Up

Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 29, 2009
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1127 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,038
Mixed:
62
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
nickjSep 10, 2009
The first time I saw Up I enjoyed it immensely, but nothing more. But when I saw it for the second time, the meaning of this beautiful portrait of recovering from a lost love started to sink in. Stunning visually and mentally. Bravo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TheCriticDec 1, 2009
Excellent movie. Great plot, funny characters. An all around excellent movie for the whole family to enjoy. 3-D was amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoseGJun 12, 2009
Brilliant!!! Ok, it's true that UP has some issues (... that was the strongest old man I have ever seen!!!) but the story capture you, and also is quite funny. The intro (first 20 min) make me almost cry (believe, I am not like crying Brilliant!!! Ok, it's true that UP has some issues (... that was the strongest old man I have ever seen!!!) but the story capture you, and also is quite funny. The intro (first 20 min) make me almost cry (believe, I am not like crying much), it was very touching. Maybe not as great as WALL - E, but a excellent movie too... go and watch it, no regrets!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MisakiEJun 18, 2009
Best movie of the year!! I don't cry much, but first part of movie made me cry and tears kept coming... touching, sad, yet very sweet. Very cute and funny throughout. Excellent sense of humor and all family members can enjoy without Best movie of the year!! I don't cry much, but first part of movie made me cry and tears kept coming... touching, sad, yet very sweet. Very cute and funny throughout. Excellent sense of humor and all family members can enjoy without regret. This 3D movie cost me big but it really was worth the price. I cannot wait to watch it again!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
phJun 26, 2009
Someone below was upset that the movie dealt with abortion. I feel compelled to say that there was no abortion in this movie. Ellie had a miscarriage and couldn't have kids. As for death, a lot of animated movies have death (The Lion Someone below was upset that the movie dealt with abortion. I feel compelled to say that there was no abortion in this movie. Ellie had a miscarriage and couldn't have kids. As for death, a lot of animated movies have death (The Lion King and Bambi both feature gut-wrenching deaths of parents). I thought this was a wonderful movie, and made all the better for its richness of theme. It is rated PG, though, so not really intended for toddlers anyway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jwJul 19, 2009
(9.5) The star of the show is character development, with the mostly unheard-from Ellie functioning beautifully as the heart of the story. The scenes with her - young and then old - in the prologue are (with the possible exception of one or (9.5) The star of the show is character development, with the mostly unheard-from Ellie functioning beautifully as the heart of the story. The scenes with her - young and then old - in the prologue are (with the possible exception of one or two sequences in WALL-E) the best thing Pixar has ever done. It gives us the "reasons" for character traits early, as opposed to making them the "lesson" at the end. And it is unique in that it doesn't overexplain the problems of the child, Russell. On suspects that his father is the man trying to tear down Carl's house, but we never really know. Pixar has wisely steered its efforts toward emotional maturity; its visual luxuries are desensitizing and oddly static as compared to the best traditional animation. Pristine color is status quo, but good storytelling is still work. Comparing this movie's beginning to its middle is strong evidence of this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregQAug 27, 2009
Another great one from Pixar. Doesn't have the social commentary aspect that WALL-E has, but has an outstanding and heartfelt story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianR.Dec 19, 2009
Had a slow start, but got better and better to the end. One of the most funny movies I've seen in a while. Disney/Pixar and Steve Jobs definitely know how to make a good animated movie, and they've proved it once again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
In terms of emotional immersion, characterization, humor, and just good old-fashioned entertainment, Pixar puts all other summer fare to shame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jeremyd99Aug 29, 2010
Up is a great family film,it is uplifting,funny,and and at event some parts dramatic.In my opinion it is one of the best movie to come out last year. The story is sweet and the visuals are great. These CGI graphics are outstanding,and lookUp is a great family film,it is uplifting,funny,and and at event some parts dramatic.In my opinion it is one of the best movie to come out last year. The story is sweet and the visuals are great. These CGI graphics are outstanding,and look better than most high budget action movies. The acting is good,and each voice fits the charachters perfectly. The background score is great,and fits perfectly to whats happening. This is one of Pixar's best and is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
After losing his wife, Mr. Frederickson finally finds adventure as he strings a plethora of balloons to the top of his house and tries to fly himself to South America, where his wife had always wanted to go since she was young but never gotAfter losing his wife, Mr. Frederickson finally finds adventure as he strings a plethora of balloons to the top of his house and tries to fly himself to South America, where his wife had always wanted to go since she was young but never got the chance. But when a 9-year old obnoxious fellow swings on for the ride, Mr. Federickson has to learn to deal with him after a conflict arises once landing in South America. Up is definitely a film for the entire family to feel excited about. The intial first 10 minutes are very heartwarming, but loses that warmth a little once the adventure begins, soon feeling like a shorter, much toned down adventure once it ends. Without a doubt Pixar delivers quality animation once again, but the feeling is different once the end credits, the same I saw in Cars and Monster's Inc. But definitely another masterpiece for 2009. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MichaelDJan 9, 2011
A brilliant, unique movie. One of the best children's movie I watched.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
aaronpaul121May 21, 2012
Though it is not the best Pixar film (for me, Ratatouille takes that spot), it is still a great movie. I love the fact that this this movie is very diverse, it has comedy moments, dramatic moments, action moments and a lot more. The flow ofThough it is not the best Pixar film (for me, Ratatouille takes that spot), it is still a great movie. I love the fact that this this movie is very diverse, it has comedy moments, dramatic moments, action moments and a lot more. The flow of the story is brilliant, from start to finish, making the plot of the movie clear and understandable. And I appreciate that they make this more of an animation movie (which we all know that these movies are mostly for kids), where adults can relate. Yet again, Pixar has again produced an amazing movie and I am looking forward for more Pixar movies in the future... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
davenbettridgeNov 7, 2011
How many movies have an old man as a lead character? Very few, and its this original approach to film making that makes Pixar so good. The characters, story, animation and design of this film are brilliantly crafted. Up is just sort of beingHow many movies have an old man as a lead character? Very few, and its this original approach to film making that makes Pixar so good. The characters, story, animation and design of this film are brilliantly crafted. Up is just sort of being a masterpiece, it's a great animated American movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
daafdaafJun 28, 2011
This film, I found it very well made. It has a serious story line but great depth of character and some very funny seance. its slower pace sets it of from other animations with its dark beginning showing it to be film encompassing older generations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Navelpluis1337Apr 1, 2012
I'm two years late to the party, but glad I arrived there anyways. I rarely get moved by a movie, but this one had me on the brink of crying more than once. The characters are likeable, the surroundings beautiful, and the story emotional. IfI'm two years late to the party, but glad I arrived there anyways. I rarely get moved by a movie, but this one had me on the brink of crying more than once. The characters are likeable, the surroundings beautiful, and the story emotional. If you haven't seen it already I highly advice you to do so. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
xenaAug 29, 2011
Uplifting,emotional and comedic. Mixed in perfect proportion.A treat to enjoy and ponder over.The film manages to together universal themes and in the process lead the viewer through an amazing journey complete with fantasticUplifting,emotional and comedic. Mixed in perfect proportion.A treat to enjoy and ponder over.The film manages to together universal themes and in the process lead the viewer through an amazing journey complete with fantastic vistas,nail-biting tensionand if there's no one else nearby some choice words toobased on character foibles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
Animation giant Pixar walks into 2009 with their new animation "Up". The movie is so organized and amazing, all I could suggest to you is to just shut up and watch the movie.
14 of 16 users found this helpful142
All this user's reviews
9
Boozerx7Feb 16, 2012
Pixar rarely disappoints. Another brilliant movie. A very colourful, intriguing and moving movie that will keep you anticipated the whole time. A variety of emotions were felt in this roller coaster ride especially the flashbacks which hitsPixar rarely disappoints. Another brilliant movie. A very colourful, intriguing and moving movie that will keep you anticipated the whole time. A variety of emotions were felt in this roller coaster ride especially the flashbacks which hits you hard. Definitely worth the nomination of Best Picture. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
watithink123Jun 21, 2012
Up was so much better then I thought. Why give it a 6 A 5 or 2 out of 10? This film was amazing so just watch it. Up 9.5/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YoursTrulyNov 9, 2012
Everyone talks about how sad this movie is, or at least about how sad the beginning is. Personally, I don't think that "sad" is the best word. It was more like...brilliant. Smooth story telling dense with emotion, irresistible humor, lovableEveryone talks about how sad this movie is, or at least about how sad the beginning is. Personally, I don't think that "sad" is the best word. It was more like...brilliant. Smooth story telling dense with emotion, irresistible humor, lovable and distinct characters, the perfect dose of peril and of course spot on animation. With this moving adventure of love, companionship and discovering the real treasures in life, Pixar has managed to, once again, touch us to the core with the simplest of gestures and in the process add another sparkling gem to their vault. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HazzaGallaMay 8, 2016
'Up' to this day still remains one of my absolute favourite animated movies. And why is that? Because it combines so many astounding elements into a brilliantly made film. It's heartbreaking, it's charming, it's entertaining and it's'Up' to this day still remains one of my absolute favourite animated movies. And why is that? Because it combines so many astounding elements into a brilliantly made film. It's heartbreaking, it's charming, it's entertaining and it's fantastically crafted. The characters are memorable, the story is deeply intriguing and the soundtrack is just beautiful. 'Up' is a very special film, one that won't leave a person for a while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LucasGobleFeb 13, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A Thirst for Adventure
UP is able to create a story that is so riveting and enthralling, you hardly pay attention to the fact that it is an animated adventure. It starts with a miniature story all in its own, of a boy and girl who fall in love and live together happily, then the woman passes away, and his second, more geriatric adventure begins.
Hate the villains, love the heroes. That is the goal of all movies when it comes to creation of antagonists and protagonists is it not? Up manages to create characters that take form into real people. Their development adds to the peril of the movie by giving a tie to the characters. During most of the movie, a soft background music hums away, gently, hardly loud enough to notice. Without this music however, the story would be lacking a certain quaint feel. Soft and whimsical during the highs, low and menacing during the lows, this movie seems to have all the music exactly where it needs to be. In Pixar fashion, UP is a superbly animated film, unparalleled by any other “cartoons” of its time. UP is definitely in my recommended movies list. No matter how old, or young, all are welcome in this story of heroism and adventure.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shpreaJun 28, 2013
A hilarious and emotional masterpiece by Pixar. Arguably one of their best films to date. The movie is full of memorable characters, witty dialogue, and excellent animation. A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJun 18, 2013
Another great Pixar movie that has characters that you can connect with. Especially Ed Asner's character, you really feel the love he had for his wife and the pain he goes through when she dies. Also the other characters including Doug theAnother great Pixar movie that has characters that you can connect with. Especially Ed Asner's character, you really feel the love he had for his wife and the pain he goes through when she dies. Also the other characters including Doug the dog and Kevin the snipe make for the fun adventure. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
sil3nt_nickMar 25, 2013
Hilarious and beautifully written story of a man and a boy navigating through the world of Paradise Falls.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JmsbppAug 5, 2013
Up es una replica a seguir de como hacer y aprovechar una pelicula teniendo en cuenta los sentimientos y valores que hay que dar en este tipo de peliculas, una excelente muestra del amor en todo sentido y una pelicula mas que adorar de entreUp es una replica a seguir de como hacer y aprovechar una pelicula teniendo en cuenta los sentimientos y valores que hay que dar en este tipo de peliculas, una excelente muestra del amor en todo sentido y una pelicula mas que adorar de entre otras de Pixar Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
LansdenrsJun 2, 2013
The best Pixar film by far. The emotional breakthrough I had at the end the kindness and chivalry from the main character I left the theatre thinking everyone in the world should be like that
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticJul 7, 2014
The beginning is poignant and sad at the same time. The rest follows a heartfelt tale of a man's journey, not just to Paradise Falls. The trio of the old man, the scout, and the dog is not only funny, but like actual family. Pixar has so manyThe beginning is poignant and sad at the same time. The rest follows a heartfelt tale of a man's journey, not just to Paradise Falls. The trio of the old man, the scout, and the dog is not only funny, but like actual family. Pixar has so many greats on its agenda I doubt anyone can replicate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilmVirtueFeb 14, 2014
A stellar creation by Pixar. "Up" is a film I believe is for everyone. That somehow reaches into everyone's souls and pulls out the heart in them. Not just the heart, but the feeling of enjoyment that this film does intend to do. I enjoyedA stellar creation by Pixar. "Up" is a film I believe is for everyone. That somehow reaches into everyone's souls and pulls out the heart in them. Not just the heart, but the feeling of enjoyment that this film does intend to do. I enjoyed the film from start to finish, not just once, but several times over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CineAutoctonoDec 2, 2015
Consistent , at first I was not interested , but at the end of the day, I ventured to see it , and it was a wonderful adventure , I sack humor, but also some tears. Touching is much like that touch me like all .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DanBurritoSep 12, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I imagine that people must have been skeptical when they saw the trailer for this. An old man who flies off in a house attached to balloons with a kid who got on by accident and meets a talking dog and a weird bird? Must have been a hard idea to pitch. But people-this is Pixar. The movie is a touching and tear inducing masterpiece with a beginning that will break your heart no matter how tough you claim to be. There are a few bothersome things (like how can Muntz be still alive now if he was like, 40 when Carl was 8? ). But if you get past that, you'll love it. It might be a bit deep for small kids, but like most Pixar films, adults will be entertained a lot more than they might expect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Muskrat147Jul 13, 2016
Solidly crafted, gorgeously animated, and emotional, Up is a wonderful story that shows children and adults alike the power of friendship, love , and the pursuit of happiness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
reviewfrom19842Oct 5, 2016
Pros: It's funny, heartwarming, heartbreaking, and just fun. The charterers are amazing the story that would most likely suck in any other movie is just amazing and heartwarming

Cons:Nothing
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shiftworkerAug 22, 2016
This is everything I want from a family movie: extreme sentimentality, beautiful visuals, a moment of wonder, a scattering of laughs, a little bit of excitement and a plot that keeps the kids attention for most of the time. Could do withThis is everything I want from a family movie: extreme sentimentality, beautiful visuals, a moment of wonder, a scattering of laughs, a little bit of excitement and a plot that keeps the kids attention for most of the time. Could do with editing down in the middle to stop me dropping off in the chair, but then I have seen it about 20 times. Up, up and away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MonkiReviewsMay 30, 2017
I enjoyed it a lot. The story is filled with sadness, anger, and happiness. The characters are funny and the voice actors are great. Worth it to watch!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BobN.Jun 3, 2009
I wasn't going to see this film. The animation did not grab my interest -it seemed too similar to the Incredibles. Yet, come on now, it is a Pixar film, I reasoned. With low expectations I saw it. I think Roger Ebert said it best by I wasn't going to see this film. The animation did not grab my interest -it seemed too similar to the Incredibles. Yet, come on now, it is a Pixar film, I reasoned. With low expectations I saw it. I think Roger Ebert said it best by comparing this with Miyazaki's beautiful animations. Though Miyazaki is on a whole different level of fantasy, this film felt like one of his films-which is a great thing. I hold WALL-E to be Pixar's best film, and the best thing Disney has ever done. I will not compare it to Up. Up does not have a solid story, nor does anything truly grab you...but it has a spirit to it. That spirit, or atmosphere, it beautiful. This is a pure fantasy film with some heart. Nothing deep, but everything enjoyable. Parts are sad, but not overbearingly. Other Pixar films are sadder. I loved this film. It is not a cemented together as the others, but, again, that spirit...go see it and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EnzoP.Jun 22, 2009
Up is the best animated movie of the summer by far. But I am not sure about the best animated movie of the year. So far up and star trek are tied for the best summer movie of 2009.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ToddA.Nov 10, 2009
_Up_ has wide appeal, likable characters, and, surprisingly, mature themes. This film delivers entertainment and, sometimes, a message or two without being too heavy-handed about it. This film shows great promise for the continuously _Up_ has wide appeal, likable characters, and, surprisingly, mature themes. This film delivers entertainment and, sometimes, a message or two without being too heavy-handed about it. This film shows great promise for the continuously successful Disney and Pixar duo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LeonPJul 30, 2009
Disappointing (for a Pixar) The first 10-15 minutes are so beautiful, it equals in intensity and subtlety some parts of WALL-E, but in South America, UP draws us back to when animation features were mostly for kids. They could have done Disappointing (for a Pixar) The first 10-15 minutes are so beautiful, it equals in intensity and subtlety some parts of WALL-E, but in South America, UP draws us back to when animation features were mostly for kids. They could have done seomthing a lot better, a lot more touching (the parts with Carl's wife amost all had me teary eyed! from the first minutes to the movie!) All in all, a good cartoon, with some moments of sheer brilliance, this movie has only one (big) problem: WALL-E. 8/10 isn't bad for a movie that disppointed me, it means Pixar have set the bar extremely high. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AllieLJul 30, 2009
I love Pixar and their movies, but this one was the most unusual of them all. The story line was very deep, emotional, and mature. It seemed like very young children wouldn't understand the background story of why the old man wanted to I love Pixar and their movies, but this one was the most unusual of them all. The story line was very deep, emotional, and mature. It seemed like very young children wouldn't understand the background story of why the old man wanted to move his house to South America w/o their parents explaining it. But I thought the way Pixar told the story of the old man and his wife was very artistic, romantic and sweet. I would/do recommend this movie to others. Because it's so different then the previous films makes this one even a little more special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrianMSep 2, 2009
The Pixar movies are so routinely excellent that when they are just a bit below par, it's surprising. Up is a very strong movie; immensely entertaining and surprisingly moving as well. But it doesn't stick to your ribs the way the The Pixar movies are so routinely excellent that when they are just a bit below par, it's surprising. Up is a very strong movie; immensely entertaining and surprisingly moving as well. But it doesn't stick to your ribs the way the best of the Pixar lot do. It feels just a little too conventional. Still, it's a true delight and probably the best movie of the summer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayKJun 10, 2009
I was disappointed by this movie, as I expected something on par with Wall-E. The first 15 minutes are very touching, even made me teary (I see my future before me). But this movie's ability to conjure real emotion stops there, with I was disappointed by this movie, as I expected something on par with Wall-E. The first 15 minutes are very touching, even made me teary (I see my future before me). But this movie's ability to conjure real emotion stops there, with characters and story that are thenceforth somewhat flat. And while I love the weirdness and creativity displayed by many other animated films (Spirited Away, etc.), here the strangeness just rarely seems to fit right. (SPOILER ALERT) So many aspects felt uncomfortable and jarring, such as the old man running around for half the movie tethered to a house. The dogs are often funny (highlight of the film), but (SPOILER ALERT) flying planes?!? And the old guy gets random bouts of superhuman strength, speed, and flexibility (intentional, perhaps, but jarring). These random outcrops of weirdness never fit and are distracting, which I think is made worse by the art style that doesn't gel the realistic and the cartoony quite right. Close, but no cigar. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimFJun 17, 2009
It's not hard understanding why Pixar's shorts are so good: their features, particularly the last two, are at their best in the short, self-contained sequences that often begin the films. It was true with "Wall-E", which It's not hard understanding why Pixar's shorts are so good: their features, particularly the last two, are at their best in the short, self-contained sequences that often begin the films. It was true with "Wall-E", which nonetheless still sustained itself after its brilliant opening and remains the company's best film. And it's true with "Up", which contains a charming and surprising five minute scene near the beginning of the film that encapsulates the early love affair between a crotchety old man (Ed Asner) and the adventurous girl he marries and adores so well it effectively serves to anchor the rest of the movie. Good thing, because that remaining hour or so of screen time is not that interesting in itself. It reminds me of that famous quote about history, that it's just one damn thing after another. Despite that, I still liked this film a great deal. That opening put me on its side, and on the side of its characters, and I never tired enough of the generic action to lose my affection and interest in them. "Wall-E" is a work of art; "Up" is a charming and enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeremyJun 2, 2009
Up and down. Pixar manages to evoke emotion through visuals as well, if not better, than any collection of filmmakers in big cinema. Their movies exhale the last, and perhaps purest, strains of magic from the ostensible Magic Factory that is Up and down. Pixar manages to evoke emotion through visuals as well, if not better, than any collection of filmmakers in big cinema. Their movies exhale the last, and perhaps purest, strains of magic from the ostensible Magic Factory that is the Disney monster. Up creates a few such moments that manage to carry it. But in between the movie pinballs around a startling series of miscalculations and just plain stupid dialogue. The Wall Street Journal review seems to catch the problem: the movie seems caught in storyboard form. Nevertheless, because the worthwhile portions are Pixar visuals and Pixar moments, Up remains a really good movie. Those of us who hold WALL-E and Ratatouille in such high esteem have to feel some regret knowing what could have been. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShellyWJun 9, 2009
This was a great movie for me and my husband a the older kids. We LOVED it! The deceit is how the commercials bill it as "The Best Comedy of the summer". While there were certainly funny parts and it was a heartwarming albeit sad movie, This was a great movie for me and my husband a the older kids. We LOVED it! The deceit is how the commercials bill it as "The Best Comedy of the summer". While there were certainly funny parts and it was a heartwarming albeit sad movie, there were youngsters under 6 behind us in the theater that actually screamed with fright at parts. They repeatedly asked their parents to leave and wanted to know when it would be over saying that they were too scared. Straight Comedy it is not! Parents with youngsters beware - it is very intense and there are concepts that kids under 10 might not understand or might find scary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JamesH.Nov 18, 2009
This is my least favorite of all the Pixar films, but still a very good animated movie. If it wasn't for the talking dogs there wouldn't be enough humor and the movie seemed overly sentimental. There were moments of great This is my least favorite of all the Pixar films, but still a very good animated movie. If it wasn't for the talking dogs there wouldn't be enough humor and the movie seemed overly sentimental. There were moments of great disbelief, such as the bad guy living in a zeppelin since the 1930s or so but still had knowledge of modern technology to invent talking dog collars and GPS technology, or believing that a bunch of balloons could really lift a house off it's foundation. I realize you are supposed to suspend belief in animated films but this one asks a little too much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonH.Jun 15, 2009
You know, this film is getting bashed for being "too depressing" in the first half, but I think that this emotional, bitter sweet feeling was unique , and should have been pusuited. I did not like the switch midway through the film (marked You know, this film is getting bashed for being "too depressing" in the first half, but I think that this emotional, bitter sweet feeling was unique , and should have been pusuited. I did not like the switch midway through the film (marked upon the entry of the dogs and bird) that suddenly turned the story into a common adventure. I honestly didn't care about the bird or the dog. The guy wanted his house by the falls for the entire film, and that was all I was waiting for. That darn bird and dog just seemed to be making a clear, obvious and annoying effort to inject the movie with their presence. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DougNJun 17, 2009
A great family movie. Really enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatrickGJun 25, 2009
This movie is thoroughly entertaining despite being a "kids" movie. Pixar films are almost always enjoyable, and this one is no different. The story is far-fetched, but if you're looking for plot holes in a Pixar film then you probably This movie is thoroughly entertaining despite being a "kids" movie. Pixar films are almost always enjoyable, and this one is no different. The story is far-fetched, but if you're looking for plot holes in a Pixar film then you probably shouldn't be watching it in the first place. Great movie to take the kids too, or a nice date movie if you're looking to play it safe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveSJul 11, 2009
Up is an excellent movie. The story is near-perfect and the animation is beautiful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HectorJul 16, 2009
One of Pixar's best films and one of the best films of 2009.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BilguunUJul 27, 2009
This was a usual amazing Pixar film. The first half especially was truly outstanding. The way the couple's story was told was a pure work of art. However, after this it became rather ordinary cartoon. Still I would recommend anyone to This was a usual amazing Pixar film. The first half especially was truly outstanding. The way the couple's story was told was a pure work of art. However, after this it became rather ordinary cartoon. Still I would recommend anyone to watch the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MovieLonely94Oct 31, 2010
from the guys who brought you Monsters INC comes another memorable movie for kids and adults also known as Up. whats my opinion of it? its not my favorite, but its great. every Pixar movie kicks a**. Great characters, Great writing, Greatfrom the guys who brought you Monsters INC comes another memorable movie for kids and adults also known as Up. whats my opinion of it? its not my favorite, but its great. every Pixar movie kicks a**. Great characters, Great writing, Great music, and most of all: Great animation. Rating: 89% Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
juliankleissMar 29, 2011
Even after the love of your life has passed away you can still spend some happy time with your sweet grandchildren and your loyal pets. "Up" is a beautifully sad movie about having a dream and living an adventure. While the villain isEven after the love of your life has passed away you can still spend some happy time with your sweet grandchildren and your loyal pets. "Up" is a beautifully sad movie about having a dream and living an adventure. While the villain is extremely unlikable, the protagonists are very lovable. The film might not have needed the final action sequence in the end, but "Up" is definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jboy2468Nov 22, 2011
An excellent movie through and through, with silly scenes and a pretty good story. Animations are outstanding. The characters are great. The story seems shaky at times, and it doesn't really keep you interested at times. But, I definitelyAn excellent movie through and through, with silly scenes and a pretty good story. Animations are outstanding. The characters are great. The story seems shaky at times, and it doesn't really keep you interested at times. But, I definitely recommend this movie to anyone at any age. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
A_NorthernerApr 7, 2012
Disney-Pixar have almost consistently produced films to a superb standard in recent years and Up does not just meet this standard but raise it further. As with its predecessors, the animation is great and the story is amusing and rich inDisney-Pixar have almost consistently produced films to a superb standard in recent years and Up does not just meet this standard but raise it further. As with its predecessors, the animation is great and the story is amusing and rich in sentiment but what makes Up stand out above the rest is the combination of unusual characters, odd story and superb Oscar winning score. With the exception of The Incredibles, Pixar have traditionally stayed away from humans as central characters. However, in Up the main characters are Mr. Fredricksen, a lonely, grumpy old man and Russell, a plump young explorer scout. An unlikely pair who are unintentionally thrown together as Mr. Fredricksen transports his house to South America using helium filled balloons to escape moving from his home. There they meet a group of talking dogs, an endangered bird and Mr. Fredricksen's childhood hero as the adventure and fun continues.

As plots go it is one of the most bizarre yet from Pixar but it's a fun journey and the writers actually cover the pretty serious themes of ageing and missed opportunities, loneliness and friendship along the way. The montage at the beginning of the film displaying the life Mr. Fredricksen shared with his wife, from their childhood to her death, is beautifully made and, supported by the superb score, is an incredibly emotive piece of film making.

If you are looking for an enjoyable, funny film for the family then you can not do much better than Up.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialMar 8, 2014
It's sweet, emotional, and hilarious adventure from Pixar. Adults would probably enjoy this film more than kids, but nevertheless, this is a great family & kids film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dante_finnDec 22, 2012
hilariously uplifting adventure
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
joao1198pedroOct 31, 2013
in my opinion this is the best actual film that walt disney pixar made,that is a lot of good characters in this film and almost all of them have their touch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RayzorMooseNov 15, 2013
Up goes high.
Another spectacular animated achievement from Pixar, Up is successful from beautiful artwork to a great story. A great movie with great emotion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeApr 26, 2014
Funny,touching,and incredibly good graphics this is by far one of my favourite pixar movie of all time.The characters are really funny,if i had to recommend a movie from pixar this is the one i would name.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DokaluJun 30, 2015
Another's Pixar's favourite. Good animation, as always, very original, incredibly emotional, very funny, and simply amazing. Pixar will never stop surprising me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
spongeswiftJun 22, 2017
Up... The movie that has the good 10 minute tear jerker at the start and then quickly loses it's mojo. BUT the movie is still decent after the beginning 10 but still it's good fun and pretty after the good part. So it isn't a perfect movieUp... The movie that has the good 10 minute tear jerker at the start and then quickly loses it's mojo. BUT the movie is still decent after the beginning 10 but still it's good fun and pretty after the good part. So it isn't a perfect movie but it still is enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MadMaxFuryRoadSep 6, 2015
Up was okay not great and certainly not the best Pixar movie EVER! It was extremely overrated and the film started to drag from time to time. It had a predictable ending, and the kid is extremely annoying, who just makes dumb choices a lot ofUp was okay not great and certainly not the best Pixar movie EVER! It was extremely overrated and the film started to drag from time to time. It had a predictable ending, and the kid is extremely annoying, who just makes dumb choices a lot of the time. Still a great film for the whole family to watch because it does have some heart, just be cautious that this isn't as good as recent titles like Inside Out, Toy Story, or Finding Nemo. Pixar is a great studio and all, so I will say I enjoyed this film just not as much as other Pixar films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
VirgonoShakaJun 17, 2017
This movie showcases that animation can create the same (or even better) emotions than live action. Just for the first ten minutes alone, Up is worth the price of admission, and its place in the pantheon of great Disney movies. While it mayThis movie showcases that animation can create the same (or even better) emotions than live action. Just for the first ten minutes alone, Up is worth the price of admission, and its place in the pantheon of great Disney movies. While it may have some misses here and there and in some parts the plot may be a little too obvious or done before, the deep emotional impact it can do and the great visuals and colors it presents are not only worthy of recognition, but admiration. And its moral and values are very deep, just like Disney and Pixar can do when they try. Add to that and excellent musical score by Micahel Giacchino and you have a great adventure, and it is out there indeed if you are willing to find it. Greatly recommended for anyone. Final verdict: 8.5 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JimboHJun 5, 2009
Has the audience going from zero to choked up in less than 10 minutes (an amazing feat), which is an interesting predicament when your in a theater with 3d glasses on. The movie then tries to get the audience to "move on", with the Has the audience going from zero to choked up in less than 10 minutes (an amazing feat), which is an interesting predicament when your in a theater with 3d glasses on. The movie then tries to get the audience to "move on", with the underlying lesson of the movie being that when your partner passes away there are ways of having someone keep you company without replacing them (pets, young children are examples which the movie uses). The movie itself is overall quite good, but it does have a few short-lived boring spots. To me at least, it never truly got me out of the depressed state it put me in within the first 10 minutes. The 3d effect is good (select theaters of course), it really limits the gimmicky "throw stuff at the viewer" which is good in my opinion. Overall its a movie I think I only want to experience once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
kylebJun 5, 2009
It's definitely worth watching for the visuals alone, but the story and characters are lacking. The main character, Carl, is particularly distant and bland. His deceased wife, shown only in flashback, was definitely the more interesting It's definitely worth watching for the visuals alone, but the story and characters are lacking. The main character, Carl, is particularly distant and bland. His deceased wife, shown only in flashback, was definitely the more interesting half of that marriage, and I kept wishing she was the main character. Reviewers calling this Pixar's best are smoking dope. Better than the Toy Storys? Better than Nemo? Not even close. Up is a 2nd string Pixar movie along with Cars and Monsters Inc. Still worth seeing, but not particularly moving. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CarolynMJun 7, 2009
Spectacular to watch, but the NY Times is right: some of Up is clever or cute or touching, but spells of it are cliched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.May 30, 2009
The burden of dreams. Life happens, and then it happened, and now it's too late. Mourning over his childhood sweetheart, the old man ties himself to the house that is no longer his home. This single-minded obsession to maneuver the The burden of dreams. Life happens, and then it happened, and now it's too late. Mourning over his childhood sweetheart, the old man ties himself to the house that is no longer his home. This single-minded obsession to maneuver the cumbersome object through a challenging, rough-hewn landscape somewhat recalls Werner Herzog's "Fitzcarraldo", the 1982 film about a man who moves his own cumbersome object, a steamboat, over an Amazonian mountain. Instead of head-shrinking natives, Carl(Ed Asner) uses balloons to do the dirty work, which is only fitting since Klaus Kinski often sounded like a loon. As was the filmmaker and his iconic star, the old man is a misanthrope(albeit This antisocial behavior is probably a result from depression). In one scene, he bloodies a man's forehead with his walker, and in another scene, he initially refuses to grant the boy scout entry into the house despite their rapidly escalating rise in altitude. During Carl's quest to unburden the burden, they encounter a dog(one of many who seem inspired by Kirsten Bakis' novel "Lives of Monster Dogs") that the old man won't love. These talking canines, in the film's best bit, satirizes the anthropomorphic behavior of animals so prevalent in children's films, by showing how dogs being dogs, revert to the baser instincts that are counterintuitive of their cognition training to evolve into man's best...manservant. Carl is also slow to help the bird, a bird that follows the same guiding principles of whimsical zoology as the aquatic creatures found in Wes Anderson's "The Life Aquatic w/Steve Zissou", whose two main characters played by Bill Murray and William Dafoe, seemed like stand-ins for Herzog and Kinski. The old man as a boy idolized Charles Muntz(Christopher Plummer), an adventurer. Jacques Cousteau(the inspiration for Anderson's film) was an adventurer too. "Up" is good, but it has the burden of Pixar dreams. "Up" wakes up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
StehenBJun 6, 2009
Pixar sets a high bar for its movies. While "UP" is quite good, I still felt slightly disappointed by the film. The story, while original for an animated feature, is not well developed. It is also a bit confusing and disturbing for Pixar sets a high bar for its movies. While "UP" is quite good, I still felt slightly disappointed by the film. The story, while original for an animated feature, is not well developed. It is also a bit confusing and disturbing for youngsters (i.e. scenes related to deaths). I can suspend my belief about a house carried off by helium balloons. But there are too many other incredible elements that the film forces us to accept. Talking dogs? Why? The film is better than most, but still falls noticeably short of other Pixar classics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TDKinDallasMay 29, 2009
The movie is good, but nothing exciting about it. The 3D effects were worthless so I wouldn't pay any extra for it. After the amazing 3D for Monsters I don't think any 3D will be as good for a while.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BillPJun 1, 2009
The premise and animation quality might be worthy of a ten, but the execution of the story itself deserved anything but. Definitely my least favorite Pixar film by far (and a bit stunned at the 100s being so freely tossed around). The plot The premise and animation quality might be worthy of a ten, but the execution of the story itself deserved anything but. Definitely my least favorite Pixar film by far (and a bit stunned at the 100s being so freely tossed around). The plot often felt too manipulated by the writers and required too many impractical moments to execute (sure some are required and perfectly fine since its a fantasy, but it became too much for me with the old man repeatedly displaying Herculean strength and dogs flying planes, etc). These cliche and over-the-top action sequences just felt a little cheesy in an amateurish animation studio sort of way (see "Monsters vs Aliens" notion of a storyboard) and not something I've come to expect from Pixar's usually intricate and fully developed story lines. The characters weren't much to get behind either as the old man and the boy scout were simply caricatures of their respective stereotypes to the point that their source of humor is mostly rehashed from other movies (I find that sort of boy scout stereotype to make for an annoying character personally). The dogs, aside from the hero/cute dog, I also found to be annoying after awhile especially since they began to play a prominent role in the movie (one talking dog is plenty). That being said there were some fine moments...the back story of the old man's life has some moments and so does the last 15 minutes of the movie in general (where most of the humor and more enjoyable pace seemed to have been hiding). I'm still a little skeptical at this movie's ability to hold the attention of the younger ages so I was inclined to give it a 6, but gave it a 7 because I'm a softy for animations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KurtCJun 20, 2009
Overall, an enjoyable movie, but not one of Pixar's best (however, I liked it more than WALL-E, which I was not the biggest fan of). Heavy stuff for a children's movie...hence the PG rating, which reflects the darker, more sinister Overall, an enjoyable movie, but not one of Pixar's best (however, I liked it more than WALL-E, which I was not the biggest fan of). Heavy stuff for a children's movie...hence the PG rating, which reflects the darker, more sinister elements of the movie, relatively speaking to other children's films. What was missing from Up! was the joyful and fantastic aesthetic of Pixar's earlier movies (e.g., Toy Story, Finding Nemo, The Incredibles). Up! ended up feeling predictable and heavy-handed. All in all, I'd probably watch it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AnonyMJun 9, 2009
While I do agree with the strong emotional attachments in the movie, I felt like the movie had very little discovery or adventure. Everything was straightforward, this is the bad guy... these are the good guys, this is the problem, here is While I do agree with the strong emotional attachments in the movie, I felt like the movie had very little discovery or adventure. Everything was straightforward, this is the bad guy... these are the good guys, this is the problem, here is the solution. don't get me wrong, the story of the old man growing up was well done, but after his house lifts off, well nothing much really significant happens. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveFSep 27, 2009
after a very "very" good first 20 minutes to this film i was thinking pixar had gone and done the impossible and made a better film than finding nemo. however by the time a squarking bird is introduced into the proceedings and a fairly funny after a very "very" good first 20 minutes to this film i was thinking pixar had gone and done the impossible and made a better film than finding nemo. however by the time a squarking bird is introduced into the proceedings and a fairly funny dog but who ultimately became tiresome i had lost all interest in it as the second half of the movie serves only as filler to add some really not so needed action and peril. From this point on it turns into a run of the mill drudge across the jungle (which suddenly appeared from nowhere by the way) and that is its biggest problem, its like it was a short story reaching a natural conclusion after 40 minutes and then pixar just stretched the whole thing out to make it feature length. we do get the full character arcs from pixar once more but by the time the credits roll i really couldn't have cared less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TokyochuchuMar 9, 2014
Up is a decent yet patchy addition to the Pixar cannon. The elements that deal with grief work excellently, yet the action is a little too abstract in comparison. Love those talking dogs, though. Hilarious!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MalasawasJan 19, 2011
By the first it looks like a drama... it's really touching, the years going by... life, death... love... the idea of eternity, what remains, what doesn't... gotta be clear: I bursted into tears!!!! But... I've got really dissapointed passingBy the first it looks like a drama... it's really touching, the years going by... life, death... love... the idea of eternity, what remains, what doesn't... gotta be clear: I bursted into tears!!!! But... I've got really dissapointed passing thru this ''sad starting'' because it get's so... funny but for kids... the whole rest is intended for children... so it's good, really good Oscar Winning original score (you deserve it Mike Giacchino)... and after all, was the best on animated movies from 2009. Good job after all! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
drlowdonSep 28, 2015
After the emotional opening half hour Up descends (Ha!) into slightly clichéd territory but remains entertaining for the duration of its running time. I personally wouldn't rate it as highly as the very best animated movies but this isAfter the emotional opening half hour Up descends (Ha!) into slightly clichéd territory but remains entertaining for the duration of its running time. I personally wouldn't rate it as highly as the very best animated movies but this is another solid effort from the always reliable Pixar. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
LevelsAndGearDec 27, 2011
"Up" One Line Review!

A bit too tearjerky for me, and the plot moved a smidge too conveniently but there were some good jokes and the digital 3-D was really cool and well done, it was seamlessly implemented - worth watching.
"Up" One Line Review!

A bit too tearjerky for me, and the plot moved a smidge too conveniently but there were some good jokes and the digital 3-D was really cool and well done, it was seamlessly implemented - worth watching.
http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/up/
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Potter17Dec 11, 2011
Delivering some real laughs and interesting moments at the first minutes, "Up" sounds quite promising. But as soon as the plot starts to develop, you realize that "Up" is a good movie but is far away from being a Pixar masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Trev29Jul 1, 2013
Up had a great beginning, an unimpressive middle, and a pleasant ending. It is far from the best material Pixar has produced. You get the feeling it could had been so much more imaginative considering the premise was wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CDQJun 28, 2012
I have come to expect a lot from Pixar. They have consistently churned out wonderful movies, and I had heard Up was no exception. Unfortunately, I don't think that Up is nearly up to par with Pixar's best. The movie starts out fantastic,I have come to expect a lot from Pixar. They have consistently churned out wonderful movies, and I had heard Up was no exception. Unfortunately, I don't think that Up is nearly up to par with Pixar's best. The movie starts out fantastic, but it quickly falls apart. By the time we reach the second half, the movie has devolved into a mess. I think my main problem with Up is that it is the only Pixar movie where I cannot nag the feeling that everything is so implausible. How utterly unrealistic it was bothered me the whole movie, and this is saying something coming from someone who wasn't bothered by rats cooking. None of the characters in Up are particularly memorable. It just didn't connect with me in the way that other Pixar movies have. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
axelkochAug 25, 2012
'Up' is funny, heartrending and lovingly made - very good pictures! But the story with the talking dogs is a bit silly and probably just there to fill time. Also, there are many goofs but that's okay. All in all, one of the best disney movies'Up' is funny, heartrending and lovingly made - very good pictures! But the story with the talking dogs is a bit silly and probably just there to fill time. Also, there are many goofs but that's okay. All in all, one of the best disney movies of all time - a good time for childs and grown-ups! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sanyrubMay 4, 2015
Brilliant first act where emotions ride high. Beautiful, heartwarming and special. However, from the middle of the film to the end it does not feel that special and suffers a clear decline in originality and quality. Still very goodBrilliant first act where emotions ride high. Beautiful, heartwarming and special. However, from the middle of the film to the end it does not feel that special and suffers a clear decline in originality and quality. Still very good nonetheless. Visually stunning and colourful. Great concept that suffers towards the end of the film. A 7.5 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SEROJJan 19, 2015
I had a lots of fun! No matter if you like animations or no, i think you are going to enjoy this great Disney Pixar animation! Nice overall story and characters with some minor weaknesses! 7/10 Recommended
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: A beautifully cafted emotional tale that's rare to see in the animation genre, 'Up' will make you cry and smile. This is because the chaacters are veru well developed so you're able to really connect
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It's
WHAT I LIKED: A beautifully cafted emotional tale that's rare to see in the animation genre, 'Up' will make you cry and smile. This is because the chaacters are veru well developed so you're able to really connect
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It's maybe a little too quirky and odd, and the overall tone is interupted at points
VERDICT: An emotional animation that exceeds on many levels.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ZerpnosMar 5, 2017
Televizyonda denk geldiğim ve hikayesiyle beni etkileyen bir animasyon filmi. Her şeyiyle çok güzel, duyguyu çok güzel veriyor. İzlemesi keyifli e daha ne olsun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews