United Artists | Release Date: December 25, 2008
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 252 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
153
Mixed:
53
Negative:
46
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
Muskrat147Oct 8, 2016
Though thoroughly entertaining and suspenseful, its poor casting choices, misdirection, and uneven performances cause Valkyrie to lose its potential to be the next best historical thriller.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Feb 21, 2016
Good movie. I like the fact that it is based on a true story and that Tom Cruise has some resemblance with Stauffenberg.

Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-642-Valkyrie-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeAug 17, 2015
The movie had an interesting and original plot and pretty good acting performances.But, the movie is long for nothing and it gets boring pretty fast. Overall, a good movie. Nothing more, nothing less.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moonman1994Jan 5, 2015
Valkyrie isn't particularly lacking in aspects but it also doesn't excel in any. The costumes are great but other than that there isn't anything about it that can be considered great. It's just decent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
beingryanjudeAug 31, 2014
Valkyrie is filled with ample potential for an excellent look at Nazi-controlled Germany. Unfortunately between a weak screenplay and another poor performance from Tom Cruise, Valkyrie is shelved with the group of unsuccessful Holocaust films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleApr 2, 2014
This one is not bad at all. The thrills are there and the ending sequence, even though we know it is coming, is as tragic as it should have been. However, in spite of that, the story feels...rushed. For example, the story felt a little on theThis one is not bad at all. The thrills are there and the ending sequence, even though we know it is coming, is as tragic as it should have been. However, in spite of that, the story feels...rushed. For example, the story felt a little on the short side and the character development, as seems to be the case with many films based on military actions, seems to be pretty thin as well. But, on the plus side, the acting was really good across the board. Tom Cruise caught a lot of flack here, but I enjoyed his performance here. It was a really nice, reserved, dramatic, and thoughtful, performance, that was by no means the best acting job I have seen, but it was far from the worst. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysMar 29, 2014
Valkyrie, which is pretty historically accurate, has moments of sheer suspense and well-spoken dialogue, but too much of the movie is just talk, and no action. Also, the film could use a tighter editing job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Valkyrie is a very solid film.
The film is well paced and well written. The actors especially Tom Cruise do their jobs and the directing is also very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ArneeuhMar 16, 2013
After I've read some of the negative reviews of this movie, I was kind of unmotivated to watch this one. However, right now I'm glad I did give it a try. This is one of the few cases where I believe the negative reviewers are wrong.

A lot
After I've read some of the negative reviews of this movie, I was kind of unmotivated to watch this one. However, right now I'm glad I did give it a try. This is one of the few cases where I believe the negative reviewers are wrong.

A lot of historical facts pass by in this movie, during World War II. Those facts were well-researched, and I couldn't really find false facts. It gives a very good view on what Operation Walk├╝re is about. I strongly suggest this movie to everyone who's interested in war movie's. No matter what, you will have learned something afterwards.

There's also a continuous tensions that won't let you go. Don't let the negative reviews mislead you, I strongly recommend this one!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CynicalJohnsonNov 16, 2012
Not the worst film that I've seen. As a fan of History, especially the WW2 era, I found this film rather interesting. The cast did a relatively good job of playing their characters but there was no reel boom to it. Nothing that exciting orNot the worst film that I've seen. As a fan of History, especially the WW2 era, I found this film rather interesting. The cast did a relatively good job of playing their characters but there was no reel boom to it. Nothing that exciting or thrilling, it got a little boring at times. I enjoyed it a little but I doubt I'll ever watch it again. It's worth a watch if you're interested in WW2 and Nazi Germany but if not then I'd give it a miss. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
LandFApr 22, 2012
Adolf Hitler committed suicide April 30, 1945. Valkyrie is about a group of men who are plotting to assassinate Hitler. Due to the information I have just given to you, you now know that by the end of the movie, Hitler will still be alive.Adolf Hitler committed suicide April 30, 1945. Valkyrie is about a group of men who are plotting to assassinate Hitler. Due to the information I have just given to you, you now know that by the end of the movie, Hitler will still be alive. This is a bit of a problem for Valkyrie, but this film does a relatively good job of making you forget about this conclusion. The A-list cast does a more-than-excellent job at acting, though the actual character development is extremely minimal for most characters. Valkyrie does something very smart at the beginning of the movie. We understand that the characters are all speaking German, but they speak English anyway. This eliminates the need for silly German accents, and is much less distracting. There are times when this is contradicted though, such as one scene where there is a woman singing in German, but these are forgivable. Unfortunately, my compliments must end here. Valkyrie is not an action movie. It is not placed under the action genre, and there are almost not action scenes in the movie. Valkyrie is a war movie. Does this seem contradictory to you? I was surprised by the lack of action in Valkyrie, but a lack of action isn't necessarily a bad thing if the movie is entertaining enough. Unfortunately, Valkyrie is mostly just people talking and planning. The reward for waiting through all the talking? One explosion. Really, that's all. For all the planning and talking and such, I expected a very elaborate plan to take place. The plan, though, is really not much more then setting a bomb next to Hitler during a meeting. So I ask, how did a film with such a simple plot manage to stretch to a unnecessarily long, 2 hours? It seems that more time was spent thinking of one liners, than developing an interesting plot. What was most agonizing though, was all the potential Valkyrie. Imagine if we were given flashbacks to Hitler's childhood. And what if there was some more background about the main character's marriage? More story, a little more action, and some decent character development would've gone a long way for turning this mostly mediocre film into the masterpiece it just missed out on. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Critic2012Apr 12, 2012
Director Bryan Singer (The Usual Suspects) brings to life one of the most bold and daring plots in history. Colonel Stauffenberg (Tom Cruise) rewrites Hitler's Valkyrie so that his band of German rebels, genuinely concerned for theirDirector Bryan Singer (The Usual Suspects) brings to life one of the most bold and daring plots in history. Colonel Stauffenberg (Tom Cruise) rewrites Hitler's Valkyrie so that his band of German rebels, genuinely concerned for their country's future, may initiate it and bring about the downfall of Hitler, and consequently, peace. Overall, the film was excellent. It dramatized the incredible events leading up to and during the assassination attempt very well, the acting was incredible, the characters very well developed, with a moving finale that is guaranteed to give you goosebumps. How many of us would actually stand up for what we believe in? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
smijatovDec 30, 2011
The film is indeed entertaining, and very suspenseful at times. Cruise shines at what he does best - action. The issue here is that there is very little of that action that he's best at. All we are left with is the drama. Which is notThe film is indeed entertaining, and very suspenseful at times. Cruise shines at what he does best - action. The issue here is that there is very little of that action that he's best at. All we are left with is the drama. Which is not necessarily bad, but it does not quite work as well as it was anticipated. While the film is interesting enough to keep you entertained and watching, overall, it does not really succeed in feeling like a "real WW2 film," whatever that might be like. It almost feels as if it was a "what if" scenario where we see all these things that could have been, but never really happened. That is the critical flaw of the film, indeed: the fact that it feels fake, when it actually is based on reality. Nonetheless, there are some good thrills, very good production and a good (but mismanaged) cast. A good film, but noting special. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
Pretty terrible. The entire film is insanely boring until the last 20 minutes or so, Even then its not that good. The acting was ok but I expected far better. Overall it was very disapointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
gartside27Nov 1, 2011
I enjoyed watching this film, which may sound like sacrilege seeing as I am a History Undergraduate, but I did. People will say that german characters being played by actors from America and Britain is silly, but I would have found it a muchI enjoyed watching this film, which may sound like sacrilege seeing as I am a History Undergraduate, but I did. People will say that german characters being played by actors from America and Britain is silly, but I would have found it a much less enjoyable experience if they had TRIED to put on an accent. A good film when all is said and done, one of Tom Cruise's less tedious performances. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
VerbalNov 18, 2010
A very interesting historical piece, and entertaining the whole way through. The end result seems to be worth the struggles endured in production, to film at some of the original sites.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
PaxsterOct 7, 2010
Tom Cruise is just really bad in this film and at points it verges on comedy. E.g The telephone call bits where it keeps being past on. We all know the story and yet there are no little details that are mildly interesting or exciting andTom Cruise is just really bad in this film and at points it verges on comedy. E.g The telephone call bits where it keeps being past on. We all know the story and yet there are no little details that are mildly interesting or exciting and after half an hour you can't wait until Cruise is put in front of that firing squad. Oh Dear Tom, Oh Dear. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
LeventeSJun 25, 2009
I don't know why everyone hates Tom Cruise, he's not a bad actor and I don't see why the fact that he's a nut job should interfere with me enjoying his not-bad acting. Valkyrie doesn't have a lot to say about it I don't know why everyone hates Tom Cruise, he's not a bad actor and I don't see why the fact that he's a nut job should interfere with me enjoying his not-bad acting. Valkyrie doesn't have a lot to say about it except this: I knew every single detail of the July 20 plot before I saw this film and I was still on the edge of my seat for every second of it. Any picture that can do that is worth seeing in my book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GeorgeMJun 11, 2009
Valkyrie is probably one of the more interesting films I've seen lately regarding an important part of WWII history, and that being one of the many assassination attempts on Hitler's life by the Germans themselves. It's Valkyrie is probably one of the more interesting films I've seen lately regarding an important part of WWII history, and that being one of the many assassination attempts on Hitler's life by the Germans themselves. It's interesting to see these heroic Germans banding together to help take down a tyrannical leader that is clearly ruining the world around them. These heroes care about their country and their way of life that has seemingly been stripped away from them for far too long...and when our main character Staufenberg (Cruise) gets injured, its the last straw. Cruise does a decent enough job with whats given to him...playing a character that is completely torn away from his duty to serve a leader that simlply isn't worth serving. Its ruined his body and his way of life, and he is sick of it...and he jumps at the oppurtunity to change things, which is noble and heroic given the dire consequences he knows he will undoubtedly face if caught. The rest of the (amazing) cast does an even better job...most notable Kenneth Bragnagh, Terrence Stamp, and Bill Nighy. Overall the film is rather predictable, its not very tense as anyone with a shred of knowledge regarding history will know how this all plays out but it still makes for a very interesting watch. RECOMMENDED. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CaitlinRMay 27, 2009
This film was not as bad as (almost) everyone is saying, in spite of Tom Cruise (who was tolerable in here). It was a quiet and understated thriller that kept my attention.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VladimirVMay 25, 2009
A very good movie about real facts in history.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
M.AMay 20, 2009
Pretty much OK to watch, but you forget it fairly quickly.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
Vincnet&JoannaMay 19, 2009
My main issue with this film is the lack of authenticity created by the use of British and American speech by 'German Characters'. The film lacks continuity because you have all of these 'non-germans' reciting their lines My main issue with this film is the lack of authenticity created by the use of British and American speech by 'German Characters'. The film lacks continuity because you have all of these 'non-germans' reciting their lines when there should have been a larger effort for authenticity. I would have loved to sense that these were Germans conspiring against the Nazis, but I just didn't get that total feeling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayHMay 14, 2009
Two big flaws: It should have gone the route of "Downfall", and been a historical drama instead of a routine thriller. Second, I could not help but think of how many many actors would have been sooooo much better cast than Tom Cruise. He is Two big flaws: It should have gone the route of "Downfall", and been a historical drama instead of a routine thriller. Second, I could not help but think of how many many actors would have been sooooo much better cast than Tom Cruise. He is not the least bit convincing. The production is excellent - good art direction, cinematography etc. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JonathanCApr 11, 2009
This would have been a great movie if Tom Cruise hadn't been in it. Every other character was truly brought to life, and I actually cared and cried over their deaths. But Cruise's performance cut them movie off at the knees. While This would have been a great movie if Tom Cruise hadn't been in it. Every other character was truly brought to life, and I actually cared and cried over their deaths. But Cruise's performance cut them movie off at the knees. While I find the whole story fascinating I just couldn't bring myself to like or care about Cruise's von Stauffenberg. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VictordeT.Apr 1, 2009
Historical and realistic. A very good film for people who are bored about American action mindless films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TimmyTMar 1, 2009
Entertaining and suspenful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JuliaAFeb 20, 2009
I like the way the story went from the beginning to the end in constant dosage of tense,and it did justice to let the death of the characters just so. And, no, this is not the movie where you'll see it's just about Tom Cruise as I like the way the story went from the beginning to the end in constant dosage of tense,and it did justice to let the death of the characters just so. And, no, this is not the movie where you'll see it's just about Tom Cruise as the main actor playing oh-so-military. No dramatic cliche words (well,maybe when Stauffenberg yelled his last words) and the plot is a one-way without unnecessary flashbacks or imaginary scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DannyCFeb 20, 2009
great movie; Tom Criuse put together a respectable performance. This is good for him after all the negative publicity in the past few years. Worth seeing. Even though I knew the plot before I saw the movie, I was intrigued by it when see the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
jacksfilmblog.blogspotFeb 3, 2009
How do you build a thriller around a story of which the audience knows the outcome right from the start? The makers of the film have been blessed with the fact that the details of the plot are still relatively obscure, so although we know How do you build a thriller around a story of which the audience knows the outcome right from the start? The makers of the film have been blessed with the fact that the details of the plot are still relatively obscure, so although we know that the bomb intended to kill Hitler did not succeed, it is the aftermath of this sequence which is the most intriguing. The plot fails at about the halfway point of the story, and I guarantee that everything that takes place afterwards will be news to you, and that despite yourself, you will end up on the edge of your seat wondering how it is going to end. The film is built around the idea that the biggest plans revolve around the tiny details, and it spares none of them yet still manages to make such a complex story coherent and seem almost straightforward. However, this almost complete submission to the plot does sacrifice attention to the characters. We never find out why Stauffenberg, or any of the other members of the conspiracy, have gone from Nazi generals to deciding to rid themselves of their Führer. Although maybe the audience Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful