Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2001
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 432 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
330
Mixed:
32
Negative:
70
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
ToddJ.Sep 2, 2002
The worst movie I've seen this year. tell Tom Cruise I want my 3.99 back.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
2
JamesG.Jan 1, 2002
I can only remember seeing one movie worse than this--"The Blair Witch Project." A total loss except for the close-ups of Penelope.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MartaMar 29, 2002
This movie really disappoited me! It was one of the worst films I have ever watched! The storyline was terrible, and not forgetting the fact of seeing Tom Cruise's usually beautiful face distorted for 99% of the film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Jul 12, 2002
Tom Cruise is mean, I don't like him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AnimaOct 2, 2005
Well, before giving it a good rating, you gotta see the original ("Abre Los Ojos" by Alejandro Amenabar). Hate to disappoint you guys, but this one is total crap.. Unless you are one of those people without imagination, and you like all the Well, before giving it a good rating, you gotta see the original ("Abre Los Ojos" by Alejandro Amenabar). Hate to disappoint you guys, but this one is total crap.. Unless you are one of those people without imagination, and you like all the answers being given to you, lefting no place for you to think, you should stay away from this remake. (Sorry for my English, I've only learned it at school :) ). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AndrewC.Feb 4, 2002
What can I say, get some big names and you get a load of viewers and a handful of them will like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MikeyG.May 13, 2002
Is this piece of crap still in the theatres? Who is watching this? The only reason I'm giving it a 1 is because Cameron Diaz is delightful in her role. However, she's barely in the friggen' movie! Penelope Cruz and Tom Is this piece of crap still in the theatres? Who is watching this? The only reason I'm giving it a 1 is because Cameron Diaz is delightful in her role. However, she's barely in the friggen' movie! Penelope Cruz and Tom (I'm not gay) Cruise basically prove the Joey Tribbiani theory of acting and Tom's heterosexuality claims correct. Joey's theory, for those who don't remember, is that a couple that exhibits hot chemistry on stage or on screen is not involved. Once they do it, the heat evaporates and there's nothing in the performances. Judging by Vanilla Sky, Tom can put all those homosexuality rumors to rest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
D.MigsJun 15, 2002
The dullest movie I've seen in years. The dialogue is asinine and will leave you with gapping mouth at the shear self-indulgence of this caca. A kind of Mulholland Drive for the simple minded. I remember the buzz at the release was The dullest movie I've seen in years. The dialogue is asinine and will leave you with gapping mouth at the shear self-indulgence of this caca. A kind of Mulholland Drive for the simple minded. I remember the buzz at the release was cheering Tom for braving a disfigured on screen presence. Someone pass the barf bag -- I'm getting sick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JenniJun 18, 2002
Too hard to follow. I cannot STAND Penelope Cruz and thought Cameron Diaz would be more prominent in the movie than airhead Penelope. Jason Lee is awesome as always though, but the film is just all over the place. Kinda like Traffic. I Too hard to follow. I cannot STAND Penelope Cruz and thought Cameron Diaz would be more prominent in the movie than airhead Penelope. Jason Lee is awesome as always though, but the film is just all over the place. Kinda like Traffic. I cannot STAND that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RogerE.Jun 8, 2002
This movie is so bad it does not deserve a comment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DAXY.Aug 14, 2002
This has got to be one of the worst movies I have ever seen. It tries so hard to be profound that it makes Disney seem deep! You want more meaning in your life?....wake up and don't waste your money on this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ToddJ.Sep 2, 2002
The worst movie I've seen this year. tell Tom Cruise I want my 3.99 back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
mikeFeb 14, 2005
This movie fails big time! stay away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ArnoldP.Dec 17, 2001
A gallant attempt by a terrific director, out of his element, finally results in a over the top film bore. Who really cares about this narcissistic playboy?, bravely played by Tom Cruise who resorts to smirking for too much of the film. A gallant attempt by a terrific director, out of his element, finally results in a over the top film bore. Who really cares about this narcissistic playboy?, bravely played by Tom Cruise who resorts to smirking for too much of the film. Cameron Diaz does scores high job as a unsavory character. Why even remake this all too recent foreign flick? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TroyP.Apr 27, 2002
This movie confuses. All Tom likes to do is have sex in movies. Revolting, and unattractive. What was was the point? The original Spanish version "Open Your Eyes," though foreign, makes a hell of a lot more sense. Cameron Crowe needs to keep This movie confuses. All Tom likes to do is have sex in movies. Revolting, and unattractive. What was was the point? The original Spanish version "Open Your Eyes," though foreign, makes a hell of a lot more sense. Cameron Crowe needs to keep good originals alone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MarkB,Jul 16, 2002
Barely watchable. Whatever the message is that this film is trying to get across, it was wasted on me. The film was boring; it was so detached from its characters that I couldn't have cared less about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JulieB.Jul 16, 2002
Good: David Helfgott Tilda Swinton The lawyer. Not-So-Good: Penelope Cruz Tom Cruise The ending ruins it all. You realize that you spent the whole movie thinking that the details and plot twists were important when they really didn't Good: David Helfgott Tilda Swinton The lawyer. Not-So-Good: Penelope Cruz Tom Cruise The ending ruins it all. You realize that you spent the whole movie thinking that the details and plot twists were important when they really didn't matter at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MarkM.Nov 17, 2002
This movie is annoying.
0 of 0 users found this helpful