Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2001
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 432 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
330
Mixed:
32
Negative:
70
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MorriBeyAug 8, 2011
I disagree with many 'reviewers' and feel that this version is a much more polished movie than the original spanish movie. The soundtrack is amazing and the suspense is real. An amazing achievement by Crowe.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
OzmahunterJan 22, 2011
A well put together and interesting movie. Honestly, it is insane that it has such a low critic score. If you like movies that keep you guessing like Fight Club or Eternal Sunshine, then you will enjoy this movie. It's confusing because it'sA well put together and interesting movie. Honestly, it is insane that it has such a low critic score. If you like movies that keep you guessing like Fight Club or Eternal Sunshine, then you will enjoy this movie. It's confusing because it's meant to be and it triumphs in being entertaining until the end reveal. And on a second viewing, everything makes sense and is one cohesive picture. As others point out, there are many Fantasy vs. Reality films out there, many with more shocking "twists", but Vanilla Sky is a gripping movie in it's own right and me and my friends definitely enjoyed watching it even now, a decade after it's original release. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
xxkaiokenxxApr 28, 2015
Just ignore the "Critic Reviews", they cant be Serious Professionals. Its a much more polished version of "abre los ojos" and Eduardo Noriega did a HORRIBLE work. Thanks Vanilla Sky, to transform this history into a masterpiece.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Khunter4382Apr 13, 2012
You either understand this film or you don't.....and that alone would base the difference between a positive or negative review. This film is indeed a glorious mess........that's what it intends to be and yet, in the final few moments of theYou either understand this film or you don't.....and that alone would base the difference between a positive or negative review. This film is indeed a glorious mess........that's what it intends to be and yet, in the final few moments of the film, it bunches up into something that somehow works. In the end, the story hits you in the gut and calls into question every character that you've grown accustomed to throughout the duration, and it asks you to let it all go. So devastating but so courageous and raw. Performances all around are top-notch, including Diaz, who does some of her best work here. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ballpark_frankNov 25, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have no idea what the plot is...which characters or scenes are actually happening and which are an 'altered reality'...no idea of whether (SPOILER ALERT...) the Cruise character is alive, dead or in some suspended state...in general, no idea of what's happening at all. Still, for some reason, I really like this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
TylerDsCreationJun 10, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I feel that blending genres is a very tough, but interesting, way of portraying a story. You take the different aspects and you don’t have to necessarily have equal amounts of each, but you do need to try to manage the quality for each. If one part is mediocre, why even have it? Vanilla Sky was a blend of a number of genres including drama, romance, psychological thriller, science-fiction, and a bit of mystery. Vanilla Sky may have had all of this, but I will proudly say that I loved each and every unique aspect.
Vanilla Sky begins with the wealthy and sadly narcissistic, David Aames (Tom Cruise) waking up in his bed and going about his average morning with that smug grin he has. He drives from his house on his way to work and to his surprise; the streets of New York City are empty. Once he reaches the uninhabited Madison Square Garden, he begins to run in panic from his car. After running a good distance through the streets, he screams up into the sky and he wakes up from the nightmare. This scene may have little to do with the overall story, but I think it was an important sequence to show you what you’re in for. I will tell you now, Vanilla Sky is confusing. The story chronicles the wide and deranged psyche of a man who goes insane, so it’s going to challenge your mind as well. But this scene tells you up front that reality and dreamscape will be jumbled together in this film and you’re going to have to figure it out. I make this connection because the movie begins with him in the dream, so you really don’t know that it’s a dream until he wakes up. Then throughout the rest of the movie you are tossed in and out of consciousness without warning, but it all adds to the experience.
Another thing that adds to the experience is the stylistic choices in this movie. I have seen some pretty stylistic movies in my life but man, this one had some style. The cinematography, the set pieces, the props, and the things people did were all so cool. Cameron Crowe did a fantastic job directing it too. I am a fan of Crowe, I liked Say Anything, loved Jerry Maguire, didn’t care much for Almost Famous, but he’s still a fantastic director and it shows in this one. There is a scene where Tom Cruise is in the lobby of L.E. screaming for tech support and the camera is spinning around him as he is standing in this empty room with his reflections surrounding him and this is one instance where the directing is very impressive. It really adds something and so does the soundtrack. This movie had such a collective soundtrack and every song fit so perfectly to the scene it was in. I’ll talk about the same scene I did before and say that the choice of “Good Vibrations” to be in that scene was awesome.
There are many interpretations of Vanilla Sky and they all are interesting, but everyone has their own opinion. The twist in this movie is that everything that happened after David fell asleep on the sidewalk was a dream that he was having in cryogenic sleep. He had killed himself after the car accident when he found a place called Life Extensions or L.E. where he could sleep contently forever with the perfect life. For a while, he does live a perfect life, he gets his face repaired and Sofia back and it’s all good (he doesn’t know he is sleeping at this time). But as we all know, we can’t sleep for too long or else the dream can turn into a nightmare and when David begins to suspect something, that’s when it does. I think this is a really cool concept and I really enjoy it in this movie. This mixture of subjects has never been done before and I don’t think it ever will be again. Then the ending has multiple interpretations too. I believe that he chose to live a normal life and he decided to wake himself up from sleep and the end of the movie is him waking up from that sleep which happened to be 150 years. The moral of this story is that you can’t run from your problems forever. David says that he wants to live a normal life and doesn’t want to dream anymore meaning that he wants to take in the world for what it is and not live the perfect life he had always wanted because his problems even caught him there. The present is 150 years later so he can start over and take on the world without his handicaps like his father’s inheritance. They even bring that up; his finances won’t last long in this time.
Vanilla Sky did get mixed reviews from critics, but in the end, I do not agree with any of them. I think that Vanilla Sky may have a few flaws, but it is still an entertaining and intellectually rewarding movie that actually contains some beauty. It has a good message and there are a few others I didn't even mention. The stylistic choices were cool and the acting and directing were great. Vanilla Sky is a massive blend of many genres that come together to make a thought provoking and entertaining film that actually works.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
StaticSpineSep 23, 2013
There is some psychological pressure along the movie, but the story do not seem natural and honestly it is a bit boring in the middle and the ending from my point of view is the thing called deus ex machina, it does not look logical. OverallThere is some psychological pressure along the movie, but the story do not seem natural and honestly it is a bit boring in the middle and the ending from my point of view is the thing called deus ex machina, it does not look logical. Overall a decent movie. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
EricTSep 10, 2010
Wow. A 45% from critics?

This just shows how little credence you should pay to professional opinions on works of art. This movie floored me and stuck with me for years. To come here and see it scored below dreck like Doctor Dolittle and
Wow. A 45% from critics?

This just shows how little credence you should pay to professional opinions on works of art. This movie floored me and stuck with me for years. To come here and see it scored below dreck like Doctor Dolittle and Zombie Strippers is an absolute insult.

If you're a fan of high concept science fiction and have at least a triple digit IQ, you owe it to yourself to watch this movie and come to your own conclusions. Criminally underrated.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
MarcJApr 29, 2008
One of the best movies I have seen. Raises many questions and evokes even more feelings.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
EricTSep 3, 2008
This movie is amazing, although it's sometimes intense and painful to the point of being hard to watch The negative reviews are hilarious; they remind me of AI, in particular the complaints about "too large of scope". If you can't This movie is amazing, although it's sometimes intense and painful to the point of being hard to watch The negative reviews are hilarious; they remind me of AI, in particular the complaints about "too large of scope". If you can't wrap your head around epic, high-concept scifi, then go watch Animal House or something. This is a fantastically made and riveting film. Those scoring it on par with "The Hottie and Nottie" is deeply clueless. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarlaMJul 27, 2009
I simply do NOT understand how anyone could say this film is anything but brilliant.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
VanillaSky96Sep 18, 2014
For a movie that is 13 years old now and is buried in the past, this is truly a great movie for those that like this kind of film. It really isn't meant for everyone and I can understand where the displeasure from critics and users alike.For a movie that is 13 years old now and is buried in the past, this is truly a great movie for those that like this kind of film. It really isn't meant for everyone and I can understand where the displeasure from critics and users alike. However, if you like science fiction thrillers, romance thrillers or mind-bending movies, this movie is for you. It's similar to the likes of Jacobs Ladder to put it in perspective. I'd at least say watch it through once and see what you think. Personally, I think critics were too harsh on this film and that follow the users score more since the users seem to actually understand this film more. I loved this movie and I hope if you watch it that you will too! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JohnY.Jun 9, 2002
Wow. A thoughtful, emotional & psychotic mix of: Jacob's Ladder, The Matrix, Total Recall & and a bit of Sixth Sense. Tom Cruise's best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeniseB.Jul 4, 2002
I am utterly haunted by this movie. It is artistically beautiful, the music fitting and grand, the acting fabulous. I am not sure whether to categorize it as a love, horror, adventure, mystery, sexual/intellectual thriller, and I like that. I am utterly haunted by this movie. It is artistically beautiful, the music fitting and grand, the acting fabulous. I am not sure whether to categorize it as a love, horror, adventure, mystery, sexual/intellectual thriller, and I like that. I am impassioned by its vulgarity, and fell in love with its romance. I have never been a Tom cruise fan until now. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffM.Jul 8, 2002
Absorbing from start to finish, Cruise really shines in a role that knowlingly plays with his public persona.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattZ.Jun 30, 2003
What a great film! The best part about the film is that you can interpret it several different ways. Was it fiction or was it reality. Or, was it both. Here is my take on the film. Everything before he flew off the cliff was real. Everything What a great film! The best part about the film is that you can interpret it several different ways. Was it fiction or was it reality. Or, was it both. Here is my take on the film. Everything before he flew off the cliff was real. Everything after he flew off the cliff was Cruise in a coma. Every wild thing that happened was a result of the coma dream like state. The nurse then flashes a light in his eye to wake him up. Whatever your interpretation is, the film features excellent acting, a great cast and 100% total intrest throughout. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZiggyStardustNov 7, 2002
A way underrated film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnDoeApr 3, 2002
Spectacular!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SethB.Jun 9, 2002
Brilliant, though I didn't think so at first. It's a slight, slight bit like "Mullholand Drive" in that it's a 'multi-watch' kind of film. The problem is that unlike Mullholand, it isn't apparent that this is a Brilliant, though I didn't think so at first. It's a slight, slight bit like "Mullholand Drive" in that it's a 'multi-watch' kind of film. The problem is that unlike Mullholand, it isn't apparent that this is a movie that requires a 'second spin'. Most people probably think that they've pretty much got it, tee hee. Some advice: watch it again! I know, I know why watch it again if you thought it was so-so the first time? Watch it again, and like me you'll find out. This might be one of those movies you're gonna need to buy and veiw over and over again. There is so much hidden. Now for all those that think they're so great that they don't need a second viewing: I guess you know about the bike. Also the car. and the 'signs'. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ViperV.Aug 31, 2002
It's the gratest movie !!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MisslER.Aug 3, 2002
This movie has touched every part of my life and my soul. when i watch it my whole body becomes inthralled in the story. i am addicted.. i cant stop watching. and it gave me inspiration... " Every passing minute is a chance to turn it allThis movie has touched every part of my life and my soul. when i watch it my whole body becomes inthralled in the story. i am addicted.. i cant stop watching. and it gave me inspiration... " Every passing minute is a chance to turn it all around. " Penelope was wonderful as was jason lee. over all the movie was amazingly beautiful and worth watching over and over... and the soundtrack is to die for. ... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JessieA.Aug 5, 2002
This is now my favorite movie! I am absolutely thrilled to see something of substance coming out in theatres. I fell in love with this movie and it professes exactly what I endeavor to show in the novel I'm writing. It is a fascinating This is now my favorite movie! I am absolutely thrilled to see something of substance coming out in theatres. I fell in love with this movie and it professes exactly what I endeavor to show in the novel I'm writing. It is a fascinating testament to the reality of true love, and the power each person has inside themselves to achieve their dreams. Best movie EVER. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Marc-oO.Sep 25, 2003
This film is f**king amazing!!! Tom Cruise was great, Penelope Cruise was spell binding and the support was rock solid Jason Lee, Kurt Russell especially. The music was fantastic especially during the final scenes, i have seen this movie at This film is f**king amazing!!! Tom Cruise was great, Penelope Cruise was spell binding and the support was rock solid Jason Lee, Kurt Russell especially. The music was fantastic especially during the final scenes, i have seen this movie at least 5 times and still find it enthralling. Please Hollywood make more movies that make you think!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JSep 6, 2003
The Best Movie I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
UterSep 7, 2003
I don't care what the critics say. This was a great movie. The story was deep and thoughtful, and there were some very memorable scenes. Walking through New York Times square in the day time with zero people for example. I would say I don't care what the critics say. This was a great movie. The story was deep and thoughtful, and there were some very memorable scenes. Walking through New York Times square in the day time with zero people for example. I would say it's definitely worth owning. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkF.Sep 9, 2003
Eerie, suspenseful, and romantic, filled with a profound sadness I can hardly describe with words, Cameron Crowe paints a picture that is underrated and will haunt me for a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LisandroL.Feb 13, 2004
I think this one is one of the greatest movies of the xxi century, it has all the elements.the sadest about the movie is that the end is very thrilled.great cast
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickJul 8, 2004
I've seen this movie at least 10 times, and I will say (while holding onto my manhood) that this is the only movie I've actually shed a tear to multiple times. I fell in love with Penelope Cruz and hated Diaz's character: I've seen this movie at least 10 times, and I will say (while holding onto my manhood) that this is the only movie I've actually shed a tear to multiple times. I fell in love with Penelope Cruz and hated Diaz's character: Julie Gianni. I will admit that Diaz acted incredibly well in this movie, actually allowing me to hate her character so much that it left a sour taste toward her in my mouth. This is in my Top 10 favorite movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
restiAug 5, 2005
Vanila Sky is in one of best. Cant believe wat the critics had said about this movie. Some of the critics see the scenes as a whole series of David's (the main character) life. Although the plot is puzzled,but the movie is well Vanila Sky is in one of best. Cant believe wat the critics had said about this movie. Some of the critics see the scenes as a whole series of David's (the main character) life. Although the plot is puzzled,but the movie is well prepared, since at the beginning David says "We are all pretend that we are not going to die" and what happend in the next sceen is his fear of not finishing or doing things well (his free lifestyle) since he thinks that he can finish it later. The film is a series of dreams or David's fear exactly. Started after the car accident, everything in the movie is David's fear (see it from its unusual lightning or setting). The character also symbolised many aspect in his life. Diaz symbolise his desire (sexual), Russel symbolize a steady adult man, His bestfriend symbolize his social life (where he can only tolerate hisself), and finally Cruz symbolize love (the only which hes been searching for: balance). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewOOct 26, 2006
Superb, highly moving and deep when understood. Vanilla Sky is not a movie to watch just once and requires your full attention. Not everyone will get it; few will appreciate it on the first viewing. This is not a "Tom Cruise" movie, but Superb, highly moving and deep when understood. Vanilla Sky is not a movie to watch just once and requires your full attention. Not everyone will get it; few will appreciate it on the first viewing. This is not a "Tom Cruise" movie, but definately one to watch several times if you enjoy complex movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful