Lions Gate Films | Release Date: April 5, 2002
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 73 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
44
Mixed:
17
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MoK.Mar 23, 2007
A college-comedy classic. SO many quotable lines and memorable moments. of course it's a lousy movie - but it's still hillarious. Reviewers need to chill out and stop reviewing every movie like it's an oscar contender.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RyanM.Sep 10, 2002
I agree with the world, it is almost painfully falt, but I found the opening 5 minutes some of the funniest fottage of the year. And that's a fact.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayD.Sep 11, 2002
This movie certainly does not deserve the low ratings it received. If it had been meant for up tight types in need of some colon blow of their own you might have something to complain about. However, it certainly reached its target audience. This movie certainly does not deserve the low ratings it received. If it had been meant for up tight types in need of some colon blow of their own you might have something to complain about. However, it certainly reached its target audience. Sure the love story is weak, but Ryan Reynolds showed us that he has incredible comedic timing. His performance carries the movie, he did not have the luxury of a great supporting cast like many of his predecesors had (American pie ect.). In spite of this i found this movie nearly as funny, and yes i realize it was not as well written but i laughed just as hard. And no that doesn't speak volumes about my maturity level and intelectual capacity. I just accepted the movie for what it was, a fun and enjoyable comedy directly aimed at our young adults. If you can not see that then dont bother reviewing movies you have no intention of liking. It is obvious your minds were made up about Van before you set foot in the theatre. Ryan Reynolds can and will make you laugh through the use of facial expresions alone, i cant wait till his next film comes out! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobG.Mar 5, 2004
It's funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ryanmMay 10, 2005
Genius friggin genius, loved it, blah.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanFJul 5, 2009
I shall admit from the beginning of this review that I was seduced by Van Wilder (or should I say Ryan Reynolds) from the start. For me he plays the role of a man-child not wanting to leave university perfectly. The character of Van could I shall admit from the beginning of this review that I was seduced by Van Wilder (or should I say Ryan Reynolds) from the start. For me he plays the role of a man-child not wanting to leave university perfectly. The character of Van could have so easily been an unlikeable, unlovable idiot in the wrong actors hands, but Reynolds injects charm and a Jim Carreyesq humour that works. Admittedly this is not Shakespeare, and I Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KeesungK.Apr 5, 2002
Hey, I don't know what these critics expect from comedies, but I knew about National Lampoon movies reputations and their level of humor when I went to watch it; I expected much lower density of entertainment in this movie. Boy was I Hey, I don't know what these critics expect from comedies, but I knew about National Lampoon movies reputations and their level of humor when I went to watch it; I expected much lower density of entertainment in this movie. Boy was I wrong... Guys, it's a comedy. When it comes to making audience (I suppose young audience like myself) laugh, this movie does its job and does it well. Average of 21 points is definitely not what I would give. Well...they are the ones who gave "Royal Tenenbaums" 75, so you should make your own judgment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveoK.Apr 8, 2002
Ryan Reynolds is really good, the Indian kid is hilarious and the gross out gags go beyond anything you've seen before. Derivative? Sure. Funny? You darn tootin. Critics just don't get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobH.Dec 1, 2003
Trying to help it out a bit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleMar 14, 2003
if your a guy and not gay, then this movie is perfect and ranks up there with american pie 1 and 2 and porkies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinS.Apr 5, 2007
This movie was hilarious and all these critics are retarded and need to find a new job!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeyG.May 13, 2002
To paraphrase the brilliance of Bachelor Party: I usually don't like my filth this clean! This movie is too nice for the genre. A couple of good gross out scenes, for sure, but the overall sweetness of the movie seems out of place. To paraphrase the brilliance of Bachelor Party: I usually don't like my filth this clean! This movie is too nice for the genre. A couple of good gross out scenes, for sure, but the overall sweetness of the movie seems out of place. However, Ryan Reynolds should be able to pull off the Tom Hanks movie career upgrade based on the way he carries this movie and makes it enjoyable. Just don't do any movies with Meg Ryan or Sally Field! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChuckW.Sep 3, 2002
I felt this movie was hysterical. Ryan Reynolds has a delivery that's reminiscent of Chevy Chase back when he was good. Teck, however, was a throwaway character. He had no purpose whatsoever, and wouldn't have been missed if his I felt this movie was hysterical. Ryan Reynolds has a delivery that's reminiscent of Chevy Chase back when he was good. Teck, however, was a throwaway character. He had no purpose whatsoever, and wouldn't have been missed if his character didn't exist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThamanMar 14, 2003
Sweetness.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranciscoGabrielAgreloR.Mar 7, 2003
I found in this movie all that I was looking for. Ryan Reynolds was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LizzieSnJul 4, 2003
I love this movie, i laugh my ass off every time I watch it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LamontR.May 24, 2004
This is a funny damned movie. If you don't like it, you don't get it. It's funny in the way that Animal House was funny. Ryan Reynolds is a solid Otter update.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ComedymanDMar 12, 2005
I have no idea why this movie is so poorly rated. its damn good! its one of those "college humor" stories. its awsome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephenW.Jun 21, 2005
Very entertaining movie. If you a soccermom or a goody-goody or christian, even all 3, you probably won't or should like this movie. The rest of us can "Deal" with gross, disturbing scenes (Donut part), enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronAJul 9, 2005
Well duh, this movie was off the hook, and as for chevy chase, get a clue, i hated all of his movies. This movie was beyond funny, and just quite perfect. And they're right, how dare you compare animal house to this, this is so much better!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickSAug 30, 2005
All around hilarious movie. Who ever gave it a 26 should be shot. All in all a great movie and something every college kid should own!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AN.Aug 29, 2007
Classic movie. Me and my friends were rolling on the floor laughing when it first came out. I must mention that we do have a rather immature sense of humor, which is why this movie appealed to us.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JEDec 9, 2008
A university/college student classic. We have a yearly showing on campus and its one of the most attended events of the year. Personally, its a favourite. Sure the acting isn't amazing, and the plots not deep, but It doesn't A university/college student classic. We have a yearly showing on campus and its one of the most attended events of the year. Personally, its a favourite. Sure the acting isn't amazing, and the plots not deep, but It doesn't pretend to be anything but a fun, quotable movie. The reviewers are professionals, they look at films like a dog show judge looks at a dog. I love my dog cause it cuddles me and it fetches a stick, to me my dog is the best in the world, but it probably would be given a F- in a dog show. For its intended audience, and for just being funny, Van Wilder will always be a 10. I've quoted this movie more in my 4 years of University than I've quoted Monty Python, and that's quite a feat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
R.LApr 30, 2009
Van Wilder consummate play boy. all time part animal. And a spark of hope and inspiration when needed, these are a few of the many things that make watching Van do what he does best so much fun. Van Wilder stars Ryan Reynolds as the title Van Wilder consummate play boy. all time part animal. And a spark of hope and inspiration when needed, these are a few of the many things that make watching Van do what he does best so much fun. Van Wilder stars Ryan Reynolds as the title character in this hilarious romp. Wilder is someone who we all want to be and who are all on the inside. Wilder is a 7th year college student at Coolidge College he's the king of the campus and he's got a party going every night, and a girl left and right, every guy wants to be him, and every girl wants him's, but when Van's dad cuts him off and leaves him hanging in the wind he's going to have to come up with away to stay in school or lose it all. Van Wilder is a movie that's got it all, hot girls. Wild Parties and outrageous humor that you just can't help laughing at. It's the perfect romantic comedy that is right up any guys alley( or girls, the ones that can stand this kind of humor anyways.) but all in all this cult classic is not just a good comedy but a good lesson that if you live your life by partying and evading the future you'll never get anywhere. Van Wilder is a party you don't want to miss or ignore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
L.W.Aug 16, 2002
I think the movie was totally adorable. Not the funniest I've seen a while, and rather gross at times ... but ... quite likeable!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NikolaosT.Nov 7, 2004
Ok..let me think..! This movie is one of the best teen comedies I 've ever watched. I think it's much more funnier than "American Pie1,2,3" , "Not another teen movie",etc. It's a movie.That's the difference with the Ok..let me think..! This movie is one of the best teen comedies I 've ever watched. I think it's much more funnier than "American Pie1,2,3" , "Not another teen movie",etc. It's a movie.That's the difference with the others teen comedies. Ryan Reynolds is excellent and Tarra Reid too. I love this movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
aaronj.Mar 25, 2005
This movie is hilarious! great cast and a must see for teenagers. one of the most memorable movies i have seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
Van Wilder is a new college classic with a great script and some pitch-perfect comedic delivery from Reynolds. It echoes 'Animal House' like nobody's business.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews