of the best, most subtle actresses in Hollywood and it shows in this film. Loved the plot, and the only thing I think most of the critics were WAY off in rating this movie. It was taut, thrilling and well acted! Diane Lane still remains one of the best, most subtle actresses in Hollywood and it shows in this film. Loved the plot, and the only thing preventing me from giving it a perfect 10 was the waste of Mary Beth Hurt! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PatrickD.Jan 28, 2008
This movie is bad on many levels. the script is horrible. the acting is bad. the torture is boring. if this movie wanted to make a statement it should have something going for it. And Chad how dare you compare this with Sunset Boulevard This movie is bad on many levels. the script is horrible. the acting is bad. the torture is boring. if this movie wanted to make a statement it should have something going for it. And Chad how dare you compare this with Sunset Boulevard which has amazing acting and dialogue. two things this movie lacks. torture porn is going away, because there is no substance beyond the torture. this movie has no substance and no torture. it was boring. i thought it was going to be funny because of misused tech lingo. it actually did a good job on that just nothing else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AaronMJan 28, 2008
I'd have to agree with the critics who gave this a 70 out of 100. I actually loved the sly social critique that this movie is as it brings about the topics of violence, TV, internet, torture-tainment. If you don't walk away with I'd have to agree with the critics who gave this a 70 out of 100. I actually loved the sly social critique that this movie is as it brings about the topics of violence, TV, internet, torture-tainment. If you don't walk away with that part of your consciousness shooting off sparks then...let's just say, you're special. Overall, Diane Lane did an excellent job, the movie told a solid story, and though it may have a fast resolution, it's engaging through and through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JohnDJan 29, 2008
Enjoy this movie for what it is, a repeditive but fun popcorn thriller designed to get you girlfriend to bury her head in your chest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JoeS.Feb 1, 2008
A very promising premise and several likewise hopeful plot elements are introduced, then discarded without much overall point.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonO.Feb 7, 2008
I thought the movie was way better than I thought it was going to be. I think the movie is really interesting to watch and it really goes at a good pace. The movie gets an 8 out of 10 because it was actually worth the $9.50 unlike some I thought the movie was way better than I thought it was going to be. I think the movie is really interesting to watch and it really goes at a good pace. The movie gets an 8 out of 10 because it was actually worth the $9.50 unlike some movies that are just better to wait for on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.May 7, 2008
I am a little surprised at the negative reviews. It was well paced, well performed, had plenty of tension. The characters had depth. I was never bored. Granted, there are some holes in the plot but overall it as good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TonyB.Jul 2, 2008
Somewhat hypocritical in exploiting what it purports to condemn and marred by some plot development holes, "Untraceable" still grabs hold of you and does not let go until its satisfyingly abrupt ending. Diane Lane does her usual fine job and Somewhat hypocritical in exploiting what it purports to condemn and marred by some plot development holes, "Untraceable" still grabs hold of you and does not let go until its satisfyingly abrupt ending. Diane Lane does her usual fine job and is ably supported by a good cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
nchatanan.Sep 14, 2008
Totally predictable, God bless America for making this kind of bullshit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
justinm.Dec 29, 2008
Thrilling, great acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Jan 25, 2008
What does "Untraceable", this seemingly disposable thriller have in common with "Sunset Boulevard"? Like the Billy Wilder masterpiece, "Untraceable" is unafraid to unleash an excorciating critique on the modus operandi of "The Dream What does "Untraceable", this seemingly disposable thriller have in common with "Sunset Boulevard"? Like the Billy Wilder masterpiece, "Untraceable" is unafraid to unleash an excorciating critique on the modus operandi of "The Dream Factory"(what Hollywood was dubbed during the Studio Era). It's not 1950 anymore(the dream is over); we'll never see a transition in filmic mode on the scale of silent films giving way to talkies, but 2004's "Saw" was a landmark movie of sorts. That James Wan(not so wan at the box-office)-helmed shocker had the dubious distinction of ushering in the sub-genre(for both, horror & suspense/thrillers) we now call "torture porn"; defined as prolonged scenes in which people under heavy duress are made to suffer before they expire in some grisly manner that makes ordinary homicide seem passe. "Untraceable", in my mind, is a critique of this sick trend in contemporary film. Eli Roth's "Hostel" is like the "Citizen Kane" of torture porn("I Know Who Killed Me" is its "Hudson Hawk")In the Charles Brackett & Wilder screenplay, we see how talkies put silent era-film stars out of work. Likewise, torture porn makes every horror or suspense/thriller icon from Frankenstein to Jason to Hannibal Lecter seem like the Easter bunny. A thriller such as "Lady Beware", a forgettable 1987 film starring Diane Lane(who plays Jennifer in "Untraceable") looks like child's play by today's standards of staging premeditated murder. In the final scene of "Untraceable"(this is not a spoiler), Jennifer makes like Nora Desmond(Gloria Swanson) and is ready for her close-up(into a video camera). "Untraceable" fades to black. Hopefully, this is torture porn's swansong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MovieGuysApr 26, 2014
Untraceable seems like the kind of gruesome torture flick that has no story and is all about the shock value. Well, I was in for a surprise when the movie proved to get past cookie cutter characters and tacked-on storylines. It has somewhatUntraceable seems like the kind of gruesome torture flick that has no story and is all about the shock value. Well, I was in for a surprise when the movie proved to get past cookie cutter characters and tacked-on storylines. It has somewhat of a good storyline, and although it can't shake off some of the familiar elements from "Silence of the Lambs" and many clich├ęs, it does hold your attention. It's brutal, gruesome, and unrelenting, never letting you out of its grasp until the final scene. And, if you can believe it, Untraceable doesn't become completely implausible until 4/5 into the movie, which is a rarity in the genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
horcrux2007Aug 4, 2015
I love me a good crime movie, so I'm glad this one made up for the disaster that was FeardotCom that I watched yesterday. In Untraceable, FBI agent Jennifer Marsh has to hunt down a seemingly untraceable serial killer who posts live videos ofI love me a good crime movie, so I'm glad this one made up for the disaster that was FeardotCom that I watched yesterday. In Untraceable, FBI agent Jennifer Marsh has to hunt down a seemingly untraceable serial killer who posts live videos of his victims getting tortured and killed, and as more people log onto the site, the victim will be killed more quickly. Now, I don't know anything about computers and stuff like that, so I'm not sure how realistic this movie really is. I'll admit I'm pretty ignorant when it comes to that. Even if there are some huge tech flaws that flew way over my head, Untraceable did have a couple of major issues. Like many thrillers, the killer seems to be god-like; he seems to have unlimited resources and intelligence, and it would have been nice to see him stumble a few times to at least build more suspense. They also reveal the identity of the killer way too early into the plot. Anonymity would have added a layer of mystery to the film. Nevertheless, Untraceable was a very entertaining, gritty and intense thriller with an interesting moral compass; why should we watch insanely violent and gory movies like Saw, Seven or even the movie itself? It may be rather hypocritical given how violent this film is, and that moral does get a little preachy by the end of this movie. It's still some intriguing food-for-thought. You might not be completely satisfied if you want a completely coherent and terrifying thriller, but if you want a twisty, edge-of-your-seat kind of movie, Untraceable is a great way to go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews