Vanishing on 7th Street

Vanishing on 7th Street Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: From director Brad Anderson comes Vanishing on 7th Street, a terrifying, apocalyptic thriller that taps into one of humankind’s most primal anxieties: fear of the dark. An unexplained blackout plunges the city of Detroit into total darkness, and by the time the sun rises, only a few peopleFrom director Brad Anderson comes Vanishing on 7th Street, a terrifying, apocalyptic thriller that taps into one of humankind’s most primal anxieties: fear of the dark. An unexplained blackout plunges the city of Detroit into total darkness, and by the time the sun rises, only a few people remain—surrounded by heaps of empty clothing, abandoned cars and lengthening shadows. A small handful of strangers that have survived the night each find their way to a rundown bar, whose gasoline-powered generator and stockpile of food and drink make it the last refuge in a deserted city. With daylight beginning to disappear completely and whispering shadows surrounding the survivors, they soon discover that the enemy is the darkness itself, and only the few remaining light sources can keep them safe. As time begins to run out for them, darkness closes in and they must face the ultimate terror. (Magnolia Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Feb 15, 2011
    70
    It is creepy enough to make you hope the theater parking lot is brightly lit.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    Feb 18, 2011
    70
    A highly respectable piece of genre entertainment, one with a little more class than most.
  3. Reviewed by: Betsy Sharkey
    Feb 24, 2011
    70
    Anderson spends most of his energy creating a mood - making "Vanishing" more cerebral than white-knuckle, though a few more shrieks (mine) might have been nice.
  4. Reviewed by: Noel Murray
    Feb 17, 2011
    58
    Vanishing On 7th Street does work well as a kind of mood-piece, observing all the ways we surround ourselves with the illusion of warmth and security, before the shadows creep in.
  5. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Feb 15, 2011
    50
    The actors work hard to convey terror-especially Mr. Christensen, who proved he could act when he played disgraced journalist Stephen Glass in the marvelous, underrated "Shattered Glass"-but the panic that overtakes the characters never quite grips the audience.
  6. Reviewed by: Kirk Honeycutt
    Feb 14, 2011
    50
    Whatever one's view of Christian evangelical beliefs, from strictly a horror-film standpoint the movie needs a better villain.
  7. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Feb 24, 2011
    0
    This is a terrible movie. It has no business being as terrible as it is, because it boasts a perfectly acceptable horror premise and a perfectly acceptable cast.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    One of the most better horror films ever! Is fantastic, the trama of Vanishing on 7th Street is fantastic, the performance of HaydenOne of the most better horror films ever! Is fantastic, the trama of Vanishing on 7th Street is fantastic, the performance of Hayden Christensen is awesome. A new classic. Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    Leaves a lot of questions unanswered (all of them, actually), but it's an entertaining movie nonetheless. Has a strong cast and visuals butLeaves a lot of questions unanswered (all of them, actually), but it's an entertaining movie nonetheless. Has a strong cast and visuals but well.. could have a different ending. Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2014
    5
    "The Vanishing" is a unique story molded into a simple surprise. You expect something big, but only get that one item you were expecting."The Vanishing" is a unique story molded into a simple surprise. You expect something big, but only get that one item you were expecting. That's just how this film went. Take it or leave it. Expand
  4. May 29, 2011
    4
    I found an interesting movie with an interesting idea, good soundtrack that leaves the film with a tense atmosphere and that is good and theI found an interesting movie with an interesting idea, good soundtrack that leaves the film with a tense atmosphere and that is good and the actors were good, I mean, was supposed to succeed if the director and writer were not idiots, but was poorly done, bad script and what the hell was that end? I could not take that final "Knowing", by the way I hate that. Anyway, it wasn't well developed, still haven't found the movie totally bad, as I've seen before in blogs, the film has its charm, its strengths. Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2011
    2
    Even a solid cast (for the most part) and a few eerie moments cannot save this unoriginal thriller from its own generic silliness. Tack ontoEven a solid cast (for the most part) and a few eerie moments cannot save this unoriginal thriller from its own generic silliness. Tack onto it an ending that is creepier than the movie as a whole, only because of what it implies. The characters are cliche and do foolish things. There never really is an explanation which would have been good, at least in regard to why the days were suddenly shorter. There were some cool effects (the plane) but again, these weren't strong enough to save this flimsy film. Expand
  6. May 22, 2016
    1
    strong cast. good idea. horrible delivery. broken plot and broken reason for such and such around every turn. by the time you are half waystrong cast. good idea. horrible delivery. broken plot and broken reason for such and such around every turn. by the time you are half way through the movie you will already be thinking of other things you could be doing or how great breakfast was that day. awful movie. Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2011
    0
    I only created this account to warn others that this movie was horrible! I want my hour and a half back. There was no explanation on what wasI only created this account to warn others that this movie was horrible! I want my hour and a half back. There was no explanation on what was going on and no ending. All I thought when watching this movie is "Am i supposed to be high to get this? Drunk? I don't know." You have a AMC employee with head trama, a cheating husband, a crazy woman thinking their child was kidnapped and a small child..what the heck? Thank goodness I have netflix's or I would have demanded my money back. I was so disappointed in this movie that I wanted to find the original and destroy every copy so that no one would have to endure this horrible movie! Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  2. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  3. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.